Toast How many of you guys will have Tasmania as your number 1 team?

Will Tasmania be your number 1 team?

Depends how many numpties play for them, they’re fan base and just general attitude of the club.

Basically, are they going to be like Gold Coast? Wish them the best.

GWS? I’ll laugh after every loss.

Will always be a Hawks supporter/member but will become a member and support Tassie just as hard as I support Hawks.
It's my home state's footy team and I've been waiting for this for a very long time. It's all the way for me.

Will always be a Hawks supporter/member but will become a member and support Tassie just as hard as I support Hawks.
It's my home state's footy team and I've been waiting for this for a very long time. It's all the way for me.

I get you 100%, once a Hawk, always a Hawk.

Just will have a second team now, Tassie is home.

I reckon most will end up switching - eventually.
I was a Dragons fan in the NRL, and decided to stick with them even when Storm came in. I was probably still 50/50 until the end of season 2. Both clubs were playing in the GF. I had decided to support the Dragons, but once the game started, I found that my heart was with my home team - I couldn’t help myself. Storm won which made things easier, but have never wavered since.

I'm the opposite. I picked Dragons because of the GF. And even though they lost I've always been a Dragon from that moment on.

This is precisely the attitude that the naysayers never got, which I tried to explain repeatedly.

Ie, that native Tasmanians can maintain their existing club loyalty AND still get behind the new Tasmanian club.

It doesn't have to be either/or, it can be both. Your loyalties are really only tested when your two teams play each other.

Plus, it's not like the old days where all games are played at 2.10pm on a Saturday. So you could go to watch every Tassie home game live, plus see your long-term team play on TV in the same round, as a time clash is unlikely. Win/win.

The only problem for me is that I'm now going to have to juggle three sides. Carlton of course, plus I've lived in Sydney since the Swans started, so they are very much a second side for me. Now, fingers crossed, Tassie will be in the mix. I'll work out my priorities in due course. :)

This is precisely the attitude that the naysayers never got, which I tried to explain repeatedly.

Ie, that native Tasmanians can maintain their existing club loyalty AND still get behind the new Tasmanian club.

It doesn't have to be either/or, it can be both. Your loyalties are really only tested when your two teams play each other.

Plus, it's not like the old days where all games are played at 2.10pm on a Saturday. So you could go to watch every Tassie home game live, plus see your long-term team play on TV in the same round, as a time clash is unlikely. Win/win.

The only problem for me is that I'm now going to have to juggle three sides. Carlton of course, plus I've lived in Sydney since the Swans started, so they are very much a second side for me. Now, fingers crossed, Tassie will be in the mix. I'll work out my priorities in due course. :)
Tassie before both Carlton and Sydney 😊👍😉

I am not even Tasmanian but I will be cheering the team on almost as hard as locals out of the purest motivation there is - spite.

I hate the campaigners at the AFL who very nearly wrecked football in one of its heartland states. It's already an intensely isolated and insular sport with very little scope for expansion, so to nearly kill off one of the few existing football cultures seems almost criminally negligent.

I would love to see Tasmania shove it up everyone for this reason.

They will slot in nicely just below the Lions.

I’ll buy a membership (suspect this will be the only way to be able to attend games at Mac Point due to small amount of seating), deck myself out in the gear and cheer for them like I do Brisbane, until they play Brisbane 😅

Going to have to invest in one of those half and half scarves!

The option to have Tasmania as your supported team on BF is now available ➡️ Welcome - Post here to change your AFL Club in your BF profile.

Big Congratulations to everyone involved and all supporters and future supporters. I’m an Eagle to the bones but I’ll 💯 buy a Tassie membership and some merch to help support the club.
I think this is just fantastic.

I got to say thanks to all the non-Tasmanian supporters for your support and continuing support of the Tasmanian team.

I was always buoyed by your constant and unbudging support for a Tassie team over last few years, especially since the latest campaign kicked into gear.

It's also fantastic to see so many of you are going to continue your support of Tassie once they run out for that first game.

Thanks all. It really is appreciated.

GO DEVILS!!!

I'm definitely buying a membership and some merchandise to wear to games in Melbourne. I want to support Tassie's team financially.

As I said earlier in this thread I'm victorian through and through. Although my mum was born in Launceston so maybe I'm half Tasmanian lol

But I'm a Tiger through and through. Yellow and black is in the Blood and I'll die a Tiger.

This Tasmanian AFL team is the first team I will have truly supported in any sport ever. I don't like cricket and the jackies are good but I am not yet really in to basketball much. In every sport I follow, I usually just follow players like Messi, Kvaratskhelia, Gibbs, Weller and I switch my teams based on which players are playing where. I always feel I miss something from not having a team though. I can't wait to biasedly and loyally support our Tassie team!

You've finally got something to look forward to. I'm happy for you that they finally got their deserved licence to compete in this competition.

Will buy Tas memberships and merch and be feral at games against non-Collingwood teams. Vs Pies (won’t hold my breath for Pies to come here tho) I’ll still wear Tas gear but I just don’t think I can yell out baaaaaalll when one of our young guns tackles a 25 yo Nick Daicos. I’ll just sit back and think “How good is this?!” My lucky undies will still be black & white tho!

I will change I feel.

It just happens. Can't change your heart. I changed my soccer team for various reasons 8-10 years ago. It didn't just happen; it happened slowly over a period of 5-6 years or so, nor have I lost my like/love of Newcastle. I watched them in the League Cup final this year and am so happy that they are going well. Its just a slowly started to love Scunny plus felt connected to Scampaignerhorpe(love the swear filter) a lot more and that grew and grew until I find myself watching Scunny matches over Newcastle most nights.

Reckon the same will happen here. Going to be a weird 5 years or so until that first game where I reckon I will just fall in love with Tassie.

Toast How many of you guys will have Tasmania as your number 1 team?