Hypothetical - Sam Darcy or Nick Daicos

Go watch the last 5 minutes of the 2023 Grand Final - Daicos already has a big tick in that box...

I did say Daicos was a super star.

I just reckon that Darcy offers a larger point of difference. And in finals I reckon that Darcy would be able to offer a forward structure that could win games. I could easily be wrong. Just my opinion.

We did have one of the Nick Daicos tragics claim that Nick was CLEARLY the best player in the comp over the last 3 years.

He clearly doesn't understand the meaning of the word clearly.
You've nominated Bont as Nick's closest contender to the 'Best Player In The Game' title since the start of 2023.

2023 - Nick leading Brownlow and Coaches Award comfortably before missing the last 4 games. Bont catches him on 'Season Output' by finishing a vote ahead of him in the Brownlow and 3 votes ahead of him in the Coaches Award. No Finals for Bont, whilst Nick returned to play 2 x high quality finals, and importantly highly influential when the Grand Final was on the line. 2023 goes to Nick, marginally, with Bont 2nd.

2024 - Nick wins the Coaches Award and is runner up in the Brownlow. Bont 6th in the Coaches Award and missed by the umpires in the Brownlow to finish well down the field. No Finals for Nick, and a forgettable 18 possession Elimination Final for Bont. 2024 goes to Nick.

2025 - Nick currently second in the Coaches Award and odds on Brownlow favourite, with his team sitting second on the ladder despite being the most targeted and planned for player in the competition. Bont misses the first handful of games to impact his season output, but has played at about the same level as Nick when he has been on the park. Bont will need to have a superior Finals series to Nick (if his team qualifies) to overtake Nick on season output, given the games he missed at the start of the season. Nick again leading Bont on season output in 2025.

Nick 'clearly' better than Bont since the start of 2023, having had superior season output in every year.

I'm still waiting to hear about the 'others that are around the mark'....

You've nominated Bont as Nick's closest contender to the 'Best Player In The Game' title since the start of 2023.

2023 - Nick leading Brownlow and Coaches Award comfortably before missing the last 4 games. Bont catches him on 'Season Output' by finishing a vote ahead of him in the Brownlow and 3 votes ahead of him in the Coaches Award. No Finals for Bont, whilst Nick returned to play 2 x high quality finals, and importantly highly influential when the Grand Final was on the line. 2023 goes to Nick, marginally, with Bont 2nd.

2024 - Nick wins the Coaches Award and is runner up in the Brownlow. Bont 6th in the Coaches Award and missed by the umpires in the Brownlow to finish well down the field. No Finals for Nick, and a forgettable 18 possession Elimination Final for Bont. 2024 goes to Nick.

2025 - Nick currently second in the Coaches Award and odds on Brownlow favourite, with his team sitting second on the ladder despite being the most targeted and planned for player in the competition. Bont misses the first handful of games to impact his season output, but has played at about the same level as Nick when he has been on the park. Bont will need to have a superior Finals series to Nick (if his team qualifies) to overtake Nick on season output, given the games he missed at the start of the season. Nick again leading Bont on season output in 2025.

Nick 'clearly' better than Bont since the start of 2023, having had superior season output in every year.

I'm still waiting to hear about the 'others that are around the mark'....
Bont has and is better.

Bont is a great of the game, a legend, arguably the greatest Bulldog of all time so I am not sure what you are getting at. I don't know a Collingwood supporter who thinks he is not a superstar.
Not really a jab at you. The player's award is often disparaged on BF as people perceive the opinion of players as not warranting much value, so I am half joking

But when its Daicos the numbers and figures etc all of a sudden make sense.
It just makes the tormented Tiger posting about PlaYa RaTinGz looked stupid.

Naicos, in his 4th season mind you, has already produced a game that his contemporary players like Danger, Bont, Sloane and even Dusty (as Tigers love including him in the discussion) never managed across their decorated careers.

Let alone Darcy.

Naicos best football is already more impactful, just imagine what he will be like when physically more mature and in his mid to late 20s!!

Amazing mark to Sam Darcy in the dying seconds of today's game.

👏 👏 👏

Didn't know he could do that. My appraisal of Darcy has gone up a notch after that mark, not just the execution but season on the line, understanding the moment, very few players in the AFL would be capable to take that mark today.

I was about 30 meters away from it.

Completely breathtaking - one of the best things I've ever seen on a footy field. He was probably lucky it was paid a mark but nice to see the umpire had a sense of theatre.

Well you aren’t doing your job properly if theatre is your motivation to pay a mark.

I knew he could take marks like that.

And it's why, despite the vitriol here, I would prefer him over Naicos - whilst acknowledging that Naicos is a top tier player.

I see Naicos getting a lot of uncontested ball, very damaging of course, but Darcy is going to be the ultimate match winner as a key forward IMO.

Well you aren’t doing your job properly if theatre is your motivation to pay a mark.
It’s a bit of a throw away line mate. The umpire deemed it was a mark and in a game filled with interpretation based rules that’s what we’ve got to work with.

Just celebrate it for what it was, a corker of a mark 💪

Few Collingwood posters embarrassing themselves in here. Really struggling with Daicos not being preferred over Darcy.
Yeah, it really is a struggle.

Darcy's a great player, but the facts are, on season output, Daicos is leading the head to head battle 4 - 0.

What year do you think Darcy will have his first season where his 'season output' exceeds that of Daicos?

Looks like he held it for me

Gx-g58haoAAgupS.jpeg

I'm a huge fan of Naicos, but I have to go with Darcy! It's easier to find players who offer similar qualities to Naicos, but Darcy is a literal freak! there are very few, if any, in the competition who can offer what he does.
generational talent..
all footy fans are going to feast on watching Darcy for years to come

Yeah, it really is a struggle.

Darcy's a great player, but the facts are, on season output, Daicos is leading the head to head battle 4 - 0.

What year do you think Darcy will have his first season where his 'season output' exceeds that of Daicos?
You want him to be getting 30+ a week? Are you actually measuring the two re statistics and output that way? Darcy is a KF. He isn’t getting those numbers. It’s why KF don’t win Brownlow medals. Midfielders have to get the ball. Darcy is a forward who has aerial power, mobility, accuracy and skill levels of a big player that don’t just come around every other day.

You’re comparing them which is problem.

Keep up the the virtual tug of Daicos mate. You can’t compare them, you can just say whom you prefer. That’s all this is about. Your sycophantic ravings on someone that wouldn’t look at you twice in the street is fan boy obsession. It’s actually gross.

You want him to be getting 30+ a week? Are you actually measuring the two re statistics and output that way? Darcy is a KF. He isn’t getting those numbers. It’s why KF don’t win Brownlow medals. Midfielders have to get the ball. Darcy is a forward who has aerial power, mobility, accuracy and skill levels of a big player that don’t just come around every other day.

Keep up the the virtual tug of Daicos mate. You can’t compare them, you can just say whom you prefer. That’s all this is about. Your sycophantic ravings on someone that wouldn’t look at you twice in the street is fan boy obsession. It’s actually gross.
Nice melt.

You can absolutely compare them - on season output.

Daicos will again be one of the first picked as a midfielder in the AA team. Darcy may be picked in the squad as a key forward, but is comfortably behind the likes of Cameron, Thilthorpe, King and even his own teammate Naughton for the team.

Lol what a joke of a post.

You constantly whine about Watson but now "oh Darcy is a forward so you can't compare on output". Hypocrit.

Well said and its pretty clear Fadge is obssessed with him. But in general Fadge doesn't have a good feel for the game either. Oh well.

Lol what a joke of a post.

You constantly whine about Watson but now "oh Darcy is a forward so you can't compare on output". Hypocrit.
Haha.

Who is comparing Watson to Daicos? Watson is a ducking cheat who gets away with it.

Where was I comparing Watsons output to Daicos?

Goose..

Haha.

Who is comparing Watson to Daicos? Watson is a ducking cheat who gets away with it.

Where was I comparing Watsons output to Daicos?

Goose..

You're a goose.

I'm just applying your "criteria" in this thread as you was lyrical about Watson all over the site, hypocrit.