I loves me some non-hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter flinchfree

Non joke answer - Jimmy Bartel (although that dive last year was f&cked).
Been such an overrated player at times IMO. Very good footballer who has stood up many times in big games. However so many people rank him alongside Hodge, which I just won't have.

He was a handy player before he had his only 2 elite seasons, 07-08. In 09-11 he was a pretty good player but no superstar (however he was good in finals and when it mattered for them). Since then he has hardly done anything special but still gets rated as one of the champs.

Yeh he seems like a good guy and plays it tough, but he hasn't been a superstar for a long time now. Plays a bit like Burgoyne (just doing enough some games) however Burgoyne still influences and wins games despite being a year or 2 older as well.

Another thing that irks me is if you actually watch him play the past few years, he just plays for cheap possessions. I'm not sure if this is his role or so but if Hodge gets criticized for never having an opponent then why doesn't this guy. The big difference is, Hodge actually has a huge impact on games whilst still playing that loose reader of the play role.

I don't like Stevie J but he has been the better player over a much longer period, however I've seen many people rank Bartel ahead of him too from that 01 Draft.

Maybe I'm being a tad harsh but I have watched him very closely (my best mate is a cats fan and agrees with most of this) and for a long time now. He gets a bit of the Jonathan Brown treatment, real quality for a few years and supposedly being a good bloke makes some people think he has been a champion his whole career and rated higher than he honestly should be.

I'm just surprised that anyone has actually understood the thread title! :p
I reckon the first responder has taken an educated guess and everyone has followed his/her lead.

Don't laugh but i reckon Melbourne's Nathan Jones wouldn't have looked out of place in the brown and Gold.
Robbie flower too...

Don't necessarily agree with you. I can understand why he is happy playing in Sydney. He is getting to play footy and doing alright. Doesn't mean he isn't still a Hawk at heart. And who said anything about hoping he returns? And I reckon you are dead wrong thinking he would not consider it if the timing was right.

Imagine the Hawks got him back via free agency - that would be delicious :D

How does his free agency status get altered by the fact he moved clubs? When does he come up?

Confusing, thread title is.

yoda.jpg

Hard to believe it and even harder to say it but I used to admire James Hird as a player alot.

Agree - but now I have WHIPPED memory clean.
Just hearing the name nearly makes me spew.:thumbsdown:

Don't laugh but i reckon Melbourne's Nathan Jones wouldn't have looked out of place in the brown and Gold.
Robbie flower too...

It would be nice to see what Nathan Jones can do as a footballer. So far, I've only seen him run around while trying not to let any of the 21 potatoes on his back fall off. He's been good at that though.

I loved watching Carey - got murdered by the umps.
Riccutto/Voss - skilled miny tanks that would do anything to win
I also saw just as much Garry Ablett snr (I know he played a couple with us) as Hawks game during a period in late 80s early 90s so watchable
Now days, Garry Ablett jnr, Stevie Johnson, Dangerfield

I'm with Flinch here. Peter Daicos was a marvel.

Sticking with the thread title
Royce Hart

Player who I would have loved to have seen in the Brown and Gold.

A fit Peter Hudson 1972 to 1979

I loved watching Carey - got murdered by the umps.
Riccutto/Voss - skilled miny tanks that would do anything to win
I also saw just as much Garry Ablett snr (I know he played a couple with us) as Hawks game during a period in late 80s early 90s so watchable
Now days, Garry Ablett jnr, Stevie Johnson, Dangerfield

Vomit

How can he be a hawk at heart if he is busting his gut for his club and doing everything possible to win premierships with them?

As I said I don't hate the guy or hold that big of a grudge. I just don't understand how you think he is a hawk at heart and to the core if he is doing his all for the swans (which he should).

If he was as you say he is, he wouldn't have moved or he would have requested to come back. At the end of his career he will be a swan through and through.
Trent Croad! Always wanted him as a hawk..... and got it :)

Now that man was a genuine hawk at heart.