Autopsy "I remember when"

I remember when weekends felt normal.
No games on a Friday, and no games on a Sunday.

The weekend used to have definition.

I know I'm probably a bit young for this thread but I remember the first game at KP I went to as a young kid which was the Ablett senior's last home game and the last time Carlton has played at KP
Given my age not many if any in my age could say they saw either of those two at KP :)

I can also remember when we used to get home from games in Melbourne and it was dark. But we really needed to have a kick of the footy.

There was a power pole out the front so we'd go onto the road and have a kick.
It was still damn difficult to pick up the ball in the air.

There was a cable running from the pole across the street to the house on the corner.
The amount of times we actually hit that cable, saw a spark and watched lights go out in the house...

Had to do a quick sprint to find somewhere to hide :)

Probably still happens in standing room today, but remember the old frothies going everywhere when we got a run of goals going. Not all that long ago I guess. Before the new stands. but you could be guaranteed a nice shower whenever Snr got involved!

I remember when we gave a stuff about the McClelland Trophy.

And that we cared as to how the U/19's were going, and we knew the players.
I can remember my parents buying tickets to a North vs Blues Semi Final so that we could support the U/19s

And I can clearly remember where all the reserves players sat in the old Southern stand to watch the seniors play.
Smack bang on the wing on the upper level. All of them would be there and you'd get all of them to sign your footy record.

Not like these days where it's "He's not a senior player, I dont need his autograph"

Geez where to begin?

Round three, heading down to Kardinia Park to see the famous number five for the first time (and I don't mean Gazza) and being awestruck by his sheer artistry, crook knee and all, as he elevated ruck work to a whole new level.

The marking prowess of Billy Ryan, the torpedo punts of Doug Wade, the magic of that other number five, the sickining feeling just before the 94 Semi Final against Carlton when hearing that Bairstow, Couch and Hocking had withdrawn, only to see a kid by the name of Aaron Lord play a blinder in his second game, and help us to a five goal victory, standing for several decades on an asphalt covered slope behind the city end goals (great for the calves) countless trips to Waverley, Moorabbin and every other suburban ground, often watching footy played on foul smelling mud heaps, and loving every second of it all.

And that hasn't even scratched the surface.

I love these nostalgia trips!

I remember walking home from Kardinia Park (I lived in Shannon Avenue). You'd get home, have a shower, quick dinner, and then set yourself up in front of the B&W TV to watch "Football Inquest" with Mike Williamson and his panel of cronies. Then I'd walk with the old man to the milk bar up the road to buy the late special of the Herald. It would have all the VFL scores in red ink in the Stop Press section. That was as good as it got.

Fast track to 1978! I was at Monash Uni, living at Mannix. A big day at VFL Park seeing the Cats meant you loaded up an esky with cans of VB, and drank them all. The young ones wouldn't believe that was ever possible! (bringing your own beer to the football, that is!!)

My one and only boiled mouth guard experience landed me at the royal children's hospital with a saucepan of boiling water scalding my stomach and thigh....

I remember I used to always end up with one that was too big for my mouth, so it would get trimmed down for me and then the sharp edges would cut the crap out of my gums. Good times.

I love these nostalgia trips!

I remember walking home from Kardinia Park (I lived in Shannon Avenue). You'd get home, have a shower, quick dinner, and then set yourself up in front of the B&W TV to watch "Football Inquest" with Mike Williamson and his panel of cronies. Then I'd walk with the old man to the milk bar up the road to buy the late special of the Herald. It would have all the VFL scores in red ink in the Stop Press section. That was as good as it got.

Fast track to 1978! I was at Monash Uni, living at Mannix. A big day at VFL Park seeing the Cats meant you loaded up an esky with cans of VB, and drank them all. The young ones wouldn't believe that was ever possible! (bringing your own beer to the football, that is!!)
I remember when that was called West Melbourne Rd.

"We've got the close one" was a common phrase after doing the rounds late in the last quarter.

Me and my mates basically use this phrase for any close game, ironically it's usually the only game on these days

I remember the boot last in old mans shed,as a kid I scrounged my stops off Bakers Oval after matches, they were the layered square leather ones you attached to the boot with nails.

I played junior footy in those sort of boots

I remember when that was called West Melbourne Rd.
When was that? Must have been the north end? We lived on the south side of Noble Street, which reminds me of another "I remember when".

1 think it was about 1984 or 85, and you regularly see the Cats' senior players on their long distance run around Newtown. Mark "Jacko" Jackson would always be lagging well behind the rest of the team.

I remember getting a 2 page, hand-written letter from my favourite player of the time, Mark Bos-I put it under my pillow and told my mum never to touch it!
I got a letter posted to me by Ian Nankervis-took it for show and tell, was my treasured possession for a couple of years

When was that? Must have been the north end? We lived on the south side of Noble Street, which reminds me of another "I remember when".

1 think it was about 1984 or 85, and you regularly see the Cats' senior players on their long distance run around Newtown. Mark "Jacko" Jackson would always be lagging well behind the rest of the team.
Not sure of the date but guessing it was 50s,in earlier years it was common to have drovers bring herds of cattle and flocks of sheep from the surrounding districts down West Melbourne Rd swing right into Church St then left into what's now Weddell Rd to the sale yards.

Expecting a message from Her Maj soon then ypo.:p

No I remember the name change only,the old mans still with us going into his 90s and lived in Church st we were discussing this at family get together not long back.And for the record his names not Fred:D

I remember hanging around preseason training early 80's and all the guys had been slaving away over summer, all except Sammy Newman, who made his one appearance for the last session, and was visibly fitter, faster, more prepared and the envy of all his teammates, just by individual beach training at Pt Lonsdale.
He was an underrated player over the history of Geelong's existence imho; I'd have him top 5 of all time.