If Brendon Ah Chee ever hits you with a left hook

Hate to be a spoiler but it was against an amateur team.

that doesn't change the speed or impact.
(in fact some of the biggest hits you will see are in lower level comps)

Hate to be a spoiler but it was against an amateur team.

HeDead.jpg

correct.

At any level, that gather and hit is impressive....

Definitely. Hitting someone at that speed definitely takes the wind out of you, so to have the composure to still be able to look around for a handball was pretty good. He would have been sucking in the air once the ball had cleared!

He is a lot quicker than I had imagined.

whaaaaat. you trying to tell me that he would have ridden that knock as well against buddy?

we have a list of full time athletes with amazing core strength. yep amateur footy is rougher, but they arent as powerful by a long way as an afl footballer. Of course it was still a good hit and he rode it well, but if he didnt come out on top id be real concerned.

Yeah totes, if Buddy was playing for Goody Saints :drunk:

It doesn't matter what the level of footy is, because that was still a sensational bump, Arch rode it, composed himself, and looked for an option, you can't ask for more than that.
It also looked like neither player took his eyes off the ball, so all good.

1954 i respect your opinions, but do you think an under 9 year old could ride a bump against you? if not then you accept that size and muscle definition makes a big difference. Look at the score, it was an over 100 point belting to the magpies. clearly the maggies are a massive step up over the saints and the way that guy didnt move after reflects that.

Look, im not saying it was bad, it was great how he commited himself. but im just getting it into perspective. and the reality is that it was against a player that is likely far less strength. I play soccer still at 40 and been playing my whole life. I know that any contact in a fast sport requires courage to not flinch when going for a 50/50 ball, something i'm not so good with. But like i said, if he pulls that off against other hardened afl players, then im going to jerk off there and then.

1954 i respect your opinions, but do you think an under 9 year old could ride a bump against you? if not then you accept that size and muscle definition makes a big difference. Look at the score, it was an over 100 point belting to the magpies. clearly the maggies are a massive step up over the saints and the way that guy didnt move after reflects that.

Look, im not saying it was bad, it was great how he commited himself. but im just getting it into perspective. and the reality is that it was against a player that is likely far less strength. I play soccer still at 40 and been playing my whole life. I know that any contact in a fast sport requires courage to not flinch when going for a 50/50 ball, something i'm not so good with. But like i said, if he pulls that off against other hardened afl players, then im going to jerk off there and then.

I think you are 100% wrong. I could pull out players in every amateur comp in the land that could put Buddy on his arse.
He doesn't play AFL because he's bigger and tougher, but because he's better.

I think you are 100% wrong. I could pull out players in every amateur comp in the land that could put Buddy on his arse.

Exactly right. There is some big units in the amateurs. I don't mean fat either I mean bulky guys who obviously lift.

Mate, I haven't been to an ammos game since the mid 1970's but back then there were some fairly hefty units who didn't mind handing out punishment, particularly to an unsuspecting younger bloke.

The size difference can depend on timing and balance as much as anything else, eg in under 16's school footy I was shirtfronted by a kid who was probably a head shorter and about 10 lbs lighter than me, and sh*t it hurt, I reckon I rattled for a fortnight. :cry:

I take your point that Arch handed out that bump against a far lesser standard player, but it will be very interesting to see if he can bring that amount of physicality to the highest level, because if he can he could be a very valuable player for the club. :)

That riding the bump from Aaaaaach was brilliant , the commitment he showed going hard at the contest and the way he bounced off is awesome . I used to try and teach the kids that one ,how to bounce off a hit , it's a good skill to learn . .

1954 i respect your opinions, but do you think an under 9 year old could ride a bump against you? if not then you accept that size and muscle definition makes a big difference.

Did you seriously just argue that a fully-grown man riding a bump from a nine-year-old CHILD is no different to riding a bump from a Goody Saints A-grade player? What? Just because someone's a lesser-skilled footy player doesn't mean their body completely disregarded puberty, mate.

Thats the point! Its not about the opponent, its about the courage & commitment he put into the contest, without hesitation! They could hear the impact of that hit two suburbs away!! No doubt, it would have been a lot tougher to keep possession of the ball against an AFL opponent .. I dont give a crap! To me the outcome is irrelevant, even if he lost the ball, he wins IMO!

If he shows that commitment at every contest he enters, he stays in the AFL

yeah but can you get someone from port that could put buddy on his arse....

lets not be silly buddy is huge, mobile and powerful.

And Byron Pickett was 178cm and 84kg - what's your point. Because mine was that there's a shit load of solid tough units playing amateur footy.

You mentioned Byron,

There is a lot physics at play here.... the first to back off will absorb the energy.

I just cant help but think of this... even though these are two different circumstances, it does support your argument that size doesn't really matter.

My household has an Oxford where under Courage, there is a picture of Archie now, along with Bryon, two different players but having the same colyoons

If Brendon Ah Chee ever hits you with a left hook