If Brendon Ah Chee ever hits you with a left hook

He's not a forward though IMO we'll find out against better oppo I guess, perhaps switching with SPP in the midfield and stints forward are the go for both.
He's got great quick hands in close Arch I wanna see him get a decent crack in the middle again.. make or break but I see it as a free up for young Powell-Pepper as well.

spot on. I'd rotate AhChee with Boak through the middle and forward line (70-30 through the middle respectively)

Probably over critical but I didn't get the same enthusiasm out of that game as others. Still not a forward. got on the end of a couple and finished well. Good enough performance for a first game back but reminds me a lot of Eddy in his second game. Wasn't in the contest long enough but when he was it was high quality work and ended up with a nice contribution to a one sided win. I'd still like to see more midfield Ah chee and less forward Ah chee. Looks to be moving much better so hopefully that translates to more consistency within games.

Hope Arch takes this chance and realises it may be the last one he gets at afl level. Has all the attributes to make it as a big bodied mid/half forward just needs the consistency. Imagine a centre square with Powell Pepper/Wines/Arch.
Yep good post,he just needs to be given a heap of games in a row rotating through the middle and forward line. He has all the weapons to be a star just lacks confidence.

Was thinking the same thing about the midfield. Wingard,Ollie,SPP,Arch,Atley going through there then Polec and Amon on the outside with run and carry delivering to Dixon,Impey and co. And dont get me started on our young exciting defense.

There was a story in the Tsier yesterday about Brendon not leaving for the GC to team up with his brother. The bit in bold near the end of the article is interesting. Does this mean folks moved to be close to their TWO boys sooner rather than later? Callum's 2 year first up contract ends on 31st October 2017.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...d8d2cc701ca4ce6527bb3da605641759?from=htc_rss
BRENDON Ah Chee has revealed he turned his back on the chance to reunite with his brother Callum at Gold Coast to stay at Port Adelaide this year.............His standout, 26-disposal performance against Hawthorn included 10 contested possessions, six clearances, four tackles, a goal and eight score involvements.

“It was pleasing but the key for me now is consistency so that I can consolidate my spot in the side,’’ said Ah Chee, revealing his parents Brendon senior and Valerie have moved from Perth to Adelaide this year to watch him play. They are living next to Alberton Oval.

“Consistency has been a problem for me during my AFL career,’’ Ah Chee said. “I’d have a good game and then a down game the next week so I know that’s an area I need to improve if I am going to stay in the side.......
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...d8d2cc701ca4ce6527bb3da605641759?from=htc_rss

There was a story in the Tsier yesterday about Brendon not leaving for the GC to team up with his brother. The bit in bold near the end of the article is interesting. Does this mean folks moved to be close to their TWO boys sooner rather than later? Callum's 2 year first up contract ends on 31st October 2017.

BRENDON Ah Chee has revealed he turned his back on the chance to reunite with his brother Callum at Gold Coast to stay at Port Adelaide this year.............His standout, 26-disposal performance against Hawthorn included 10 contested possessions, six clearances, four tackles, a goal and eight score involvements.

“It was pleasing but the key for me now is consistency so that I can consolidate my spot in the side,’’ said Ah Chee, revealing his parents Brendon senior and Valerie have moved from Perth to Adelaide this year to watch him play. They are living next to Alberton Oval.

“Consistency has been a problem for me during my AFL career,’’ Ah Chee said. “I’d have a good game and then a down game the next week so I know that’s an area I need to improve if I am going to stay in the side.......

I used to work with Brendon Snr about 10 years ago - staunch Crows supporter he was. Living next to Alberton Oval, eh? He must have converted :D

Am so glad you posted this REH.

As Port Woolwich and I were leaving the Portman en route to the stadium, he said "Arch and Jack Hombsch are behind us."
Quickasaflash I went back to Arch, congratulated him and took hold of his hand and proceeded to tell him the true story about how I'd tried to get him up to Hong Kong in September 2013 to teach the Auskckers how to do a thirty metre handball ... and how he'd been bumped for the Great Man.
The telling took two to three minutes and all through the story Arch is gripping my hand like Donald Trump and staring at me as if I was telling him the story of Peter Pan for the first time.
PW later tried to spread the rumour that it was me gripping Arch's hand all that time.
Don't you believe it.

Quickasaflash I went back to Arch, congratulated him and took hold of his hand and proceeded to tell him the true story about how I'd tried to get him up to Hong Kong in September 2013 to teach the Auskckers how to do a thirty metre handball ... and how he'd been bumped for the Great Man.
The telling took two to three minutes and all through the story Arch is gripping my hand like Donald Trump and staring at me as if I was telling him the story of Peter Pan for the first time.

A bit longer than Stephen Rowe's attention span ;)

As Port Woolwich and I were leaving the Portman en route to the stadium, he said "Arch and Jack Hombsch are behind us."
PW later tried to spread the rumour that it was me gripping Arch's hand all that time.
Don't you believe it.

A hand-shake is for 5 seconds tops.

While you may have visions of something different, in reality you were holding hands while gossiping.

There were 5 or 6 kids in Brendon's family at last count, so there may be more younger brothers...
Maybe the indigenous academy might be a reason for the move rather than Callum, if the other boys are under 18 and decent footballers.

A hand-shake is for 5 seconds tops.

While you may have visions of something different, in reality you were holding hands while gossiping.
I never gossip. I give it straight between the eyes ... as you know better than anyone.

2017 Ah Chee's (and Wines') movement and agility are pretty clear indicators to me that we got our pre-season training wrong in 2015/16 (if we needed any more proof).

Last year Ah Chee just could not get clear of the contest. He would get first hands on the ball and get wrapped up almost every time he touched it.

This year he is bursting from packs and stepping tacklers. Last year he had no power to exit the stoppage. Similarly, Wines is bursting through packs with far greater regularity than last year, and then sprinting away.

Cutting Ah Chee last year would have been a mistake. Last year's performance was, to my eyes, affected by a poorly structured preparation program. He still may not make it, but at least the fitness program this year has given him the chance to show his best.

Carn Arch!

There were 5 or 6 kids in Brendon's family at last count, so there may be more younger brothers...
Found the article from start of 2015 about Callum and there are 6 boys

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-11-...m-ah-chee-out-to-prove-his-hanger-is-no-fluke
MONDAY, JANUARY 26, 2015
AT LEAST once a year, Callum Ah Chee and his five brothers head to the football oval near their family home to race each other from one side of the field to the other.

Jordan, 24, the oldest of the siblings, has always been the one to catch. He's the benchmark for the other boys; beating him at running, jumping, wrestling – and most other athletic pursuits – is an achievement.
Two years separate Jordan and Brendon, who is on Port Adelaide's list. Jakob (20) is third in line; he is two years older than Callum, a speedy half-forward headed for this year's NAB AFL Draft. Truan, 14, and Raff, six, round out the Ah Chee boys. When they're together at home, they stroll down the nearby hill near the ground, turn left and burst away. "Brendon gets angry because we beat him, even though he's the only AFL player," Callum says. The only AFL player for now. The AFL will likely have a second Ah Chee when Callum is selected at the draft. His drafting will continue a fascinating family football story.

Since he was three, Ah Chee has lived in Armadale, in south-east Perth, after the boys' parents Brendon snr and Valerie made the decision to leave Derby, a town in the Kimberley region of Western Australia. "There was no organised sport up there, and you've got to realise that in small country towns, if your kids aren't busy they get into trouble," Valerie says. "We decided there were more opportunities in Perth for the boys and made the big decision to move. "

Callum's great, great grandfather, Owen Ah Chee, migrated to Australia from China in the early 1800s. He travelled through the Northern Territory and the Kimberleys and stopped at Derby. He married Nellie, an Aboriginal woman from the Nyikina people, and they had 10 children, who all grew up in the region. Owen opened a bakery, where generations of Ah Chees worked. "We were the pioneering family for that town," Brendon snr says. Brendon snr spent his first 15 years living in Derby before moving to Geraldton for boarding school. That was his way of broadening his view of the world. From there he went to the United States as an exchange student. When he returned to Derby, he met Valerie........
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-11-...m-ah-chee-out-to-prove-his-hanger-is-no-fluke

Arch talked about his ancestry in this article In The Saturday Paper article

https://www.thesaturdaypaper.com.au...23-australian-rules-footballer/14903604004385
Ah Chee? It’s a pretty unique surname. There were three Chinese brothers that came over here – this is going back a few generations – and there’s Ah Chees all over the joint because of them. I think one went over to the east. Another one went to Darwin, and his family is spread from there to Alice Springs. And the other one came to the Kimberley to work, probably on the pearling ships, I’d say. That’s my ancestor. Any time you hear the surname Ah Chee, you can guess that we are going to be related somehow.

I was born in Derby [Western Australia], and lived there for about seven or eight years. Then the parents moved down to Perth, to the city. The AFL had its Indigenous camp in Broome this year, so I went up a bit earlier to come home for a bit. I stayed with one of my nan and pops in a really remote area, and I got to check out some of the old stuff in Derby as well.

I had a pretty slow start to my career. This is my sixth year at Port, but my third since I debuted. I had a lot of things to learn. But I think I’m at the stage now where I’m really comfortable knowing that I can play AFL footy. So it’s now just a matter of performing consistently when I do get the chance in the big league. Or in the SANFL, if that’s where I’m playing. We have a pretty talented midfield, and I just want to be a part of that group.....
https://www.thesaturdaypaper.com.au...23-australian-rules-footballer/14903604004385

I have been pleased with ah chee since his return to afl this year. If we can find his best and consistently he is in our best 22. Has x factor and weapons. Good kick at goal. If he learns greater aggression, formidable addition to Ollie, SPP and Brad for contested big bodies. Exciting. Hope he continues improvement

2017 Ah Chee's (and Wines') movement and agility are pretty clear indicators to me that we got our pre-season training wrong in 2015/16 (if we needed any more proof).

Last year Ah Chee just could not get clear of the contest. He would get first hands on the ball and get wrapped up almost every time he touched it.

This year he is bursting from packs and stepping tacklers. Last year he had no power to exit the stoppage. Similarly, Wines is bursting through packs with far greater regularity than last year, and then sprinting away.

Cutting Ah Chee last year would have been a mistake. Last year's performance was, to my eyes, affected by a poorly structured preparation program. He still may not make it, but at least the fitness program this year has given him the chance to show his best.

Carn Arch!
I don't agree. That's a stretch IMO. Ollie had an interrupted and generally bad year form wise. Look how he clicked later in the year after the much-publicised talk With Ken. With Ah Chee, have a look at pics of him pre-season 2016 vs now - totally different body. He has lost weight, looks ripped, come in fitter, stronger, and something has clicked upstairs!

I put it down to everyone being put on the trade table last year ... Him included/especially after a disappointing year. He wants to stay on our list, and knew he had 12 months left to make his case. He has gone away and worked his butt off, and looks to maybe have turned that corner.

Seminal moment for him! Just like RGray's knee injury. Had all the talent, but was taking it for granted. Got injured, appreciated what he had and could lose, and worked his butt off on rehab. Came back the player that we knew he could be.

I am very excited about what Arch can do and become from here! But to blame it on coaching????

I don't agree. That's a stretch IMO. Ollie had an interrupted and generally bad year form wise. Look how he clicked later in the year after the much-publicised talk With Ken. With Ah Chee, have a look at pics of him pre-season 2016 vs now - totally different body. He has lost weight, looks ripped, come in fitter, stronger, and something has clicked upstairs!

I put it down to everyone being put on the trade table last year ... Him included/especially after a disappointing year. He wants to stay on our list, and knew he had 12 months left to make his case. He has gone away and worked his butt off, and looks to maybe have turned that corner.

Seminal moment for him! Just like RGray's knee injury. Had all the talent, but was taking it for granted. Got injured, appreciated what he had and could lose, and worked his butt off on rehab. Came back the player that we knew he could be.

I am very excited about what Arch can do and become from here! But to blame it on coaching????
Not coaching, specifically physical conditioning.

I agree, he has a completely different body shape to last year, and it has allowed him to show his agility and power.

However, Ah Chee played the first 8 games last year. If he was underprepared/overweight and taking it for granted, he would not have been picked. He, like many others, started the year in exactly the physical condition that they were meant to: built for endurance, not power, and we got blown away.

Is it all physical conditioning? No, but he is a young, fringe player still learning the game. Being 5% was enough to make or break his career.

OK, you mention "specifically physical conditioning" ... So who's responsibility is that? We have the conditioning staff that put together a program for each player. It is so easy for us to blame Burgo and his staff for failing, but how much responsibility and input does the player have?
What does he do from season end to start of preseason?
What does he do with the program given him over the Xmas break?
How well does he watch his diet?
What does he do at home on a Sunday evening? Think Jarrod Harbrow!!
What extra he is doing in the gym & on the track to combat deficiencies in himself? Think Boak coming in to train prior to preseason starting!

Robbie Gray - admitted he didnt put in nearly enough prior to his knee reco. He wasnt dropped
Take Bobby Carlile - notorious for not keeping to his diet? He WAS dropped
Charlie Dixon - Told the conditioning staff he wanted to be bigger to put-muscle opponents in 2016 ... Under performed. Follows the 2017 program, loses weight, and is now in AA form.

I agree with you that there has been a noticeable change in Ah Chee's shape & fitness in 2017. But why blame the conditioning staff? I also didnt say he was overweight - you said that. I said this year his shape has changed. He is noticeably more toned, looks fitter & stronger, more committed, and is playing that way. Even a loss of 1kg can make a huger difference. So, would the conditioning staff have done anything different with him? I doubt it. It comes down to him buying in to the program & committing himself 110% ... 100% to the program given, plus an extra 10% - just like Robbie did when it clicked.

OK, you mention "specifically physical conditioning" ... So who's responsibility is that? We have the conditioning staff that put together a program for each player. It is so easy for us to blame Burgo and his staff for failing, but how much responsibility and input does the player have?
What does he do from season end to start of preseason?
What does he do with the program given him over the Xmas break?
How well does he watch his diet?
What does he do at home on a Sunday evening? Think Jarrod Harbrow!!
What extra he is doing in the gym & on the track to combat deficiencies in himself? Think Boak coming in to train prior to preseason starting!

Robbie Gray - admitted he didnt put in nearly enough prior to his knee reco. He wasnt dropped
Take Bobby Carlile - notorious for not keeping to his diet? He WAS dropped
Charlie Dixon - Told the conditioning staff he wanted to be bigger to put-muscle opponents in 2016 ... Under performed. Follows the 2017 program, loses weight, and is now in AA form.

I agree with you that there has been a noticeable change in Ah Chee's shape & fitness in 2017. But why blame the conditioning staff? I also didnt say he was overweight - you said that. I said this year his shape has changed. He is noticeably more toned, looks fitter & stronger, more committed, and is playing that way. Even a loss of 1kg can make a huger difference. So, would the conditioning staff have done anything different with him? I doubt it. It comes down to him buying in to the program & committing himself 110% ... 100% to the program given, plus an extra 10% - just like Robbie did when it clicked.
You may be right about all the little things, that's something we can never really know.

My argument is that the change in Ah Chee's body shape, mobility, power and (so far) output, is the most obvious indicator of the errors made in the 2015/16 pre-season that affected the whole team.

Last year, it looked like we had no ability to burst through or out of contested situations. Hammer highlighted it in the second pre-season game. It affected everyone: Ebert, Boak, Wines all looked like they were running through treacle at times. Ah chee looked like he was in treacle all the time, probably because he's just not as good as the rest of our midfield.

This year Ebert and Wines have gone from good to great. Wines' ability to burn away from the contest has been notable.

Ah Chee has gone from delist to solid contributor (again, so far), which is why I singled him out as the most obvious example of the rectification of a team-wide issue.

Could this be just down to Ah Chee doing the little things right? It's probably a factor, but I'm arguing that the physical conditioning focus for the whole team has changed and he has benefited significantly as a result.

You may be right about all the little things, that's something we can never really know.

My argument is that the change in Ah Chee's body shape, mobility, power and (so far) output, is the most obvious indicator of the errors made in the 2015/16 pre-season that affected the whole team.

Last year, it looked like we had no ability to burst through or out of contested situations. Hammer highlighted it in the second pre-season game. It affected everyone: Ebert, Boak, Wines all looked like they were running through treacle at times. Ah chee looked like he was in treacle all the time, probably because he's just not as good as the rest of our midfield.

This year Ebert and Wines have gone from good to great. Wines' ability to burn away from the contest has been notable.

Ah Chee has gone from delist to solid contributor (again, so far), which is why I singled him out as the most obvious example of the rectification of a team-wide issue.

Could this be just down to Ah Chee doing the little things right? It's probably a factor, but I'm arguing that the physical conditioning focus for the whole team has changed and he has benefited significantly as a result.
No worries. I am just quick to respond with so much other coach-bashing on this forum. Always two sides to the story. The lack of injuries is something that fascinates me. Lady luck? Or something amazing that Burgo has instituted? A cumulative effect of the years of hard training? Or a combination of the above?

Long may it continue!

No worries. I am just quick to respond with so much other coach-bashing on this forum. Always two sides to the story. The lack of injuries is something that fascinates me. Lady luck? Or something amazing that Burgo has instituted? A cumulative effect of the years of hard training? Or a combination of the above?

Long may it continue!
No probs mate, nothing wrong with a fair challenge.

If Brendon Ah Chee ever hits you with a left hook