Important for all to Read

With the need to close a couple of hijacked threads & an influx of new posters, I would like to remind everyone of some of the ground rules for posting on Big Footy.

No ongoing personal abuse will be tolerated - period. Crows' supporters do not have immunity to personally abuse non-Crows' supporters (or other Crow supporters), just because it is our board. All posters have the right to post comments on the Crows Board as long as they are respectful of AFC & it's supporters. There has been too much personal "crap" lately flooding this board, which will come to a stop whether it be voluntarily or unvoluntarily. ie. There are a few posters who are close to a temporary banning if they don't stop this unacceptabale behaviour. If you feel someone is unfairly attacking you, rather than get into a fight, PM myself or Dave.

Thanks in advance for making the Crows a board which everyone feels confortable posting.

Kane McGoodwin said:
With the need to close a couple of hijacked threads & an influx of new posters, I would like to remind everyone of some of the ground rules for posting on Big Footy.

No ongoing personal abuse will be tolerated - period. Crows' supporters do not have immunity to personally abuse non-Crows' supporters (or other Crow supporters), just because it is our board. All posters have the right to post comments on the Crows Board as long as they are respectful of AFC & it's supporters. There has been too much personal "crap" lately flooding this board, which will come to a stop whether it be voluntarily or unvoluntarily. ie. There are a few posters who are close to a temporary banning if they don't stop this unacceptabale behaviour. If you feel someone is unfairly attacking you, rather than get into a fight, PM myself or Dave.

Thanks in advance for making the Crows a board which everyone feels confortable posting.

I can cope with that... though this is my first post on the Adelaide board and most likely to be the last. Keep it clean :)

Kane McGoodwin said:

Hear hear!!!!!! :)

Again?
Bit of reading to do by the sounds of it.
The stupid GF made me miss out on all the action on this board. :D

EDIT: Just found it. Thought it was cut and paste from another older thread for a while. :eek:

Well said Kane,

When I first had a look at BigFooty I really enjoyed it; I now find myself wishing there were another Forum that's at least 1/2 worthwhile to visit.:(

There should a 'ground rule' that reads: 3 Strikes = 3 months.

If they post malicious, hurtful, hateful, racial or any other form of abuse or discrimination against a BF member or moderator, 1 strike is recorded.

Good luck with trying to turn this back to an informative and entertaining Board.:)

Whilst I agree with the general sentiments I think that from what I have seen some of the abuse has hardly been vicious or too serious.

Name calling is a bit silly but sometimes you have no choice!!

Jars458 said:
Whilst I agree with the general sentiments I think that from what I have seen some of the abuse has hardly been vicious or too serious.

i agree...

and you'll never ever take abuse out of a public forum...

altho the personal abuse and continual attacking is abit over the top...

is anyone else getting excited that next week is trade week and i think this thursday the AFL release next years fixture??? :)

Jars458 said:

The 1-off type of name calling I don't have so much of an issue (as long as it is not over-the-top abuse), as will often happen when people respond to a poster that they think has made a silly comment.

However, I'm referring to the ongoing slanging matches that have gone on for pages & have often become very personal. There is no place for these.

Kane McGoodwin said:
The 1-off type of name calling I don't have so much of an issue (as long as it is not over-the-top abuse), as will often happen when people respond to a poster that they think has made a silly comment.

However, I'm referring to the ongoing slanging matches that have gone on for pages & have often become very personal. There is no place for these.

When I first came on to this board I read Kanes message about keeping the abuse down and thought good..then I received a reply I felt wasnt warranted and posted a report..I was told to get a thicker skin which was fair enough and I have

But it irks me to see certain posters who to me are like the wife who needs to have the last word..and then they argue over pedantic issues like grammar or ''prove I said it''.. all it does is annoy me and I wonder why I wasted my time to read it.

I try and post on topic or to follow the previous response I try and have my say and thats it..if I feel the need to add more i will but like the ''how many flags have Port won ''argument there comes a time to let it go and to ignore the dribble.

I love coming here but to read a certain recent locked thread was excruciating after about post 26

Steps down off the soapbox

There has been a fair bit of it going on lately, and yes, I am often at the centre of stoushes such as those and I feel with good cause. If I have an opinion - often controversial but never offensive - I will give it. It is then up to others to digest it, if they wish, and reply/debate/agree if they feel the need.

It is a posting board intended for discussion after all.

Unfortunately however, some members - via misinterpretation or ignorance I believe - choose to reply with personal attacks and other assorted undesirable behaviour.

I admit I take the bait, but what other option is there when threads are kept open for days and the posts in question are allowed to stand, unedited, and their authors unwarned?

I have been a member on these boards since early 2003 and in this time have posted nigh-on 7000 posts on a wide array of boards and topics here. The way some people carry on you'd think every one of those posts was offensive, insulting and derogatory to a particular person or cause.

This patently is not the case, and this is why I always request proof or a footnote to the (usually hypocritical) claims and accusations being made.

There is no need for the attacks that have been launched recently - both on me and another I happen to know. If you disagree with a viewpoint of mine, fine. Debate it and argue it rationally, but if you choose to personally attack or insult me based on issues of personality - or heaven forbid, another football club I happen to have a soft spot for - then you shouldn't be so naive as to expect your vitriol will not be returned in kind.

All that said, this is a football (and other sports and general topics) posting board. It would help if people could discuss such issues as a first resort.

I welcome Kane's long overdue action these matters.

Cheers.

Kane McGoodwin said:

I will take the big footy oath and hereby never criticize any fellow chatter or be offensive in any manor again

Kane McGoodwin said:

No worries Kane...

rainmage said:
I now find myself wishing there were another Forum that's at least 1/2 worthwhile to visit.:(

I got some, even need mods if you're interested, PM me for the link if you are. ;)

Mad Dog said:
does this apply to powerknob ? :confused:

C this is exactly what Kane is talking about. Yu just have to turn to personal abuse. I don't like being called a knob, so please stop it or i will be getting in touch with the mods.

PowerKop said:
C this is exactly what Kane is talking about. Yu just have to turn to personal abuse. I don't like being called a knob, so please stop it or i will be getting in touch with the mods.

ahhhhh...there it is....that was easy.. :D

no hard feelings mate........in fact none at all

we know you love the AFC really

Mad Dog said:
ahhhhh...there it is....that was easy.. :D

no hard feelings mate........in fact none at all

we know you love the AFC really

Nah only joking around. I do love the Adelaide Football CLub and the path to destruction they are taking.

PowerKop, the sooner you get banned from this board the better it will be, you are a smug , annoying little fool; who seems obsessed to post on the Crows board. You are aware that Port have there own board are you not?

Yep I agree Kane.

I haven't been frequenting Bigfooty for a while....I got tired of the abuse that was being thrown around.

I am back though and lets hope the good vibes continue.

k
xx