Influential bands.

• Thread starter Thread starter Olmy

Originally posted by The Hitman
Nirvana began (and ended) grunge. Most influential 90's musicians by a mile.

The Hitman

They hardly ended it. Pearl Jam started around the same time and the only difference was they are twice as good and are still going........... sort of

From the music i like:

Nine Inch Nails: Trent Reznor is a musical god...has written, performed, produced 4 albums by himself, remixed another 2 of his albums, did the music and sound effects for Quake, wrote the whole soundtrack for Natural Born Killers. He put Industrial music into the eye of many...took what Skinny Puppy did and added a few bits and changed mainstream music.

Rage Against The Machine: the politics behind their songs made them influential in african and european nations.

Korn/Sepultura: people may think im crazy but Korn and Sepultura created what is now known as 'nu-metal'. Korns debut album changed hard rock music forever basically, while Sepulturas album 'Roots' changed metal forever, getting rid of the solo guitar riff and having a basic verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus-chorus structure. Hundreds of bands follow that basic structure now

Marilyn Manson - as Spidey said - love him or hate him he is one of the most influential artists of the 90s. I am one who loves him...his music is magic....many people say they hate him without even hearing a song...many people think he has had sex with sheep onstage, tore an alive puppy to bits onstage, and had two ribs remove to suck himself off - all FAKE. All stories created by christian bible bashers trying to start crap.
AntiChrist Superstar is one of the greatest albums ive ever heard - every song is amazing....Holy Wood is another that is right up there with the best albums ive heard...Portrait is a fantastic album as well. What many dont realise is...its all a game. Ive read his books, his autobiographies, and seen pretty much all his videos - its all a story he is telling...of how a rock star starts off, gets popular, then sells out...an amazing artist.

The Prodigy - the first band to take electronic rave/dance music into the mainstream. With their debut single Charly - they basically killed rave. Songs like Breathe and Firestarter have been hhuuugggeee. Music for the Jilted Generation is one of the greatest albums of all time. Liam Howlett (the man who writes and performs ALL the music) is a genius. The best thing is they are on the BDO bill this year!!! my favourite ever band!!

thats all i have to say

Originally posted by Savatage

What?

I'm sorry Marilyn has no originality whatsoever. Alice Cooper anyone?

well...ive never heard ONE manson song that sounds anything like a Cooper song before. He is nothing like Alice Cooper anyway. If your gonna say that you could find a band or musician that has done the same thing before earlier on.

Silverchair did create nothing...they never started the post grunge style - pearl jam did that, silverchair just jumped on the bandwagon.

As for Nirvana - they were the most popular band of the grungy style - mainly because Kurt got shot...they were influenced by bands like Soundgarden and Alice in Chains...no way did they begin it - they just got it out into the mainstream...and become arguably the most popular band ever doing so.

Pearl Jam is part of the post grunge era - that followed from Nirvanas ending, same as Silverchair and Live

Originally posted by lioness22
THE BEACH BOYS

It's known that Paul McCartney visited the Beach Boys during their legendary 'SMiLE' sessions (is it coincidence that just after that, Macca had the idea for a concept album????? :mad: Or that 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds' sounds uncannily like 'Wonderful' :mad: I think not.)

What would it matter if McCartney visited the Beach Boys and then Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds sounds like one of there songs... Lennon would have to have visited the Beach Boys seen as Lucy In the Sky with Diamonds is a John song, not a Paul song.....

Originally posted by jod23

What would it matter if McCartney visited the Beach Boys and then Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds sounds like one of there songs... Lennon would have to have visited the Beach Boys seen as Lucy In the Sky with Diamonds is a John song, not a Paul song.....

You Beatle people really are a boring bunch aren't you. :rolleyes: Think a little harder jod, don't take the statement literally.

Originally posted by Bulldog1954

They hardly ended it. Pearl Jam started around the same time and the only difference was they are twice as good and are still going........... sort of

Nirvana got 'out there' first.

Soungarden had been going around for years, as had Mudhoney and Alice In Chains, but without Nirvana, you wouldn't own Soundgarden or Pearl Jam albums.

Pearl Jam weren't grunge after Kurt's death. Pearl Jam became rock, which isn't a bad thing, they are my favorite band. Soundgarden changed their style from stuff like 'Jesus Christ Pose' and created stuff like 'Spoonman' which is not grunge.

If you dare say Silverchair are grunge, you have no idea.

So name me a grunge band post Kurt?

Originally posted by Macca19
From the music i like:

Nine Inch Nails: Trent Reznor is a musical god...has written, performed, produced 4 albums by himself, remixed another 2 of his albums, did the music and sound effects for Quake, wrote the whole soundtrack for Natural Born Killers. He put Industrial music into the eye of many...took what Skinny Puppy did and added a few bits and changed mainstream music.

Rage Against The Machine: the politics behind their songs made them influential in african and european nations.

Korn/Sepultura: people may think im crazy but Korn and Sepultura created what is now known as 'nu-metal'. Korns debut album changed hard rock music forever basically, while Sepulturas album 'Roots' changed metal forever, getting rid of the solo guitar riff and having a basic verse-chorus-verse-chorus-bridge-chorus-chorus structure. Hundreds of bands follow that basic structure now

Marilyn Manson - as Spidey said - love him or hate him he is one of the most influential artists of the 90s. I am one who loves him...his music is magic....many people say they hate him without even hearing a song...many people think he has had sex with sheep onstage, tore an alive puppy to bits onstage, and had two ribs remove to suck himself off - all FAKE. All stories created by christian bible bashers trying to start crap.
AntiChrist Superstar is one of the greatest albums ive ever heard - every song is amazing....Holy Wood is another that is right up there with the best albums ive heard...Portrait is a fantastic album as well. What many dont realise is...its all a game. Ive read his books, his autobiographies, and seen pretty much all his videos - its all a story he is telling...of how a rock star starts off, gets popular, then sells out...an amazing artist.

The Prodigy - the first band to take electronic rave/dance music into the mainstream. With their debut single Charly - they basically killed rave. Songs like Breathe and Firestarter have been hhuuugggeee. Music for the Jilted Generation is one of the greatest albums of all time. Liam Howlett (the man who writes and performs ALL the music) is a genius. The best thing is they are on the BDO bill this year!!! my favourite ever band!!

thats all i have to say

No Black Sabbath? No Iron Maiden? C'mon Macca, I recognize Sep and Korn are definately huge influences, but Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath got the ball rolling. You should have thrown in Slayer too, even though I don't like them.

Pearl Jam is part of the post grunge era - that followed from Nirvanas ending, same as Silverchair and Live

Ten outsold Nevermind while Kurt was still alive. I admit that Nevermind came out first and Ten wouldn't have been a success without Nirvana, but don't insult PJ by saying they capitalized on Kurt's death, when they didn't.

The Hitman

Agree with a couple of Macca's, but....

Nine Inch Nails - esp. Pretty Hate Machine/Broken

Korn - Korn (= 'nu-metal').
I still see Roots as a soulless cash-in, and I'm afraid I lost all respect for the Seps (and subsequent) offshoots after Arise/Beneath the Remains. (Gee, I must be old
:o )

Nirvana made grunge popular (as much as I disliked Nirvana, I HATE Pearl Jam!;) ), but surely most of you agree grunge was alive WAAAY before them....

Sex Pistols/Ramones (punk)

Agnostic Front = 'Tough' guy NYHC

Death/Obituary/Morbid Angel = Death Metal (Floridians unite!)

Siege/Napalm Death = Grindcore

Mayhem/Emperor = Black Metal

Metallica/Slayer = Thrash (ahhh 1986! ;) )

'Rap Metal' - RHCP & Faith No More (now mutated into the Korn 'nu-metal' stuff)

IMHO, have to disagree with M. Manson - a lot of the look/persona is copped from Alice Cooper, and quite a bit of music is copped from David Bowie (the 'softer stuff') or NIN (harder stuff).
Having said this, 'Antichrist Superstar' is STILL a great album.

There you go... a little lesson about music/bands you've probably never heard of! LOL
:p :p

PS. Good topic!

David Bowie is easily the most influential pop musician of all time.

... as voted by pop musicians themselves.

other very influential performers have been :

The Beatles : created and defined the modern guitar band sound.

Jimi Hendrix : Invented Heavy Metal

Pink Floyd : For attempting to make pop music a serious art form

Lou Reed and The Velvet Undergroud : Pioneers of the not-so-heavy 'alternative' sound.

Jonathan Richmond and the Modern Lovers : Not so famous nowadays but an enormously influential sound.

The Sex Pistols : took the underground New York Punk sound and turned it into something far more enduring and important.

Joy Division / New Order : The prototype 80's band.

Jeff Buckley : a great songwriter.

The New Scientists : an Australian garage band that invented the grunge sound, later picked up by Americans in Seattle.

Grand Master Flash and the Furious Five : the first ever Hip-Hop band, a truly radical departure from accepted forms of pop music.

Radiohead : Probably the most influential pop band of the last few years, thats for sure.

cheers

Nobody ever mentions BLONDIE when they talk influential bands.

Blondie only introduced the world to RAP. Rapture is the first song to contain RAP to ever chart in America, the UK, Australia, the rest of the World. It is also the first rap song ever to go to Number 1.
Blondie was also the bands responsible for fusing New Wave and Disco, which became the formula for most eighties music. Some people may see that as something not to be proud of, but I for one love eighties music.
Also Blondie brought femininity back into music. If it wasn't for the outrageous antics of Deborah Harry (along with her brilliant lyrics and vocals) I doubt other female artists like Madonna, Cyndi Lauper and every other female artists would have broken into the mainstream as quickly as they did.

The Beatles are a standout, obviously. Bowie...yes. Particularly during his Ziggy Stardust days - the genesis of glam. Brought music into the realm of performance art - as far back as 1967 (check out the film 'Love you till Tuesday').

REM - I trust that we all remember the eighties?? Enough said!

The Rolling Stones-perhaps the most influential, they are still widely aped today (Black Crowes anyone)

The Beatles-Well Duh!

The Beach Boys-Lush production and awesome harmony never go out of style

The New York Dolls-Who I all hear you ask? Basically all punk and glam rock bands can be traced back to these freaks. They created a blueprint that heaps of bands have used.

The Ramones-the first band to speed up rock n roll (remember kids, they came before the Sex Pistols)

Kiss-the most commercially focused band of all time

Motorhead-all speedmetal and hardcore punk should owe some debt to these guys

Kraftwerk-a bit out of left field but surely these guys helped pioneer a lot of electronic music (as much as I hate it)

Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

The Beach Boys-Lush production and awesome harmony never go out of style

Now THAT is beautifully put. :D For less-lush Beach Boys, can I suggest to people the 'Wild Honey' album, very much worth a listen and may perhaps surprise a few people.

And contains my signature tune. :cool: "You know she's got the sweetness of a honey bee......." :D

OK while I am here too, can I say that 'Pet Sounds' was such an influential album that it has taken an entire 4 disc box set for it to be fully appreciated. I NEVER thought I could spend endless hours listening to SESSIONS, but guess what. :cool:

And a big thanks must go out to Melinda Love, who helped me realise the part her father played in the Beach Boys and their influence on modern music..........an impossible task till I spoke to her. :D lol I am STILL unhappy with Stamos. :mad:

Here's my opinion on this subject.
I'll start with punk and metal because I'm influenced most by them.

The Sex Pistols were influential, but in my opinion, not the most influential punk band. I think bands like MC5 and The Stooges probably started more bands. I'm also of the belief that bands like the Dead Kennedys, Minor Threat, NOFX, Youth of Today and Agnostic Front were responsible for more punk type bands starting than any others. These bands are the forerunners of all that is called 'pop punk', 'hardcore' and 'straight edge' today, and that's a huge amount of bands.
I have to disagree with BSA here and say that Jimi Hendrix did not invent Heavy Metal. I think Jimi helped to define the lead break and heavy rock, but not metal. I think that goes to Black Sabbath. Metal would not be as we know it without Black Sabbath and Tommy Ionni. They took metal from being '**** rock' and made it tough and dangerous again.
Of the newer bands, I definitely think Metallica and Slayer were very influential with the 'thrash metal' crew and made it possible for bands like Korn and Sepultura to do what they do so well.
Grunge: Sorry Hitman, but grunge did not begin and end with Nirvana!! I agree with BSA here, the Scientists (did they drop the new?) were way ahead of their time and way ahead of Nirvana. Mudhoney were also doing it before Nirvana and do it 100 times better. Popularity is not always an indication of ability. I liked Nirvana, but pioneers they weren't.
To finish off this installment. Marylin Manson's music is so unoriginal it just amazes me to think that people call it original. I agree 100% with the Alice Cooper comparison, except Alice was original and good. Rannstein are another band that deserve nothing..........give all that credit to Ministry.

There ends this lesson in Santos' musical tunnelvision.

Originally posted by Grendel

Go and listen to a Pixies album!!! Began and ended grunge.... i dont know... these kids today..... :p

Thankyou Grendel.....What most people don't realise is Nirvana didn't start grunge....the 'grunge' sound was initially from a whole host of Seattle bands, and the sound of the Nevermind record was influenced heavily by a group called the Pixies....a band that influenced many 'alternative' bands in the early 90's.

Anyone who likes grunge or alternative music....I urge you to go out and get a copy of The Pixies greatest hits (can get it for around $20), it's great stuff.

Nirvana obviously had a huge influence still, along with the Beatles, the Sex Pistols and an Aussie Punk band of the 70's called the Saints.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk

Thankyou Grendel.....What most people don't realise is Nirvana didn't start grunge....the 'grunge' sound was initially from a whole host of Seattle bands, and the sound of the Nevermind record was influenced heavily by a group called the Pixies....a band that influenced many 'alternative' bands in the early 90's.

Anyone who likes grunge or alternative music....I urge you to go out and get a copy of The Pixies greatest hits (can get it for around $20), it's great stuff.

Nirvana obviously had a huge influence still, along with the Beatles, the Sex Pistols and an Aussie Punk band of the 70's called the Saints.

G'day GH. I like to hear people talk of the Saints, but they only really produced one 'punk' album before starting to drastically change their style and I'm not sure how influential they were. People in the know loved them, but I think they stayed too underground to be truly influential.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper

G'day GH. I like to hear people talk of the Saints, but they only really produced one 'punk' album before starting to drastically change their style and I'm not sure how influential they were. People in the know loved them, but I think they stayed too underground to be truly influential.

Hey Santos.....you just reminded me of another one...the Velvet Underground.

I've heard the same quote for both the Velvet Underground and the Saints....not many people had heard of them or owned their records, but everyone that did started a band because of them.

It's amazing how many interviews or articles have famous punk musicians mentioning the Saints.

Other punk bands which can be considered to have had a major influence on the modern sound are NOFX, Minor Threat and even more so, Bad Religion.

well...ive never heard ONE manson song that sounds anything like a Cooper song before. He is nothing like Alice Cooper anyway. If your gonna say that you could find a band or musician that has done the same thing before earlier on.

I would have to say Marilyn Manson as well...love him or hate him he cleverly created a lot of controversy generating more publicity for himself and his band.

THAT was the quote I was replying to Macca. Did I mention the music? No! I was responding to the "creating controversy generating publicity for himself and the band". That is not a Manson trademark- the king of them all was Alice Cooper. He's the king of the cheap publicity stunt & he will always be.

I'm Stranded is close to my favourite album of all time. Awesome stuff.

Good call on the Stooges and the MC5 too. Every punk band in the 70s name dropped these guys and I reckon their albums still hold up pretty strong.

As for the Scientists, I really dig them although I think of them as a more swamp band along the lines of the Gun Club rather than a grunge band. I loved Mudhoney because they sounded so late 60s ala Blue Cheer. But in terms of influence, Nirvana did spawn a lot of (mostly aweful) clones.

And regarding metal, Black Sabbath did bring the doom and gloom to the genre. They're still regarded as gods today.

You might be interested in this post:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19634&pagenumber=3

GH, read my long post.

Oops....missed your mention of those bands! Sorry! But yeah, Bad Religion is one I consider pretty huge....so many bands have a similar sound, and Epitaph Records (the label Brett Gueritz (sp?)) set up has been very influential - he also produces a lot of big modern punk albums.

Ditto NOFX and singer Fat Mike - Fat Wreck Chords have been a big player in signing so many punk bands around the world and promoting them to other countries.