Insightful Media Coverage

Yeah, it was a good one. Although, I still do bear a little grudge because he was taking pot shots at WC, and their hubbing colleagues, about much of a hardship it really was before the season started on his podcast. This article somewhat redeemed him though.

I should also point out (not at you arfadunger) that some of this article is aimed at WC too - we need to drop some of the 'Vic bias!', 'it's a conspiracy!!' too and focus on fighting the big fights.
I hear what you're saying, but I don't take Titus' potshots personally. He has a crack at everyone, and no-one more than his beloved Demons.

Interesting article with some good analysis.

What was struck me for the first time is how the loss of Hutching and the taggers role may be impacting on our system. The ability for us to blanket an oppo mid and negate their influence no doubt has a flow on effect on the other mids ability to win the ball in the middle.

Some ugly stats for our mids, particularly TK, but also some ugly stats compared to last year. Basically, the things we were bad at last year, we are worse at, and things we did really well to compensate for that last year, we aren't doing that well this year.

I've come to the opinion that alot of it is related to conditions, so am expecting a big performance tomorrow.

Interesting article with some good analysis.

What was struck me for the first time is how the loss of Hutching and the taggers role may be impacting on our system. The ability for us to blanket an oppo mid and negate their influence no doubt has a flow on effect on the other mids ability to win the ball in the middle.

Some ugly stats for our mids, particularly TK, but also some ugly stats compared to last year. Basically, the things we were bad at last year, we are worse at, and things we did really well to compensate for that last year, we aren't doing that well this year.

I've come to the opinion that alot of it is related to conditions, so am expecting a big performance tomorrow.

While conditions play a big role - Do we only want to be known as a team who can only play good footy in perfect conditions?

Shows more about our game plan lacking flexibility and our players not putting enough effort to win and hunt the footy.

All the stats this year and last year prove it. Even in 2018 with exception being September.

WE'll probably win this week but it just papers over the cracks of deep underlying structural issues with our gameplan and lack of contested game.

While conditions play a big role - Do we only want to be known as a team who can only play good footy in perfect conditions?

Shows more about our game plan lacking flexibility and our players not putting enough effort to win and hunt the footy.

All the stats this year and last year prove it. Even in 2018 with exception being September.

WE'll probably win this week but it just papers over the cracks of deep underlying structural issues with our gameplan and lack of contested game.

I'm not that concerned about it. Every team has strengths and weaknesses.

Coaches job is to build a system and game style that wins games, and hopefully premierships. We've done that. Multiple times.

Every team bases a game style that works best for them.

We need to win games in Perth, and potentially games in Melbourne, especially late in the year.

The game style we have does that.

If we were based in Victoria, or QLD, we would have recruited differently, in order to play a different style of game.

This period of time, kind of sounds a bit like the pre-Malthouse era (too young to know for sure). Good on the outside, but not so great at contested "Victorian" style of football.

I'm not that concerned about it. Every team has strengths and weaknesses.

Coaches job is to build a system and game style that wins games, and hopefully premierships. We've done that. Multiple times.

Every team bases a game style that works best for them.

We need to win games in Perth, and potentially games in Melbourne, especially late in the year.

The game style we have does that.

If we were based in Victoria, or QLD, we would have recruited differently, in order to play a different style of game.

This period of time, kind of sounds a bit like the pre-Malthouse era (too young to know for sure). Good on the outside, but not so great at contested "Victorian" style of football.

Definitely in 2018 we found a system that works to win a flag. It played to our strengths. However, since then we've been found out tactically and beaten systematically - and we haven't done much to change our approach.

We have a Top 2/3 midfield in the AFL, with arguably the best ruckman tapping the ball down our throats. Yet we lose clearances, contested possessions and the midfield game almost every week.

With Judd Cousins Kerr Cox you knew wherever we played, whatever conditions etc. their skills, effort and consistency would always be there. The will to always win was strong.

Don't see it in our gun midfield group post premiership.

With Judd Cousins Kerr Cox you knew wherever we played, whatever conditions etc. their skills, effort and consistency would always be there. The will to always win was strong.

I think you're looking with some rose-coloured glasses there. There were a number of fairly inconsistent efforts even over the '05/'06 period - drubbings in round 21 of both seasons come to mind, as do the consecutive comeback games in '06 - I mean, sure we eventually defeated Carlton in round 11 at home by a couple of goals, but at one point we were down over 40 points, at home, to the eventual wooden spooners. And it didn't get better from there (post premiership as you noted).

in both 06 and 18 we willed ourselves over the line in a few games which was the difference between top 2/4 and the difference in the finals played.

In some of the seasons weve 'nearly' been there weve found ways to lose games we had in control and like the last year and a bit often get 2-3 goals up and give up those leads.

Even v GC and Bris weve held 2 goal leads in the 2nd qtr.

Just not quite there.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think you're looking with some rose-coloured glasses there. There were a number of fairly inconsistent efforts even over the '05/'06 period - drubbings in round 21 of both seasons come to mind, as do the consecutive comeback games in '06 - I mean, sure we eventually defeated Carlton in round 11 at home by a couple of goals, but at one point we were down over 40 points, at home, to the eventual wooden spooners. And it didn't get better from there (post premiership as you noted).
I’ve posted this before but in 06 from round 6 to 16 we were behind at 3QT in 10 games out of 11, and up by 1 point in the other. No doubt we had a huge will to win but we spent significant time that season playing scrappy, inconsistent football. And let’s not forget we also lost out first final at home. Margins can be very small between a wasted season and a successful one.

Good article with some good quotes from Shuey.

We aren't where we need to be right now, but there has been improvement each week.

Keen to see what they are able to bring on Thursday night.

Luke Shuey backs in Jack Darling despite West Coast’s lack of firepower in AFL season 2020

Jack Darling has failed to fire.

West Coast captain Luke Shuey has defended milestone man Jack Darling and the team’s struggling forward line after the Eagles could manage only six goals for the third straight game since the competition resumed.
Darling was held goalless from four disposals in his 200th game as the Eagles lost to unbeaten Port Adelaide by 48 points at Metricon Stadium on Saturday. The key forward has this season looked a shadow of the player who earned his first All-Australian blazer last year.
Shuey said Darling was fit and that West Coast had not been able to generate enough supply for the forwards.

Josh Kennedy booted four of the Eagles’ six goals as they lost the inside-50 count 48-36. They have lost the forward entries tally in every game this season.
“I’ll go into bat for our forwards here. It’s probably a bit unfair to question forwards’ form at the moment, when we’re not giving them as much supply as what they need and deserve,” Shuey said.
West Coast trudge off the ground after the Port loss.

“Right now it feels like we’re defending a lot and that’s never a good sign. So we’ve got to find a way to score, give our forwards better opportunities and try and get the game played in our half.
“So hopefully we can give them a better look next week and I’m sure you’ll see them do their thing.”
Star defender Jeremy McGovern is set to return for Thursday night’s clash with Richmond at Metricon Stadium.
The Eagles and Tigers, the past two premiers and among the flag favourites before the season, have won just one game each.
Both sides will be coming off five-day breaks, after Richmond went down to St Kilda by 26 points on Saturday.
Shuey said the nationally televised match against the reigning premiers was a chance for West Coast to start turning around their season, rather than an opportunity for a statement win.
“We’re not out to make statements. We want to win games of footy. We’ll control what we can control and it’s another really good test for us Thursday night against an amazing club that’s played some really good footy, as we have over the last few years,” he said.
“When your chips are down like they are for us at the moment and you’re not playing well, what a way to bounce back and test yourself against a really good club. They’ve got so much talent and a really good system.”
The Eagles strangely won the clearance count 35-23, including centre clearances 15-6, but couldn’t turn that advantage into meaningful forward supply.
Charlie Dixon marks in front on Tom Barrass.

They also levelled the contested possession count 117-117, an area where they had been well down.
“We still got beaten pretty comprehensively, so maybe a few people will stop saying that’s the be all and end all for us,” Shuey said.
“But it’s certainly a stat we want to win. It’s a step in the right direction, but right now as it stands we’re not good enough and we need to keep working our backsides off to get better.
“You can always find a win. Every week we roll out we’re confident. The evidence is there over the last few years that we can find ways to win.
“So we’re trying to make it click at the moment. It hasn’t, but I think if we keep working hard it’s going to turn around at some stage. But we can’t rely on that. We’ve got to make it happen and let’s hope it’s next week.”

Round 4: Alastair Clarkson calls on AFL to open up game as Hawks hold off North Melbourne in dour affair

Alastair Clarkson holds grave fears for the state of the game with the mastermind coach declaring Hawthorn’s win over North Melbourne as a “terrible spectacle” putting the game in “a dreadful space”.
In an impassioned appeal, the Hawthorn coach desperately pleaded with league headquarters to open the game up by rewarding the tackler rather than the ball carrier.

As Geelong counterpart Chris Scott put forward a suggestion to reduce team sizes to 16 players to reduce congestion, Clarkson said the rules and their textbook adjudication had resulted in a game style that is difficult to watch.

And he hopes the AFL hears his message “loud and clear”.

“We had 69 tackles and I don’t think we had a free kick from a tackle. Sixty-nine tackles. And not one of them can be adjudicated holding the ball?,” Clarkson said.

“It’s just like, what’s happened to our game? You can’t have that many tackles and not one of them be incorrect disposal. And you wonder why the game is an arm-wrestle and that you can’t get any open footy.

“Tonight’s game was just, god … if that’s the spectacle that we’re trying to search for in our game, then our game’s in a dreadful space. But we’re better than that and I think we can do a hell of a lot better by opening the game up a little bit and adjudicate some of those holding the balls, for both sides.

“Please umps, just pay ‘em. Open the game up.”

Clarkson said he would not contact the league to express his frustration, declaring it had been an issue he had raised for at least the last four years.

“No (I won’t call them). They’ll listen to this press conference no doubt and hopefully they hear it loud and clear,” he said.

“The game … the scores.

“The AFL can’t be happy with it that … Geelong and Melbourne, who I both rate as sides – both sides I think could play finals this year – and it’s two goals each at half-time? Fair dinkum.

“It’s great in a sense that no one knows who’s going to win, but in terms of the spectacle of the game, I’m concerned right now with where we’re going with it.”

Scott said reducing teams by two players would be a simple fix for the game’s congestion woes.

“If your issue is congestion, and you want the ball to flow better and make it harder to defend, reduce the numbers on the field,” Scott said.

“Increase the numbers of rotations and the ball will ping around it and will be so hard to coach and so hard to defend.

“I’m not advocating for it, I’m just saying based on what I’ve seen, if that is your issue, then that is your fix.”

But Scott said the AFL chiefs, including his brother Brad, who works at league headquarters on game trends and strategy, should have full control over the decision rather than worrying about input from coaches.

Clarkson said umpires had little option other than to protect the ball carrier, as per the league’s directive.

He maintained that the current style was not by coaching design and that he and other coaches desperately wanted to play more attacking football.

“It just mounts for a very, very frustrating game,” Clarkson said.

“Footy can’t be played in the manner that we liked, when it’s being adjudicated like it is at the present time.

“And it’s not the umps’ fault – the umps are just doing what they’re told to do. But I think our game across the board is not seeing any exciting brands of footy, passages of play, there’s hardly any goals score. Fans love goals, fans love high marks.

“But we’re just not seeing anywhere near enough.

“What a shame we’re not encouraging our players to actually play the game properly. Terrible spectacle.

“I’m sorry for <deleted>canning our own brand, and our own club and our own team in this space. But I was so disappointed in the way we played and I was so disappointed with the way that the game is being played right at the present time.

“It’s frustrating, and it must be frustrating our fans.”

Round 4: Alastair Clarkson calls on AFL to open up game as Hawks hold off North Melbourne in dour affair

Alastair Clarkson holds grave fears for the state of the game with the mastermind coach declaring Hawthorn’s win over North Melbourne as a “terrible spectacle” putting the game in “a dreadful space”.
In an impassioned appeal, the Hawthorn coach desperately pleaded with league headquarters to open the game up by rewarding the tackler rather than the ball carrier.

As Geelong counterpart Chris Scott put forward a suggestion to reduce team sizes to 16 players to reduce congestion, Clarkson said the rules and their textbook adjudication had resulted in a game style that is difficult to watch.

And he hopes the AFL hears his message “loud and clear”.

“We had 69 tackles and I don’t think we had a free kick from a tackle. Sixty-nine tackles. And not one of them can be adjudicated holding the ball?,” Clarkson said.

“It’s just like, what’s happened to our game? You can’t have that many tackles and not one of them be incorrect disposal. And you wonder why the game is an arm-wrestle and that you can’t get any open footy.

“Tonight’s game was just, god … if that’s the spectacle that we’re trying to search for in our game, then our game’s in a dreadful space. But we’re better than that and I think we can do a hell of a lot better by opening the game up a little bit and adjudicate some of those holding the balls, for both sides.

“Please umps, just pay ‘em. Open the game up.”

Clarkson said he would not contact the league to express his frustration, declaring it had been an issue he had raised for at least the last four years.

“No (I won’t call them). They’ll listen to this press conference no doubt and hopefully they hear it loud and clear,” he said.

“The game … the scores.

“The AFL can’t be happy with it that … Geelong and Melbourne, who I both rate as sides – both sides I think could play finals this year – and it’s two goals each at half-time? Fair dinkum.

“It’s great in a sense that no one knows who’s going to win, but in terms of the spectacle of the game, I’m concerned right now with where we’re going with it.”

Scott said reducing teams by two players would be a simple fix for the game’s congestion woes.

“If your issue is congestion, and you want the ball to flow better and make it harder to defend, reduce the numbers on the field,” Scott said.

“Increase the numbers of rotations and the ball will ping around it and will be so hard to coach and so hard to defend.

“I’m not advocating for it, I’m just saying based on what I’ve seen, if that is your issue, then that is your fix.”

But Scott said the AFL chiefs, including his brother Brad, who works at league headquarters on game trends and strategy, should have full control over the decision rather than worrying about input from coaches.

Clarkson said umpires had little option other than to protect the ball carrier, as per the league’s directive.

He maintained that the current style was not by coaching design and that he and other coaches desperately wanted to play more attacking football.

“It just mounts for a very, very frustrating game,” Clarkson said.

“Footy can’t be played in the manner that we liked, when it’s being adjudicated like it is at the present time.

“And it’s not the umps’ fault – the umps are just doing what they’re told to do. But I think our game across the board is not seeing any exciting brands of footy, passages of play, there’s hardly any goals score. Fans love goals, fans love high marks.

“But we’re just not seeing anywhere near enough.

“What a shame we’re not encouraging our players to actually play the game properly. Terrible spectacle.

“I’m sorry for <deleted>canning our own brand, and our own club and our own team in this space. But I was so disappointed in the way we played and I was so disappointed with the way that the game is being played right at the present time.

“It’s frustrating, and it must be frustrating our fans.”

I've been saying it since 2016. This refusal to ping incorrect disposal has led to an ugly, rolling maul, rugby-esque syle of footy. Side like the Bullies and Richmond have exploited this "Knocked free in the tackle, play on!" mindset to the fullest. At the best execution the game can still be high scoring ala Richmond but it's ugly football.

Yeah Clarkson's complaint is legitimate. If we ourselves ever had 69 tackles in a game (LOL!) and didnt get a single free kick then we'd be spitting chips.

I've been saying it since 2016. This refusal to ping incorrect disposal has led to an ugly, rolling maul, rugby-esque syle of footy. Side like the Bullies and Richmond have exploited this "Knocked free in the tackle, play on!" mindset to the fullest. At the best execution the game can still be high scoring ala Richmond but it's ugly football.
"He tried" ! Crock of $hit. The game has been nearly unwatchable for years.

Did enjoy the review by Titus this week.

West Coast v Sydney (Metricon) 1:45pm Foxtel

I had a friend who once went to the Gold Coast, got stung by a jelly fish, had his phone stolen and then his girlfriend dumped him after hooking up with a surfer.

His stay on the Gold Coast was still better than West Coast’s has been.

To find a worse time on the Gold Coast you have to talk to either the Crows or the Brisbane Bears.

What I do find interesting is how the Eagles haven’t even really hidden their disdain for being on the Gold Coast. Their lack of discipline on the field, their media statements and the way they’ve played, has been one giant dummy spit.

Compare it to the way Port have approached being in the hub and Eagles fans would be right in wondering if this is really how a professional sporting team is meant to behave.

Sydney are not getting any good luck at the moment. They were meant to play Melbourne at the MCG, four points they desperately needed, and now they’re off to the Gold Coast to face the Eagles.

There’s no real timeline for Buddy Franklin’s return, and if ever you’re not going to rush someone back, this is the season.

It will be interesting to see if teams throw in the towel a lot earlier this season. If ever you’re going to tank, surely this is the season to do it. I’m expecting more injuries to be announced in later rounds than before an AFLX game.

West Coast to win.

Did enjoy the review by Titus this week.

West Coast v Sydney (Metricon) 1:45pm Foxtel

I had a friend who once went to the Gold Coast, got stung by a jelly fish, had his phone stolen and then his girlfriend dumped him after hooking up with a surfer.

His stay on the Gold Coast was still better than West Coast’s has been.

To find a worse time on the Gold Coast you have to talk to either the Crows or the Brisbane Bears.

What I do find interesting is how the Eagles haven’t even really hidden their disdain for being on the Gold Coast. Their lack of discipline on the field, their media statements and the way they’ve played, has been one giant dummy spit.

Compare it to the way Port have approached being in the hub and Eagles fans would be right in wondering if this is really how a professional sporting team is meant to behave.

Sydney are not getting any good luck at the moment. They were meant to play Melbourne at the MCG, four points they desperately needed, and now they’re off to the Gold Coast to face the Eagles.

There’s no real timeline for Buddy Franklin’s return, and if ever you’re not going to rush someone back, this is the season.

It will be interesting to see if teams throw in the towel a lot earlier this season. If ever you’re going to tank, surely this is the season to do it. I’m expecting more injuries to be announced in later rounds than before an AFLX game.

West Coast to win.

The only thing I reckon he’s got wrong there is the result. :p

Insightful Media Coverage