Deep North

Melb Victory, West Ham
Here's an interesting observation from a writer I respect (Martin Blake). I wasn't at the game tonight, would be interested in people's thoughts.

Only one concern remains about the premiership favourites. It is all very well and admirable for Cam Mooney and Steve Johnson to have a little side bet between themselves about how many "goal assists" they can have this season. But at times, it gets awfully close to mickey-taking, and history tells us that footy teams who don't respect their opposition eventually get caught.

Discuss

Personally I have enough belief in Cam and Stevie to know that they can make good enough decision on the footy field. It's not like they are going to be deliberately passing the footy off during a grandfinal (unless you are playing Port and are up by 100 odd points). I'm surprised that is his only concern... surely there is more things to worry about if anything.

I get the feeling that it is going to be a long week...

Yeah i think that article is stupid. If they took all their shots, then ppl would say their too hungry, if they look to pass off a lot, then they seem cocky.

I think this mite be an anti geelong article coz ppl want to bring down the best. Tall poppy syndrome is alive an well

I think Cam can get a bit silly with the need to pass. I don't think it's necessarily because of the bet but more to just continue the great flow of play. But a fair bit of the time it would be better if he took a little time and went back and collected himself rather than hurrying himself into a pass.

I'm pretty happy with what SJ is doing.

the whole team does it and I think it is a bit stupid. If you are 20-40m out from goal then have the bloody kick. I'd rather see Mooney with 80 goals to his name for the season than 40 and 40 assists. History wont give a damn about his asists, just how many goals he kicked as a forward.

I agree with Flannigan. There was one where I think Mooney passed to Rooke and it turned out to be a difficult mark. Happy with Lonergan. He appears confident to shoot from within 50m. Seems to have gotten over his kicking yips and converted well last night. I'd prefer if Moons kept the game simple. Lead up, take the shot, slot the goal. If he's not confident kicking from within 50m, then more goal kicking practice.

Not arrogance but the fact that it keeps popping up in discussions (eg 3AW last night) means the layoff/'assist' is being a little overdone. But all these decisions are usually done in the heat of the moment, and noone could seriously suggest they are the result of lack of respect for opponents. I have confidence that the coaching staff have it well under control and would be making appropriate comments to players during match reviews.

Ultimately this type of play is symptomatic of what makes the current Geelong team the truly GREAT side they are (irrespective of this year's outcome). They play for each other not themselves, and they all know the importance of effort even when having an off day, ie they don't want to let each other down.

moons and sj are doing fine, assists aren't a great stat, but who cares- the goals are coming from somewhere, and in great quantity, the fact that we dont have a single major target is a strength.

as for being cocky? who cares? a bit of cockiness can get you a long way:cool:

mooney said on the footy show this morning they dont actually have a bet going they do it to bring players into the game.

Ultimately this type of play is symptomatic of what makes the current Geelong team the truly GREAT side they are (irrespective of this year's outcome). They play for each other not themselves, and they all know the importance of effort even when having an off day, ie they don't want to let each other down.

When in the Army we were always taught that teamwork was not about encouraging those that fell behind, but digging deep to make sure you aren't the one being left behind and adversely affecting the team.

Then again, that's the military....this is football;)

Whilst it is admirable that the players are determined to be not selfish, some of the decisions that have been made at times have been downright stupid.

BEing a team player is not just about getting ur team mates involved it is also about doign what is best for the team, and if that means having a go urself then u should do it.

I am hoping that Mooney etc. onyl do it when the game is safe in the bag. In that case maybe getting ur team mate invovled is good, but when the game is not safe and u should go urself then do it.

It will bite us one day if we are not careful.

When ur in the 50 and i have a decent shot take it, dont pass to a contested situation.

It is good.
It runs the opposition into the ground.
Pressure is on all the time, equates to exhausting the opposition.
The opposition plays to stop themselves to be made to look like a dill, when the alternative is to take a quick breather and get back into the match.

This is the best kind of mindgames, second only to our last two losses. (So what exactly did PA and Coll gain/learn from their wins?)

In a GF the threat of doing it is sufficient to get their defenders chasing their tales. We have the luxury of being conservative, and throw feign punches that are believeable and must be defended. This is worth the occasional mistake.

the whole team does it and I think it is a bit stupid. If you are 20-40m out from goal then have the bloody kick. I'd rather see Mooney with 80 goals to his name for the season than 40 and 40 assists. History wont give a damn about his asists, just how many goals he kicked as a forward.

Mooney & Johnson won't give a damn either.

The premiership medals speak for themselves.

Hope you guys don't mind me posting here.I thought along similar lines last night..not so much taking the mickey ,but there was one where I reckon Mooney may as well of kicked a goal but chose a really risky assist instead,as long as they don't get too carried away.

It is good.
It runs the opposition into the ground.
Pressure is on all the time, equates to exhausting the opposition.
The opposition plays to stop themselves to be made to look like a dill, when the alternative is to take a quick breather and get back into the match.

This is the best kind of mindgames, second only to our last two losses. (So what exactly did PA and Coll gain/learn from their wins?)

In a GF the threat of doing it is sufficient to get their defenders chasing their tales. We have the luxury of being conservative, and throw feign punches that are believeable and must be defended. This is worth the occasional mistake.

That's a very good point. If they've (Geelong) sown enough seedsduring H&A, the opposition will be predisposed to believing that the play on/goal assist is going to happen.
If they believe that, then it won't matter how outrageous the dummy is...they won't (and can't) help but play to it....they're dammned if they do....and damned if they don't.