jmorg1

I've noticed the hatred towards Adelaide from Victorians have subsided just a little over the years. In fact some of them have chosen to direct their contempt towards Port (and understandably so). I've also found it interesting that WA'ians seem to hate SA'ians with equal passion. Anyone know why this is so? SA'ians don't really care too much about WA'ians. In fact I would say that most SA'ians were barracking for West Coast in their grand finals. For some reason, a lot of WA'ians on the other hand seem to find great satisfaction in ridiculing and rubbishing our teams. Why is this?

Originally posted by DaveW
I haven't noticed any out of the ordinary antipathy towards the Crows from West Coast and Fremantle supporters. :confused:

Didn't like the Crows in 97 or 98, but that was largely because we spent time overseas and the people we buddied up with at the time were Crows fans who took much delight in rubbing our noses in how pathetic Freo were while Adelaide was out winning premierships. Ouch...:mad: :o

Now - have no problem with the Crows, don't like Port much, but that's more a Port thing than a particularly SA / WA thing. I like Collingwood and WCE less than Port.
:confused:

Originally posted by jmorg1
I would say that most SA'ians were barracking for West Coast in their grand finals.

Not this SA'ian...against Hawthorn, yeah but was definitely barracking for Geelong and Malcolm Blight in the other 2.

Originally posted by jmorg1
I've noticed the hatred towards Adelaide from Victorians have subsided just a little over the years. In fact some of them have chosen to direct their contempt towards Port (and understandably so). I've also found it interesting that WA'ians seem to hate SA'ians with equal passion. Anyone know why this is so? SA'ians don't really care too much about WA'ians. In fact I would say that most SA'ians were barracking for West Coast in their grand finals. For some reason, a lot of WA'ians on the other hand seem to find great satisfaction in ridiculing and rubbishing our teams. Why is this?

I came across a lot of Eagles supporters at the 97 and 98 Grannies (who had package deals) who were following The Crows and that included the in-laws. Also my mum-in-law sent me a write up from one of the West Australian papers when she got back to Perth and it gave the Crows a very good write up.
I have however noticed a swing (if you like) to more club orientated hatred with Victorians of late. For example some like The Crows and hate Port (or vice versa), or some like The Eagles and hate The Dockers (or vice versa). It's not nearly as 'state' orientated as it used to be. We are 'just' another club.

i agree that SA hates VIC, but not sure bout WA...personally, i have nothing against WA (in fact, i have heaps of rellies over there)..but Victoria is another matter...

i loved state of origin...beating the 'big V' was always good fun...

they should bring it back (which is a whole new thread)

SA fans especially when the Crows first came in were considered a bit rabid in their support. The incidents of cars with Vic licence plates being attacked probably didnt help their cause on both sides of the nullabor. Not that WA people care for Vics but that was taking it a bit to far.

The eagles have alos lost in finals twice to the Crows and I dont think Eagles fans in WA forget that.

I definitely don't hate the Victorian teams with the exception of Collingwood, and that's related to the absolute unjustified arrogance of their most vocal supporters.

I don't hate Port but they're definitely next in line for very much the same reason as Collingwood.

As for the WA teams I used to be an Eagles supporter before the Crows came into the AFL, and I've have never had any animosity towards Freo.

So for me the 2 on my black list are Collingwood and Port in that order, and the rest don't really bother me - whatever state they come from.

I tell you who ****ed me off this season!!!!!

Brisbane Lions supporters!!!!!!!

Both times I went up there I sat near rude, ignorant, foul mouthed drunks. Thankfully I controlled my temper right up until the the last quarter in the finals.........but then something just had to be said :mad: :mad: .

k
xx

Originally posted by macca23
I definitely don't hate the Victorian teams with the exception of Collingwood, and that's related to the absolute unjustified arrogance of their most vocal supporters.

I don't hate Port but they're definitely next in line for very much the same reason as Collingwood.

As for the WA teams I used to be an Eagles supporter before the Crows came into the AFL, and I've have never had any animosity towards Freo.

So for me the 2 on my black list are Collingwood and Port in that order, and the rest don't really bother me - whatever state they come from.
I agree with this but I would add Essendon and Carlton to that list. Essendon because they are bitching about the salary cap and Carlton becuase of Big Jack. I know he is well and truly gone now but it just stuck with me.

If there is one thing I hate most in life and especially in Sport is the arrogance and Port and Collingwood have sh|itloads of that. Never had any respect for anyone arrogant.

Port Adelaide aren't South Australian, they're just Port Adelaide, so they be classed as interstaters :p hehe.. I dunno who's supporters and that I dislike more, Port or Collingwood.

tough choice.

I don't mind the rest of the Victorian teams though, or the others in the AFL.

im quite suprised about all the anti port stuff coming through in this thread. i would not have thought that the port supporters were any worse then any other team . you always get the arrogant ****ers in every crowd...but i wouldnt think that over all we were too bad.

Originally posted by Groove
im quite suprised about all the anti port stuff coming through in this thread. i would not have thought that the port supporters were any worse then any other team . you always get the arrogant ****ers in every crowd...but i wouldnt think that over all we were too bad.

Don't take it personally, because I'm pretty sure that the majority of Port suppporters in Bigfooty aren't typical of what we are talking about.

But umpteen years of having it stuck up us by Port supporters in the SANFL by some pretty arrogant, one-eyed intolerant specimens has definitely created the same feeling as exists towards Collingwood in Victoria. You love 'em or you hate 'em. The biggest difference is that the Port arrogance is based on phenomenal success while the Collingwood one is based on .... erm ...nothing!! ;)

I've always been anti-VFL...

pre-91 I was an Eagles supporter...
Now I'll always go for the Crows, following teams in the following order of preference...

Crows, Eagles, Brisbane, Sydney, Freo, the 9 other Victorian teams, Collingwood, Port.

Originally posted by CrowBoi
Now I'll always go for the Crows, following teams in the following order of preference...

Crows, Eagles, Brisbane, Sydney, Freo, the 9 other Victorian teams, Collingwood, Port.
I'd pretty much have to agree with that order, except maybe Brisbane ahead of West Coast.:)

Must admit i did enjoy the fact of only 2 Vic clubs in the final 8 last year, :)

As most of yuse guys the only interstate club i like to see come off 2nd best is Collingwood for all the obvious reasons, never forget our 1st win in Melbourne over them at the G in 98 the abuse we copped before the game was nothing like what we received after we beat them :( it was pure filth/hate & quite scary stuff, anyone who ventured out to Vic park to watch the Crows play the Pies have my utmost admiration.

Port Power is still my fav team to dislike although to be honest even that is starting to waver & is being replaced by some degree to a feeling of pity towards their long suffering supporters after their clubs effort in the last 3 final series.

Originally posted by noddy

anyone who ventured out to Vic park to watch the Crows play the Pies have my utmost admiration.

I'll take a bow then noddy as I qualify for the above - and survived.

It was bloody awful at Vic Park!! Absolutely scary!! Huge obese specimens wearing navy tanktops, drinking their beer and smoking, covered in tatts, and spitting out swearwords, threats, venom and abuse around the one tooth in their unwashed heads.

The men were even more frightening.

Originally posted by macca23
I'll take a bow then noddy as I qualify for the above - and survived.

It was bloody awful at Vic Park!! Absolutely scary!! Huge obese specimens wearing navy tanktops, drinking their beer and smoking, covered in tatts, and spitting out swearwords, threats, venom and abuse around the one tooth in their unwashed heads.

The men were even more frightening.

Class. :D

I have no problems with footy supporters or either team from W.A, there are two teams I hate with an absolute passion Pt Adelaide and Collingwood:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Im not a big fan of St Kilda or Bulldogs either basically just because they are hopeless and really are existing cause the AFL wants them to:rolleyes:

Other teams such as Geelong, Melbourne,Richmond etc I have no problem with;)

There is a definate rivarly between S.A and Victoria though, but that isnt only footy it's all sports, cricket, basketball etc, but to be honest and from an ex Sth Aussie now living Melbourne I think the Vic's hate the people from NSW more than Sth Aussie's;)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Im not a big fan of St Kilda or Bulldogs either basically just because they are hopeless and really are existing cause the AFL wants them to:rolleyes:

What about Sydney?!

The financial handouts, the charity recruiting...

Originally posted by DaveW
How easily some people forget Dr Edelsten handing the VFL millions in the mid 80s. :o

Big deal! Edelsten was a crooked moron and the VFL/AFL has pumped more into Sydney and given the Swans more handouts that any other club.

A pink helicopter?? I mean for ****s sake ;)

I don't like...................

My dislike is for both Brisbane and Sydney because they get way to much help and they can get more salary then the strugling Vic clubs.