Is Cricket 'DEAD' Thread

About how the selectors had done a good job but the players had let them down.

I'm reminded of a head of London transport, who, when asked why some buses weren't stopping to pick up passengers, replied that it disrupted the timetable.

I am sure it did:)

Is that true?
Re the question I asked about Queensland,s failure to produce test players.

Hohns and Colin McCool are the only test class spinners Qld has produced.

I am a proud Queenslander and this is a serious question. My intention is not to rub it in against anyone instead I want to see if any have any ideas as to why Qld has not been successful.

I have a theory that would stand up to scrutiny for oh about five minutes.

Lets hear your 5 min theory LM.

It did take Qld near on a century to win its 1st shield till Sir Greg Chappell arrived.

Is that true?

I am a proud Queenslander and this is a serious question. My intention is not to rub it in against anyone instead I want to see if any have any ideas as to why Qld has not been successful.

Would the climate have anything to do with it?

Isn't the best time to play cricket in Queensland between June & mid December - out of kilter with the season?

Or is it a perceived issue that Queensland cricketers only play well in Brisbane, but stick them on any other pitch in the country & they are suspect? (Very much like the South Australian team & Adelaide)

Is that true?

Would the climate have anything to do with it?

Isn't the best time to play cricket in Queensland between June & mid December - out of kilter with the season?

Or is it a perceived issue that Queensland cricketers only play well in Brisbane, but stick them on any other pitch in the country & they are suspect? (Very much like the South Australian team & Adelaide)

I was thinking climate was a contributing factor too, but more to do with the the strength of the regional comps in the north? I have no idea about QLD cricket, but the regional comps in VIC and NSW have been very strong and a great breading ground for youngsters to develop and test their metal before making the journey to the city.

Anyway that's my 5min theory.

Over to you LMOG

The time has come for a clean-out and its starts at the top.

I don't care how many years Neilson is signed up for - GAWN

Batting coach Langer - GAWN

Bowling coach Cooley - GAWN

Fielding coach Young - GAWN

Bring in the Victorian Coach. Since taking over from Hooksey, we haven't looked back.

Get Warne or McGill in as spin bowling coaches.

Bring back DKL as the fast bowling coach.

Bobby Simpson as slips coach.

Jonty Rhodes as fielding coach.

Time to split up the Test and short format teams like the Poms have done.

No more stuffing around now... Cricket Aust has plenty of coin and time to start using some.

Neilson has no plan or idea so get rid of him
Selectors just no idea so chop them up
Watson obviously cannot run between wickets so what is Langer doing?
Bowlers are ordinary but at least they could pick blokes that have a go and do not bowl 10 pies for 1 good ball. Get rid of Johnson.
Pay blokes to play 20/20 but do not try and make them into 1st class players

Bring in Steve Rixon as coach
Need a new captain
Bowling coach needs to be able to coach quicks. Use an expert for spin assistance
Fielding coach should at least know a bit about cricket not ffing baseball.
Ponting must go to let Khawaja bat 3
5 batsman, all rounder at 6 (Watson), keeper/batsman (Haddin then Paine), 4 bowlers. You need great bowlers to succeed with only 4.

It will take 5 years through trial and error but start today

That is what the windies said mid 90s, nothings changed.

I don't see the aussies changing quickly, especially after they reappointed nielsen for 3 years

That is what the windies said mid 90s, nothings changed.

I don't see the aussies changing quickly, especially after they reappointed nielsen for 3 years

I get the feeling the review will be far reaching and spell the end of Neilsen & Hilditch. The words coming from Sutherland and Ponting (as opposed to the denial from Hilditch) makes me think this. The lack of a well structured and evaluated "business" plan has been evident which reflects badly on both (as well as Sutherland and Brown for that matter). It'll be a long haul and require grass roots reform, but let's hope the interstate politics are nothing compared to the inter-island ones encountered by the formally great Caribbean.

Correct Henry, if a state cannot spell beer then what hope does it have.;)

I write this as one of the most extreme wet weather patterns ever is continually bombarding South East Queensland.

I suppose that this gives me a lead into why I think that Queensland is a very poor performing cricket state.

Firstly, the weather that Queensland has experienced since September is not, I say again is not a typical Queensland wet season, despite what some with a political agenda say.

I believe that Queensland’s cricket deficiencies are due to it’s climate. Most of the state has two distinct seasons, a dry mild winter, and a hot, sultry, wet summer beginning with the November thunderstorms and the wet season proper starting in December with rainfall increasing each month reaching a peak in February (the wettest month).

The effect of this weather dramatically affects the preparation of cricket pitches. Whilst the Gabba and some suburban grounds usually have a well prepared pitch, many suburban pitches range from average to mud heaps. The standard of suburban grade wickets dictates the quality of players coming through the production line of grade cricket. These pitches give bowlers an advantage and deny batsmen the opportunity of developing their batting through lengthy innings. Any study of grade cricket scores will show very few centuries and big centuries are unheard of.

This is a problem confronting A grade cricketers, but the problem does not end there. As the standard drops from A grade, the quality of the pitches also drop, making it extremely difficult for young players to gain valuable batting practice thus allowing them to develop their skills. When all of the above factors are considered, state representatives do not have the preparation for first class cricket as other states and are found wanting at that level.

The situation gets worse further down the scale. School cricketers very seldom have the advantage of good wickets as other states, same for warehouse. Good batting wickets are a rarity at all levels.

Some in NSW may know of Yulong oval at Moorebank. This wicket is mostly used for minor cricket, yet is better prepared than most Brisbane pitches. I use Yulong oval simply as an example knowing that it is typical of many in Sydney.

If necessary I will discuss regional centres later.

Enough at this stage. Over to you for comment and criticisms.

Thanks Henry

Do you have another 50 that you can spare

Good theory, Lord Mud.

It seems that John Buchanan is also interested in getting back in too.

Good theory, Lord Mud.

It seems that John Buchanan is also interested in getting back in too.

Wouldn't mind Hohns getting back on board.

Neilson and Hilditch must go. Arsehats of the highest order

Hi guys, sorry to intrude but I can't resist a cricket thread particularly one that has gone as long as this.

I love the game but seriously worry about it's continuing relevance in it's purest form (ie the 4 and 5 day format).

The biggest threat is the slogging abhorance called 20/20. I hate it with a passion and would rather watch replays of sesame street. We teach young kids batting technique from day one, get them into our Shield teams and then sit and watch those bastards from the IPL offer them a zillion dollars to forget all they've learned and try to put every ball into the crowd. They return to the longer format and don't know which way to play.

On the current dilemma, when I was growing up I always heard that the second hardest thing to do in cricket was to make the test team, the hardest was to get dropped from it (unless your name is Brad Hodge). We are still in that position. This is obvious when you hear Hilditch say the selectors are doing a "good job" and the captain makes comments like "we don't need to change the team","North shouldn't be dropped" and "Johnson should stay in the team." How much chance did Bollinger have in Adelaide when he knew his captain didn't want him? And why was he still in the squad for a home test and left out for Hilfinger who probably got a record low wickets for a 4 test quick?

On field captaincy and Pontings demeanour on the ground is as bad as I can remember. I don't think Clarke is the answer as a captain as he is struggling to keep his place.

Maybe Haddin is the best option but how's his attitude going to be when the selectors have earmarked Payne as a future captain? If thats what they really think then bite the bullet and put him in now.

Hilditch must go and the Chappel that's on the panel is the wrong one, he hasn't been a success in anything cricket related since he retired. We need guys like Steve Waugh, Mark Taylor and DKL on the selection panel. These guys know what fighting for your spot and delivering under pressure is about. None made the team because they were the "right age."

Neilson must go along with the others, all they're doing wasting space, who is teaching who what?

Best potential coach in the country is Shane Warne and he should be appointed immediately and should also be on the selection panel. Let him appoint his assistants. Simpson did and he still remains the best coach we ever had.

Get rid of the old guys (Ponting, Hussey and Katich) now and put kids in and give them time o develop. Sure we'll get some hidings but we're getting them now. If we do it now we may take a young, hungry side to England in 2 years not a bunch of vets that have done it all and are living on reputations.

Sorry this is so long but I think there is lots that need fixing and I am just a tad passionate about this game.

Welcome, mate. No intrusion at all. Thanks for your contribution and feel free to post here.

So when is the 2020 clown match being played? That Bradley Hodge can't spring a game in that hit & giggle fest, and the 50 over format for that matter too, is a joke.

It's so funny that o turn on the tv at 9 pm and cricket is on, I had no idea they were playing. Watching this I just don't see competitiveness in 20/20.

The clown game on is it?

Gallant effort tonight but a disappointing result. Our batsmen needed another 15-20 runs. Our bowling, excluding Watson was very average in attempting to defend a relatively small score. Those dropped catches and missed runouts- don't get me started on those.

Weather for MEL on Fri for the 20/20 is set to be wet and there is a chance we may not get much play. Hopefully clearer on Sun for the ODI.

Just on Aussie 20/20, ODI, IPL and Test Cricket: Players either need to adapt quickly to all forms of the game or choose the one or two they are most strong in. Too many players struggling at the moment transitioning between games. Seeing batsmen get out playing shots for the short games in Test Cricket irks me somewhat.

Whilst I love to see Lee run in and bowling at 145kph +, he (and others) have their benefits swiftly reduced if they can't bowl to a plan and a certain length and line.

Ahhhh....bring on footy season!