is jacko any good

Nah, got the tools, but no footy brain. Will need to do that a few more times to be retained and i dont think there are any suitors lining up for a trade at this stage

:) Exactly right! A few names for you....McGrath, Danny Meyer, Chris Pym, Greg Hamilton, Dan Foley, Richard Lounder, Ben Hollands. All had their day where they booted three or more goals and stole the spotlight. Emphasis on the word "day". Will need to be contributing regularly if he is to survive the cut.

You obviously can't see talent. I'm not rating jacko on one game

:) Oh, tht's right. He did play a half decent game against the Bulldogs three season's back. Two good games in four or five years does not mnake a league footballer. Fringe player at best...at a club which ranks 16th in the league at the moment.
But you seem to think by him not pl;aying more regularly, that is holding us back.
Wake up and smell the roses!!!

man, this kid is a struggle - does anyone confidently know his level?

the past few weeks he has looked likely - against essendon he looked like the game breaker.

perhaps he needs 6weeks in the seniors to establish what he is capable of - he is a pinch hitting forward / tagger / back pocket winger! thats the other problem has has played reasonable footy in all those positions, and then had shockers the next week in exactly the same position

i hope he can come on in leaps and bounds - perhaps the essendon match will give him some much needed belief - if he can play like that consistently, and the likes of king and patto keep improving - next year may be very enjoyable, with our first selection pick, and hopefully a fit brown, cogs and simmonds.

Ive said my piece on him and i'll stick to it but il add this,

we have the lions at the dome this week, we will absolutely crush them of that i have no doubt, if he cant perform after getting a confidence boost from last weeks game, then hes cactus and hopefully these will he/wont he threads can cease

Ive said my piece on him and i'll stick to it but il add this,

we have the lions at the dome this week, we will absolutely crush them of that i have no doubt, if he cant perform after getting a confidence boost from last weeks game, then hes cactus and hopefully these will he/wont he threads can cease

:) Only the one guy on here continually pumping up his tyres.

He's either a family member or his player manager seeking a better deal for his man!

Personally i dont really rate jackson, aside last week hasnt really shown me anything that would suggest he will be a long term player for us, i could be wrong and he could turn into a great player, but personally i think he will be delisted come end of year

ive always had a soft spot for jacko, not because of anything hes done on the field, because i got my number 23 jumper and played my first game of footy on hes bday. that is the only thing i ever remembered of daniel jackson until sat night.

he has played 2 good games, lets see if he can give us a hand this saturday against the lions, if not, he will float around for a few more weeks till browny comes back then he will get delisted at the seasons end. he needs to put pressure on someone elses spot, but the only spot hes putting pressure on now is hes own to see if he can peform again this week. good luck jacko, your gunna need it mate

Everyone is forgetting that he has only played a handfull of senior games and pretty much all of them were off the bench at half time. You can't expect to do alot in a half of footy and he's been dropped pretty much after each game without playing to badly at all. He's done fairly well for Coburg too. Everyone is calling him a dud without even been giving a chance to prove himself. He's had stuff all opportunity in 2 years honestly. He deserves 10 games in a row to prove himself and you can't rely on him to play a blinder this week to save himself.

:) Neville, Silvester, Rayson, Caruso, Sewell....all names that do "fairly well" at Coburg too, yet, not on an AFL list.
Your staunch defence of this guy is admirable, but he is playing at Coburg most weeks for a reason. Has had more than ample opportunity over four years to establish himself as a Tiger regular and other than two occasions hasn't performed. The point you seem to miss that no one else does is that Jackson is at this point always only going to get half a game as that is all he commands. Therefore, what he needs to do is make use of that limited time and have an impact....much like he did last week against the Bombers.
I would suggest that performance would earn him a berth in the starting 18 this week...what he needs to do is have an impact again. He keeps stepping up to the plate, pretty soon those half game opportunities will turn in to full games. The point you are missing it is up to him to prove to Wallace and the match committee that he belongs at senior level. It's not a matter of him only getting half opportunities and getting dropped every second week, it is Jacko not grasping the opportunities that come his way.
Look no further than Foley. Came in to the team off the rookie list. Used sparingly but did some good things and his attack on the ball was always outstanding. Pretty soon he can no longer be denied and for all intents and purposes is probably our choice on-baller now.
When Jackson starts playing consistent football.....not at Coburg....he will be a mainstay. But only then. One would suggest the reason for his half opportunities lies with his inability to perform.

:)
When Jackson starts playing consistent football.....not at Coburg....he will be a mainstay. But only then. One would suggest the reason for his half opportunities lies with his inability to perform.

Well said Goldy,
I can never work out why a guy who fails (any player) regularly in the Seniors, should go up, again and again, cause he gets a million kicks in the 2's.
Yet he fails in the Senior Team.

If you fail in the Seniors time and time again, there should be 2 options.
(1) Stay in the Magoos forever. And that's where they'll bury your career.
(2) Never again be considered for the Seniors. Therefore boot them. Gone.

No I think we'll give an important job like that to Johnson, our beloved captain.

So he should be our captain. He is our leader for a reason, not only is he a good player with wonderful skills never does he waste it when he has the ball. He has helped our young players along the way as well. He should lead is over the coming years. To make someone else captain is only a step in the wrong direction.

Vote Kane Johnson as Captain for the next 3-4years ;) :rolleyes:

Massive week for Jacko.

The one thing i have always liked about Jacko is that he is aggro. Something we really lack over the 22. So i really hope he makes but i dont think he will. We cannot continue to play him as a third forward as we have too many options for this position has to take his chance in the midfield.

I think that players like Jackson & Hartigan are very important to the club in the future. They will be the grunt type players that do the work that makes it easier for guys like Deledio, Foley, Tambling and co to use their better skills effectively. Was surprised when looking at Jacko that he was a good tackler in his first year, averaging 3.5 a game. If he can get up to playing whole games in the middle as a stopper he frees up Johnson who could then move the HBF which in turn frees up guys like Deledio, Newman & Raines to play midfield roles.

Didn't he do OK as 3rd tall in the pre season about 2 years ago? Then P Bowden and Pettifer stepped up and took his spot.

I am not sold on him but am prepared to give him a go as one of the last picked in the side. 3rd tall swapping off the bench for me.

He might break into the team like Pettifer did last year (or was it the year before) and demand a spot on the list. If nothing else he may do enough to get himself a game with someone else next year.

:) Neville, Silvester, Rayson, Caruso, Sewell....all names that do "fairly well" at Coburg too, yet, not on an AFL list.
Your staunch defence of this guy is admirable, but he is playing at Coburg most weeks for a reason. Has had more than ample opportunity over four years to establish himself as a Tiger regular and other than two occasions hasn't performed. The point you seem to miss that no one else does is that Jackson is at this point always only going to get half a game as that is all he commands. Therefore, what he needs to do is make use of that limited time and have an impact....much like he did last week against the Bombers.
I would suggest that performance would earn him a berth in the starting 18 this week...what he needs to do is have an impact again. He keeps stepping up to the plate, pretty soon those half game opportunities will turn in to full games. The point you are missing it is up to him to prove to Wallace and the match committee that he belongs at senior level. It's not a matter of him only getting half opportunities and getting dropped every second week, it is Jacko not grasping the opportunities that come his way.
Look no further than Foley. Came in to the team off the rookie list. Used sparingly but did some good things and his attack on the ball was always outstanding. Pretty soon he can no longer be denied and for all intents and purposes is probably our choice on-baller now.

As I said, Jacko has only played a handfull of games, most of them half games and most of them not consecutive either. You can't expect someone to come into the team and star in a quarter of footy. If they show good signs then keep them in the team. He has shown signs in almost all of his games, but he was never retained for the next week. That's the coaching departments fault

yeah but he has not had one stand out game..how old is he? 23? or so, he still hasnt recieved a nab rising star nomination has he? few more consistent half games, then a full game, who knows 2007 may be hes year lol.. but in all seriousness, it isnt the coaching departments fault, all the young guys like lids and tambo have all had a stand out game which gets the coach to remember them, and keep picking them, even if they fail, that one great game will stick in thier minds, and if its between dean polo with hes debut game against daniel jackson for a spot with hes 4 years of half performances, they are always going to go for the other player, polo in this instance..jackson really needs to start making the most of hes opportunities and really have that 20+ possession game or kick 5 when he gets hes chance. i want jackson in the team, but he needs to show he is better than some of the other blokes out there, and at the moment he isnt doing that consistently

jacko is 21 and as for tambling, he did no more than jacko in his first 10 senior games but he was given a heap more opportunity. He was put straight into the seniors and given 4 or 5 consecutive games. When he got injured he went straight back into the seniors when he became fit. He was very spoilt and jacko was ripped of in other words

He hasn't played much for Richmond because his form for Coburg hasn't been good enough. Yeah, he's had some injuries, but mostly,he just hasn't demanded a place in the Senior team.

He's an exceptional athlete, but ordinary footballer. I really hope he works out how to get his hands on the ball and use it effectively on a regular basis, because he has heaps of potential, but after 4 years on the list, if he doesn't start delivering, he's gone.

.He's an exceptional athlete, but ordinary footballer. I really hope he works out how to get his hands on the ball and use it effectively on a regular basis, because he has heaps of potential, but after 4 years on the list, if he doesn't start delivering, he's gone.

i agree 100% with this comment and the one before..tambling was giving more opportunity because he showed potential in the pre season cup with one of hes first kicks a supergoal against collingwood..hopefully jackson gets more of a go through the centre, because with hes pace and size, he wont be easy to tackle if he breaks through packs, he just needs to work hard and take the opportunities as they come..look at jack riewoldt, our first round pick last year, dropped after 1 game, because he didnt perform well enough..

i want jacko to play, and win goal of the year and the rising star and a premiership for the tigers, but some things just dont happen, its all up to jackson now and hes future is in hes hands