corporal

Do people think the decision to pass on Franklin to pick up Tambling is going to hurt us as much as passing on Pavlich to pick up Fiora.

Both instances seem to be because of Richmonds obsession of getting quick wingman at all costs.

Don't get me wrong I think Tambling is going to be a very serviceable player however Franklin is a freak.

Its amazing how terrible our recruiting has been over the last decade. Whilst I have been a staunch Miller fan (admittly based on little more then his reputation) I can't really see what benefit he has brought to Richmond (just imagine if he had of managed to recruit Solomon for 400k and Copeland for 300k like he was trying to, I dare say he would have been lynched by now)

Meanwhile Terry's game plan that seems to revolve around building a team full of lightly framed wingers seems to be very flawed at this point. To be honest I am beggining to wonder whether Wallace is a good coach or if he really is just full of crap and we have been done in by a great con job.

In the meantime it appears that Hawthorns plan of biting the bullet and trading away alot of its good experienced players and building a good young spine may have been a master stroke. It would have been nice to have some good Richmond people giving some direction through the last couple of years. You look at Hawthorn and they have had Dunstal, Dermie etc.. really seeming to provide direction. All I can say is all the best Hawthorn supporters you are really lucky that your team is rebuilding in such a positive fashion.

Anyway we gave Wallace the keys and have decided to build the team around lightly built speedsters so we are just going to have to live with it and hope that after another couple of years of being a laughing stock that these kids aren't mentally scarred by the drubbings and that they manage to put on some weight and learn what the forgotten tiger spirit is before it is dead forever.

In the meantime I can dream of a forward line of Pavlich and Franklin.

Just think. If we had've bitten the bullet we could have had a forwardline of Pavlich, Richardson, Franklin and Fevola right now, or Pavlich at full back and a forwardline of richo, franklin and fevola...

It would be nice however considering Richmond has been incapable of pumping the ball long since 1980 we still wouldn't kick any goals!

TAMBLING IS NOT A WINGMAN!!!

He is an inside midfielder with excellent pace and outside skills!
He spends time at FP due to his current build but will be capable of inside and outside duties shortly (and is doing them now..)

shocking drafting precious to wallace
what coach was in charge when we took fiora at number 3?

I'd assume it was Danny Frawley's first service to the club right before the start of the 2000 season ;)

TAMBLING IS NOT A WINGMAN!!!

He is an inside midfielder with excellent pace and outside skills!
He spends time at FP due to his current build but will be capable of inside and outside duties shortly (and is doing them now..)

I'd assume it was Danny Frawley's first service to the club right before the start of the 2000 season ;)

and the knob wonders why we are still whinging

FFS we werent the only ones to pass on Buddy, the bulldogs passed and hawthorn passed as well. For some ridiculous reason roughead was rated the best tall by both us, hawthorn and the bulldogs.

Do i regret not getting buddy. Bloody oath, hes a superstar and is already one of the most valuable players in the comp. Good luck and fortune to the hawks, they somewhat fortunately landed a freak. We're happy with Lids, bulldogs are happy with griff, but Buddys got them both covered, probably too much was made of his supposed bad attitude.

Just let it go, wasnt a mistake anymore than the bulldogs and the hawks themselves made. How stupid would they have looked if we took buddy at 4, now that with hindsight roughead doesnt look the player everyone thought hed be?

Yeh true but what about our pathetic midfield? That's our biggest worry. Who would deliver it to them? Tuck, Johnson? LOL. Two pathetic footballers. Lids, Tambling? Both aren't even true midfielders. We have stuffed up bigtime.

GO TIGES!!!

Franklin is like reverse WMD.

You'd be hard pressed to find someone that didnt think it was there, but everyone looks stupid when it wasnt.

Nobody rated Franklin as highly as others. Not clubs, not the media. I never heard one person say Franklin had the potential to be a Carey or Hird.

Having said that, if Miller was the Graeme Richmond he wants to be, he should have seen it. He didnt, and that makes him just like evryone else. Just paid a lot more and with a merchandising contract to go along with it

My thoughts exactly, however lets hope that Riewolt turns into a superstar and Miller is reprieved!

Dermie was on SEN yesterday and said the reason Roughead went so highly and both Hawthorn and Richmond wanted him was becouse of his mental testing. All he wanted to do was play football. While Franklin's tallent was known, he came across as i want to play footy for fun and i love living in WA etc etc. The clubs just were not willing to take the risk with their first pick.

He also said Hathorn expected Tambling to be a midfield star by now.

Hawthorn and Richmond people on here love to give it to each other in this forum but the truth be known it was more unlucky Buddy didn't fall to the Tig's. Also Richmond's priority was mids Hawthorn's was KKP.

FWIW the Bulldogs would have grabbed Roughead at 3 if Available.

Everyone, and I mean everyone, has a dip at us at passing on Franklin. But they forget three clubs passed on him before the Hawks got him at 5. Hawks took Roughy, Dogs took Griffen, and we took Tambling. It was pure luck for the Hawks that he fell to 5.

My thoughts exactly, however lets hope that Riewolt turns into a superstar and Miller is reprieved!

Greg Miller wasn't the one who wanted Riewoldt.

From most reports GM wanted James Sellar, but FJ strongly wanted Riewoldt. Maybe Terry made the final decision, but basically GM wanted Sellar and FJ said "no" and wanted Riewoldt partly for character as well I assume.

No one wanted Sellar after his fitness results.

Been reading this thread with a bit of interest and there are some valid points made. One thing that does stand out though is the fact that even with some of the Tiger supporters, there is a lack of accountability in your recruitment.

Some on here have made a statement suggesting it was luck that Franklin fell at 5. There is an element of luck in recruitment but at the same time someone needs to be accountable for making these decisions. Why was Fiora picked ahead of Pavlich and now Tambling over Franklin? You can just accept it as luck and not have any success or do something about it and employ the right people to make the best decisions for your club.

Perfect example is Schwab at Hawthorn. He was a poor coach but he also used a terrible recruiter in John Turnbull who recruited Hay, Thompson etc. Most of these guys are no longer at the club and in reality were a waste.

Unfortunately Wallace has made a huge blunder. He went for midfielders who can impact a game rather than KPP's who can win a game. Call it luck that you didnt get Franklin but at the end of the day, luck isnt going to help your club climb the ladder. Appropriate decision making will!

Been reading this thread with a bit of interest and there are some valid points made. One thing that does stand out though is the fact that even with some of the Tiger supporters, there is a lack of accountability in your recruitment.

Some on here have made a statement suggesting it was luck that Franklin fell at 5. There is an element of luck in recruitment but at the same time someone needs to be accountable for making these decisions. Why was Fiora picked ahead of Pavlich and now Tambling over Franklin? You can just accept it as luck and not have any success or do something about it and employ the right people to make the best decisions for your club.

Perfect example is Schwab at Hawthorn. He was a poor coach but he also used a terrible recruiter in John Turnbull who recruited Hay, Thompson etc. Most of these guys are no longer at the club and in reality were a waste.

Unfortunately Wallace has made a huge blunder. He went for midfielders who can impact a game rather than KPP's who can win a game. Call it luck that you didnt get Franklin but at the end of the day, luck isnt going to help your club climb the ladder. Appropriate decision making will!

why was roughead taken before franklin? why was griffen taken before franklin? You hawks supporters keep going on about how you drafted KP vs deledio/tambling midfielders. Fact is, if it wasnt for a freak like Buddy you'd be asking the hard questions yourselves bc roughead is a dud and will never be elite. Be thankful a bit of fortune fell your way, .... good luck to you guys. Hes a superstar.

Well I could blame luck on not taking Judd before Hodge but was it luck? No. It was the recruitment people getting paid by members to do their job right and they didnt.

Sure you can make one stuff up - there is no exact science with picking kids. But after being beaten by 150+ on the weekend, doesnt some accountability need to come back to your recruiters? Not just last year but over a significant period. By accepting their poor decision making, there is a good chance that mediocre results on field will continue

I Think Every Richmond Supporter Has To Stop Bit*****

About What We Did In Previous Drafts

Ffs We Lose By 157 Points

And People Are Trying To Say We Should Of Got Pavlich Over Fiora

And Buddy Over Bling

It Didnt Happen, It Isnt Going To Happen, Its In The Past

So Get On With It

And Stop Saying We Should Of Got Buddy

I Think Every Richmond Supporter Has To Stop Bit*****

About What We Did In Previous Drafts

Ffs We Lose By 157 Points

And People Are Trying To Say We Should Of Got Pavlich Over Fiora

And Buddy Over Bling

It Didnt Happen, It Isnt Going To Happen, Its In The Past

So Get On With It

And Stop Saying We Should Of Got Buddy

Thats not the point of the argument here. Franklin isnt going to be at Richmond, and Tambling isnt going to be at Hawthorn. Its more about how your team is going to get better, hence the reason I question the long term recruiting in the past. If you can get that right in the future then you have a good chance of turning it around.

phil if you ask me

your a bit of a wan***

your judging a future center half foward

against a future on baller

when ones played 40 games

the others played 39

come back when they have both played over 100 games

and we will see whos a better player

phil if you ask me

your a bit of a wan***

your judging a future center half foward

against a future on baller

when ones played 40 games

the others played 39

come back when they have both played over 100 games

and we will see whos a better player

All class mate. Thank god not all of your supporters are as illogical as you.

FWIW I dont reckon this weeks debacle has anything to do with the coach or players. The recruiters tend to get off pretty easy and the poor ol coach is left defending them.

. Its more about how your team is going to get better, hence the reason I question the long term recruiting in the past. If you can get that right in the future then you have a good chance of turning it around.

The recruiters of the past have been replaced. Francis Jackson has been there 18 months. Miller has had 4-5 drafts depending on who you believe.

Holding Francis Jackson accountable for a decision made while he was at the Kangaroos is bizzare.

You want to play this game? Since 1998 the first player drafted by the Hawks in each draft have been ...

1995 - Brendan Krummel
1996 - Craig Treleven
1997 - Trent Croad
1998 - Michael Collica
1999 - Luke McPharlin
2000 - Nick Ries
2001 - Luke Hodge
2002 - Luke Brennan
2003 - Harry Miller
2004 - Jarryd Roughead
2005 - Xavier Ellis
2006 - Mitch Thorp

By my count that is 1 player in your team this weekend from your first 12 picks over more than a decade. And Croad you have to trade for to get back and Hodge came at the expense of Judd.

You want to talk acountability start at Glenferrie.