Opinion Is this rock bottom?

Snake was right.

The rot started setting in about 5 years ago when we appointed a non football person as the head of football

Can't remember her name but she recently got a job at the AFL.

Our club is too worried about filling quotas, and grabbing a good touchy feely news story instead of focusing on our core purpose being FOOTBALL.

Has been down hill since that and a few other questionable appointments.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

e4bf8781705126b9b3a4311eb1d45119f7abef81r1-268-160_00.gif

Let's be honest here, we have been deluding ourselves into thinking that a kid with putrid work ethic, a sulky attitude, who walks from contest to contest, who is terrified of anything resembling a contested possession, and displays Cameron Richardson-esque levels of being completely out of their depth at AFL level was going to magically turn it around and become the next Michael Voss. We no longer need to do that. We bought into the hype, somehow bizarrely thought that "dominating" at SANFL level was a good indicator of talent, got sold a bill of goods and wasted our only number 1 pick on a duplicitous spud when we could have taken a godfather offer from the Crows. That sucks the devils d**k but something it is possible to recover from.
If TT goes, not only will that hurt in the short term, but for a number of reasons that really will be rock bottom, and is really the moment people should no longer be judged for a month long campaign of doomposting.

Snake was right.

The rot started setting in about 5 years ago when we appointed a non football person as the head of football

Our club is too worried about filling quotas, and grabbing a good touchy feely news story instead of focusing on our core purpose being FOOTBALL.

You just wanted to say the emboldened bit!:)

Snake was right.

I knew this post would start off in trouble with the words "Snake was right".

You mean Laura Kane?

Laura is a good person, she played footy, was associated with us through MU, helped us to get our AFLW license, helped to put together our AFLW team, changed role a few times. You don't decline like we have overnight, you have to do a lot wrong over a long period of time and the problems started well into Scott's term when lacked the culture of playing kids and we didn't have a good focus on development. The people during Scott's era didn't develop good assistants, didn't develop good leaders, we didn't have good quality people experienced in what they did to promote through the ranks, it is why we had to keep bringing new people in and try experimenting with inexperienced people

Laura was inexperienced in that role but I think she would have been okay if we didn't have inexperienced people in almost every position. Everyone who moves into senior roles is inexperienced in that role when they first transition, if nobody promoted new people in roles you would never develop new people. Our problem wasn't Laura, it was the executives that put together the entire team.

We have just been as an entire organisation poorly run for a long period of time and it is why we are here now. You don't get here it being one person's fault who was in the role for 2-3 years, this is a culmination of numerous failures through the entire organisation and we have started to address those.

Snake was right.

• Says Snake was right
  • Checks poster's name
  • Username checks out

Snake was right.

Fishing Fail GIF by Conesulfoz

Since the botched retirements of Petrie, Boomer & co., the once mighty NMFC has been a mess. And then the one thing we got right - appointing Clarko - turns pear-shaped within a few weeks.
Watching us in 2022 was TOUGH. I've just about resigned myself to the fact that 2023 will probably be worse.

And please, spare me the "we've got a lot of young talent coming through". Our young talent is no better than any other clubs young talent. And that's a fact.

David Bourke playing a senior game is hard to top

In the Carey match of 2003 no less.

I'd still reckon it's extending Bard's contract into appointing Shaw, then Noble. Committing to three consecutive coaching contracts doomed to fail, one with a guy who'd proven his uselessness, then two with blokes to whom AFL coaching seemed totally alien to them, and none coveted by any other club, was the ultimate in football sh1tfukcery.

• Carey Affair (Bad, but couldn't help it. Did alright by getting Wells, but an ongoing ugly postscript on our golden era)
  • Pagan leaves (Unfortunate, but the list was done, and it was a bad move for Denis)
  • McCartney - Bali (Provided one of the best moments, albeit out of greater tragedy, of our last 20 years
  • Mick Martyn plays his 300th for Carlton (Mick was done. Good on him for milking the Blues to get to 300)
  • David Bourke plays a senior game (meh. We've spent more on worse players)
  • McKernan returns (No drama with this. Corey has proven himself to be one of the most endearing Shinboners in this time)
  • Teague wins b and f at Carlton (meh, just goes to show how shit Carlton were at the time)
  • Daniel McConnell trade (Eagles got a 300 game premiership captain, we got 4 games. Not good)
  • Jon Hay (ouch. A first rounder for a bloke incapable physically and mentally of playing AFL)
  • Jade Rawlings (oh no. the Veale deal. Bad)
  • Pick 3 L Hansen 4 ahead of Selwood (retrospectively awful, but not the only ones who baulked at Selwood's chronic injuries
  • Attempt to be shifted off to Gold Coast (The response to saving our club is a continued source of pride)
  • Round 22 vs Port 2008 (an incredibly shit day but we weren't winning that flag)
  • Gavin Urquhart - $1mill for 3 years (meh)
  • 4 home games in Tassie (NMFC selling out its fans so soon after Dallas Brooks - poor)
  • 2013 - 8 losses under 2 goals (An immature team under an immature coach)
  • 2016 - 9-0 finish with 12 wins (benefit from an easy first half draw, hampered by bad luck and injuries)
  • Boomer, Petrie and Spud retired (don't forget Dal and Wells. All were cooked except Harvey. The timing and handling was terrible, and the understanding of what these players meant was dumb. Harvey deserved WAY better, that he's still at the club speaks volumes of him.)
  • Brad Scott contract extended (stupid)
  • Majak mental health (sad)
  • Brad Scott sacked a year later (Right call too late)
  • Rhyce Shaw appointed (negligent)
  • Rhyce Shaw mental health (negligent at all levels)
  • David Noble appointed (nice in theory, stupid in hindsight)
  • JHF refuses ice bath and visits his mum (all on him)
  • 9 wins in 3 years (pathetic)
  • Clarko signs now held off (NMFC at no fault.. just so sad)
  • JHF requests trade (all on the weaknesses of the player, but a total kick in the balls)

Added to all this are the ambitious but futile pursuits of Heeney, DeGoey, Kelly, Martin and Gaff. Totally blinkered attempts at quick fixes which led to Polec, Hall, Pittard and Tyson. The most key moment in our demise was when a 10th year coach brought these guys in, and then within 5 rounds (Good Friday 2019) approached the board for more time citing the need for a rebuild which was first flagged, but never acted on, three years earlier when Harvey, Petrie, Wells, Firrito and Dal Santo were shafted. From there to the appointment of Clarkson, almost every call we made was amateur. Then the Clarkson appointment has blown up, JHF screwed us, and that's it. We're ****ed.

• Carey Affair (Bad, but couldn't help it. Did alright by getting Wells, but an ongoing ugly postscript on our golden era)
  • Pagan leaves (Unfortunate, but the list was done, and it was a bad move for Denis)
  • McCartney - Bali (Provided one of the best moments, albeit out of greater tragedy, of our last 20 years
  • Mick Martyn plays his 300th for Carlton (Mick was done. Good on him for milking the Blues to get to 300)
  • McKernan returns (No drama with this. Corey has proven himself to be one of the most endearing Shinboners in this time)
  • Teague wins b and f at Carlton (meh, just goes to show how s**t Carlton were at the time)
  • Daniel McConnell trade (Eagles got a 300 game premiership captain, we got 4 games. Not good)
  • Jon Hay (ouch. A first rounder for a bloke incapable physically and mentally of playing AFL)
  • Pick 3 L Hansen 4 ahead of Selwood (retrospectively awful, but not the only ones who baulked at Selwood's chronic injuries
  • Attempt to be shifted off to Gold Coast (The response to saving our club is a continued source of pride)
  • Round 22 vs Port 2008 (an incredibly s**t day but we weren't winning that flag)
  • 4 home games in Tassie (NMFC selling out its fans so soon after Dallas Brooks - poor)
  • 2016 - 9-0 finish with 12 wins (benefit from an easy first half draw, hampered by bad luck and injuries)
  • Boomer, Petrie and Spud retired (don't forget Dal and Wells. All were cooked except Harvey. The timing and handling was terrible, and the understanding of what these players meant was dumb. Harvey deserved WAY better, that he's still at the club speaks volumes of him.)
  • JHF requests trade (all on the weaknesses of the player, but a total kick in the balls)

Added to all this are the ambitious but futile pursuits of Heeney, DeGoey, Kelly, Martin and Gaff. Totally blinkered attempts at quick fixes which led to Polec, Hall, Pittard and Tyson. The most key moment in our demise was when a 10th year coach brought these guys in, and then within 5 rounds (Good Friday 2019) approached the board for more time citing the need for a rebuild which was first flagged, but never acted on, three years earlier when Harvey, Petrie, Wells, Firrito and Dal Santo were shafted. From there to the appointment of Clarkson, almost every call we made was amateur. Then the Clarkson appointment has blown up, JHF screwed us, and that's it. We're *ed.

What I’ll say to that is that it can’t get worse on-field than the last two years.

• Teague wins b and f at Carlton (meh, just goes to show how s**t Carlton were at the time)
  • Round 22 vs Port 2008 (an incredibly s**t day but we weren't winning that flag)

Added to all this are the ambitious but futile pursuits of Heeney, DeGoey, Kelly, Martin and Gaff. Totally blinkered attempts at quick fixes which led to Polec, Hall, Pittard and Tyson. The most key moment in our demise was when a 10th year coach brought these guys in, and then within 5 rounds (Good Friday 2019) approached the board for more time citing the need for a rebuild which was first flagged, but never acted on, three years earlier when Harvey, Petrie, Wells, Firrito and Dal Santo were shafted. From there to the appointment of Clarkson, almost every call we made was amateur. Then the Clarkson appointment has blown up, JHF screwed us, and that's it. We're *ed.
But at the time of those decisions, most on here raved about them. Strange.