PeeKay

Walker is as fit as anyone can be without a ounce of fat on him. But other than his biceps he is quite skinny. Not much heavy muscle to soften the regular and on going hard bumps he's going to get.
Maybe he should put on a bit of weight and then turn that into muscle??
He may be athletic and can run the park in just over ten minutes but AFL footy is a "hard knock" game and whilst he can run, can he sustain that whilst coping the regular hits. Or is he going to become just an outside centre/wing receiver??:confused:

Sports science board.

Training48.jpg

The guy on the left didn't have a problem.

I read that Walker was around 95 kgs two years ago, so I don't think muscle is going to stop his shoulder popping out.

In fact, I think he was probably too big.

Great thread.

quick biology lesson. Fat DOES NOT turn into muscle, fat and muscle are two completly different things, also how much muscle you can build is limited by your genetic make up. The illusion that fat turns into muscle is created by the shrinking of fat and the growth of muscle while you train... Is he too light, maybe, depends on his role, i think you will find his dimensions to be similar to Judds still.

I weigh 88 kilos and am 6 foot and he monsters me....I'd say he would be the perfect weight/height for an afl footballer in this day and age

I don't think anyone knows quite what Andrew Walker is capable of, because we just haven't seen him get a good enough run in between shoulder injuries.

From all reports, he's an extraordinary trainer and athlete... I really hope his shoulder injuries are finished, and we can see what he can do.

I expect at the weight he's at now, he'll be fast, agile and have exceptional endurance. If he stays on the park, he's a ripper.

perfect size. i actually thought before his spate of injuries he was looking too bulky and he lost a bit of athleticism. I still remeber back to the game in 2006 when he played on Russell Robertson (when robbo was flying) and took him to the cleaners. He was at his athletic best that day.

Could Bruce Lee withstand a hard knock? Was Bruce Lee too thin?

I'm not sure I quite get the point, but Bruce Lee was one of the most ripped and athletic human beings that ever lived. The guy could do push-ups with just his thumb and index finger. - Absolute freak :eek:

I remember when he was drafted they were comparing his physique to a young Kouta. He's always shown good potential and throughout his career has played a few really good games sprinkled among a few that were not so good. At the time he copped his first shoulder injury I felt like he was finally about to put it all together and start playing at his best consistently, of course persistent injuries haven't allowed that to eventuate.

I'd like to see him played off a half back this season, he could give us heaps of drive and that exact game he played against Russell Robertson is my reasoning for using him there. He has the right defensive mindset but can also play attacking football when necessary.

His best game last year was off half back against Port up at Aami stadium.

Walker is as fit as anyone can be without a ounce of fat on him. But other than his biceps he is quite skinny. Not much heavy muscle to soften the regular and on going hard bumps he's going to get.
Apart from being completely wrong about his morphology, who says you need "heavy muscles" (whatever they are) to "soften" bumps?

Michael Tuck, Skinny Lappin board.

Maybe he should put on a bit of weight and then turn that into muscle??
Do you have any clue what you are talking about?
I think Whitnal and Stevens were the last to try the "put the weight on and try and turn it into muscle". :o
He may be athletic and can run the park in just over ten minutes but AFL footy is a "hard knock" game and whilst he can run, can he sustain that whilst coping the regular hits. Or is he going to become just an outside centre/wing receiver??:confused:
Lets pretend you are making sense for a minute.

There has been a trend over the past few years for midfielders to get bigger and bigger........not surprisingly their legs, usually starting at the groin give up on them.

I think you'll see many midfielders dropping weight this year and over the next couple as the realise that "bulk" doesn't mean more power, and it only means you have to cart more weight around.

Hodge and Lewis at the Hawks, both of whom have suffered with OP have dropped >5kg's to allow them to run harder for longer without making their injuries worse.
Not sure what Judd's playing weight is now, but I'll bet he's lighter than when he played his last 2 seasons at WCE.

Do you have any clue what you are talking about?
I think Whitnal and Stevens were the last to try the "put the weight on and try and turn it into muscle". :o

Apparently since he's been doing a bit of study a lot of his hair has turned into brains. :p

wouldn't mind his training program he is a fair tank. he is probly perfect size I'd say and he is a fitness freak.

quick biology lesson. Fat DOES NOT turn into muscle, fat and muscle are two completly different things, also how much muscle you can build is limited by your genetic make up. The illusion that fat turns into muscle is created by the shrinking of fat and the growth of muscle while you train...

Thankfully someone knows what they're talking about.

quick biology lesson. Fat DOES NOT turn into muscle, fat and muscle are two completly different things, also how much muscle you can build is limited by your genetic make up. The illusion that fat turns into muscle is created by the shrinking of fat and the growth of muscle while you train... Is he too light, maybe, depends on his role, i think you will find his dimensions to be similar to Judds still.
Apart from the genetics thing, correct. Hence Lance and Stevo didn't become the "strongest players in the world"......with so much fat to work with. :p

Genetics determines what fibre types you are predominantly made of, however, beyond "slow twitch" and "fast twitch" types we know that there are subtypes that can turn from one to the other with the right training. Genetics will affect, but not limit how much muscle you can build.

Also, muscle bulk and power (amount of force genrated over a time period) are not the same thing, so to the OP who feels he must look "big" to have strength.......negative.......again. :D

His size is good.. walker is a solid athelete.

Issue isn't that he's too thin, he's way too over-rated