It's Blown !!!!!

Mooney_d'King said:
I don't think we need him here at the moment. All this rubbish will just blow over and Bomber and the club have already come forward to say it's just all stupid rumour, so that should be enough. Rumour/slander addressed and dismissed, case closed, in my opinion.

Proper administration of the Club is not simply about dealing with rumours, if it was I'd agree that it can be done from afar.

What's more important is that a group of footballers who should be doing better, and who Pres promised us would do it this year, have had a less than acceptable season - even if we do (and I'm hoping) fall into the eight. Frank announced during the season that he would stand down next year and has been on holiday almost constantly since. Sounds like a lap of honour with hands off the wheel!

I give credit to Frank and Brian Cook for stabilising our club, but footy clubs need more than financial leadership to be succesful and we're getting little of it - and I don't mean on the field.

Rosella said:
I went to the UK in October and outside of London a lot of things were shut - I went to Orkney and found out what 'protestant work ethic' really means.
Yeah, but in the middle of summer over there the amount of tourists make you wish everything was shut. The further north you go the more stuff is closed over the colder months but during autumn I didn't find anything I wanted to check out closed.

quartercat said:
I don't care if he, and other Board members are unpaid, the issue is that we elect them to run a successful footy Club. After 43 years of no flag I don't think that it's asking too much to have the Pres with hands on the wheel during the actual season!

He doesn't receive any payment from GFC, he takes them out of debt which would have killed any other club, especially provincial ones. He has a qualified and good business sense, a good team of professional coaches / trainers behind him. The board is unaminous. He took over a team with ageing overpaid stars to lead them into a group of young players who have a slim chance this year, and a better one next year.

Who cares if he is gone for a little bit here and there. With all the rumour posts going on lately, wouldn't you ?? You have Vice Presidents for that reason, so if needed respite can be taken from a job which is high profile and high pressure. Especially with writers from blog groups like we have here !!!

If Cook and him didn't take over when they did, GFC might have been no more, simple FACT !

Support the team !!

Well, what I've heard is that the latter is involved but I also did hear from someone that the former is..... who friggin knows - it's probably all rubbish anyway. There's probably a version doing the rounds which implicates Elmo and The Cookie Monster as well.

Thank you ch9 for publicising Bigfooty.They've attracted more morons to this site.Just what we need.
Disappointed_anim.gif

Waverley73 said:
I agree that maybe the timing of him being away was pretty ordinary but I was just replying to the other guy who seemed to be under the impression that he got paid to work for the club.

The buck stops with the Pres and when the club isn't travelling that well (which we're clearly not) then he needs to be in the right places doing the right things.

He is excelling at his job. It is the coaching staff and the players job to provide the premierships it is the president/ceo's job to provide a stable economically viable environment in which they can do that. Frank has brought geelong up out of financial hardship to the point they are one of the more profitable clubs and even have a new grandstand to show for it. He is doing his job and probably deserves some time off after the years he has put in in getting geelong into the position where they aren't about to fold under hte weight of debt.

JUBJUB said:
Thank you ch9 for publicising Bigfooty.They've attracted more morons to this site.Just what we need.
Disappointed_anim.gif

You might not appreciate it, but i'm sure the site owners do.

Revenue is based on traffic and advertising. The larger the traffic, the greater the revenue.

the rumours are one thing but attacking cook and costa, give me a break. Cook is the best administrator in Australian sport and was robbed of the AFL job (luckily for the cats) and the Pres and his board, personally guaranteed the massive debt that GFC owed. Yep thats right they offered their house titles up as collateral. Not a fairy tale or rumour thats a fact.
Any so called cats fans bagging cook and or costa is a moron.

thegerman said:
He doesn't receive any payment from GFC, he takes them out of debt which would have killed any other club, especially provincial ones. He has a qualified and good business sense, a good team of professional coaches / trainers behind him. The board is unaminous. He took over a team with ageing overpaid stars to lead them into a group of young players who have a slim chance this year, and a better one next year.

Who cares if he is gone for a little bit here and there. With all the rumour posts going on lately, wouldn't you ?? You have Vice Presidents for that reason, so if needed respite can be taken from a job which is high profile and high pressure. Especially with writers from blog groups like we have here !!!

If Cook and him didn't take over when they did, GFC might have been no more, simple FACT !

Support the team !!

Precisely my point - I support the team, and I'm asking the Pres to. And he can do it in the same way as we do - with his physical presence during the season. After all, we ordinary supporters don't consider it the hardship that evidently you (and if you're right, Frank) do. We actually enjoy being here to get behind the team, and pay to do so. I'm glad that you don't write job descriptions for top management with your view that you stay at work when things are fine, but take time off when it gets tough! Had he been on the job these rumours may have been countered ages ago.

And by the way what has the VP had to say in support of the Club while Frank's been away. Didn't I see somewhere that he took himself off to the Soccer World Cup. Oh well, I suppose you'll excuse that by saying he was doing football research.

Time to get real. Standing together means standing together, not making a few phone calls from afar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G.F.C
?????????????????

you obviously havent seen kent kick for goal
-------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waverley73
I actually think he mightn't know what the rumour is. Everyone knows what Kent is like at kicking for goal.
------------------------------------------------------

er...sarcasm wave, sarcasm.

what rumours?? there is nothing to see here, please move on...

-------------------------------------------------------

Waverley73

didn't you already say that?..... Looks like the delety monster has come through these parts..

--------------------------------------------------------

haahahah!!!

yep! chewin' on bytes like no tomorrow!!
---------------------------------------------------------

none of this makes sense now....

oh mr.hart...whattamess!

Rumours, Rumours, Rumours....

I must have heard 10 serious rumours out of the cattery in the last 10 years.

There has always been a lot of "talk" in Geelong and I reckon all are founded on BS. They always come out when a season is over (or in dissarray) and are pathetic attempts to explain/justify not delivering where it counts - on the field.

By the way - on the Costa bashing earlier in the thread - for him taking a week up in Queensland - didnt we play there on Sunday???? Why not let the guy take a few days off in the warmth of the northern climate. Fair dinkum - he is no spring chicken - and at his age and the amount of work he puts into his company and the Cats - I would too.

What about the rumour we can still make the finals.
Bring on Sunday.