It's not all doom and gloom

I'm a little surprised your sinking the boot into Murdoch so much....he's been excellent for the last two months and was clearly injured and in some pain during the game. One bad game and you're into him.

I think he's earned another chance given his recent form....if he gets up for selection...

In a team full of players who can't handle Finals pressure, Murdoch is the worst of them.

The fact he's been very good for 2 months makes it so much more disappointing.

Pretty hard to kick a bag and take chest marks on the half back flank at the same time.
Or when he handballs to player X standing beside him because he doesn't have the confidence to kick the goal

It was the % play, for all the criticism it's incurred. Tuohy is our most accurate kick at goal from range and had a good opportunity. Its only the misses that get criticised, if it went through no-one would care.

I remember them saying on the radio that Tuohy was on his wrong side and didn't expect the handball. So it wasn't a % play, just a dumb decision by Hawkins.

I like Hawkins and rarely criticise him. But he us our key forward, and his job is to kick goals.

I remember them saying on the radio that Tuohy was on his wrong side and didn't expect the handball. So it wasn't a % play, just a dumb decision by Hawkins.
Hmm, okay I didn't pick up on that. But normally thats been a go to option for us. I don't mind in principle passing it off to a teammate who will have a better crack, whether you're Tom Hawkins, Dan Menzel, whoever. You need to be smart about it and keep it in perspective instead of going Mooney/Stevie assist competition but it's definitely a live option if you're a clear minded player that wants to win.

I love how offended you are at the idea that some people like Murdoch. He had a much improved season, so got some credit for it. Nobody has defended his performance in the final, and I think plenty of people (myself included) who gave him credit during the year would now be entirely comfortable with him being omitted if a suitable lineup can still come together.
That's the problem with supporters like you, nothing else matters as long as players like Murdoch and a coach like Scott get us into the finals you're all content but the realist supporter takes into account the whole season including the finals and if we think a player isn't able to perform in the finals then he shouldn't be there for the home and away season. Ditto with the coach.

It's a % play if the player taking the kick doubts he can make the distance or his accuracy is terrible but we're talking about Tommy who's nailed those in the past with ease, the right thing to have done in that situation was to take responsibility and kick the f^%$ing goal..

That's the problem with supporters like you, nothing else matters as long as players like Murdoch and a coach like Scott get us into the finals you're all content but the realist supporter takes into account the whole season including the finals and if we think a player isn't able to perform in the finals then he shouldn't be there for the home and away season. Ditto with the coach.
You're many things mate but a realist is not one of them.

A realist says it how he sees it and the bolded is how i seen it earlier in the season, you can check it via this link #9245 if you don't believe me

It's easier to steal a flag with a proven team developed by someone else. He won't be a GF winner again, he's to predictable. Bit like we'll comfortably beat the crows this week, lose to West Coast because it's after the bye, win a few more and lose a few more for the remainder of the season, get to the finals and bang we flop again. Better get used to it, another 2 years after this one of the same shit to come.

Or your saying i'm not a realist because i believe Murdoch isn't the weapon made out to be or because i believe Scott will never win a flag with a side built solely by him or both?

Has he ever?
FWIW, 7 against Brisbane 3 years ago.

But since he only averages 2 goals a game over his career that really tells you the tale of the tape.

But I'm reasonably confident that "bags" have become fewer and fewer across the comp in general over the last decade.

Reckon it has been about that long since a player kicked a ton in a season. Different game now.

Geelong's record in the last two years:
chartedit.png
It's been pretty rare for us to go into a game as underdogs in the past two years. But in those games we have a record of 4-1-2 with a percentage of 108. This is for games the footy world expects us to lose and more often than not we've stood up against the odds.

Geelong's record in the last two years:
View attachment 415161
It's been pretty rare for us to go into a game as underdogs in the past two years. But in those games we have a record of 4-1-2 with a percentage of 108. This is for games the footy world expects us to lose and more often than not we've stood up against the odds.

That's a... GoodPoint ayyyyy :cool:

Geelong by 22 - this game will be wet and awful
swans are cocky given their form, we will be hard as nuts
smash them through the middle
no babies, no bullshit
just focused on a prelim
i can just feel it

It is all doom and gloom: Just been to another BS dinner with steve Hocking as guest. Basically we are rooted friday unless a player or two decide this is not ok. Basically he threw chris under bus with Menzel decision.

Sam newman said that there was just ONE Geelong player who played to the plant and that was Paddy. All the rest can have a holiday. And now we know we are royally rooted!

Terrible acid in my stomach, but have ok feeling for this Friday; wont win but won't be as bad as friday last.Cam Ling at function thinks with creative coaching we can do it; thought we were broken down. Obvious from first qtr. i hate the fact swans.

It is all doom and gloom: Just been to another BS dinner with steve Hocking as guest. Basically we are rooted friday unless a player or two decide this is not ok. Basically he threw chris under bus with Menzel decision.

Sam newman said that there was just ONE Geelong player who played to the plant and that was Paddy. All the rest can have a holiday. And now we know we are royally rooted!

I think it's equally concerning that our one player who did follow the plan was ****ing atrocious.