It's not all doom and gloom

Geelong's record in the last two years:
View attachment 415161
It's been pretty rare for us to go into a game as underdogs in the past two years. But in those games we have a record of 4-1-2 with a percentage of 108. This is for games the footy world expects us to lose and more often than not we've stood up against the odds.
A damned good first post, GoodPoint

Terrible acid in my stomach, but have ok feeling for this Friday; wont win but won't be as bad as friday last.Cam Ling at function thinks with creative coaching we can do it; thought we were broken down. Obvious from first qtr. i hate the fact swans.

What was this function you went to Nickoo?

A realist says it how he sees it and the bolded is how i seen it earlier in the season, you can check it via this link #9245 if you don't believe me

It's easier to steal a flag with a proven team developed by someone else. He won't be a GF winner again, he's to predictable. Bit like we'll comfortably beat the crows this week, lose to West Coast because it's after the bye, win a few more and lose a few more for the remainder of the season, get to the finals and bang we flop again. Better get used to it, another 2 years after this one of the same shit to come.

Or your saying i'm not a realist because i believe Murdoch isn't the weapon made out to be or because i believe Scott will never win a flag with a side built solely by him or both?
Wot?!! You predicted that it is hard to win a grand final?

It is all doom and gloom: Just been to another BS dinner with steve Hocking as guest. Basically we are rooted friday unless a player or two decide this is not ok. Basically he threw chris under bus with Menzel decision.

Sam newman said that there was just ONE Geelong player who played to the plant and that was Paddy. All the rest can have a holiday. And now we know we are royally rooted!

If this is credible, this is the worst news I have heard all year. Hocking should not be saying shit like that in public, regardless of whether it is true or not - speaks of some management division.

It is all doom and gloom: Just been to another BS dinner with steve Hocking as guest. Basically we are rooted friday unless a player or two decide this is not ok. Basically he threw chris under bus with Menzel decision.

Sam newman said that there was just ONE Geelong player who played to the plant and that was Paddy. All the rest can have a holiday. And now we know we are royally rooted!

could explain why scott is wanting lethlean in - have a mate around

If this is credible, this is the worst news I have heard all year. Hocking should not be saying shit like that in public, regardless of whether it is true or not - speaks of some management division.

He didn't exactly say that but what he did say was, it was a group decision made by Chris who felt strongly about. I think everyone was a little shocked but steve is a plain speaker going by all accounts. Sam Newman had already had a go by this stage.

could explain why scott is wanting lethlean in - have a mate around

People turned around at the table and looked to say, "..did he just say that?..". I'm not sure he meant how it sounded but he is a plain speaker from all accounts and I suspect under probing from Billy he answered how the decision was arrived at. He did support it however once it was agreed and maybe he was just highlighting how it was arrived at.

The other thing is Nakia is almost no chance to play friday. I think he gave it 20% chance which to me means no chance.

What was this function you went to Nickoo?

The last Brownless-Stoneham dinner for the year. It was really good. Sam Newman, Bec Maddern, Cam Ling, Steve Hock were guest speakers. Lingy indicated he finds it difficult to comment on Geel games and finds himself saying stupid things about Geel because he doesn't want to sound biased. He certainly constructed the manner of how Rich approached us and how they broke us down with the learnings from the last time we played them well. He thought that if geelong are close to them after a torrid first qtr they could win. Adel he thought actually beat them for scoring shots but couldn't buy a goal and played better in the last three qtrs. Billy described him as a person who sounds like a coach! Its made me like him again. Personally I prefer the foxtel coverage of games over C7 anyway.

He didn't exactly say that but what he did say was, it was a group decision made by Chris who felt strongly about. I think everyone was a little shocked but steve is a plain speaker going by all accounts. Sam Newman had already had a go by this stage.

Still, troubling - not sure why it would have been relevant to point out that it was a captain's pick. Don't really expect much else from Sam, though.

I'm no fan of chris Scott these days, but you are right. Hocking has the reputation of being a complete c$@t (which of course may be compete scuttlebutt). In general I don't believe these 'tough' business types are anything but frauds really, so I'm glad he is leaving the club.

The last Brownless-Stoneham dinner for the year. It was really good. Sam Newman, Bec Maddern, Cam Ling, Steve Hock were guest speakers. Lingy indicated he finds it difficult to comment on Geel games and finds himself saying stupid things about Geel because he doesn't want to sound biased. He certainly constructed the manner of how Rich approached us and how they broke us down with the learnings from the last time we played them well. He thought that if geelong are close to them after a torrid first qtr they could win. Adel he thought actually beat them for scoring shots but couldn't buy a goal and played better in the last three qtrs. Billy described him as a person who sounds like a coach! Its made me like him again. Personally I prefer the foxtel coverage of games over C7 anyway.

Channel 7 coverage is awful. They spend the whole time discussing and replaying 'controversial' incidents (ie previously legal/perfect bumps and tackles) and basically throwing players under the bus.

They are bastardising the game that brings them a living. AFL should put a stop to it, it is leading to endless discussion and unnecessary rule changes. Other sports don't cover their games in such a negative manner.

EDIT sorry everyone, I am in angry middle-aged rant mode this week. Bloody footy!

no dumb decision by 2e, because why stand then and create the confusion
Well I do not know why Tuohy was standing there. He could have been catching his breath, but really Hawkins should have taken the shot since he is our key forward.

I'm a little surprised your sinking the boot into Murdoch so much....he's been excellent for the last two months and was clearly injured and in some pain during the game. One bad game and you're into him.

I think he's earned another chance given his recent form....if he gets up for selection...

You're surprised that partridge is having a crack at a decent player? Meanwhile he's sooking about vfl players not being selected.... go on...

I'm no fan of chris Scott these days, but you are right. Hocking has the reputation of being a complete c$@t (which of course may be compete scuttlebutt). In general I don't believe these 'tough' business types are anything but frauds really, so I'm glad he is leaving the club.

So you've met steve hocking? What's he like?

We aint winning no Flag, even in this mediocre competition, and its the most mediocre I can recall it.

Premiership teams just get it done when the real stuff starts, whichever way they have to. in beautiful fashion, in ugly fashion, in determined fashion, whichever way is necessary. We are not that team in Sept, and won't magically become so in the space of a week. We may win a final, but this team aint winning multiple finals.

If Geelong win this week they'll win the flag.

The only chance we had of winning the flag was to lose last week to Richmond. Last year proved we can't do 1 Game in a month.

Mission accomplished so far

The only chance we had of winning the flag was to lose last week to Richmond. Last year proved we can't do 1 Game in a month.

Mission accomplished so far

I've been banging on about this too.

Cats are 12 - 0 second game off a bye under Scott.

Too much is being read into last week's loss, as bad as it looked.

If we're beaten badly tomorrow night then I'll be asking questions.

I'm a little surprised your sinking the boot into Murdoch so much....he's been excellent for the last two months and was clearly injured and in some pain during the game. One bad game and you're into him.

I think he's earned another chance given his recent form....if he gets up for selection...

Still surprised I criticised Murdoch DtC?

And it wasn't because he had one bad game. It's because he consistently has poor finals.

I thought he deserved another run..the MC didn't. Fair enough....I don't resile from my thought that he had been good for the last two months.

If your comment is correct re finals, then the club will get rid of him, presumably because he can never develop into a finals player? Be interesting to see what happens to Murdoch now...