Player Watch Jake Soligo

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

As far as I'm concerned
2nd round onwards?
IDC who we draft, but if it's a Vic I aint complaining

Next to no football to showcase their skills the last 2 years?
Sure, they might be busts. But you could find amazing diamond in the roughs this year (or at least more so than normal)
Good comment with hindsight.

Wonder what the $ figure for Soligo and Rachele's contracts are

You'd think they wouldn't be hugely expensive contracts, given they're not proven superstars yet, but they would be at a dollar value that's close to their max potential (otherwise they wouldn't consider signing on for that long just yet)
Would think there would be a discount for the security of a long term deal.

Would have salary cap CPI built in too.

We’ve come along way from a few years ago. At the moment nobody wants to leave. This is a great signing, this guy shows toughness and a team first commitment. We have a 300 gamer on our list with this signing

In fact the negativity across the board is so wearisome I often consider not bothering with BF anymore.

The instant you point it out, you're accused of accepting mediocrity, being part of the rainbow and unicorn brigade, stifling discussion, censoring criticism, and other such puerile piss weak tropes.

Yes, at appropriate times I've been guilty of it too, and look what effect that had on the club - SFA.

People gotta people I suppose.
Cricket's on tonight 🏏

I'm not a huge fan of these kind of contracts. Seems like a good way to demotivate a player.
Really? Not sure thats really the psyche of high achievers who are self-driven. And the club has monitored him closely him now for 18 months+

The Crows are coming

Wonder what the $ figure for Soligo and Rachele's contracts are

You'd think they wouldn't be hugely expensive contracts, given they're not proven superstars yet, but they would be at a dollar value that's close to their max potential (otherwise they wouldn't consider signing on for that long just yet)
good question mate. I havent read anywhere past here but reckon Soligo on approx 550-600k for the extension (plus any salary cap increases)

Rachele will more likely be on Rankine type money if extends further 700-800k

I have been one of Nicks harshest critiques but thats to do with his game day coaching. Can't deny what he has done with the culture out of the ashes of our lowest point in our history is something of genius. We have players wanting to sign here long term instead of 3 years for success and im out sort of thing. Its fantastic. I love what Soligo brings to the table. His vision and skill in tight to find team mates free is genuine class. The club had high wraps on him and frankly I think he is the steal of his draft year. To get him at 36 and for him to have the impact he had from day 1, how he fell so far I will never know.

good question mate. I havent read anywhere past here but reckon Soligo on approx 550-600k for the extension (plus any salary cap increases)

Rachele will more likely be on Rankine type money if extends further 700-800k

Probably have clauses in there towards the backend for bonuses for achieving game milestones etc.

I have been one of Nicks harshest critiques but thats to do with his game day coaching. Can't deny what he has done with the culture out of the ashes of our lowest point in our history is something of genius. We have players wanting to sign here long term instead of 3 years for success and im out sort of thing. Its fantastic. I love what Soligo brings to the table. His vision and skill in tight to find team mates free is genuine class. The club had high wraps on him and frankly I think he is the steal of his draft year. To get him at 36 and for him to have the impact he had from day 1, how he fell so far I will never know.

I think could of there lads have signed long term deals because they know Nicks is also just about to get a contract extension as well

I really like the guy despite not really loving his second year.

Think 6 years is a bit crazy given he doesn't have the talent of a Rachele so there's a bit more risk for a 2nd year player as to his projection. I think he projects as a very good player, but my confidence in that prediction isn't super high.

One side benefit of good young players signing up for long-term deals is that it signals to our other young players that their teammates are sticking around.

If you're trying to decide whether to stick it out in Adelaide or head somewhere else, knowing that the other teammates in your age bracket are going to be there for years to come could help tilt the balance in the Crows' favour.

One side benefit of good young players signing up for long-term deals is that it signals to our other young players that their teammates are sticking around.

If you're trying to decide whether to stick it out in Adelaide or head somewhere else, knowing that the other teammates in your age bracket are going to be there for years to come could help tilt the balance in the Crows' favour.
It is more that the interstate lads are wanting to sign long term which is excellent. We are fairly comfortable with the Max Michalanney's and the Riley Thilthorpes who are at their boyhood club that they will be here for a long time to come. we are certainly tying up a lot of loose ends and it also allows us to be more aggressive with free agency as we will know where the money has been allocated and before the next big salary cap rise too

I think it’s one of the smartest moves the Crows have done this year. Soligo looks like genuine A-grade talent, appears to be the club-loyal type, and he’s an absolute must-keep.

By making it known we’ve done a lengthy contract with this one, I can see it has some other added positives:
  • this gives other Crows lads the incentive “if you play well, you will be rewarded”
  • shows the footy world we’re now a team where an interstate footballer is happy to stay at Adelaide for the long haul.
  • may create more interest in other interstate players to want to come join us.
- incentivises other similar players to recommit (mainly Rach. Possibly others like Nank etc)

Plaudits to someone here who mentioned weeks ago 2 forthcoming extensions (Worrell and now Soli)

When Soligo was drafted I had reservations about his speech, but I have been so impressed with how he has played and the wording of his last interview. I think that he will be an awesome player for us in the future. His skills and awareness are the key :)

I am a very one eyed Soligo fan. When you focus on him during a game it makes for very enjoyable watching. You could say that for half a dozen of the young Crows brigade at the moment, and I would throw in Sam Berry into that mix. He is showing a bit again in the SANFL, Cook and Gollant in SANFL too.

This presser highlights to me Jake’s:
  • a highly-driven bloke
  • no-nonsense in his footy as well as his answering to the press; first 2 answers given were basically “I’ve signed on to hopefully win a premiership with these blokes”; “hopefully this year we can make the Finals”
  • gets straight to the point with the answers, and seems a bloke who wants people to see his actions on the footy ground rather than anything else.

Love his mix of humble and positivity.

In fact the negativity across the board is so wearisome I often consider not bothering with BF anymore.

The instant you point it out, you're accused of accepting mediocrity, being part of the rainbow and unicorn brigade, stifling discussion, censoring criticism, and other such puerile piss weak tropes.

Yes, at appropriate times I've been guilty of it too, and look what effect that had on the club - SFA.

So you want to be a cheerleader now, princess?

I don’t see any negativity on this board whatsoever.

Have you ever considered a balanced view?

Maybe something along the lines of the AFC can make both GOOD and BAD decisions.....

Have you ever considered a balanced view?

Maybe something along the lines of the AFC can make both GOOD and BAD decisions.....
It would be great if there was a balanced view from those who do nothing but continually criticise. There simply isn't.

I go just as hard as anyone when I think it's warranted, not ad-nauseam.