Traded James Aish [traded with #69 and future 3rd to Fremantle for future 2nd & 4th]

Fremantle have supposedly offered Aish a 3 year contract to join us. I'd understand a 2 year deal, but 3? Did we not learn from Colyer & Kersten?
Longmuir would at least have had some direct contact with Aish. Probably in a better position to judge on him than Ross/Ross were on Kersten or Colyer.

Had a very, very solid year down back in contrary to what the nuffies say about how he's a crab or a spud etc. The frequent accusation that he's soft is also incorrect - he's taken a number of hits over the years by putting the footy before himself; if anything, he's too ambitious for his size and needs to look after himself a bit more. He'd be a very solid addition to most clubs in the league; he just needs fair goes at it because he's never good on the return from injury, he needs a few weeks each time to really get back into the swing of things.

If it is a salary dump, then the Pies are going to be fortunate to get a top 40 pick for him which is a good deal in a seemingly weak draft. Much like Scharenberg, I reckon the Pies will rue trading him and I believe there are better ways to alleviate the salary squeeze.

But as I said, Aish is much better than his reputation suggests, and clubs can do a lot, lot worse.

Honestly why the hell would anyone take him let alone give him a 3 year deal? Fair dinkum does he have pictures of Longmuir in a compromising position with a farm animal?

This guy was a decorated junior player but from what I’ve seen he is not particularly quick, he doesn’t have elite foot skills and is lighter than a postage stamp. He has ZERO hurt factor and is basically just doing Collingwood a massive favour.

Terrible decision, but keep it up Freo 👍

The average AFL player is on like 400k. I'm not sure why people seem to think 300-500k is huge money.

Any player getting a game every week is on about 500 once you take into account draftees and rookies are on relative peanuts.
Two thirds of players earn under $400,000. I think half of them earn under $300,000.

It's a very top heavy league.

Will be a good solid footballer for Freo while they rebuild, he's actually a pretty reliable shutdown defender.

Shit house kick and can't make a decision under pressure by foot. King of the sideways 15m chip.

You're right he's so crap the Collingwood selection committee picked him 13 times this year:D

Nathan Vardy was picked 11 times this year.

What's your point?

I must say that I enjoy the mental gymnastics by Freo fans to justify this. I am sure he will put out the occasional good game but he is not a key cog of the first 22 for Freo. Or Collingwood. If you give up a junk pick maybe it's fine but the reported salary and contract length numbers stink.