James Sicily

I only have to go back 3 weeks to see Ziebell towel him up the moment he was made accountable. It was a true blessing in disguise for him when Higgins went down and Ziebell had to go in to the middle.

Like I stated, he looks like a millionaire against sides like essendon that absolutely overcook the ball and suffocate their forwards.
Had 29 and 11 marks and 12 intercept possessions. Was clearly our best player that day. Ziebell kicked 2 mate, wasn’t like we were witnessing the rebirth of Gary ablett senior. It was brown and Waite that gave us the real trouble

You must have been in the dunny for the entire first half.

Probably throwing up.

You must have been in the dunny for the entire first half.

Probably throwing up.
Nah was at the game, u guys towelled us up in the first half, Ziebell was good. Doesn’t change the fact that Sicily was one of our best and that your in the very small minority of people that don’t rate him.

I only have to go back 3 weeks to see Ziebell towel him up the moment he was made accountable. It was a true blessing in disguise for him when Higgins went down and Ziebell had to go in to the middle.

Like I stated, he looks like a millionaire against sides like essendon that absolutely overcook the ball and suffocate their forwards.
Oh yeah ziebell the player who cant hack it as a midfielder so was thrown forward this year ;). I wish we had two sicily's one to play back the other forward. He went bak because of his field kicking and intercept marking.

I like Sicily. Brings a bit if character to the game.

I loved it when Jed Lamb got stuck into him last year and his bottom lip hit the ground. I can't believe more clubs don't try and put him off his game as he seems ultra aware and sensitive about what is said about him. Like he would be so easy to get to and distract.

He is great at doing that to others but a prime target himself
What's Jed Lamb and Carlton doing these days? Oh that's right... propping up the ladder as usual

Haha alright mate. I was praising Sicily. I actually like him I just think a good tactic is to get under his skin which lamb did well that night

His 2 junior clubs are Melton and Sunbury, he is always going to have a real ratbag about him and I don't think he gives a crap

Haha alright mate. I was praising Sicily. I actually like him I just think a good tactic is to get under his skin which lamb did well that night

Lamb was completely outside the rules with the stuff he did that night and also his carry-on when given other negating roles.

It will catch up with him.

Hilarious that the kid that was compared to Daicos as a junior has to resort to scragging, Silvagni-style, to get a game.

Then again, he is at Carlton.

I like Sicily. Brings a bit if character to the game.

I loved it when Jed Lamb got stuck into him last year and his bottom lip hit the ground. I can't believe more clubs don't try and put him off his game as he seems ultra aware and sensitive about what is said about him. Like he would be so easy to get to and distract.

He is great at doing that to others but a prime target himself

As CLA noted, there was nothing legal about the way Lamb (and the whole Carlton team for that matter) treated Sicily. It was disgraceful umpiring rather than any merit to Lamb's play that led to Sicily's performance.

Held off the ball, tackled to ground 100m away from the play, all the standard niggles, elbows to the back, chest, arm punches, gut punches, etc. When the ball came near he was pushed out of marking contests, outright held down.

Then, when Sicily had the temerity to respond, he was INSTANTLY pinged. There was some telling footage of the umpire watching the contest, as Lamb elbows Sicily in the back, the umpire says "Don't respond". Lamb pushes him in the back "Don't lose it", then Sicily suddenly stops and braces, pushes back and Lamb drops to the ground. **WHISTLE** downfield free to Carlton. The response from commentators, umpires and the AFL that day make it unarguable this was a conscious decision to discriminate against Sicily.

Sicily should have had 3-4 free kicks in the first quarter alone, the issue would have stopped, and likely the media focus would have dissipated.

Sicily isn't the first player this has happened to - certainly won't be the last - but perhaps one of the least deserving as he is genuinely a ball player first and foremost. (The same could not be said for the likes of Crowley, Solomon, Thompson, etc who were predominately negative taggers).

As CLA noted, there was nothing legal about the way Lamb (and the whole Carlton team for that matter) treated Sicily. It was disgraceful umpiring rather than any merit to Lamb's play that led to Sicily's performance.

Held off the ball, tackled to ground 100m away from the play, all the standard niggles, elbows to the back, chest, arm punches, gut punches, etc. When the ball came near he was pushed out of marking contests, outright held down.

Then, when Sicily had the temerity to respond, he was INSTANTLY pinged. There was some telling footage of the umpire watching the contest, as Lamb elbows Sicily in the back, the umpire says "Don't respond". Lamb pushes him in the back "Don't lose it", then Sicily suddenly stops and braces, pushes back and Lamb drops to the ground. **WHISTLE** downfield free to Carlton. The response from commentators, umpires and the AFL that day make it unarguable this was a conscious decision to discriminate against Sicily.

Sicily should have had 3-4 free kicks in the first quarter alone, the issue would have stopped, and likely the media focus would have dissipated.

Sicily isn't the first player this has happened to - certainly won't be the last - but perhaps one of the least deserving as he is genuinely a ball player first and foremost. (The same could not be said for the likes of Crowley, Solomon, Thompson, etc who were predominately negative taggers).
Haha awwwthe irony of this coming from hawthorn fans who have had some of biggest snipers going around in recent years. Poor widdle Sicily was getting bullied by big bad lamb Hahaha. I've seen thugs like Lewis belting blokes in the guts off the ball and getting a fine.

Remind me again.. The term was unsociable hawks right? You got some of your own medicine back that night. I watched my club get beaten up by your club for a decade and the moment some comes your way you have a sook

Also is Sicily a ball player when he stomps on blokes when they are on the ground. You guys are such hypocrites

Be nice if they kept their circle jerk threads to their own board. Anything other than blind praise and they lose their shit.

If Sicily is a CHB (he isn't) then he's not a particularly good one. If you go with the assumption that every team has a FB and a CHB then out of 36 key defenders he'd be in the bottom half. As a third tall/half back he's a good player but every team has someone in the back half getting plenty of marks.

As I said earlier, he's an interesting player because he's a dickhead and he rustles people's jimmies. Everyone loves their own villain and loves to hate others.

Be nice if they kept their circle jerk threads to their own board. Anything other than blind praise and they lose their shit.

True. I feel for the handful of good posters on that board that have to contend with this drivel on a full time basis.

If Sicily is a CHB (he isn't) then he's not a particularly good one. If you go with the assumption that every team has a FB and a CHB then out of 36 key defenders he'd be in the bottom half. As a third tall/half back he's a good player but every team has someone in the back half getting plenty of marks.

As I said earlier, he's an interesting player because he's a dickhead and he rustles people's jimmies. Everyone loves their own villain and loves to hate others.

He's probably next in line to replace Rance's stranglehold on the Josh Gibson memorial unnaccountable defender of the year trophy

Adults call it "an opposing view"

He's an overrated cheap stat footballer that is only in the backline because he couldn't cut it in the forward line.
Ha! There's dumb posts, and then there's this.

From the time he went back last year he was the Number 1 contested marking defender in the comp. No player took more contested marks from opposition kicks. Only Alex Rance won more intercept possessions in that time.

Haha awwwthe irony of this coming from hawthorn fans who have had some of biggest snipers going around in recent years. Poor widdle Sicily was getting bullied by big bad lamb Hahaha. I've seen thugs like Lewis belting blokes in the guts off the ball and getting a fine.

Remind me again.. The term was unsociable hawks right? You got some of your own medicine back that night. I watched my club get beaten up by your club for a decade and the moment some comes your way you have a sook

Also is Sicily a ball player when he stomps on blokes when they are on the ground. You guys are such hypocrites

You're still hurting he turned you down, I get it.

I'd focus on why you let Kennedy go for a cooked mercenary in Judd, that set your club back ten years.

True. I feel for the handful of good posters on that board that have to contend with this drivel on a full time basis.

He's probably next in line to replace Rance's stranglehold on the Josh Gibson memorial unnaccountable defender of the year trophy

Oh my god. If only North had a player like Josh Gibson who is a multiple premiership player and multiple b&f winner in premiership years. Oh wait they did pity...

You're still hurting he turned you down, I get it.

I'd focus on why you let Kennedy go for a cooked mercenary in Judd, that set your club back ten years.
So in other words, "I don't have the intellectual resources to actually respond to anything you said so I'll change the topic completely and focus on other things to Side track from the fact I'm a hypocrite who likes it when my club dishes it out but sooks when it comes back".

Do I need to say it again. I really like Sicily. I think Hawthorn have a gun who provides great entertainment. I also enjoyed the duel between him and Lamb. It was a classic contest where lamb got under his skin, like many hawthorn players have done for over a decade.

Seriously would you like me to make that any clearer or would you like to point out trades that occurred 9 or so years ago?

Lamb constantly infringed and the AFL said the umpires screwed up by only ever pinging Sicily for retaliating.

Following week Lamb got penalised early and backed off. Been poor ever since.

Oh my god. If only North had a player like Josh Gibson who is a multiple premiership player and multiple b&f winner in premiership years. Oh wait they did pity...
They could have done with a second ruck who could clunk a few and kick some handy set shots - like David Hale

Oh wait...

So in other words, "I don't have the intellectual resources to actually respond to anything you said so I'll change the topic completely and focus on other things to Side track from the fact I'm a hypocrite who likes it when my club dishes it out but sooks when it comes back".

Do I need to say it again. I really like Sicily. I think Hawthorn have a gun who provides great entertainment. I also enjoyed the duel between him and Lamb. It was a classic contest where lamb got under his skin, like many hawthorn players have done for over a decade.

Seriously would you like me to make that any clearer or would you like to point out trades that occurred 9 or so years ago?
Whether Lamb crosses the line aside, it will be interesting if rival coaches start putting more time and attention into nullifying Sicily and luring him into doing something dumb.

I am sure they will and i for one look forward to how he responds. The truly great players come through being targetted and still succeeding

Difference being that Rance can play as a genuine key defender. When he's not heroically playing loose off second gamers.

Gibson was a good player, but it's bizarre that their own fan base don't see that both he and Sicily share the same limitations. Hawthorn's defence was iffy after Croad retired and has been iffy since Lake retired and that's no coincidence. Sicily could well be part of another great back 6, but he's not going to be the cornerstone of it.

Lamb constantly infringed and the AFL said the umpires screwed up by only ever pinging Sicily for retaliating.

Following week Lamb got penalised early and backed off. Been poor ever since.
You might say Lamb played unsociable footy. Sound familiar? Sucked Sicily right in