Jared Polec

• Thread starter Thread starter Dobie G

Missed a few very gettable shots on the run the past few weeks - for an elite kick, needs to work on those
Can't kick on his wrong foot. I'd bag him for it but 90% of AFL players are the same.

Should be a requirement for a professional player that you can use your wrong foot when you need to.

17.19 from goals this year. When you consider that most of them are probably on the run goals, then that's not good enough.

Did have a good year though. Feels like he has been around for a while but only has 24 games under his belt. Will be a solid player for us.

Had more time than he realised on a few occasions. He will get better

This.

**** I'm barely see you in the morning ****

As frustrating as some of his misses can be and I also think he needs to improve his accountability, the thing to take out of this is that he has played 24 games!

He has had 36 scoring opportunities and has played some electric footy. The kid is only going to improve and get more composure.

What a season!

Loved his intensity last night. Quite possibly his best game so far, and that's in a prelim. Don't worry about his kicking, that will become more consistently elite. Will be a gun.

He's going to be an absolute jet with 1-2 more preseasons under his belt and has actually got a lot more backbone to his play than I ever imagined possible. His goal in the last quarter was one out of the box, as his set shots have been unreliable all year. But he showed great composure and terrific power in his leg, when you consider how some of Jay Schulz's kicks from a similar distance dropped short or faded away.

I'd love for him to become half decent at kicking with his right foot, as it would make him a harder player to close down.

Kid is all class. Just needs to be more lethal (ala Isaac Smith) in front of goal. Such a silky player who has shown that he can win his own ball inside and be in the thick of it. Underrated tackler too.

Well he's got 4 years to get to that level, I think that's a pretty good comparison but I think Jared will end up a better complete player as a more inside/outside mid.

Big fan of Isaac Smith as a player though & he had a lot of praise for us post match yesterday, he's a ripper & I hate thinking how he could've easily been at our club instead of Jasquibs but we could say the same with Darling/Lycett too.

I really liked Jared's tweet he loves this club.

Watched a few replays in the last few days. The only thing that will stop Polec from winning the Brownlow for 2015 is the umpires not knowing who is is. By accounts, his fitness level had still a way to go. If that is the case, then he will destroy the competition after a second pre season with us.

So have I, and three things stood out:
1]Polec has sublime skills!! At time they were literally breathtaking, doing things that just shouldnt be done! With an injury-free full year under his belt, and another Burgo/Dubai pre-season locked away, he really can become anything!!
2] Gray is a freak! How did this guys fall to the 50's in his draft! He is already at the place that Polec is heading toward! Special!
3] Wines is a BULL! His ability to get a pass away to an outside player while being tackled by three opponents is just ridiculous!! But, you can see him regularly fall away in patches in games. Now with a third pre-season, and this one his first unmodified program with the seniors, he is looking amazingly fit as well. Will become elite in 2015 .
4] Wingard ......... Oh, forget it! I am not even going to start!

Someone said to me the other day he was in the top 6 or 7 for the 3km time trial. Which basically means he has shaved about 2 minutes off since he arrived here.... amazing turn around

Jared was simply trolling the competition with his 2014 year. He's going to be that much better than his good mate Brodie Smith it's not funny. Like, it won't even be close at the end of their careers. And yes, I'm talking about 2014 AA Brodie Smith.

That's the reason I chose Polec as my buddy. Any player that trains with the captain on his time off and says "We've got a premiership to win" has all the necessary attributes to be not just a great player, but a Port Adelaide player.

So have I, and three things stood out:
1]Polec has sublime skills!! At time they were literally breathtaking, doing things that just shouldnt be done! With an injury-free full year under his belt, and another Burgo/Dubai pre-season locked away, he really can become anything!!
2] Gray is a freak! How did this guys fall to the 50's in his draft! He is already at the place that Polec is heading toward! Special!
3] Wines is a BULL! His ability to get a pass away to an outside player while being tackled by three opponents is just ridiculous!! But, you can see him regularly fall away in patches in games. Now with a third pre-season, and this one his first unmodified program with the seniors, he is looking amazingly fit as well. Will become elite in 2015 .
4] Wingard ......... Oh, forget it! I am not even going to start!
Polec
Has great starting speed.
Has the ability to make other players look like they are standing still.
Has an amazing ability to read the play.
Plays much taller than he looks.
Already breaks tackles with his starting speed, will simply get better as gets stronger.
Looked like he was covering more ground as the year wore on.
Sublime foot skills.
Will hurt opposition more as he improves his goal kicking.
His loping run means he covers a lot of ground with each step.
Will play more in the middle in 2015, reads the play like Gray.
I could go on........