Jesse Hogan Contract Negotiations (Titus O'Reilly)

Firstly, if we don't get Hogan next year we should have a plan to get him to our club when he is a free agent. Clear future salary cap space by de-listing veterans, and utilise the slary cap saving method that the afl allows if you don't use full cap one year. Front loading contracts of star players should also be possible if we don't offer contracts to veteran players in the next two years. Keep Sandy and Mundy, but the rest of players over 28 at the moment should be traded or de-listed.

No matter what happens with Hogan we should do the following things: Keep draft picks and regenerate the list till we have one of the youngest in the afl. Get McCarthy and develop Tabs and Apeness. Recruit a mid with a likely early pick in the next draft so that playing Fyfe permanently forward becomes a realistic option. Have an open mind with late picks in terms of key position players currently running around local leagues.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: I really prefer this option . I think this season mistake is we assume bennell ,fyfe,Sandi will be injuries free and throw everything in a basket and back fire with injuries.

take this with however much salt you like, but i have heard from a friend of Jesse's he has his heart set on coming home, with which team is not set (although you'd think eagles wouldn't be able to), nor has anything been decided, but that's where his head is at currently.
weather $15m from the dees could change that is a whole different issue.

take this with however much salt you like, but i have heard from a friend of Jesse's he has his heart set on coming home, with which team is not set (although you'd think eagles wouldn't be able to), nor has anything been decided, but that's where his head is at currently.
weather $15m from the dees could change that is a whole different issue.
Heard the same thing from 2 different people.

Are these different people from within footy circles or friends of hogan's? Langdon on 6pr tonight again stated that hogan can't wait to get out of Melbourne.
That means Hogan will stay in melbounce, look what happen to McCarthy deal.

Yeah Langdon keeps saying it, which makes me nervous but he always said Judd would leave and that was proven correct. I guess if you drop enough bombs some will hit the mark.
The worse case He come back and choose eagles.

Out of footy circles mate. They were random people I met, one was on the plane to Bali. I saw no reason for them to lie.
Whether they lying or not is not a big thing but they definitely cant keep Hogan personal welfare to themselves and spread it out where trade window are currently closed.

Take this with salt but some Melbourne posters reckon he's bought a house in South Yarra.

Take this with some other branded salt and some Freo fans reckon he's home sick and wants to come home.

It just depends on what salt you want to use...

Take this with salt but some Melbourne posters reckon he's bought a house in South Yarra.

Take this with some other branded salt and some Freo fans reckon he's home sick and wants to come home.

It just depends on what salt you want to use...
Until contract is signed with freo, this going home thing surely is just a gimmick and help nobody at all.get macarthy first then see overall we improve our ball movement in 2017 from mid to forward line.

It will be an interesting trade period for sure. The speculation around Neale and Hogan, and what happens with McCarthy too. It is a risky prospect to get Hogan on a long term high contract, however he is that kind of player that we need, and our failure to secure a genuine tall talent in the past, only puts more pressure on getting someone over.

Getting Hogan would be a real positive step for the club.

I still think we will end up winning around 8-9 games this year which will put us in 12-15th for the year. It would be great for us to beat Melbourne away when we play them in round 16. Once we get our first win of the year, which I think we will be this week against Richmond we will win a few on the trot. Part of me would like to see us bottom out, but the other part wants the newer players to get some wins on the board, without Fyfe, Bennell, Sandi, Johno (and now even Hill). The reality is that any pick in the top 10 this year will be a very good selection in a strong draft. Top 5 would e a great starting point.

It will be an interesting trade period for sure. The speculation around Neale and Hogan, and what happens with McCarthy too. It is a risky prospect to get Hogan on a long term high contract, however he is that kind of player that we need, and our failure to secure a genuine tall talent in the past, only puts more pressure on getting someone over.

Getting Hogan would be a real positive step for the club.

I still think we will end up winning around 8-9 games this year which will put us in 12-15th for the year. It would be great for us to beat Melbourne away when we play them in round 16. Once we get our first win of the year, which I think we will be this week against Richmond we will win a few on the trot. Part of me would like to see us bottom out, but the other part wants the newer players to get some wins on the board, without Fyfe, Bennell, Sandi, Johno (and now even Hill). The reality is that any pick in the top 10 this year will be a very good selection in a strong draft. Top 5 would e a great starting point.

I've got us beating,bombers,Suns,lions & port.
I'll be totally shocked if we can notch up 8 wins.

I've got us beating,bombers,Suns,lions & port.
I'll be totally shocked if we can notch up 8 wins.

Yep, I am more around the 4 wins. If we had the Bennell's, Sandi, Johnson, Apeness, Yarren and Hill available now we could win the next few but we don't and they wont be back until we are up against the better teams.

Unfortunately Richmond looks like a great bet for the weekend and one that I probably wont be able to ignore.

Are these different people from within footy circles or friends of hogan's? Langdon on 6pr tonight again stated that hogan can't wait to get out of Melbourne.

This Hogan kid might be better than I thought finally someone not raving about bleak city.

Yep, I am more around the 4 wins. If we had the Bennell's, Sandi, Johnson, Apeness, Yarren and Hill available now we could win the next few but we don't and they wont be back until we are up against the better teams.

Unfortunately Richmond looks like a great bet for the weekend and one that I probably wont be able to ignore.

Hoping around five wins which should give us pick 3 if Richmond cant beat us this weekend they never should again Reiwoldt and Rance in career best form with no real match ups for them. Well I suppose Dawson has to come back in... and poor old Pav will have to take Rance on.

I spoke to my mate who's a good source for the club. I have an intriguing quote from him he knew I'd post and it's a corker...

And I quote... "Mate, no one has a f***ing clue. I don't think he does. I saw Ross at breakky the other day, he didn't even give a s**t about the question I asked, avoided it and just asked how my kid was. If anyone says they know, they don't. He apparently was really good mates with Jack Martin and I doubt they are talking shop when they catch up. The club would want both but I reckon it won't happen. Jack Martin is more likely. Which is my oppinion, no ones said anything. But as for Jessie, mate, he honestly doesn't know himself and when he does I'll be a sh**house source koz people here won't tell me because I go and tell idiots like yourself that post on that stupid website"

So there you go. I 100% trust him. That was his take on it. He then went on to tell me about how I should get back to my uni assignment and his kid threw up on him. I know I didn't need to add that last part, but I found it hilarious.

Jesse Hogan Contract Negotiations (Titus O'Reilly)