Jesse Hogan Contract Negotiations (Titus O'Reilly)

I would trade Hill over Neale. Has never really dominated games and still has heaps of value. Not sure if he's being played in the wrong position but I'm not liking his output recently.

Besides the suspect calf ATM, I think Stephen is having trouble adjusting to the new plan.
Some blokes are taking a long time to be de-lyoned.

When I saw Hayden Crozier today I felt like I was watching a player who simply cannot function under Ross Lyon.
There is no other explanation in my mind. Ross' requirements and Hayden's talent are just not compatible.

Croz is wasting his time at Freo and in his best interests he should ask to be traded.

Ross' requirements and Hayden's talent are just not compatible.
What talent? Playing well at WAFL? Are you seriously suggesting RTB is the main reason Croz performs poorly at AFL? Sounds like a convenient excuse to me to justify not playing as well as someone should.

Although I'm not certain Croz was as bad as I first thought. If you look at his heat map he played predominantly defensively. I didn't notice when watching but maybe he had a negating role? Without question he still needs to be performing better than he did today but deserves some time to prove himself.

You don't think that sounds like the typical Ross Lyon role player ?
I'm thinking more like you can spot the really talented players by the one touch they control the ball with.

One touch grab, creative vision with disposal, timing the jump and the ball, kicking it and reading it in flight are my key talent areas I look for in a young man.

What talent? Playing well at WAFL? Are you seriously suggesting RTB is the main reason Croz performs poorly at AFL? Sounds like a convenient excuse to me to justify not playing as well as someone should.

Although I'm not certain Croz was as bad as I first thought. If you look at his heat map he played predominantly defensively. I didn't notice when watching but maybe he had a negating role? Without question he still needs to be performing better than he did today but deserves some time to prove himself.

Just like Connolly ****ed Paul Medhurst and that crazy campaigner Harvey all but destroyed Ryan Crowley.
Senior Coaches can and do destroy the careers of players. Many players realise it and decide for the sake of their career they must look for another club.
I am saying Hayden is a perfect example of that. If It can happen to Luke Ball it can happen to Crozier.

Did you see and read the TAC clips of Crozier when we drafted him ? He was a high flying talented half forward .
There was no mention of him being used in a defensive or negating role.

I'm thinking more like you can spot the really talented players by the one touch they control the ball with.

One touch grab, creative vision with disposal, timing the jump and the ball, kicking it and reading it in flight are my key talent areas I look for in a young man.

Me too and presumably so does Ross. I wonder then, why he proceeded to beat the flair and instinctive football out of Hayden Crozier, to mention one player.
There was talk coming out of the club that Ross was not playing Weller last year because he wasn't playing defensive football.
Of course we all speculated on this board that we were running a high risk of Lachie Weller saying stuff this I'm heading home because of perceived lack of opportunity.

Walters has a lot of flair, do you think Crozier is instructed to play away from where the ball is or does he not recognise how the ball is moving inside fifty?

I couldn't tell you but fair to say Crozier isn't getting much opportunity for us to assess that.
There's a reasonable chance he'll be dropped next week as well.
So, you ask yourself if we pursue a player like Hogan, would the coach try and change him, for example to make him more accountable defensively, when he is a high calibre goal scorer.
Brilliant players like Ablett and Fyfe will give a coach whatever they ask but not all players can do that.

The key question on Crozier is can he do better if he gets more chances then.

We need to know if he is supposed to be behind the pack when the ball spills over and there was nobody there etc

I don't think we'll ever find out.
The major worry for us is what stance Ross will take on Harley and Morabito.
Pointless talking about Hogan and McCarthy at this stage but Bennell is a highly skillful, fast, playmaker who is an attack weapon. Will Ross say Harley just play your natural game and stay forward centre or will he demand that he run up and down the ground all day and be seen in the back pocket on occasions.
Mora has played one game under Ross but the enduring memory we all have of Mora is the powerful run through the lines and unloading a huge goal in a final against Hawthorn. Will we still see the line breaking runs and long kicking game of Mora or will he be forced to adapt to the short chipping sideways defensive game ?
His biggest weapons his strength, speed and long kicking may be under utilized and wasted.

We need line breakers plus good kicks...(in addition to KPF's)

My buddy Hilly is both of the former.

Slow start to the year yes but definitely shouldn't be traded. Doesn't mean I think we should trade Neale instead though...

Obviously a tough one cause to get Hogan we'd have to add a top player in the mix

I hope we keep our young mids intact for the future...the likes of Fyfe, Neale, Hill, Bennell, Weller, Blakely & Langdon will keep us in contention once the youngins get more games under their belt

I would trade Hill over Neale. Has never really dominated games and still has heaps of value. Not sure if he's being played in the wrong position but I'm not liking his output recently.

I hope we keep our young mids intact for the future...the likes of Fyfe, Neale, Hill, Bennell, Weller, Blakely & Langdon will keep us in contention once the youngins get more games under their belt
Definitely. We need to build around these fine young players that we have already got. Unfortunately the only way we can go forwards is to go backwards for a bit and have some short term pain. Some high picks at the end of this year is the only way. We blew our chance at a premiership, now we need to rebuild. Two years is my guess before we start contending again.

We're do you get access to the heat map?

Either way, I was thinking the same thing today. Croz wasn't in the game much, which is an issue, but when he was I thought he was OK. More the point, he seemed to be playing a different role, much further from goal than what I'd think.

The key question on Crozier is can he do better if he gets more chances then.

We need to know if he is supposed to be behind the pack when the ball spills over and there was nobody there etc

Croziers problem is that he is a midfielder not a half forward, his other problem is that at AFL level for whatever reason we eony play him as a mid.

I disagree. Some of our better footy in 2014 was played with Ballas, Sonny and Crozier in the same forward line. I think Croz needs to play closer to goal and use his speed to get himself into the game a bit more. There is absolutely no point of dropping either Croz or Tabs, both should be persisted with for more than one gam. Oh and we dropped the wrong spud. De Boer>Suban.

Croz has always had the same problem . He has never got enough of the pill. It was the knock on him from juniors and its still the problem. This flair furphy comes from one high mark in the eighteens. Its rubbish that Freo,s game plan has ruined his game. Walters,Hill,Fyfe ,even Weller now have no trouble playing with dash. Just maybe Croz isn't good enough.

Crozier needs 4 to 5 games in the team and be played in the midfield and forward. I think he has the skills to be best 22.

Jesse Hogan Contract Negotiations (Titus O'Reilly)