JJ's Farewell

Small article in the Herald Sun today.

It just said that Jason Johnson is going to play with the Bombers once more before Round 22- when he retires.

Let me be the first to say that he's been a great ambassador for the club and he's a credit to the game of Football. Dual Best and Fairest. Stellar career.

Best of luck in the future, JJ. :thumbsu:

Hopefully it is round 22, because I'm probably going to that game.

JJ is an absolute legend. Great person, great player. Really enjoyed watching him through the years.

All the best mate. :thumbsu: We'll miss ya. :(

Btw, does anyone know where I can read that article? Is it on the Sun website?

He was also on SEN yesterday. Talked about what he is doing after footy - into cooking and hoping to combine with football. Great interview. Looking forward to having a farewell game - good we are playing last 3 at
dome.

I'd be happy for him to play a farewell at 50% fitness if he has to.

Been a warrior and one of our best handful this decade. Was elite from about 01-03 and still damn good afterwards (and before when he played in the Premiership) until injury slowed him down the last couple seasons.

Champion. Could not respect the way he went about it more.

Am I the only one on here that does not agree with this one bit. Honestly as good a servant as JJ has been, playing him for the sake of playing him I just do not like, ESPECIALLY when we have MOMENTUM! JJ is a good player but he is not one I'd say would be deserving a "farwell game", Fletcher yes, JJ no. Do not agree with it.

Of course he is deserved of a farewell game. Even if it is do or die for the finals in Round 22. He is a premiership player for this club, dual Best and Fairest winner, and an all-Australian. He has put in a huge amount of work for this club. Has had a one-club career with the Bombers. Completely deserves to run out with the Bombers for one last hoorah, and take with him some memories, hopefully good ones!

Interesting one. I'm all for giving him a fairwell game but what happens if our last game against the Saints is a make or break for finals?
what happens if he comes out and plays like he did in the comeback game against the kangaroos in '01. 35 touches or so and 4 goals and win the game for us :p

congrats JJ. always have been a favourite of mine since i started going to the footy (99)

Am I the only one on here that does not agree with this one bit. Honestly as good a servant as JJ has been, playing him for the sake of playing him I just do not like, ESPECIALLY when we have MOMENTUM! JJ is a good player but he is not one I'd say would be deserving a "farwell game", Fletcher yes, JJ no. Do not agree with it.

Make your friggen mind up. Earlier this year you wanted us to tank becasue it was so important that we get early draft picks. Now we have won a few you can't find one lousy spot in the side for one game to bloke who has given so much to the club and has probaly cost himself 50 games of AFL footy becasue he has put his body on the line for the jumper more times than anyone cares to remember.
Why would he not deserve a farewell game. He has given his all for this club on and off the field.
You really are a dead set tool!

Where was all your talk about momentum and winning when you where hoping we would not win another game for the rest of the season ?

I think it is important that if he is fit enough that he can play (even if not in our best 22) he gets a send off game.. especially when we probably don't have anything on the line anyway.. it is part of developing a team culture and how we keep our club strong.. jj has been a great servant and always bled red and black imho.. maybe just might make one or two of the younger guys think about what kind of club they want to play for.. and maybe take a few less dollars next contract time cause they know that EFC will treat them right.. honour and tradition should still exist at a club and I think a farewell match forms a part of that.. I, for one, would love to have a chance to say good bye and thank you to a key part of the last period of bomber greatness (1998-2001).

JJ is a true warrior of the club, & IMO warrants a send-off. 2 B&Fs, AA, premiership player; it's a pretty impressive read.

His shirt front on Johnny Blakey in the Night Grannie of 2000 still gives me tingles (would probably get a life suspension now though...):thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

yep i reckon you're the only one. whats the difference, JJ bled for this club and still does. he deserves it thoroughly.

what happens if he comes out and plays like he did in the comeback game against the kangaroos in '01. 35 touches or so and 4 goals and win the game for us :p

congrats JJ. always have been a favourite of mine since i started going to the footy (99)
He gets another contract. :D

Nah, but hopefully he does get a go.

I dont care what people say, he has been a great player for us, from the early glory days of 99, 00 to the not so good days, last year, and will always be remebered as a true champion, as one fellow admirer has said, he put his head over the ball, and has courage that you have, not what you can get. he had it in bucket loads. So once again:

CONGRATULATIONS JASON JOHNSON>>>

2001 All Australian (Interchange)
2001 W.S Chrichton Medalist
2005 W.C Chricton Medalist

182 AFL GAMES *
108 AFL GOALS *

* As of 28/07/2008

yep i reckon you're the only one. whats the difference, JJ bled for this club and still does. he deserves it thoroughly.

Gold!!! :D :thumbsu:

There are suitable places for sentimentality in football, and this is one. We're in a perfect position to give him a send off. If we were playing for a top-four spot with a real crack at the flag, then you might have an argument against it. As it stands, we have a decimated list and we CAN fit him into our 22 for one final game, where we can all show our appreciation (and he'll probably rack up a lazy 30+... and demand a spot in the first final ;) !)

He's been a fine and courageous Essendon servant. He was really, REALLY good in his prime and has only ever given 110%. The word gets bandied around a lot, but he's been a real champion of our club.

I like that our club does this sort of thing. Part of Sheedy's legacy :thumbsu:

What if he gets 45 disposals 7 goals in his farewell game?

That would be a great way to be remenbered, highest goals and disposals in his career.

Has been a great warrior for the club and deserves to go out with dignity and respect.

If he can get his body right he will get a farewell game and my pick is when we play the Aints. They Aints that good and we can carry one if we need to.

That would be a great way to be remenbered, highest goals and disposals in his career.

Has been a great warrior for the club and deserves to go out with dignity and respect.

If he can get his body right he will get a farewell game and my pick is when we play the Aints. They Aints that good and we can carry one if we need to.
I remember that day when he had 40 odds possessions against the Saints and then missed a running shot on goal to win the game. :(

JJ's Farewell