Past Joel Patfull (2005-2014)

Tonight Burton was Patfulated.:D

Was hearing footsteps by the end of the night.

He's going to wake up in the middle of the night screaming "PATFULLLLLL!!!!" ;)

Joel is fast becoming one of my top 4-5 favourite players.
week in week out he fights well out of his weight divison, managing to get that important spoil almost every time when it looks impossible.

Our backline with Merrett, Patfull, Macdonald, Mcgrath back there looks super solid at the moment, and very exciting.

I think he has to be an All Australian Contender

I can't see him getting an AA guernsey. I think he lacks the attacking side of his game to be considered in that company. He would have to be behind Macdonald, and I can't see two Lions making it in the AA back 6.

Patfull is due to play his 50th game against the Demons. Since making his debut in round 8 2006 he has only missed one game, round 22 last year.

He's come a long way since Lions fans uttered a collective "Joel WHO?" when his name was read out in the 2005 draft.

To play your first 50 games without ever being dropped (missed one game with a collar bone injury) is a fairly rare achievement.

From the 2005 draft only two players have played more games: Thomas (54) and Birchall (53).

Yeah, fair get that. I remember everyone going Joel F&!@#4n Who?!?! and scrambling for SANFL game reports to try to piece together what we'd done.

Very similar to the Dalziell situation last year -- mature age, no profile, state league player from leftfield. Both drafted in the low 50's from memory too.

We'll be stoked if Bradd has a comparable start to his career with us.

So glad I went out on a limb and bought his guernsey from the special match last year in Melbourne. I reckon the way he's going it's going to be worth heaps one day.....not that I'd every want to part with it.

Link

Lions defender Joel Patfull has been nominated for an AFL army award. In the 2nd quarter Burton jumped on top of an opponent's head and was about to take a hanger, only for Patfull to come from nowhere and punch the ball out of his hands.

patfullow2.jpg

After watching the other army award nominations, I think Joel's actually looks the best. Unfortunately I find these voting systems generally come down to popularity votes, but fortunately for Joel, there are no Essendon or Collingwood players up for nomination.

Joel pretty much ruined mark of the week, someone should win something from that play - and it ain't Burton!

Link

Lions backline deserves praise: Patfull
June 25, 2008 - 6:16PM

Defender Joel Patfull believes it's time the Brisbane Lions' no-name backline earned some recognition, having helped put the club on track for the AFL finals.
While many point to forwards Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw and some classy midfielders as the reasons behind the Lions' improvement in 2008, the backline has kept opposition sides to scores under 100 in five of the past six games.
The Lions won all of those games, with the round 12 defeat to the rampant Western Bulldogs the only blip on the recent form line.
Patfull, whose spoiling of Adelaide's Brett Burton was a feature of the Lions' win over the Crows last Saturday night, said it was nice for he, fullback Daniel Merrett and their unheralded teammates to win some plaudits.
"We get forgotten about a bit up here, so it's good to get a bit of recognition," he said.
"We've been playing together now for a while and the games we've played we're getting a good bond back there.
"Joey Mac (Macdonald) and Josh Drummond as well are all playing good games, so it's all helping out."

patfull15ex5.jpg

So glad I went out on a limb and bought his guernsey from the special match last year in Melbourne. I reckon the way he's going it's going to be worth heaps one day.....not that I'd every want to part with it.

So it was you!!! :D

Joel has been a favorite for a few years now... its great to finally see him getting some credit lately... and today again he just worked and worked and worked.

Its amazing how he can take on someone bigger and quicker and still keep them to low scores. They say hes as strong as an ox... and he looks it in action... but hes nearly always undersize for the man hes on.

His work ethic is just awesome... he just wears em like a glove to the point where they cant breathe... and now that hes really starting to break the lines he looks good on the run too.

Probably not one of the Powers better moves...:rolleyes:

Link

Matthews was also pleased with the efforts of key defender Joel Patfull, who had a tough outing against Hawthorn's Buddy Franklin last week but was influential against the Dogs.

Patfull’s well taken running goal from 35m in the last quarter proved decisive and he kept the dangerous Robert Murphy to 16 possessions and one goal.

"We actually thought Joel was okay against Buddy. To keep him to seven scoring shots was a bit of an heroic effort, because he normally has about 12," Matthews said.

“I thought the defensive group was pretty solid tonight. Joel was sent out to play on Murphy and it was good that he actually ran forward and had a couple of shots and kicked a goal."

patfullms8.jpg

Link

While Daniel Bradshaw had a night out at one end, Brendan Fevola didn't at the other for Carlton. Joel Patfull did a terrific job on him and Fevola managed just two goals to take his tally to 92 for the season.

patfull9sl6.jpg

Most minutes played in 2008 (so far)

1. Harry O'Brien (2517)
2. Brendan Fevola (2499)
3. Joel Patfull (2482)
4. Dale Morris (2480)
5. Lance Franklin (2468)
6. Daniel Merrett
7. Brian Lake

Link

The Swans are also expected to welcome back Michael O'Loughlin after five weeks out with an ankle injury, who Patfull expects to line up against.It will be the latest in a series of big match-ups for the hard working youngster, who had a torrid time against Hawthorn's Lance Franklin in round 19 before dominating Bulldog Robert Murphy a week later.
But Patfull said he considers himself little chance of selection for October's International Rules contests.
"I don't think I'll be up there, I think there's a lot of boys ahead of me at this stage," he said.

patfullts8.jpg

Hope you're right. He's much needed for our backline and is going to be a superstar soon.

AA in 09!

If he continues to develop the attacking side of his game that we saw glimpses of late in the season, then he must surely get an AA nod.

He's an unglamorous player playing for an unglamorous club. Mal Michael never got the nod for similar reasons.

The JPat is so important to our side, I feel like he is a gift from the footy gods to make up for losing Craig Bolton in our premiership years.