Mong

Crows
The virtual swapping of roles between these two players part way through the year has been a masterstroke by the Crows coaching staff.

Edwards provides so much in defence with his ability to matchup on a range of players and keep them in check. But just as importantly he adds so much run to the Crows back half. He creates so well, is always in position to be a viable option, and manoeuvers himself out of trouble so well.

Early in the season I was critical of the lack of run from the Crows defence. I believe Edwards' shift down back has been a major reason for the turnaround into one of the most attacking defensive groups in the comp.

And we've really found a key weapon up forward with John****. Teams are really struggling to contain him and even if he isn't kicking goals he makes things happen. He is a legitimate threat for any team and is another forward the opposition has to focus on. Our forward line depth is by far the best we've ever had.

Our best spot for Edwards is defence and the best spot for John**** is forward. The results are speaking for themselves.

Very salient point really, John**** was playing well in the backlines (I actually called for him to be reinstated there) but his opponent did tend to score a few too many goals on him.

Also, his disposal coming out of the defence isn't quite up to Edwards' standards (though he does make a few blues on occasion). Edwards marshalls the defence quite well, and acts like a quarterback, setting up the play and helping to provide that run.

And if I recall correctly Edwards was playing his best footy last year in the finals when he was playing that same role across defence.

Keep him there. He is probably capable of making the All Australian team as a defender if he stays there all year.

Edwards is the most underrated player at the AFC,John**** is a sensational player he had hands with glue on them on Sturday he was marking everything:D Burton id a good player but can tend to be a 'hog' at times and sometimes gets caught out holding the ball,once he gets it in his head to use a team mate instead of getting caught he will take that next step to being a more respected player not only by his fellow team mates but the supporters too;)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Edwards is the most underrated player at the AFC,John**** is a sensational player he had hands with glue on them on Sturday he was marking everything:D Burton id a good player but can tend to be a 'hog' at times and sometimes gets caught out holding the ball,once he gets it in his head to use a team mate instead of getting caught he will take that next step to being a more respected player not only by his fellow team mates but the supporters too;)

Stiffy is killing em at the moment!!!! He is like the energizer bunny when he gets going - he is that exciting! I personally love Brett Burton. I think he is terrific - he makes me laugh, he makes me smile just because you never know what he is going to do - sometimes I am sure he doesn't even know :D

k
xx

As I said in another thread, they don't seem to be able to be put in the same half of the field - one goes back and the other goes forward. I think overall we get better value from them the way it is now - Tyson was able to score a few goals, but not as many as Graham, who now present s the possibilty of becoming a potential matchwinner.

BUT - down the track I wonder if he will end up as a midfielder.

Originally posted by ant
Very salient point really, John**** was playing well in the backlines (I actually called for him to be reinstated there) but his opponent did tend to score a few too many goals on him.

Also, his disposal coming out of the defence isn't quite up to Edwards' standards (though he does make a few blues on occasion). Edwards marshalls the defence quite well, and acts like a quarterback, setting up the play and helping to provide that run.
Great topic ****!

I agree with ant's comments that I thought he was going missing too much in the forward line earier in the season & should return down back. However, I have changed my mind as he is seems to be learning how to play up forward better my presenting leads across HF. He has a touch of magic & doesn't need to much of the ball to do some damage on the scoreboard.

Edwards is so adaptable he can play anywhere - forward/midfield/back. He is probably better than Stiffy on the small forward because he isn't quite as loose & has a better footy brain as to when to run of his man. I would like to see Tyson getting a run on the ball occassionally, which may mean rotating Shirley, Goody, Bicks or Macca back for a bit. Certainly gives us flexibility to change things if the original matchups aren't working.