azyboy

Not Wayne - Definitely John. For those of you who don't know this astute gent pens a column in the Age every Wednesday. He is a life long Geelong fan and his thoughts and views are certainly learned. He calls his wife the "handicapper" and watches the cats every chance he can get. This often involves him watching from remote areas as he seems to enjoy the travel bug.

I've copied a link to this weeks article. Just wondering if any others enjoy his column?

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/absent-cat-fan-still-blissful/2007/08/07/1186252707509.html

He admits to being totally one-eyed about Geelong. Does a lot behind the scenes too. His articles are always a joy to read - for us in particular! Great supporter!

Absolute champ.

Must admit I enjoyed his articles more last year when they were based about Geelong, but they are still great now.

I catch him on the Offsiders sometimes, and totally recommend his book 'Loose Men Everywhere'.

There are sports reporters and sports writers.
John is a sports writer in the true sense of the word.
A tad self indulgent, and likes to drop a name here and there, but it is quality, entertaining and often funny.
Quality bloke as well.
This is where the age is different to the HSun.
You get wrtiting along with all the usual crap.
Martin Flanagan being the best of them.
All Carl and coll fans should read his book about the 70 grand final.
Interviews every player who played in it.

Love is articles

Definately happy to register my appreciation of Harmes' articles. I particularly like the references to the 'handicapper'.

He is great when he is on Offsiders, which is a great show, as they have 3 regular Geelong fans on.

I had no idea what he was talking about last week about the horse racing but he delivered it so well it didn't matter.

His jovial approach to life in general within the article probably sets him aside from a 'journalist', moreso a writer.

I read every article he writes, often ending with a dry wit and a smile on my face. He is a fantastic writer, and has a true talent for recognising the simple pleasures in life.

Big thumbs up for John. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Thanks for the link. Hadn't had the pleasure of reading John Harms before, but will keep an eye out for him. Brilliant article, combined two of my favourite things - the Cats and beautiful Darwin... glad to see somebody else appreciates them as much as I do. :)

Thanks for the link. Hadn't had the pleasure of reading John Harms before...
Gnelon....gnee...golnee...**** it! Geelong mirrored, you MUST borrow/buy the book Loose Men Everywhere that SJ's mentioned. It's a ripper yarn, and a worthy addition to any Cats fan's bookcase.

The prick nearly smashed into my friends car out the front of my house before the game against the Kangas earlier this year. :D Great bloke though!

You don't have to be a Geelong supporter to enjoy his stuff. As someone else said he is a sportswriter in the true sense. I have met him a couple of times, a mate is good friends with him and I went to uni at the same times as his brother, different course, but spent many evenings at the local with him. He wrote a great article in the Courier Mail a few years ago about the first Rugby League State of Origin game and how he and his old mate Aldo got to the game. His cricket stuff is also entertaining, especially his book about driving the Camira around Oz to watch Test matches.

Does Geelong ever get him to host or talk at club functions? If not, I reckon they should, he would do a good job.

Absolutely loved 'Loose Men Everywhere.' Easily the best football book I have read hands down.

This is also available on CD great yarns. Well told and very enjoyable
book or cd a must for cats fans.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Gnelon....gnee...golnee...**** it! Geelong mirrored, you MUST borrow/buy the book Loose Men Everywhere that SJ's mentioned. It's a ripper yarn, and a worthy addition to any Cats fan's bookcase.

Available from my local bookstore? or Amazon a better bet?

Absolute champ.

Must admit I enjoyed his articles more last year when they were based about Geelong, but they are still great now.

I catch him on the Offsiders sometimes, and totally recommend his book 'Loose Men Everywhere'.

****ing great book that one.

Edit: Also, that article was a good read.

yeah, love his articles and have been meaning to pick up his book.
Will probably do so when I am back in Melbourne later this year.

Absolutely loved 'Loose Men Everywhere.' Easily the best football book I have read hands down.

If anyone has a copy of this that they don't need, or knows where to find it, let me know - my online searches have been futile. I would definitely like to get a hold of a copy.

Ahem.

That he gets a column in a major Australian daily is an embarrassment to the talent of Australian writers. He writes absolute sentimental garbage, that has no humour, insight or relevance. The Age has slipped below the Herald Sun in terms of Editorial quality, amazing stuff. Harms is mostly to blame but old Flanagan, Bob Murphy and the others who write whimsical rubbish are all guilty.

If you want to read sports journalism log onto the www.guardian.co.uk and daily there will be ten articles of superior quality than the best of the Age. Or buy Hornby or Hunter S Thompson.

He offends me as a writer, an Australian and a Geelong Supporter.