Delisted Josh Green (2010-2016)

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Chat with Josh Green

Lions fans will have the opportunity to chat LIVE with livewire forward Josh Green this Thursday 18 April at 4pm.

Live_Chat_Green.jpg

Green keen for State game
April 19, 2013
Sam Lord

Despite AFL boss Andrew Demetriou claiming that State of Origin would be forever consigned to football history, there is still plenty of support from the players to bring back the popular concept.

Lions forward Josh Green is the latest player to express his desire to represent his home State of Tasmania in a State of Origin match. “I would love to see State of Origin footy back (in the AFL),” Green told fans during a live chat on Thursday. “To play for Tassie would be great!” Green is one of three Tasmanians currently on the Lions’ list – together with Ryan Harwood and Aaron Cornelius.

Live Chat Transcript
April 19, 2013

CJ: Hey Josh, do you think you'll start spending more time in the middle at some stage or happy to be up in the forward line kicking goals?

Josh Green: Hey CJ , at the moment i'm pretty happy just getting a game weather that's in the forward line or midfield , but i do love kicking a goal .

Joffa: How did you come about getting the #6 jumper? Did you ask for it? Or did Lukey Power hand it down to you?

Josh Green: Hey Joffa , Lukey asked me to wear it and i didn't even have to think about it to be honest. Such a huge honour to wear the number 6 .

Steven: Hi Josh! Who is quicker between you and Toddy?

Josh Green: Hey Steve , I personally think toddy is quicker .

Doug: Josh, when do you reckon we can expect to see fellow Tassie boys, Ryan Harwood and Ace Cornelius back in the ones? Love the way all 3 of you go about it.

Josh Green: Hey Doug , I reckon you will see both of them back in the senior team very soon , both playing very good football at NEAFL level.

Just love him, he's like an annoying little terrier when he gets going....red headed poodle suits him!:D
Agreed...we have so needed a goal kicking small forward for many years and Green (along with Zorko) give us this defensive/offensive small forward value at last.
Really looking forward to Green building his career in this extremely difficult position in the years to come.

BRISBANE forward Josh Green hopes to follow in the small footsteps of St Kilda champion Stephen Milne.
The 33-year-old has built a reputation as one of the most damaging small forwards in the modern era, booting 567 goals in 271 AFL appearances in the red, white and black.
But Green hopes it's his turn to set the Gabba alight on Saturday when the Lions aim for their fourth-straight win at home.
The Tasmanian goalsneak, who has booted 29 goals in as many games for the Lions, said he is starting to feel more comfortable on the big stage.
"I've looked at a few people like Jeff Garlett - he is really good at that small forward role," Green said.
"I've looked at a few of his games and try to pick pieces out of his game I can use.
"I also speak to 'Blacky' (teammate Simon Black), who has been around for 14 or 15 years, so I also try and pick people's brains that have been around for a while and see if I can add that to my game.
"I started off OK in the pre-season cup and then probably halfway through the year my form struggled.
"But I went back to the 'twos' for a bit and then I've been back in the senior team for four weeks, and I'm starting to feel confident again.
"I'm really enjoying that small forward role, and kicking goals always helps."
While the finals remain only a mathematical chance for Brisbane, Green said they still have plenty to achieve in the run home.
"The team has been going a lot better lately so hopefully we'll finish off the season well. We've got five weeks to go and have a bit to prove," he said.

Just...don't follow all the way, Greeny.

Anyway, great to see him getting an extended run of games after getting dropped. Seems like he's viewed as a first 22 player, but had a couple of issues with his game in the middle of the year.

2013 Review - by matwt73

It has been a good year for Josh Green. He has been an improving player in an improving side and has firmly cemented himself in the best 22.

To the start of 2013 Green had played seventeen games and kicked 15 goals, but in the mind of most Lions supporters was defined by one game, indeed one quarter of football and three goals. Whilst it was Mckeever’s diving lunge that saved a goal, and James Polkinghorne’s, long bomb that eventually put the lions in front, it was Green coming off the bench for the fourth quarter which injected pace, energy and momentum into the Lions to see them finish over the top of the Eagles at the gabba in 2012.

Having announced his arrival from the sub’s bench however it was Green’s task in 2013, to prove that he could be more than the ‘super-sub’. It was not always an easy task.

To round 16, he had played 11 games, and started in the green vest on three occasions. More critically he had also spent a four game stretch back in the NEAFL, finding form and confidence. To his credit though he earned his recall and used the run home to cement his spot in the side.
Upon coming back into the senior side from round 15 he played every game, and perhaps most critically for a small forward, scored goals in every game. He kicked three goals in the Lion’s wins over North and GWS, matching his previous best. In the last 8 games of the season no Lions player kicked more goals than Green (16), and no other Lion managed a goal in every game. Ending with 24 for the year and third in the club goalckicking.

Whilst not a big possession winner, he made his possessions count. Those 24 goals came from only 30 scoring shots (an 80% success rate) often at pace, and from the forward pocket.
He is also willing and able to apply defensive pressure finishing behind only Dayne Zorko in tackles per game amongst our forwards.

Where to From here
Green. Like Luke Power from whom he inherited the #6 Jumper is a midfielder playing as a small, even with Black retiring however the Lions midfield is becoming a busy place, the new lions coach already has to wrestle with fitting, Rockliff, Rich, Redden, and Moloney into the midfield. Hanley has spoken of a desire to build on his inside work and Ryan Lester, as a taller clearance winner looks very promising.

Green has clean hands and is a clearance winner in his own right but it seems likely that he will continue to do most of his work in the forward line.

Josh Green is a humble young man, he doesn’t have the on-field leadership of a Rockliff or the crazy wizard name of Dayne Zorko. He is happy being the butt of twitter humour from his house mate Brent Staker, and if anything seems a little uncomfortable returning banter even against his junior team mates. He has made himself at home in this side however performed his role, and honed his craft. His 2013, was a significant step up on his 2012, and there is no reason to believe he cannot continue to improve.

disagree about green mostly playing forward hopefully taylor can take greens spot in the forward line

REALLY want and hope to see green play mostly play midfield next year would be a waste of his inside work to have him in the forward line especially now that black is gone

The expectation of Taylor to just come in and take that small forward role IMO is a bit steep. Like Green he is a midfielder who will get games in that position to build up and develop game time in the AFL before getting game time in the midfield. However I would like to see Green get more time in the midfield.

We have enough midfielders, we need a few good crumbing goal kickers. Green seems to be fulfilling the role well enough.

Yeah I'm inclined to agree with this. Green is one of only five guys on the list who average a goal a game or better - Brown, Zorko, Green, Paine & Paparone. But two of that group have played less than 10 games, which obviously isn't a great sample size. So until we get a better variety of options around goal, I don't think we have much choice but to keep Green where he is.

Lists by positions: forwards, part one

Josh Green: Crucial cog in the Lions' forward half. Terrific harassing small forward who loves to tackle and pressure opposition defenders. Green is a clever finisher who kicked 24 goals from 17 games last year.

From afl.com- couldn't find actual link.

Inside Football Player Rating - BLvGCS - NAB Challenge 2.
6/10 – Kicked 1.1 and found space up on a wing to use his speed racing back toward goal.

-- Ben Casanella, Inside Football Thursday, February 27, 2014, Match Review BLvGCS

“It would be a huge honour to go down and play in my home state in front of family and friends,” Green told local Tasmanian paper The Examiner.

“Also, to play Round 1 against the Hawks, who I supported as a kid would be a great honour, so I will be hoping that Leppa picks me.

“I played (at Aurora Stadium) a bit as a Tassie Mariner and it was a really good ground then, and hopefully still is.”

A strong pre-season has Green firmly in line for a position across half-forward, although a greater fitness base could see him pinch-hit in the midfield at times in 2014.

“I'm fairly happy (with my preseason) as I've set some running PBs, which is a good start as I'm trying to push into that midfield role, and in the games I've been fairly consistent in that small forward role,” Green said.

“As a junior I was a midfielder, so that's what they drafted me as. At the moment, they are just grooming me towards that, giving me five or 10 minutes each quarter to give me some experience in there, which has been really handy.

“At the same time, I do really enjoy playing that small forward role and kicking goals, but it is just giving me a taste of it and when some of the older guys get to the end of their careers over the next couple of years, I want to get to that point where I can run out four quarters in the middle.”

http://www.lions.com.au/news/2014-03-17/green-hopeful-of-homecoming