blueboy152

What are your thoughts on this guy.....
Had a shocker in the nab final
I hope he turns out alright, but my feeling is he looks to slow and lost.
Your thoughts??

Josh will be fine mate. You don't go No.4 in the draft if you can't play. Keep in mind that it takes the big blokes much longer to develop than the smaller guys.

Also keep in mind that he came to the club just after having his shoulder reconstructed, and then had his lung punctured towards the end of the season.

Has potential. He just needs to learn to hold those grabs. He probably dropped five or so that he should taken in the NAB cup final.

Josh will be fine mate. You don't go No.4 in the draft if you can't play. Keep in mind that it takes the big blokes much longer to develop than the smaller guys.

Also keep in mind that he came to the club just after having his shoulder reconstructed, and then had his lung punctured towards the end of the season.

Well said HBF, those with a keen eye would agree with you. Those with a keen eye would also notice that in the NAB grand final, that Josh was always working to contribute. If he wasn't taking the grabs he was working his butt off defensively and laid a number of good tackles. THis can't be said of a lot of young KPP, Pat Ryder a case in point. The other parts of his game will come with time. He isn't going to be a Chad Cornes or Lachlan Hansen, but with his size is going to be a crash the packs type CHF which we will come to love.
:thumbsu:

not being a jerk or anything , but what about livingstone .. he was a dud and was pick 4 , all the hype about him taking over silvagni's spot .. and where is now ? delisted . Im really hoping this guy makes it , and has shown he has potential , has a strong mark

He looks like a pretty talented footballer.

He might take a little bit longer than what you would like, but from what i have seen of him, i think he has a lot of talent.

not being a jerk or anything , but what about livingstone .. he was a dud and was pick 4 , all the hype about him taking over silvagni's spot .. and where is now ? delisted . Im really hoping this guy makes it , and has shown he has potential , has a strong mark

He's a different physical make up to Livo.

Probably the potential to be a bigger body and more mobile around the ground.

KPP kids normally really don't start comming on until their 3rd and 4th years.

Livo came to the club as a forward, and was then tried to be turned into a backman - ala SOS. Took some serious beatings, and had his confidence bashed from pillar to post.

A few unusual injuries (twisted bowel was one of them) really set him back as well.

Recruiting is never an exact science, and just becuase you go as a high pick in the draft, doesn't necessarily mean that you will succeed. Have a look at Aaron Fiora for instance. Richmond took him in front of Pavlich.

Kennedy will become a pretty good player for Carlton. Just be patient and give him some time.

I'm not worried, still only in his second year and his dropped mark were probably nerves more than anything. Is a KPP and will take time, but once his body's right and he's got the confidence up, he should be very valuable for us.

I think you will find dropped marks by younger players is generally a symptom of lack of upper body strength. JK is getting his hands to the ball regularly but spills what are simple marks. Cast your minds back 4 or 5 years & Fev was going through a similar stage. Regularly getting first hands to the ball but unable to complete the mark. As Fev has built up his upper body strength he has become more of a one-grab mark. JK will be alright. He has already demonstrated he can find the ball. In 2-3 years time he will be consistently taking 10+ marks per game.

From the guys that had been watching him at U18 level, they likened him to Earl Spalding, but just a better version of him.

He'll get to alot of contests, and you can already see that he prefers to take the ball out in front of his eyes, rather than on his chest, which is a fantastic quality for a kid so young.

Give him time. Saw him play a few for the bullants last year and what impressed me was he work rate and ability to hit packs. Also, when he goes to mark he is so tall and has a such a good jump that his hands are so far above those of the defender. As mentioned, once he gets his strength and timing right, he will start sticking those marks at AFL level and be extemely hard to stop. Too tall for mobile defenders and too mobile for the big defenders...at least thats what I'm hoping.

I think you will find dropped marks by younger players is generally a symptom of lack of upper body strength. JK is getting his hands to the ball regularly but spills what are simple marks. Cast your minds back 4 or 5 years & Fev was going through a similar stage. Regularly getting first hands to the ball but unable to complete the mark. As Fev has built up his upper body strength he has become more of a one-grab mark. JK will be alright. He has already demonstrated he can find the ball. In 2-3 years time he will be consistently taking 10+ marks per game.
Definitely in marking contests, but what I was referring to was dropped marks on a clear lead. I can't see how upper body strength would have an impact on that part of his game.

do you guys think he will be in the team round one ? .. i really hope he does as , he does have alot of potential and if he starts to play , he is going to cause alot of headaches for the oppostion =)

Josh has a great set of hands and is good on a lead.

Sure, a few of his marks havn't stuck lately, but i think for now its just a good sign he's been getting his hands to meet the ball om a regular basis. In time they will begin to stick with more match practice and confidence.

Only played a handfull of games too! Let's all just relax for the time being!

Oh, for those of you who care, Gilly and HAyden are SMASHING the sth africans right now. Its beautiful to watch :D

Those who watched him in the VFL last year will tell how his NAB campaign was un-characteristic.I remember last year in his handfull of games for the Blues he showed a lot of promise and fans were rather excited.Lets not worry too much just yet. One particular play from last year that I just can't stop thinking about was he went up for a pack mark with 2 or 3 opponents and instead of going for the mark he tapped it like a ruckman to a running Betts who then broke away without breaking stride,great stuff.

Can't agree at all with him looking slow and lost. Dropped two easy marks, and two marks that for a guy of his experience would have been sensational. IIRC dropped a sitter in the NAB cup game vs Roos at the top of the square.
Got to be a mental thing - thinking about it too much. It will change.

As for looking lost - I said this last year and I'll say it again. The most impressive thing about JK is that he runs to all the right spots for a leading CHF, often leaving his man behind - not slow, not lost. He just needs the confidence to grab the pill when he gets there.

A haven't done an analysis - but I have been impressed with him throughout the NAB series with his 1% - tackles, spoils, smothers, and his ability to get to the bottom of packs and knock the ball out.

The Heath Scotland snap goal against the BL's was from JK roving at groundlevel a spoiled Fev mark, on his knees fired out a superb pass to Scotty - right decision, great execution - goal.

This part of his game provides a good foil for Fev, ala Hamill and Whitnall.
He will play 22 games this year barring injury.:thumbsu:

i rkn he'll b fine. one of his nab cup games this year convinced me. forget who it was against, maybe hawthorn? forget. either way it was hte best game id seen him play i rkn. i posted a thread about it i was so happy. He did exactly what a CHF should do. he provided a passage out of our backline. he lead really well, and through him, we were able to distribute the ball from teh backline to our forwardline really really well. Everything just flowed beautifully

Gee how about we all start threads devoted to all our of 18 and 19 year old players, and we question their ability and skills... especially if they came to our club after a sholder injury, and then finished the season with a punctured lung. :rolleyes:

It's pre-season. ALL of our boys, bar one or two, are getting back into footy, getting the feel for it, finding their feet again, building their confidence.

Relaxt, sit back and enjoy the ride this year. These threads will be great to re-visit at the end of the season I reckon :thumbsu:

do you guys think he will be in the team round one ?
I hope that Dennis has sat him down and said "you can expect to play all 22 games this year (plus finals)" like he did with Fev when he came to our great club.

Just as a completely innocent question...If Kennedy and Gumbleton were both in this years draft with Gibbs non existant With your mobhaving pick one, would you Go Kennedy or Gumby?

To be honest i havent seen much of either..

Just as a completely innocent question...If Kennedy and Gumbleton were both in this years draft with Gibbs non existant With your mobhaving pick one, would you Go Kennedy or Gumby?

Neither - The Berger.;)

Gumby was always considered the better prospect despite being a year younger. He kept Kenendy out of the CHF role for WA during the 05' U18 champs despite being bottom aged. Josh played out of a forward pocket that year IIRC.