Josh Simpson

Anyone reckon Josh is at risk of de-listing come year's end on the back of his flight missing episode?

I hope that those here who need educating on this issue just finished watching Pilger's Utopia on SBS.

However, I seriously doubt it.

Anybody got any idea of how to get one's hands on a copy of Utopia. Was hoping Sij could weave his magic but that's asking a lot.

I just went on to SBS to see what I could find but there was only a suggestion of what else I might enjoy. "Sex Worker and Proud" - Seen it!

four times!

Anybody got any idea of how to get one's hands on a copy of Utopia. Was hoping Sij could weave his magic but that's asking a lot.

I just went on to SBS to see what I could find but there was only a suggestion of what else I might enjoy. "Sex Worker and Proud" - Seen it!

four times!

Here mate...

http://beamafilm.com/utopia/#.U4qMhnKSzSO

However I'm not sure if you have to pay, or you can watch it on the 7 day free subscription trial.

Best I could find.

Here mate...

http://beamafilm.com/utopia/#.U4qMhnKSzSO

However I'm not sure if you have to pay, or you can watch it on the 7 day free subscription trial.

Best I could find.

Holy Shit! I just watched the 2 minute trailer and I already have a sinking feeling in my heart but I must put myself through this. I have too many distractions at the moment though.

Anyone reckon Josh is at risk of de-listing come year's end on the back of his flight missing episode?

He is coming out of contract, and his behaviour creates that risk for him. On the other hand he has also created a few positives alongside that, having actually done enough to break into the team. He was not delisted for missing the flight which is a clear indication that he has the opportunity to show he wants another contract. I am tipping a 1 year deal with a 1 year extension option. I am also tipping he gets another game this year.

This is the first documentary created by John Pilger in 1985 on aboriginal Australia. It is not easy viewing, but a must watch. It is extremely informative. There is detailed descriptions on the genocide, torture, rape, etc experienced by aboriginal people.

Holy Shit! I just watched the 2 minute trailer and I already have a sinking feeling in my heart but I must put myself through this. I have too many distractions at the moment though.

Yeah, it's pretty heavy going and Pilger lays it on very thickly, but he is passionate about the issue and has been for decades.

Reporting/filming/commenting the way he does makes him one of the most hated journo's on the planet.

However, he isn't shy of showing politicians ripping into him in no uncertain manner which gives it a balance for the neo-cons and bigots out there.

This is the first documentary created by John Pilger in 1985 on aboriginal Australia. It is not easy viewing, but a must watch. It is extremely informative. There is detailed descriptions on the genocide, torture, rape, etc experienced by aboriginal people.

This doco got him put on the most hated list immediately.

The true sadness out of all of this is that what is described in this 1985 doco is unchanged to the 2013 version and, in many ways, things have actually got worse.

Makes me feel ashamed for remaining silent.

We trade these boys in the AFL like cattle in the hope that we can see the magic show that is their unparrellelled athletic ability. We don't respect the personal sacrifice it takes for them to hold this as a goal for themselves.

People should also have a look at 12 Canoes. Another very informative doco/show.
That's not a doco, it's a fictional film made by Rolf de Heer. It's just that it's one of the few, if not the first, film featuring indigenous life before whitey came along.

de Heer's just made another film starring David Gulpilil called Charlie's Country that looks pretty good. Gulpilil just won a best actor award for it at Cannes.

That's not a doco, it's a fictional film made by Rolf de Heer. It's just that it's one of the few, if not the first, film featuring indigenous life before whitey came along.

de Heer's just made another film starring David Gulpilil called Charlie's Country that looks pretty good. Gulpilil just won a best actor award for it at Cannes.

After de Heer had to drag him back from the brink of death, (36 kg's), from alcohol abuse and general lack of care and well-being.

He is an astounding actor and has been ever since a kid in Storm Boy.

As hated as Michael Moore in North America and the same efforts were made to discredit them both.The American gun lobby went after Moore big time.
I read the Secret Country and can't remember seeing the doco so I'll check it out.
I'm not smitten with Pilger's style as an interviewer/commentator but the content is searing and as you say the real indictment is the glacial pace of positive change which he puts squarely in the spotlight.I certainly admire his work and his courage.
I am still very hopeful that The Yalgoo Flash can get some AFL gametime before September.He has got real competition to get into our 22 so he's got a lot of work in front of him but I reckon he can overcome the plane caper and get himself there.Dunno who is dropped for Mora,Sylvia and The Flash to come in but you'd think that selection door would want to have bloody strong hinges in the coming weeks and months.
Then again I might be way off but as we all know he's got everything you need in spades in terms of skill and athleticism.:D:D

"Overheard at the G in September 'Who was that man??' 'That son,was THE FLASH FROM YALGOO!':thumbsu::thumbsu:

After de Heer had to drag him back from the brink of death, (36 kg's), from alcohol abuse and general lack of care and well-being.

He is an astounding actor and has been ever since a kid in Storm Boy.
Yeah, it's a real arm wrestle between de Heer and his muse and Gulpilil and his art. I think Gulpilil still lives in a humpy somewhere around Arnhem land when he's not acting.

Yep. Does a film and goes bush to struggle with his personal demons. So sad.

He is a national treasure imo. I have never seen him put in a performance where he hasn't stolen the show.

btw. NITV has a heap of aboriginal based films, (some excellent, some shit), this week. Gulpilil is in The Tracker which is very good.

The Tracker is a great film. The trouble with Pilger as a film maker IMO is he is quite dishonest at times. There is a really important story to be told about Aboriginal disadvantage in this country but some of his targets were disappointingly wide of the mark. The ABC reporting on chilld abuse was not limited to the interview with the former "'social worker"; there was the really powerful interview wth the senior Crown prosecutor from Alice and the coverage of the Little Children Are Sacred Report. More disappointing, was his attack on the Army going into communties "all guns blazing". I have long had good and bad experiences working with the ADF but NORFORCE comrpises about 60% local indigenous soldiers and the Army has worked with indigenous communities in the north of Australia continuously, since WWII. By and large the soldiers sent into communities were family and spoke the local languages, which is why the Human Rights Commission said sending in the Army was the only thing the Liberal and Labor gvts got right in the Intervention. I did appreciate him skewering Mal Brough though. that man has no idea of the damage his "policies" have done

Jack Charles is a unit and a dag and Geraldine Doogue's got him on Compass right now..
"Real Blackfellas don't inject white powder!!"

Utopia was incredibly confronting. Pilger I think went off the track a few times and spoilt the message.

WTF have the pollies been doing for the last 30odd years, SFA!

You have to wonder whether the pollies actually care, or its treated like a non priority and given to the pollies whom are party hacks who require a ministry but haven't the nous to manage a real one.

Its simplistic but I wonder whether we should have just left them alone living their simple and traditional life rather than trying to make them assimilate into a life thats totally foreign on so many levels to them and then basically ignoring them?