Josh Thomas turning the corner

I will believe he is on the improve when he is playing in the senio6rs. Until then I have little interest in the man, particularly after he was taken in the 70's in a weak draft after Sinclair's pick. If he is meant to be such a great player, why was he still there on draft day for our lowly pick? Perhaps other clubs knew something about him that we did not, such as he is always injured.
Hird pick the 70's, Grant pick 100, Kemp pick 90, Burns pick 90 Draft order means jack shit or that every other club just ****ed up. One thing is for sure low draft picked players once they get the pies have a far better chance of becoming good players as compared to club with less resources.

And all of those over a decade ago. Get with the times!
currrent brownlow medalist, 3 time copeland, 2 time AA, current ANZAC medalist, future club hall of fame, Dane Swan pick in 50;s, Current club captain Maxwell rookie list, D swallow captain Pick in the 40;s M Boyd captain rookie list, S Mitchell former hawk captain rookie list,
and for goods measure A Goodes 2 time brownlow 29 time AA pick in the 50;s, and get this one in ya D Cox rookie listed

Current enough for ya champion.

I've seen JT play & he looks as been described here, good in & under with excellent hands. An obvious Ball replacement.....if he can get on the park.

That is not to say we hang onto him for 2-4yrs when Ball retires.
It's not to say his injuries won't stop him in his tracks & he's de-listed.
It's not even to say he'll make it here or anywhere. (Thanks Mr. Sinatra)

What I am saying is that footy is more quantified than it has ever been before.

It's as simple as the stockmarket, buy low, sell high!

So JT, some say should be de-listed because they don't see a future in a Pies jumper? (Blaze/blessed-same person)

NO!! If we can't use a talented player, then we get compensated for more than what we paid!

How i'd love to be in the possie of the Cats when Mummy gets stolen but they still hold the cup up at the end of the year.

I think of those, off the top of my head, only Maxwell, Mitchell and Swallow (picked in the 40's anyway!) were drafted in the last decade. A couple more might have snuck it in 2003. My point being that drafting is a lot more advanced than you suggest, based on information from another era.

LOL at calling Cox and Goodes' drafting "current".

And all of those over a decade ago. Get with the times!
Harry, Sharrod, Tooves, Keeffe, Blair all overlooked and taken as rookies
Goldy picked in the 60's, Fas at 45.

While I agree it is more certain that a player picked in the top 30 will make, those picked later are not necessarily a worse player

And yes, I get the sarcasm

Shane Crawford was short and he did okay...

Shane Crawford was a dead set gun and he could do a lot of things on the footy field, however playing as an inside mid was not one of them.

Crameri, Barlow, Suckling, Jaensch (if we could get him he'd be perfect in the Leon role because his kicking is silk), C Beams, Rockliff, Savage, Jurrah, Garlett, Mckenzie, Bruest, Broughton, Jamison, Petrenko, Hibberd and Dahlhaus are IMO all either established as good footballers (players in bold) or are at worst best 22 and on the rise. All of them were taken after pick 70 in the last 5 drafts.

I think of those, off the top of my head, only Maxwell, Mitchell and Swallow (picked in the 40's anyway!) were drafted in the last decade. A couple more might have snuck it in 2003. My point being that drafting is a lot more advanced than you suggest, based on information from another era.

LOL at calling Cox and Goodes' drafting "current".
Exibit A your honour I give you PICK 1 Jack Watts
Defence rests

Exibit A your honour I give you PICK 1 Jack Watts
Defence rests

Mate, Melbourne making a bad decision does not mean that clubs have not advanced their ability to pick good players. As for Josh Thomas, I have never seen him play and am entitled to ignore him until he is able to string games together at VFL. He is unlikely to play seniors this year if the only place he can play is midfield. I cannot think of a young player who got an AFL game first up as a midfielder.

There are plenty of examples of kids stepping straight into contending midfield's at the age of 21. The one that I'd compare him most to is Ed Curnow at the Blues. Ed had a retched run with injuries up to the age of 20 which ultimately saw him miss the draft. He then had a strong year with the Box Hill Hawks and got on Carlton's list.

He played 12 games in his debut year as a purely inside mid at the age of 21 with a team that won 15 games. Thomas is more talented than Curnow and 6-8 games in the seniors at the latter end of the year is not beyond his reach if his body holds up due to the fact that Ball has gone down with injury Buckley seems a fan.

Harry, Sharrod, Tooves, Keeffe, Blair all overlooked and taken as rookies
Goldy picked in the 60's, Fas at 45.

While I agree it is more certain that a player picked in the top 30 will make, those picked later are not necessarily a worse player

And yes, I get the sarcasm
Sure, but those guys are role players for the most part and none are comparable to the likes of Hird, Grant or Cox.

Even in the NFL they get it wrong at times, and their budgets dwarf ours. Arguably the best running back in the league went undrafted, meaning he was passed on by 32 teams 7 times each!

The odds are heavily stacked against this kid now, too many injuries, not able to string a sequence of game together.

Just hope he can get on the park in the VFL for the last half of the season and his body holds up so that he has a chance to show his best and retain his slot.

Hird pick the 70's, Grant pick 100, Kemp pick 90, Burns pick 90 Draft order means jack shit or that every other club just ****ed up. One thing is for sure low draft picked players once they get the pies have a far better chance of becoming good players as compared to club with less resources.

agreed. Let's remember the Dees picked Watts at 1, Brock McLean at 5 and Cale Morton at 3.

The key with josh staying on the list is whether we have 3 other more expendable players than him. BJ is retiring so that is one
Then we have to decide if he is a better option than a late draft pick this year.

Just by reading what is coming out of the club, i reckon he may be safe, probably on a 1 yr deal.

The key with josh staying on the list is whether we have 3 other more expendable players than him. BJ is retiring so that is one
Then we have to decide if he is a better option than a late draft pick this year.

Just by reading what is coming out of the club, i reckon he may be safe, probably on a 1 yr deal.

Rounds and Johnno are in the gun IMO.

I'd be mildly surprised if all of Tarrant, Wood, Jolly, Macaffer and Krackouer are at the club next year (I think one at least will go). I personally think Taz is the most vulnerable of them as he's on a one year deal and is just one more calf strain away from being in serious doubt for 2013, especially with the emergence of Keeffe.

The other one is Maxwell, I honestly think he'll do a Harley and Ling if we take out the big one this year. I think the end will come quickly for him and it'd be nice if he went out on a high. Ling was just 30 and Harley 31 when they finished up so at 29 as a two time premiership captain it'd be a pretty sweet way to go out.

That would give us 4 before we even get to the possibility of a player being squeezed out due to the salary cap, which IMO is inevitable. 4-5 is what we'd be after pick wise at the draft table.

You'd think that if Thomas could string some VFL games together he'd be kept on the list, given that there will be a couple of other players to get the chop ahead of him. I guess what could make a difference is if a few players make the inside mid spot their own in the absence of Ball. One advantage Thomas has had is the lack of spare inside mids. All this talk about Josh creates interest in seeing him play, to see if he truly is as good as many have suggested.

Buckley could easily go

Haha TD your hate for Buckley is the stuff of legend. But the thing is until a few of our real young players ie Seedsman, Ugle, Yagmoor, Elliot and Young start showing something he is a more than adequate 25th player on the list. Wood is in the exact same position.

Yeah, but if we don't have those fringe players then we are forced to throw young lads into the deep end and watch them sink or swim.

Sometimes that's a good thing, sometimes it's not.

Yeah, but if we don't have those fringe players then we are forced to throw young lads into the deep end and watch them sink or swim.

Sometimes that's a good thing, sometimes it's not.

Winnings the key. We've won three in a row with Buckley in the team. Has he had more of an impact than the youngsters would have? The answer IMO is yes. Has it stunted the kids development? I'd say no. So ATM I'd say it's a good thing.

Winning Premierships is the key.

Who is more likely to be a key part of the team in a 2012 finals series, Keeffe / Sinclair or Buckley / Wood?

Of course we have to win the games to make it to make it to the finals.

It's a tough call.

Winning Premierships is the key.

Who is more likely to be a key part of the team in a 2012 finals series, Keeffe / Sinclair or Buckley / Wood?

Of course we have to win the games to make it to make it to the finals.

It's a tough call.

I'd much prefer to take Buckley and Wood into a GF this year than Seedsman and Witts who are the correct like for like.

As long as their development isn't stunted in the reserves ie they're clearly above the level which isn't happening ATM, Seedsman and Witts/ Ceglar don't deserve to be picked ahead of Wood and Buckley.

As a sport we are to youth obsessed and we really need to look at a team like the New England Patriots who have consistently been in contention for a decade. They never play youth just to give them experience they just pick the team to win the match and if that means a journeyman keeps out a talented youngster then so be it.

Josh Thomas = the Collingwood Yeti.

Lots of sightings but no evidence.

I seriously hope this kid can play and that he gets over his injuries to give himself the best shot at it.

Josh Thomas turning the corner