MASSIE - Just played his last AFL game
MATTNER - Career has been RUINED
STIFFY - Disinterested
WELSH - FINISHED

Said it before but - WE REAP WHAT WE SOW :mad:

Upside ??

NICK GILL :thumbsu:

MASSIE - Just played his last AFL gameCorrect
MATTNER - Career has been RUINED He is not a backman but Craig seems to want to persist with this
STIFFY - DisinterestedDon't know why
WELSH - FINISHEDCorrect - is a slacker! Only kicks goals when game is is in the bag and doesn't chase hard enough

Upside ??

Yep that sums it up plus we have a number of what I would call dumb players under pressure.

Your guys views of Welsh are completely full of crap for the record. He chases incredibly hard in the forward line. It's just that due to Craig's flood the midfield tactics that it usually ends up with 2 of the key forwards having to chase 5 or 6 of the opposition, you do the maths on how many they're likely to catch.

Big sooky overreaction, let me guess DOughty played a half way passable game and SHirley wasn't playing so you couldn't blame the usual suspects so instead decided to stick the knife into other blokes?:rolleyes:

STIFFY - Disinterested
WELSH - FINISHED

Upside ??

Massie was on fire in the middle and then he played a great game on Franklin. Unfortunately the decision to put him on Riewoldt has knocked his confidence for six.

Your guys views of Welsh are completely full of crap for the record. He chases incredibly hard in the forward line. It's just that due to Craig's flood the midfield tactics that it usually ends up with 2 of the key forwards having to chase 5 or 6 of the opposition, you do the maths on how many they're likely to catch.

Big sooky overreaction, let me guess DOughty played a half way passable game and SHirley wasn't playing so you couldn't blame the usual suspects so instead decided to stick the knife into other blokes?:rolleyes:
WELSHY can chase all ****en year for all i care.
BIIIIG difference between chasing and laying tackles.

That is all.

WELSHY can chase all ****en year for all i care.
BIIIIG difference between chasing and laying tackles.

That is all.

That could be one of the stupider more irrational posts i've ever read on this board. If you can't tackle them you have to chase them? Tackling is a numbers issue and when you don't have the numbers your not going to lay the tackles so all you can do is create pressure by chasing.

Judging by your username and knowledge of Aussie Rules i'm assuming your originally a rugby fan? Because in our sport with no offside rule tackling is slightly more difficult than in your native code.

That could be one of the stupider more irrational posts i've ever read on this board. If you can't tackle them you have to chase them? Tackling is a numbers issue and when you don't have the numbers your not going to lay the tackles so all you can do is create pressure by chasing.

Judging by your username and knowledge of Aussie Rules i'm assuming your originally a rugby fan? Because in our sport with no offside rule tackling is slightly more difficult than in your native code.

I think we have better options than Welsh, our forward line functions better when he's up between the Centre and CHF; if that's the role he'll be in, I'd rather see someone like Vince there.

Burton is our only forward who uses his brain.

So who would you blame for 3 crucial losses in a row?
Our team currently is not good enough, too many errors, poor tackling and too loose. Would you prefer we pat them all on the back. Agree some players do cop the brunt, thought some of VB disposal was ordinary and Goodwin made 3 basic errors in the 3rd qtr that cost us.

Do you realize how ridicolous that sentence sounds to the rest of us?

Welshy is a perfectly reasonable forward who gets crucified on this board due to the fact that he is the teams best forward when he probably has the skill level of being a second or third forward. When blokes like Hentshel, Bock and McGregor are around to take the better defenders Welshy fires but when blokes like Scarlett and Michael are on him he struggles as do most forwards in the AFL. If someone like McGregor, Gill or Bock had shown as much forward as Welsh has this year this board would be collectively creaming themselves but instead throws him in the Doughty/SHirley/Jericho who cares what they play like he's an easy scapegoat pile:thumbsd:

STIFFY - Disinterested
WELSH - FINISHED

Upside ??

Massie - Perhaps for the season, but definitely not for his career
Mattner - Agreed, needs to be played on the wing, whether it be for the Crows or Sturt
Stiffy - Was taken out of the game by Ramanaskas
Welsh - Harsh.

STIFFY - Disinterested
WELSH - FINISHED

Upside ??

can't agree with your analysis of Stiffy and Welsh at all......:thumbsd:

• We have too many players carrying injuries...
  • we look for the perfect play on too many occassions...
  • our execution is shocking
  • we are handball crazy
  • We don't value first possession at centre clearances highly enough

I think we have better options than Welsh, our forward line functions better when he's up between the Centre and CHF; if that's the role he'll be in, I'd rather see someone like Vince there.

Oh bless you, I needed a laugh. And Burton and brain in the same sentence did that. :D

If you're looking for the reason behind our average season, maybe the title of this thread should be "Just too many injuries". We were always going to be behind the 8 ball from the start of the season without our number one forward and second choice ruckman. Then add to that, we have had one of our worst run of injuries in our 17 year history. I'm actually surprised, "mathematically" we're still a chance.

Lesser sides would have crumbled in a heap with even half of the injuries we have had to endure this year. Fully fit, we are definately a top 4 side.

What this season has shown us more than anything, is that some in the 22-28 age group just aren't good enough to carry the side once the ageing 1st tier retire. IMO next year is about slow weeding out these players and replacing them with the kids.

I think Welsh will play next year. As much as he annoys me, we can't delist our leading goal kicker. You must also remember at the moment he is our KEY forward. Usually he is a back up, crumber.

STIFFY - Disinterested
WELSH - FINISHED

Upside ??

Massie - probably should be dropped, but was playing great football until stupidly matched up on Reiwoldt (short memory).

Mattner - may as well go back to Sturt & find some confidence as has been shattered playing in defence.

Stiffy - has not looked 100% right since returning from injury. Either rest him or play him as a crumber up forward.

Welsh - our leading goal-kicker this season & whilst he didn't get heaps of the ball, chimed in with 3 crucial goals.

Gill - looked good marking/forward pressure, but missed crucial goals ... yet you crucify Welsh!

Massie - probably should be dropped, but was playing great football until stupidly matched up on Reiwoldt (short memory).

Mattner - may as well go back to Sturt & find some confidence as has been shattered playing in defence.

Stiffy - has not looked 100% right since returning from injury. Either rest him or play him as a crumber up forward.

Welsh - our leading goal-kicker this season & whilst he didn't get heaps of the ball, chimed in with 3 crucial goals.

Gill - looked good marking/forward pressure, but missed crucial goals ... yet you crucify Welsh!

Bingo.

But at least some people are looking for new and intersting scapegoats instead of the tired old Doughty/Shirley/Perrie bagging.

I mean did anyone honestly expect to win this game without Rutten and Basset? I sure as hell didn't. I was pleasantly surprised by the fight we put up particularly the form of blokes like McGregor and Bock along with Gill.

If you're looking for the reason behind our average season, maybe the title of this thread should be "Just too many injuries". We were always going to be behind the 8 ball from the start of the season without our number one forward and second choice ruckman. Then add to that, we have had one of our worst run of injuries in our 17 year history. I'm actually surprised, "mathematically" we're still a chance.

Lesser sides would have crumbled in a heap with even half of the injuries we have had to endure this year. Fully fit, we are definately a top 4 side.

What this season has shown us more than anything, is that some in the 22-28 age group just aren't good enough to carry the side once the ageing 1st tier retire. IMO next year is about slow weeding out these players and replacing them with the kids.

Good summary all round Springy. :thumbsu:

The footy gods have shat on us for about 12 months now. Hopefully they'll develop constipation soon because it's becoming a bit hard to take non-stop. :(

Title of this thread is plain wrong. We are good enough. We were good enough to win today and would have done but for shizenhouzen goalkicking.
Mattner and Massie will be at the club for a few years yet and both are good footballers. Wish we'd tried Gill some weeks ago. He certainly added something to the forward line today.
We probably won't make the 8, and if we do fluke it, we'll be making up the numbers.
Let's hope Rutten & Roo come back next week and that we at least cream the Poower for the 2nd time this year.
I still reckon we are top 4 potential next year with the nucleus of players we have.

Just a lot of bad luck. It is so frustrating because this is a year that any team with no injuries and a bit of luck could make a charge for the finals. We havent fallen into either catagories.:(

I've got it !!!!

Lets not change a thing !!!!
Everythings fine !!!!!

Tick....tick....tick....

:rolleyes:
So this is how you respond when other posters debate your thread. :rolleyes: