Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

Of course, but it'd be nice for once if people could just leave their critic glasses off for one night and just enjoy the win, there's always Monday to talk about what went wrong.

There's nothing wrong with just living in the moment and being a normal fan for once by enjoying the win.
JL has made me jaded to wins and losses.

I look forward to his impending sacking with great joy.

I guess what irks me is when they interview him in the box at half time he says he told the players “Adelaide and the crowd are coming for us and we need to be ready”

You create your own destiny mate … the players are shitting their dacks for the incoming onslaught
See to me that more or less came off as literally the coach doing the only thing he can do to mentally prepare his team for that eventuality but the players failing to comprehend fully what that actually meant. Not sure what else he can do in that instance.

Looking back I do think there was an element of the fatigue in the days break between games for both sides, a bit of the heavy strength loading from the new S&C crew and quite a bit of exposed nerves from the players. I've definitely gained a bit of faith in this group for being able to fight back from that position. They had the lead overtaken, away from home in front of a fierce crowd who'd just come back from 6 goals down having recently faced that exact trauma. That's as gutsy a win as you'll see, a big big tick for the group and quite frankly from the coaches for being able to instil that belief.

Very hard to enjoy in the moment given our last couple of years in particular (let alone the 3 decades before it) but there's a lot of things to be encouraged by. Definitely sucks we let that lead slip and you'd be very right: Good teams don't let those leads go. But....great teams get that lead back and find a way to win and that's what we did (what I thought before tonight that we couldn't)

I guess what irks me is when they interview him in the box at half time he says he told the players “Adelaide and the crowd are coming for us and we need to be ready”

You create your own destiny mate … the players are shitting their dacks for the incoming onslaught
So your saying at half time he sat the players down & said “Adelaide and the crowd are coming for us and we need to be ready” & walked out of the room without saying anything else?

I’m enjoying seeing a much more attacking style. Particularly in the last Cpl minutes, we still went corridor to attack. 12 months ago we’d have tried to hug the boundary and milk time through slow play. If we went down tonight it would’ve been swinging

It certainly will, but that almost capitulation was atrocious. A good coach doesn’t let that happen again and again.
Hide behind the result tonight, but if we have a better coach, we win by 5 goals.
Chris Scott did it in opening round and round 1 and and a mini version of it against Adelaide too
And the grand final and the prelim final aswell multiple times

Bevo did it against the lions and crows
And the grand final and against us

Fagan did it against the swans and dogs
Also done it in finals multiple times

Shit happens to good coaches too like we get you hate him just don’t make up bullshit to make him worse then what he is it happens to everyone

This was an absolute coaching master class from Justin and I won't hear any of this poo poohing.

The game is about winning, and we won, therefore the coach and the players executed the task they were assigned.

All you negative nellies need to take a chill pill, rewatch the game and marvel at the way we teased them and teased them before taking those four beautiful points from them.

Justin was playing Nicks like a cat playing with a mouse.

And yet we came out and dominated the first 5 minutes and had the first three shots on goal - all fairly simple shots we should have nailed to pretty much kill the game. So we clearly came out firing.

I've always been on the fence with JLo- erring on the side of thinking he's not up to it - but credit where it's due. Beating Adelaide in Adelaide is a huge result and it wouldn't surprise me if us and the Dogs are two of the only teams to win there all year. The Dogs are in really ominous form and they only just managed to hang on the other week too.

And my two biggest criticisms of JLo have always been our slow starts and stagnant play. I think anyone arguing in good faith has to agree both those elements are massively improved this year. So I'm cautiously optimistic about JLo atm.

The question is why did they miss? Because under this coach, they have very little bottle. His persona (biting finger nails, nervous wreck) in the box, breeds nerves out in the middle.

I will give some credit late on - we hung on for dear life and ground out 4 points, but the inability to stop a rot of 7 straight goals is as much on the coach as it is under the players.
You’re a deadset Muppet. Bagging the shit out of the whole team and coach doesn’t do anybody any favours. You’re part of he issue, look at the pressure on Carlton, fans bring that shit. When the players and coach turn it around off their own back, you should be thankful if you were an actual Freo fan.

This doesn’t end because we win just one game by two points after playing like absolute bums for a half.
You’re better than this, what happened?

And yet we came out and dominated the first 5 minutes and had the first three shots on goal - all fairly simple shots we should have nailed to pretty much kill the game. So we clearly came out firing.

I've always been on the fence with JLo- erring on the side of thinking he's not up to it - but credit where it's due. Beating Adelaide in Adelaide is a huge result and it wouldn't surprise me if us and the Dogs are two of the only teams to win there all year. The Dogs are in really ominous form and they only just managed to hang on the other week too.

And my two biggest criticisms of JLo have always been our slow starts and stagnant play. I think anyone arguing in good faith has to agree both those elements are massively improved this year. So I'm cautiously optimistic about JLo atm.

Yeah there’s something going on, a bit of cohesion and good team camaraderie that gives me the same feeling.

There’s a time coming where it’s going to click for the whole game and someone is going to get fustigated.

Maybe it’s when Young is back and firing or it’s when a Simpson comes in and removes these absolute howlers Worner is making.

It’s coming.

There were 2 very good teams out there tonight. Football is becoming more and more a game of ebbs and flows and cashing in when you have momentum is crucial.

We had the momentum for much more of the game and failed to convert.
We left a lot of goals out there and gave them a sniff and being a very good team they knocked the door down.

Our game plan is good and has consistently evolved and we have steadily improved the areas of concern as better players have come in (Reid Bolton etc) and the forwards have matured into genuine AFL players.

We’ve brought in some small forwards and a genuine winger is probably the last piece of the puzzle.

Some tweaking still to do but it’s nearly the finished product and were amongst the best sides in the competition.

There is a very strong group at the top with the QLD sides, Swans, Dogs, Geelong, Pies, Hawks and Crows.

We are in that top group now. We built the list with no concessions, heaps of moneyball picks and a gradual evolution of the game style as the team has matured and evolved.

It’s just ridiculous to think we should be able to beat that Brisbane list for example with what we’ve had to work with.

We still might not but we’re getting closer.

Clarkson is supposed to be the greatest coach of the current era but he’s not been able to consistently win because he doesn’t have the players available. It’s a fantasy that a coach can get a clearly inferior group of players up against an elite team that is also well coached.

Give us Will Ashcroft, Heaney or Nick Daicos and we would win it all. It’s going to take everything going right to get to the top of the mountain.

We’re getting closer and JL is going fine.

There were 2 very good teams out there tonight. Football is becoming more and more a game of ebbs and flows and cashing in when you have momentum is crucial.

We had the momentum for much more of the game and failed to convert.
We left a lot of goals out there and gave them a sniff and being a very good team they knocked the door down.

Our game plan is good and has consistently evolved and we have steadily improved the areas of concern as better players have come in (Reid Bolton etc) and the forwards have matured into genuine AFL players.

We’ve brought in some small forwards and a genuine winger is probably the last piece of the puzzle.

Some tweaking still to do but it’s nearly the finished product and were amongst the best sides in the competition.

There is a very strong group at the top with the QLD sides, Swans, Dogs, Geelong, Pies, Hawks and Crows.

We are in that top group now. We built the list with no concessions, heaps of moneyball picks and a gradual evolution of the game style as the team has matured and evolved.

It’s just ridiculous to think we should be able to beat that Brisbane list for example with what we’ve had to work with.

We still might not but we’re getting closer.

Clarkson is supposed to be the greatest coach of the current era but he’s not been able to consistently win because he doesn’t have the players available. It’s a fantasy that a coach can get a clearly inferior group of players up against an elite team that is also well coached.

Give us Will Ashcroft, Heaney or Nick Daicos and we would win it all. It’s going to take everything going right to get to the top of the mountain.

We’re getting closer and JL is going fine.

The biggest sliding door was Kozzie re-signing with Melbourne.

If he’d actually jumped I’d have bought late September flights already.

The biggest sliding door was Kozzie re-signing with Melbourne.

If he’s actually jumped I’d have bought late September flights already.
Instead we got Bolton and Dudley has stepped up. Both of them are less on coin than Kossie combined atm. Still, I can’t disagree that he would shine at Freo.

See to me that more or less came off as literally the coach doing the only thing he can do to mentally prepare his team for that eventuality but the players failing to comprehend fully what that actually meant. Not sure what else he can do in that instance.

Looking back I do think there was an element of the fatigue in the days break between games for both sides, a bit of the heavy strength loading from the new S&C crew and quite a bit of exposed nerves from the players. I've definitely gained a bit of faith in this group for being able to fight back from that position. They had the lead overtaken, away from home in front of a fierce crowd who'd just come back from 6 goals down having recently faced that exact trauma. That's as gutsy a win as you'll see, a big big tick for the group and quite frankly from the coaches for being able to instil that belief.

Very hard to enjoy in the moment given our last couple of years in particular (let alone the 3 decades before it) but there's a lot of things to be encouraged by. Definitely sucks we let that lead slip and you'd be very right: Good teams don't let those leads go. But....great teams get that lead back and find a way to win and that's what we did (what I thought before tonight that we couldn't)
What I saw.
Last year's minor premiers at home in front of 50k ferals.
They were as hungry as us but we prevailed.
Everyone (we, not me?) had given up in the face of 7 unanswered goals...except for the 23 and coaching staff!
So are premierships won.

Yeah there’s something going on, a bit of cohesion and good team camaraderie that gives me the same feeling.

There’s a time coming where it’s going to click for the whole game and someone is going to get fustigated.

Maybe it’s when Young is back and firing or it’s when a Simpson comes in and removes these absolute howlers Worner is making.

It’s coming.
Cohesion and Comradery are the right terms for this team.

AFL players are notorious for big egos but this team looks like they genuinely want to play selfless footy.

I have been guilty of bagging the coach in the past but credit where credit is due he has set up an environment where they want to play for him and each other.

You’re better than this, what happened?
What happened is the team letting me down every single year for years on end.

And I am certain that this guy right here is the one to blame for it.

He’s not our guy, he’s not my guy. He will never be the guy.

We can clearly do better than Justin at the helm and he’s had long enough.

Wow! I kid you not, there was this point in the fourth quarter, where my parents lounge room was like a furnace (why put the heater on in this weather?), so much so, I rolled up my sleeves.

It wasn’t until I caught my reflection (alongside my set of fingernails, also bit to the quick) that I considered that this act resembled some form of inadvertent tribute to the Koorda Kid (patent pending) in his hour of coaching need.
1775227330864.webp
Well done, buddy. Might wanna get on top of this momentum shift caper before it becomes a thing. But 3 and 1. Big win over the Crows on their deck. The evolution of an attractive game plan. We’re not the finished article, but we’re knee deep in contention.

What happened is the team letting me down every single year for years on end.

And I am certain that this guy right here is the one to blame for it.

He’s not our guy, he’s not my guy. He will never be the guy.

We can clearly do better than Justin at the helm and he’s had long enough.
Then you miss out on the fun we get to have over the next few years and instead worry about a position you have taken in the past, it’s sad.

No one let you down tonight.

Christ im starting to be comvinced that people here would be unable to enjoy a premiership because JLs the one in charge. I'm sorry but if youre unable to enjohly that win today, it says more about youre state of mind than anything else.

This was an absolute coaching master class from Justin and I won't hear any of this poo poohing.

The game is about winning, and we won, therefore the coach and the players executed the task they were assigned.

All you negative nellies need to take a chill pill, rewatch the game and marvel at the way we teased them and teased them before taking those four beautiful points from them.

Justin was playing Nicks like a cat playing with a mouse.
Conceding 7 straight goals when you’re 30 points up and have put the game just about to bed is a masterclass?

Geez you all have such a low bar - there is no way Chris Scott or Chris Fagan allow that sort of swing against a team.

Each game so far this season, we’ve seen long periods of dreadfully poor football within games.
Geelong (2nd half)
Melb (2nd and 4th quarters)
Rich (2nd quarter)
Adel (3rd and start of 4th)

Now against Richmond and Melbourne they weren’t good enough to bring themselves back into the game during the period we shat the bed, and we did manage to hang on for dear life against the Crom, but until we sort out these massive mid game lapses and swings, I am off this coach - he just doesn’t have the personality to be ruthless and lead this team all the way - he will take us to an elimination or semi final, but no further I fear.

This - I felt relief, not joy with that win.

We were sitting there 5-6 goals up and I already knew what was about to come. It was like clockwork.

Don’t get wrong - stoked we won, but this isn’t binary, two things can be correct.

The players (and JLo) showed character in getting us over the line.

JLo and the players also again showed our massive weakness against high pressure football when the Crows put 7 straight on the board.