Gday guys,
I do a phantom draft every year with updates and this is mine this year:

Pick 1 Carlton:
Jacob Weitering:
Reminds me of Alex Rance.
Looks to be the premier centre half back of the future. Great hands, reads the ball really well and very athletic for his size.

Pick 2: Brisbane:
Josh Shache:
Reminds me of Josh Kennedy.
Great full forward with a magnificent kick and great read of where to lead. Expect big things from this young fella!

Pick 3: Melbourne:
Darcy Parish:
Reminds me of Dan Hannebery:
Really good balance of an in and out complete midfield game. Good leadership ability and brilliant user by foot.

Pick 4 Essendon:
Charlie Curnow:
Jack Darling:
Really explosive athlete with future midfield ability. Knows where the goals are and can take a pack mark. I expect to be a jack darling or even get to the patty Cripps level.

Pick 5 Essendon:
Aron Francis:
Reminds me of Brendan Goddard:
Really dominant player at all positions. Just goes so hard at it at the footy, always hits the packs at full pace. Beautiful kick of the footy. I see him as becoming a midfielder who has the ability to play deep forward or third man down back. A lot like Matt sharenberg for 2013.

Pick 6 Gold Coast:
Wayne Milera:
Reminds me of Steven Motlop.
Really flashy, brilliant ball user who uses his speed to take players on. Still learning how to become a full time midfielder. Will take Harley bennels spot at Gold Coast:

Pick 7 Melbourne:
Sam Weideman:
Reminds me of a better version of Josh Jenkins.
Really big bollocking key forward who can crash packs and take huge marks. Really consistent kick for goal and will be great at Melbourne next to Jesse Hogan.

Pick 8 Carlton:
Rhys Mathieson:
Reminds me of Taylor Adams.
Incredibly hard at contested ball winning midfielder. He has real aggression to him when hunting down the ball. Great tackler and great overall stoppage player. He will have to improve his kicking to fit in at AFL level though.

Pick 9 Adelaide:
Ryan Burton:
Reminds me of Taylor Walker:
Before badly injuring his knee was touted as the number 1 pick. Has great marking and leaping ability. Can go around the ground well. Still
Yet to see if he will be able to get back to his best. If he does get back to his best he will be the best player in this draft in my opinion.

Pick 10 Carlton:
Clayton Oliver:
Reminds me of poor mans Ollie Wines.
Booming midfielder with rare contested ball winning ability. He will be ready to go from round 1. Has great hands as well and hits the packs with full speed. He Will need to improve decision making to become the player he has the potential to be.

Pick 11
Richmond:
Kieran Collins:
Reminds me of Scott Thompson.
Collins has great intercept marking ability. He can also shut down a quality forward very well. Has had a lot of improvement this year and expect a lot to come I the years to come.

Pick 12:
Adelaide:
Harley Balic:
Reminds me of Brett Delideo.
Balic can be used off half back in the middle and deep forward which is what relates him to Brett Delideo. He uses the ball well by foot and can take a strong mark. I Really like his ability to shrug off and avoid tackles and think it will make him a great player in the future.

Pick 13:
St Kilda:
Darcy Tucker:
Reminds me of Bryce Gibbs.
Really like this bloke. His kicking traits are just terrific and he will put his body on the line for the team. In my eyes he will eventually become a full time midfielder.

Pick 14:
Hawthorn:
Mitchell Hibberd;
Reminds me of Elliot Yeo.
Can play off half back or in the middle. He possesses a really good kick as well as a great leap. Could become an elite midfielder one day.

Pick 16:
Gold Coast:
Harry Mcckay:
Reminds me of Josh Bruce.
Really raw but has shown highlights of what he can produce. Very athletic and very tall. Has the ability to become a very good tall forward in the future.

Pick 17:
North Melbourne:
Calumn Ah Chee:
Reminds me of Daniel Wells.
Ah Chees main attributes are his pace and foot skills. He knows to take the game on and can dominate at times. He can take big marks and can do things others just don't think of. Will add pace and fenese something that the Roos don't have.

Pick 18: Hawthorn:
Josh Dunkley:
Reminds me of Levi Greenwood:
Dunkley is a pretty all rounded midfielder. He is good at nearly all the attributes that is needed for a midfielder but not amazing at anything. He is a very good tackler and very courageous. Could develop into a quality player.

Pick 19: Carlton:
Jade Gresham:
Reminds me of Dayne Zorko.
Gresham has great skills all around. He is quick and small. He uses the ball really well and very rarely turns the ball over.

Academy picks:

GWS Jacob Hopper:
Reminds me of Josh Kennedy.
He never gives up. Can get so much of the ball you would think there are 2 of him on the field. Can mark overhead well and is a contested BEAST.

Syndey Calumn Mills:
Reminds me of Nathan Jones:
Very good ball winner, who excels on finding his own ball. Will continue to develop rapidly I believe. Probably the best tackler in the draft. Which comes from his rugby background.

GWS Matthew Kennedy:
Reminds me of Mitch Duncan.
Tall forward/midfielder who uses his height to take marks and win his own ball. Has had an injury interrupted season but showed what he is capable of at the G.

Brisbane Ben Keays:
Reminds me of Jack Billings.
Keays is a very flashy skill full player. He just oozes class. He kicks goals and runs all day. Will become a quality player in the AFL.

Brisbane Eric Hipwood:
Reminds me of Sam Frost:
Really athletic key position player.
Can play at either end very well. He uses his athleticism to take big marks and beat his opponents. Has the potential to become a great swing man.

Next 10 picks:
Pick 20: Western Bulldogs:
Ben Mcckay:
Pick 21: Western Bulldogs:
Ryan Clarke:
Pick 22: Fremantle:
Sam Skinner:
Pick 23 West Coast:
Daniel Rioli
Pick 24: Essendon:
Luke Partington:
Pick 25 Essendon:
Kieran Lovell:
Pick 26 North Melbourne:
Ryley Bonner:
Pick 27 Collingwood:
Harrison Himmelberg:
Pick 28 North Melbourne:
Ben Crocker:
Pick 29 Gold Coast:
Nicholas O'kourney:
Pick 30 Western Bulldogs:
Daniel Caprion:

Power rankings:
1: Jacob Weitering
2: Ryan Burton
3: Darcy Parish
4: Josh Shache
5: Aron Francis
6: Calumn Ah Chee
7: Jacob Hopper
8: Ben Keays
9: Calumn Mills
10: Charlie Curnow
11: Sam Weideman
12: Harley Balic
13: Darcy Tucker
14: Clayton Oliver
15: Mitchell Hibberd
16: Matthew Kennedy
17: Harrison Himmelberg
18: Wayne Milera
19: Ryan Clarke
20: Riley Bonner

great job. i especially like the (reminds me of) how do you rate lions lower academy prospects william and chol, do you think they will get bid on who do they remind you of/play like.

Great Phantom Draft! Reckon the blues target a KPF with 1 of their 1st rounders

great job. i especially like the (reminds me of) how do you rate lions lower academy prospects william and chol, do you think they will get bid on who do they remind you of/play like.
Not to sure that William will get drafted, though I reckon he could get picked by another team late in the draft. Chol I think definitely deserves a shot. He can win hitouts over nearly any Ruckman in the AFL right now. In terms of comparison I see him as a poor mans patty Ryder at the moment.

In your opinion is there any chance that francis will slip to adelaide at 9?

Not in my opinion. He is just to good for all the other clubs to pass up.
I think melbourne have identified who they want with their move from 6-3, getting ahead of essendon. I think its parish at 3 then essendon will probably go francis and another kpp with the exits of fletch and carlisle.

surely melbourne would go after a francis or curnow type over darcy parish? they need a few more talls and with petracca and brayshaw coming through, I dont think they need parish

I agree with what your trying to say, but I think Parish is way to good to pass up and apparently they just traded up to get him. Looks like a star. They will be confident they can get Weideman or Curnow with their second pick.

yeah fair enough. Essendon will definitely take curnow or weideman though. have you seen much of weideman? havent seen much of him due to injuries

I'm pretty certain as well that Essendon will take one of them. Weideman is very good overhead and can crash packs. Just think with Essendon they really rate Bellchambers and him Daniher and Weideman in one forward line is just to big. So that's why I think that Curnow will be the perfect fit for them as medium forward who will become a midfielder possibly.