Cold Shot

Manchester City, Clippers
Anyone happen to catch Finey's and Geoff Poulter's interview Keith Greig last night? Haven't seen it anywhere mentioned on BF as yet.

Huge favourite of mine growing up and quite possibly the classiest player ever to play for North in terms of skills and ability. I think it is the first time I have heard the great man talk at length.

Some things that stood out for me were:

- started off as half back flanker until they tried him on a wing in a state game in about 71?
- winning the first brownlow for North in 73 (at the time Teasdale was not recognised) and what it meant to the club and the expectations it put on him
- dissapointment of losing 74 after playing well all year, Poulter mentioned that the whole week was about North and it was often forgotten that Richmond was playing as well.
- he thought his best year was 1975 not his brownlow years of 73 and 74
- the raw emotion of the fans back at arden street after the 75 flag
- the amount of work that Joseph, Cheatley and Aylett put into getting the club to the top
- pressure Barassi put on him and other highly skilled players, it got to a point that after the 79 season he approached Barassi and said he couldn't handle the criticism and sprays that he either stopped or he would ask for a transfer, the whole of the 1980 season barassi never spoke to him and he won the B&F.
- the AFL stats changing his game tally due to state games no getting included although they were played at the same time as when North were playing.
- Asking John Kennedy to play him forward in 86 and Kanga said you would be playing back and Keith said thanks but no thanks.
- North deciding to stay in Melbourne, he said he would rather die as North Melbourne in Melbourne than be relocated anywhere else.
- the upcoming function to celebrate the 4 brownlow medalists and night Grand final wins of 65, 66 and 80.
- watching the kid in the duffle coat run at Kerry Good as he kicked after the siren, his wife mentioned to him in the rooms after the game, that the Collingwood women were pretty upset with the result.

Overall a great interview. I think they had a similar interview with John Dugdale some months back. Would be great if the club could get a hold of these and put them on the North website. Or even do there own past player interviews.

- North deciding to stay in Melbourne, he said he would rather die as North Melbourne in Melbourne than be relocated anywhere else.

thanks CS, great wrap. Above speaks volumes about the man.

Thanks for posting, Cold Shot. He was a classy player and I'm sorry I missed the interview. Poulter's a very strong North man.

Six things I remember about Keithy:

1. He was our main 'go to man' for kick-ins because he was such a good mark for his height.

2. Ron Barassi giving up on playing defensive players on Leigh Matthews and playing one of his best attacking players on him. Matthews was still great but Greig was very good too!

3. The ankle strapping - it looked like he'd been prepared to train/play by great trainer of sprinting racehorses, Angus Armanasco.

4. Getting cleaned up down the middle by Ray Card at Kardinia Park. He didn't even get a free for high contact. The umpire must have been unsighted:rolleyes:

5. When Barassi penalised the players for stuffing up at training with 20 push-ups, Keith used to do sit-ups. Never knew why but I used to suspect weak wrists?

6. Getting reported at Arden St for clocking Kevin Bartlett. It was one of those days when nothing was going right and our players were becoming frustrated. Suddenly, down went KB right in front of the grandstand, from what through my alcohol-affected vision from 40 metres away looked a bit like a Greig forearm to the side of KB's very hittable head. After the game and in the papers next day, Keith was outraged that his reputation for fairness had been besmirched by a report. The charge was withdrawn, IIRC. :D

Remember that like it was yesterday although I couldn't remember the recipient was Bartlett. He was found not guilty but he hit him - no doubt in the world. Greig was one of the best footballers I have ever seen - can't argue with 2 brownlows. All class.

Great memories here and thanks for the write up Cold Shot :thumbsu:

I absolutely hero worshipped KG in my younger days, and will never forget the day he took me under his wing at Arden St. I'd badly broken both wrists, elbows and one shoulder a couple of weeks prior and a family friend who was heavily involved in the running of the club must've mentioned it to Keith. He phoned my folks' place and organised for me to spend a full game day with him.......in the rooms prior, sitting amongst the reserves players during the game, and in the rooms afterwards.

That was 1983 and I was only 15 at the time but the memory of chatting to the legend as he went through his pre game routine and of him introducing me to all of our other legends at the time as if I was his own son will live with me fondly forever.

THE most balanced silky player we've ever had!

Legend indeed. I can't believe I missed it actually.

THE most balanced silky player we've ever had!

Yes I can remember designing my own game as a junior footballer on the sublime skills of Keith Greig. In mind's eye, that's the way I played, just like Greigy.

Unfortunately, the truth is, I was really more like Schimmelbusch.

Darryl Schimmelbusch.:(

Yes I can remember designing my own game as a junior footballer on the sublime skills of Keith Greig. In mind's eye, that's the way I played, just like Greigy.

Same here snrub. I even made sure I taped my ankles on the outside of the footy socks and taped both wrists with white tape as well (a major requirement after breaking them both of course)......just like KG! I imagined I was him and played more like Ronnie Andrews!!!!!!!

My favourite player by a mile growing up. Obviously had the Keith 27 Greig on the duffle coat in the early 80's. Used to wear the blue and white adidas boots as the great man used to etc etc

Cold Shot I thought his final year was 1985 and he finished straight after the Qual Final against the Dogs which was his 300th (at the time!).

Will have to try to get hold of the interview with Poults. Will let you blokes know how I get on.

Ahhhh Keithy Greig. Has there ever been a more graceful footballer? the only bloke who came close was Robbie Flower for mine. Just used to glide along the ground, the beautiful timing, in his leaps and the effortless raking right foot. Gazelle like is how I remember him as a kid.Thnx for that post Cold Shot, sorry i missed the interview but it's great to hear from a past champion.

Thanks for the great wrap up. Love KG, only sits behind the mighty no.15 for mine but....

he said he would rather die as North Melbourne in Melbourne than be relocated anywhere else.

...didn't he say something decidedly the opposite during our fateful angst ridden festive season of 2007?

Ahhhh Keithy Greig. Has there ever been a more graceful footballer? the only bloke who came close was Robbie Flower for mine. Just used to glide along the ground, the beautiful timing, in his leaps and the effortless raking right foot. Gazelle like is how I remember him as a kid.Thnx for that post Cold Shot, sorry i missed the interview but it's great to hear from a past champion.

Keith Greig only remember bits and pieces,Melbourne had Robbie Flower, and Fitzroy had Garry Wilson. Imagine these 3 in the one team. What a centre line!

He was unbelievable, he looked like a racehorse. Cried my eyes out when he got hit at Geelong, got into a huge argument with Geelong supporters when it happened. Lovely guy, knew him in those days. Alltime favourite player.....until Carey came along, still up there for me.:)

Keith Greig only remember bits and pieces,Melbourne had Robbie Flower, and Fitzroy had Garry Wilson. Imagine these 3 in the one team. What a centre line!

Needs more Schimma.

Used to enjoy watching Ricky Barham play, too.

Flower was gold. I remember he used to run the sporting goods shop at (the old) Forest Hill plaza for a number of years when I was growing up as a kid, and he was just a great bloke to talk to. Friendly and humble - and easily one of the best footballers I have ever seen play the game. Pure silk. I'm sure he is the man for whom the term "has the ball on a string" was created.

Not taking anything away from Keith. That was the awesome thing back then. Two of the best wingmen the club has ever seen, contrasting in style but both exceptional, and we were lucky enough to have them in the same freakin' team.

Needs more Schimma.

Not taking anything away from Keith. That was the awesome thing back then. Two of the best wingmen the club has ever seen, contrasting in style but both exceptional, and we were lucky enough to have them in the same freakin' team.

Don't forget John Burns in the middle. Amazing that 2 out of the 3 were injured in the 1977 finals series. And Collingwood jerks have the nerve to sook about Phil the Flop being suspended and costing them a flag. If we'd had Greig and Burns, they wouldn't have got within 10 goals of us.

Cold Shot I thought his final year was 1985 and he finished straight after the Qual Final against the Dogs which was his 300th (at the time!).

Will have to try to get hold of the interview with Poults. Will let you blokes know how I get on.

You're right Pres, he did finish after the 85 qualifying final. However he made the point that he didn't want to play back anymore and felt he had one more year left in him. I assume they had this conversation before his last game?

Would have been interesting to see him run around one more year in 86 given we only just missed out on the finals. We had beaten both Essendon and Fitzroy twice that year who finished above us in the five but that is getting off the point.

Sorry to hear so many people missed the interview and more than happy to post what I could remember of the interview (the misses kept asking questions whilst it was on so I grabbed the headphones and took the dog for a walk). Pres if you get a copy of it let us know.

Don't forget John Burns in the middle. Amazing that 2 out of the 3 were injured in the 1977 finals series. And Collingwood jerks have the nerve to sook about Phil the Flop being suspended and costing them a flag. If we'd had Greig and Burns, they wouldn't have got within 10 goals of us.

Very true. Burns was a proven finals performer and was probably BOG in the 1975 Grand Final (pre Norm Smith Medal days).

However, I for one am pretty happy the way 1977 panned out - the Pies getting into an almost unloseable position in the first GF, before gassing it bigtime. Then the way we rolled over the top of them the following week, after Hafey flogged them on the training track while Barrassi hardly had our guys training at all between the games. Yet another tragic chapter in Collingwood's recent Grand Final history.:thumbsu:

Very true. Burns was a proven finals performer and was probably BOG in the 1975 Grand Final (pre Norm Smith Medal days).

However, I for one am pretty happy the way 1977 panned out - the Pies getting into an almost unloseable position in the first GF, before gassing it bigtime. Then the way we rolled over the top of them the following week, after Hafey flogged them on the training track while Barrassi hardly had our guys training at all between the games. Yet another tragic chapter in Collingwood's recent Grand Final history.:thumbsu:

Speaking of #27, we turned a 27 point 3/4 time deficit into a draw and then followed up with a 27 point win in the replay:D

Did they all play together for Victoria?

And Schimma too?

All great players, gutsy, skilled and fair:thumbsu:.

I don't think Schimma ever played a game where he wasn't lucky to survive some horrendous collision or near miss, but I never saw him flinch once.

Needs more Schimma.

Used to enjoy watching Ricky Barham play, too.

Flower was gold. I remember he used to run the sporting goods shop at (the old) Forest Hill plaza for a number of years when I was growing up as a kid, and he was just a great bloke to talk to. Friendly and humble - and easily one of the best footballers I have ever seen play the game. Pure silk. I'm sure he is the man for whom the term "has the ball on a string" was created.

He cops a lot but Dougie Hawkins wasn't a bad wingman in that era as well, as well as Dipper and Turner....is it just me or has the wing become an obsolete position these days taken up by just another midfielder?

He was unbelievable, he looked like a racehorse. Cried my eyes out when he got hit at Geelong, got into a huge argument with Geelong supporters when it happened. Lovely guy, knew him in those days. Alltime favourite player.....until Carey came along, still up there for me.:)
Our class player in a struggling team in the early 70's. My memories of him are watching him take off on long ,bouncing runs on the Grandstand wing at Arden Street to the delight of the supporters cheering on "Racehorse". He was pretty good off both sides too. A rarity in those days.
A memory from about '72 I reckon when the folks used to watch them train on Thurs nights. From the comfort of the social club of course. Me and and a mate were having on kick on the oval probably annoying the players when they decided to do a big group sprint right past us to scare us off the oval. Well I avoided injury but my mate must have copped an accidental elbow or something cos he was bawling his eyes out. We were about 10 mind. Anyway the one player who stopped to check on the crying kid was the great Keith Greig. Superstar. Although the ankle strapping I used in under 11's didn't make me one.
(That Ray Card incident just about made me cry)

He cops a lot but Dougie Hawkins wasn't a bad wingman in that era as well, as well as Dipper and Turner....is it just me or has the wing become an obsolete position these days taken up by just another midfielder?

Clinton Young from the Hawks plays the role well, but otherwise I cant think of anyone else? Hawks always played this position well - Darrin Pritchard was another. The artform has certainly died off.

You have to be a great reader of the play to know when to hold your ground in space and when to be part of the contested play. Probably has died off a bit with the lack of stoppages and all of the modern fast end to end transition play?