Koschi on 360

• Thread starter Thread starter 1970crow

Bloke is the biggest bullshitter going round. Rubbish interview. Mind you he and others do seem to be doing some good at Port

Disagree mate. The media savvy and friendly aspects of Koch have dramatically increased the desire for people to interview him.

Hey, I'm friendly too! :p

He's approachable, yes, but so are a lot of club presidents. They just don't have a team going 5-0 after being awful for years on end.

This is also a fair point.

He's said a few things during this run that have struck me as a man who hasn't been around footy clubs for long. He was spruiking Port's small injury list the other day and saying it had a direct correlation to their new fitness staff. He then went on to point how long some other club's injury lists are. Careful with that one, Kochie. Could come back to bite you.

Also, their two new slogans - "Beware the Sleeping Giant." Just has a touch of Carlton's "They Know We're Coming" about it. (The Sleeping Giant would be very refreshed though, considering he has been hibernating for half a decade.)

"We'll Never Give up" is also a dangerous promise to make to fans. Didn't they learn from The Creed? Teams rarely gives up on purpose, but they do get belted from time to time. That's footy.

I like that they have a slogan that directly references 119 though.

This is also a fair point.

He's said a few things during this run that have struck me as a man who hasn't been around footy clubs for long. He was spruiking Port's small injury list the other day and saying it had a direct correlation to their new fitness staff. He then went on to point how long some other club's injury lists are. Careful with that one, Kochie. Could come back to bite you.

Also, their two new slogans - "Beware the Sleeping Giant." Just has a touch of Carlton's "They Know We're Coming" about it. (The Sleeping Giant would be very refreshed though, considering he has been hibernating for half a decade.)

"We'll Never Give up" is also a dangerous promise to make to fans. Didn't they learn from The Creed? Teams rarely gives up on purpose, but they do get belted from time to time. That's footy.

I like that they have a slogan that directly references 119 though.

Already has started with Trengove and Pittard's injuries. There will be more.

Whilst Kochie is a perfect fit for Port I couldn't stand him before hand and I can't stand him even more now. I think he has an accounting back ground, but has enough info to be dangerous in other areas of finance. Some of the things he says about the stock market and shares I just cringe and are so far off the mark its not funny. BTW I'm a stockbroker for those of you who don't know.

He's doing the right thing for Port by being in the face of the media all day, but that's also easier when you are 5-0 and on top of the world.

I don't mind Triggs work in the media. He doesn't BS around and gives you a straight answer. As for promoting the club. I don't think thats his role. I think the crows leave that more up to the playing group and coach. Danger has made a few appearances on the footy show and the Sunday one on channel 7. Sando is also very active on twitter.

Whilst Kochie is a perfect fit for Port I couldn't stand him before hand and I can't stand him even more now. I think he has an accounting back ground, but has enough info to be dangerous in other areas of finance. Some of the things he says about the stock market and shares I just cringe and are so far off the mark its not funny. BTW I'm a stockbroker for those of you who don't know.

He's doing the right thing for Port by being in the face of the media all day, but that's also easier when you are 5-0 and on top of the world.

I don't mind Triggs work in the media. He doesn't BS around and gives you a straight answer. As for promoting the club. I don't think thats his role. I think the crows leave that more up to the playing group and coach. Danger has made a few appearances on the footy show and the Sunday one on channel 7. Sando is also very active on twitter.
Is that actually true given recent events? i didnt listen to a lot of his media during it all, was he totally truthful about the whole thing?

He was truthful in the fact he said what he could say. If there's an investigation then you can't say anything really about it. Afterwards whats the point of being in the media too much more than once or twice. You'll get asked the same questions over and over and be accussed of the same things. Better off to do it once and then let it blow over.

I mean he sort of lied about the Kurt Tippett situation in the 18 months proceeding by avoiding it all but i'm also sure we don't know the full story there and I don't know if he did or did not know if they'd be in the poo or not.

However on the every day running of the club matters he's pretty good. He doesn't need to really need to be in your face. Our club membership looks after itself. Even during our lean years we've had 40k+ members and most importantly the 2nd highest season membership in the AFL behind the Pies.

As for him staying on as our CEO. I think he had to, to get the AO move done. He had too much IP for them to drop him so close to the move. I dare say he wont be around much longer than 12 months after the move.

I'm pretty sure he wouldn't have said we wont get any injuries because we have a new fitness coach, surely the context would have been reduced (manageable) injury lists ?

Even your former fitness coach and current coach believe the fitness program impacts on injury levels, while luck is also a factor.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...n-hard-to-ignore/story-e6freck3-1226442541667
Having most of his squad at peak fitness has helped Crows coach Brenton Sanderson to have an impressive 13-4 win-loss record near the business end of the season.
But Sanderson, as well as Schwerdt, must claim much of the credit for the dramatic turnaround.
Adelaide is being rewarded for a significant shift in focus during the pre-season training schedule last summer.
"It was a very, very different approach compared with other years and that has no doubt had a big impact," Schwerdt said.
"In previous years, we had a strong running element to our pre-season training and our gameplan, so most of our players had a really strong aerobic background because they had been training that way for a few years.
"And then most of the recruits, young guys, we got were exceptional in that area as well.
"What that allowed us to do was put our efforts into other areas, such as spending a lot more time in the gym. The boys were able to get bigger, stronger and more powerful but it also allowed them to develop a strength base which can act as an injury-prevention tool as the season progresses."
Ask Schwerdt what else has been responsible for the shift in fortune and he looks towards the football gods.
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...n-hard-to-ignore/story-e6freck3-1226442541667

Love Kochie or hate him - he's intelligent, charismatic, has a national profile and knows exactly the way the media works. Just the type of guy you want leading a football club.

Notice I used that word charisma. Charismatic people make footy clubs. They are able to get things done and influence people. Charismatic people make others want to jump on board.

The Adelaide Football Club is so devoid of this it isn't funny, but this is nothing particularly new. Slippery Pete warned you about this some time ago.

It's just particularly galling right now because even our poor cousin has now surpassed us in this department.

It's horrifying because it signifies something - that we're in position to watch just about every other club actively push towards a premiership while we sit on all this untapped capacity and achieve absolutely nothing.

It's a lonely place to be when a crisis comes and the traditional supporter's course of action, "supporting the boys", is of no assistance because our club is on a different page than us. That's how being an Adelaide supporter feels right now. Isolating. Because our own club isn't serious about doing anything. I know it's still an unpopular view, but it has only grown in recent years, and the many of you who feel an undercurrent of something similar will find this harder to ignore as the years of shortcoming continue.

Port has responded to its supporters and given them a management team that has set the goals they've screamed out for for years. They're fast getting themselves back on track. They're carrying themselves like a proud club, talking like a proud club, preparing like a proud club. Now they're playing proud football again.

We need voting rights, because the majority of football supporters (including nearly all of us on here) want the same thing - a ruthless football side prepared to sacrifice everything for a premiership - and we would vote to chase that, i.e. against what we're doing now. Our supporters don't quite seem to understand how BIG a club this is, how many fully ticketed members it attracts and how much untapped potential for utter powerhouse status it has carried (and briefly held, before throwing away with lack of drive and direction). We are one of the aliens from Space Jam. Big and strong, pipsqueak's mentality. We fear AD like they feared their boss.

I'm pretty sure he wouldn't have said we wont get any injuries because we have a new fitness coach, surely the context would have been reduced (manageable) injury lists ?

Even your former fitness coach and current coach believe the fitness program impacts on injury levels, while luck is also a factor.

Oh no doubt about that. Was pointing out how you've gone relatively from a full squad and full strength 22 to just a couple of set backs.

Also totally agree about how good fitness staff will help lessen your injury list, however id say a lot of it is luck. There is no real way Burgess could have prevented Trengove's latest injury or even Gray's last year.

There is only so much we know about the human body.

Your current fitness also has a lot to do with the fact you started on the training track a lot earlier and are probably at a fitness level other clubs are maybe only just reaching or probably still haven't. You will find those young bodies will tire come the second half of the season and you wont run out games as strongly and wont get the wins like you did against us and West Coast.

I believe there was a similar message coming out of adelaide last year after your good run with injuries and a change of fitness staff and coach.

*edit* I should really read threads to the end before replying sometimes, well covered Heafy.

It's horrifying because it signifies something - that we're in position to watch just about every other club actively push towards a premiership while we sit on all this untapped capacity and achieve absolutely nothing.

It's a lonely place to be when a crisis comes and the traditional supporter's course of action, "supporting the boys", is of no assistance because our club is on a different page than us. That's how being an Adelaide supporter feels right now. Isolating. Because our own club isn't serious about doing anything. It's nightmare stuff, it really is.

We need voting rights, because the majority of football supporters (including nearly all of us on here) want the same thing - a ruthless football side prepared to sacrifice everything for a premiership - and we would vote to chase that, i.e. against what we're doing now.

This is just tripe sorry. We are at round 5 in a 22 game season. You are acting like we are Melbourne. Voting rights would do nothing to change our situation this at this point as its a player problem. Our so called inept board has appointed a terrific coach and put us on the right track.

Cast your mind back to 2005. Geelong were one kick from a prelim after sydney stole the semi from them in the space of 5 minutes. Geelong were all the rage in the off season and the hot ticket item. Come 2006 and Geelong look flat, tired and disinterested and miss the finals finishing 10th. Then 2007........ well we all klnow what happened there.

Just saying......

This is just tripe sorry. We are at round 5 in a 22 game season. You are acting like we are Melbourne. Voting rights would do nothing to change our situation this at this point as its a player problem. Our so called inept board has appointed a terrific coach and put us on the right track.

Cast your mind back to 2005. Geelong were one kick from a prelim after sydney stole the semi from them in the space of 5 minutes. Geelong were all the rage in the off season and the hot ticket item. Come 2006 and Geelong look flat, tired and disinterested and miss the finals finishing 10th. Then 2007........ well we all klnow what happened there.

Just saying......

You're completely right heafy. Geelong's turnaround was the direct result of a fricking enormous club review and subsequent culture UPHEAVAL. Which, by definition, tells us their culture hindered them before. They are very much like us. Except we'll never have a review.

I've yet to meet anyone, apart from Port supporters, who actually likes Kochie. Most think he is a a loud mouthed kn*b (and a little on the creepy side) whose star has been fading for a few years. I suspect he is 1-2 years away from being a contestant on Celebrity Splash.

Im a crows supporter and I like Kochie.
Hes a different cat, but hes proactive and seems to be doing a great job at port.
Whether hes a fading star isnt really relevant is it?

You're completely right heafy. Geelong's turnaround was the direct result of a fricking enormous club review and subsequent culture UPHEAVAL. Which, by definition, tells us their culture hindered them before. They are very much like us. Except we'll never have a review.

What is wrong with our bloody culture??? Please.......... I would love to hear your infinite wisdom on this one.

Game, set, match. Spot on. An independent review no less. The club was tipped upside down.

Also, we've had a number of "Geelong in 2006, year we had to have" years. That metaphor is wearing really thin I'm afraid.

It's more a question of what's wrong with our club. Where do you want me to start?

Seriously some supporters, not necessarily you pete, need to take a step back. We as a club have had a pretty successful history. We have had no real long term stretches without finals, won two premierships ourselves, never won less than 7 games in a season, up until last year never had any real controversy. Yes i crave more success and wish we had more but i'm also a realist. In a competition with now 18 teams and with an ever thinning talent pool its only going to get harder.

On the whole we are as a club structurally sound. If you take a scale of how sound a club would be with Melbourne being a 1 and say Geelong a 10 I'd say we are a 7 or 8. Which in my books is pretty good. Yes we can do some tinkering here and there along the way but overall picture is very solid.

People have to look at the periods some teams have had between success. Bulldogs, Melbourne, Saints are all 40+ years. It took Hawks 17 years to win a premiership after 1991, it took the pies almost 20 years to win another. Geelong it took 40+ years between success'. Its no easy feet to win those flags. I'd say the only club that has really bucked the trend is maybe West Coast but even they had numerous top 10 picks in their side to do so. Stick Judd in our side in 05 or 06 and lets see who wins that prelim.

We are not that far away from a flag. If we do not win one with this era and Sando then I think its time to say WTF

Massive coup by port getting this bloke on board. He will be waving the flag in the national spotlight and making sure port's interests are looked after. Just has so much clout by virtue of his position and reputation. And he has already shown he is ready to wield it *envy*

Meanwhile, we have a faceless banker.

A faceless banker who is about to take back on board his mate, the mediocre suit who lost our million dollar KPF for no compo and threw away our next couple years' draft picks.

Port's board clearly shits on ours from a great height. Unfeasibly good get by them. Gives them a real advantage over us.

Seriously some supporters, not necessarily you pete, need to take a step back. We as a club have had a pretty successful history. We have had no real long term stretches without finals, won two premierships ourselves, never won less than 7 games in a season, up until last year never had any real controversy. Yes i crave more success and wish we had more but i'm also a realist. In a competition with now 18 teams and with an ever thinning talent pool its only going to get harder.

On the whole we are as a club structurally sound. If you take a scale of how sound a club would be with Melbourne being a 1 and say Geelong a 10 I'd say we are a 7 or 8. Which in my books is pretty good. Yes we can do some tinkering here and there along the way but overall picture is very solid.

People have to look at the periods some teams have had between success. Bulldogs, Melbourne, Saints are all 40+ years. It took Hawks 17 years to win a premiership after 1991, it took the pies almost 20 years to win another. Geelong it took 40+ years between success'. Its no easy feet to win those flags. I'd say the only club that has really bucked the trend is maybe West Coast but even they had numerous top 10 picks in their side to do so. Stick Judd in our side in 05 or 06 and lets see who wins that prelim.

We are not that far away from a flag. If we do not win one with this era and Sando then I think its time to say WTF

See, I'm inclined to disagree with the success tag.

For one thing, systematically successful clubs have tended to enjoy extended periods of consistent finishes, premierships amongst, book-ended by gradual rises and falls. Geelong of the mid-late 2000s, Port of the early to mid 2000s, Brisbane of the early 2000s and the Bombers of the late 90s/turn of the millennium all fit this bill. Adelaide's premiership success, conversely, was book-ended by dismal performance. Our form line looks erratic relative to the others. We also went back to back, something that stands a little conspicuous when you consider the quality of sides that couldn't achieve that feat, and the flimsy, knife edge type runs we had in both years (including a dubious finals system in 1998). The more you look at it, and again, this won't be popular, the more I believe we lucked those premierships - relative to other successful campaigns there have been.

We had two very unexpected successes, bracketed by bottom 8 campaigns, and not so much as a grand final appearance in the considerable stretch of finals efforts since.

Why are our graphs shaped so differently from those of the conventionally successful clubs over the past 15 years? Is it incidental, with our structure solid and another flag not far away like you say? Or does it tell us we're doing something wrong? One thing I'll say, and it's something I feel with increasing conviction every day, is that...when you look at the particularly precarious circumstances that characterised those finals campaigns in 97 and 98, they look a lot more like incidental outliers than our consistent, extended stretch of finals failures since.

Yet, you may be proven right. Time will tell.

Why are our graphs shaped so differently from those of the conventionally successful clubs over the past 15 years?

418930-malcolm-blight.jpg