Media KP Ruins

'Imagine'

So the song 'Imagine' by John Lennon is often cited to be some kind of anthem of peace and harmony.

Celebrities like to sing it in times of crisis, see:

Unfortunately, what most people don't realise is that this is one of the most nihilistic, stupid songs were ever written! Especially when you read what the lyrics say.

So this season the apparent Beez Trophy favourite TheInjuryFactory has made his own rendition of 'Imagine'. And I'm now going to go analyse the lyrics and hopefully bring to light to the general public what a terrible message the song sends.

Then there will be only 11 teams in the Sweet FA, each week a team would have the bye. That sounds like an absolute disaster for fixturing and organising the league so that people are consistently engaged, what a ridiculous proposition!

What kind of 'banter' is 'below' us TIF? Each poster in the Sweet FA has their unique brand of posting and the quality of such posting is determined by the eye of the beholder, it is inherently subjective and to declare that a certain style of banter is below any other kind like some kind of Tsar of posting quality is pure arrogance.

Then we would go back to Season 5 or 6 when match threads consisted of 3 pages of 'Go team' comments. Yeah sounds exciting...

Then why the hell would anyone even bother to show up to the Sweet FA?!?

Where exactly is the racism, based on what criteria is Baghdad racist? Because Cadaver said so? C'mon dude!

Sounds like you're advocating for a sickly family wet dream!

And it will also be mind-numbingly boring, this league was built on conflict, not a collective session of soggy sao!

What's wrong with camels!? Or dogs?!! Don't understand the hate for animals at all!

Then what would we laugh at??

'Sharing all the words' WTF does that even mean? Everyone is using the same words? This sounds like an incredibly UNORIGINAL league!

You're probably not the only one, and that's a really bad sign for the league.

Just because you don't like something doesn't mean it is dumb. There's nothing worse in this league than some bloviating arseh*le pretentious faux intellectual who makes threads constantly casting judgement on others and acting like they are an arbiter of good and bad posting.

It's unbelievable that 20 people either liked or 'loved' it, everyone one of them needs to take a good long hard look in the mirror.

We should spend less time criticising and tearing down the contributions of others and actually make more of an effort add something substantial to the Sweet FA experience!

oh dear, someone won't like his runner up position...

View attachment 847960

Good question ND, and the answer is simple. I have more fun when I cause others to enjoy this league less.
And now you've also inspired this thread.

Hi all, welcome to KP Ruins. The 5th of many many more threads where I whine/complain/bemoan some aspect of the league that I disapprove of.

Have you come up with a cool, fun idea that everybody is buying into and enjoying?

Not for long if I have anything to do with it. :)
Nice melt KP

Reactive Posting Ratios

So recently a rookie serial_thrilla has dipped his toe into the media world by doing thread collating the Reaction Score to Post ratio of the players on each team.

Now initially the rankings did not account for those who joined before the like function came into existence on BF and that has led to some disgruntled voices from site veterans whinging about this fact. Fortunately, serial_thrilla managed to apply a 'Mobbs Multiplier' to adjust for time spent on BF before join date so now we have an accurate analysis of which teams have the highest collective reactions scores! Yay!

If only that were the case though, as it turns out these stats are distorted in another way.

Here's an experiment for you to try yourself:
1. Go into any PM you have.
2. Take note of a poster's reaction score.
3. Like that poster's PM post.
4. Refresh the page and observe their reaction score again.

As you will find out, reactions in PM also contribute the reaction score shown on a poster's profile and this would mean that a hypothetical poster could make 0 posts on the forum and only post in PMs but have an infinite ratio of Reaction Score to Posts - They can have 10000 reactions and 0 posts.

So while it's a considerable effort and grind, ultimately no insight was gained at all from this thread (here's a useful function to deal with this realisation ST). It's all a learning experience though and maybe next time you'll invest your stats gathering skills on a project that isn't a complete waste of time. 👍

Reactive Posting Ratios

So recently a rookie serial_thrilla has dipped his toe into the media world by doing thread collating the Reaction Score to Post ratio of the players on each team.

Now initially the rankings did not account for those who joined before the like function came into existence on BF and that has led to some disgruntled voices from site veterans whinging about this fact. Fortunately, serial_thrilla managed to apply a 'Mobbs Multiplier' to adjust for time spent on BF before join date so now we have an accurate analysis of which teams have the highest collective reactions scores! Yay!

If only that were the case though, as it turns out these stats are distorted in another way.

As you will find out, reactions in PM also contribute the reaction score shown on a poster's profile and this would mean that a hypothetical poster could make 0 posts on the forum and only post in PMs but have an infinite ratio of Reaction Score to Posts - They can have 10000 reactions and 0 posts.

So while it's a considerable effort and grind, ultimately no insight was gained at all from this thread (here's a useful function to deal with this realisation ST). It's all a learning experience though and maybe next time you'll invest your stats gathering skills on a project that isn't a complete waste of time. 👍
Nice analysis mate. But I reckon you're just salty that spookism and The Filth Wizard have better reaction quotients than you.

Why? They're two of my favourite posters and I often like their PM posts.

Hmmm, so you're saying that they make good content, and this has led to high reaction quotients for them? Interesting...
You're just deflecting now. They might make good content, but in a PM bad content would not increase the post count and hence not penalise anyone under your system.

e.g. someone could have 1 post on the public BF forum with 0 reactions, 50000 posts in PMs, 1000 reactions -> their reaction quotient in your equation is 1000.

Reactive Posting Ratios

What a dick, going after rookies now?

Plenty of posters have made threads worse than that idiot

You're just deflecting now. They might make good content, but in a PM bad content would not increase the post count and hence not penalise anyone under your system.

e.g. someone could have 1 post on the public BF forum with 0 reactions, 50000 posts in PMs, 1000 reactions -> their reaction quotient in your equation is 1000.
Your reasoning is sound, but still reasonably unlikely.

At the end of the day, my quotient was a guide, and not something that dictates exactly how good you are. If you think that then you're probably a little more fragile than you're letting on.

Just enjoy the numbers for what they are: statistics. The number of kicks that a footy player gets goes up as a statistic, but it doesn't necessarily mean he's a jet if he had a heap of them.

Your reasoning is sound, but still reasonably unlikely.

At the end of the day, my quotient was a guide, and not something that dictates exactly how good you are. If you think that then you're probably a little more fragile than you're letting on.

Just enjoy the numbers for what they are: statistics. The number of kicks that a footy player gets goes up as a statistic, but it doesn't necessarily mean he's a jet if he had a heap of them.
Ok, so you've continued the Loonerty legacy of posting pointless statistics. Gotcha. 👍

We are positing on an internet forum about a simulated football game. What statistic on here could possibly have a point in the overall scheme of things?

There are plenty of important statistics in the league. Tackles indicate who is most likely to win the Mobbs Medal and hence be crowned the best Qooty player in the league.

And are you an advocate of the worthiness of these awards up against the qualitative awards such as the Beez and the EKA?

IMO qualitative awards should not exist because they are based on the opinions of the Sweet FA community and the Sweet FA community has proven itself to be reliably stupid.

Reactive Posting Ratios

This is actually really interesting. It certainly wasn't that way when we just had likes.

Selling them on ebay is my primary source if income atm.

Sigh.. fine. Send me a new carton of t-shirts. I really wish you and I hadn't adopted that kid.

Media KP Ruins