Langers is Life

GWS
Pick 1 - Hugh McCluggage - Essendon
The rolls Royce if the draft, top class goal kicking midfielder.
Around the mark: Andrew McGrath, Will Setterfield

Pick 2 - Andrew McGrath - GWS
The man everyone has been talking about, McGrath is a fantastic leader and very versatile player.
Around the mark: Ben Ainsworth, Hugh McCluggage

Pick 3 - Ben Ainsworth - Brisbane
The next Cyril Rioli, this kid has serious talent, will be fantastic crumbing off shache for years to come
Around the Mark: Hugh Mcluggage, Tim Taranto

Pick 4 - Tim Taranto - GCS
Picked up more attention towards the end of the year, classy midfielder that has sane attributes of McCluggage just not as good
Around the mark: Sam Petrevski- Seton, Will Brodie
Pick 5 - Jack Bowes - Gcs *Carlton bid*
Similar to GAblett in many ways, GCS won't be letting him go. Don't think Brisbane will want to start a bidding war between their acadamies and don't think Carlton would want to ruin the trade relationship with gas by bidding on setterfield

Pick 6 - Will Brodie - Carlton
Best contested mid in the draft, Carlton will be looking for another contested mid to help Cripps out
Around the mark: Sam Petrevski-Seton, Tim Taranto

Pick 7 - Sam Petrevski-Seton - Fremantle
Freo have said they'll go best available and SPS will be best available, plays like Harley Bennell
Around the Mark: Tim English, Will Brodie

Pick 8 - Griffin Logue - GCS
Described by some as a long term midfield prospect he's a ready made key defender that can slot right in
Around the Mark: Tim English, Jack Scrimshaw

Pick 9 - Jack Scrimshaw - Sydney
A replacement for McVeigh at Half back that will also allow Mills to go midfield more, also can be used for outside work
Around the mark: Jy Simpkin, Griffin Logue

Pick 10 - Tim English - GCS
English is hard to place because rucks don't typically go top 10 unless they are absolute standouts (Nic Natanuai) but I don't think Gold Coast would let a quality Ruck through. Either way he makes for a solid project player that has better around the ground work than their current rucks
Around the Mark: Jy Simpkin

Pick 11 - Will Setterfield - GWS *North Bid*
Complete package, if it weren't for acadamies he'd be going top 2

Pick 12 - Oliver Florent - North Melbourne
Quality midfielder that excels outside but also performs well as an inside. Around the mark: Daniel Venables, Jy Simpkin

Pick 13 - Sam Powell-Pepper - WCE
An inside bull that is everything WCE need, he's built to play round 1.
Around the mark: Jy Simpkin, Dylan Clarke

Pick 14 - Daniel Venables - Adelaide
Great player, seems more at home on the Forward flank at the moment but with a better fitness base he will become a midfielder
Around the Mark: Will Hayward, Harry Perryman

Pick 15 - Harry Perryman - GWS *Port bid*
A solid flanker that plays both ends of the ground, also rotates through the midfield but isn't as impactful

Pick 16 - Jy Simpkin - Port Adelaide
Was tipped for top 5 pre leg break, defintley think he could still go top 10 but with the others available think he's a likely mid-teens pick
Around the mark: Will Hayward, Jarrod Berry

Pick 17 - Jarrod Berry - Brisbane
Brilliant flanker like Perryman, something Brisbane really need
Around the mark: Zac Fisher, Harry Perryman

Pick 18 - Will Hayward - Port Adelaide
Solid Forward Flanker, hits targets well and moves up and down the ground well.
Around the Mark: Shai Bolton, Jarrod Berry

Pick 19 - Josh Rotham - Western Bulldogs
Bit of a bolter but looking at Bulldogs list they have no immediate needs, so I thought why not prepare for Marcus Adams departure with another Key Defender
Around the mark: Todd Marshall, Josh Battle

Pick 20 - Shai Bolton - Sydney
Good forward pocket that can rotate through the middle

Pick 21 - Josh Battle - Essendon
May not be the best available if Marshall is still around but Battle is that perfect 3rd tall that essendon need more than another target man
Around the Mark: Todd Marshall, Alex Witherden

Pick 22 - Todd Marshall - Brisbane
To go along with the other talented young talks that Brisbane have, in 3 years could be looking at a spine of
Andrews> Gardiner> Hipwood> Scache> Marshall
Around the mark: Brennan Cox, Josh Battle

Pick 23 - Alex Witherden - Brisbane
Would have been top 10 if not for his leg break, rate him as the 2nd best back flanker behind McGrath when he's fit
Around the mark: Jordan Galluci, Dylan Clarke

Pick 24 - Jordan Galluci - St.Kilda
Strong inside mid with remarkable leadership skills
Around the mark: Alex Witerden, Dylan Clarke

Pick 25 - Patrick Kerr - Geelong
Geelong is screaming out for some help for Tom Hawkins down forward and that's exactly what they'll get, Kerr plays a lot like Cloke (more accurate)
Around the mark: Brennan Cox

Pick 26 - Dylan Clarke - Carlton
A solid inside mid that dominates around stoppages, fantastic clearance player
Around the Mark: Zac Fisher, Kobe Mitch

Pick 27 - Jack Graham - Western Bulldogs
Big wraps on this bloke, mature bodied midfielder that hits hard and fair, really strong inside midfielder
Aroundvthe mark: Kobe Mitch, Jonty Scharenberg

Pick 28 - Cedric Cox - Richmond
Good half back flanker, with the departure of Chris Yarran he can have the same impact (jokes) he'll be a project player but should turn out great
Around the mark: Kobe Mutch, Brennan Cox

Pick 29 - Harrison Macredie - GWS *Collingwood bid*
Slid down after a year where there was no major improvement, still a great player at 196cm

Pick 30 - Brennan Cox - Collingwood
Good key defender which is something we desperately need
Around the mark: Jack Maibaum, Jordan Ridley

This is a great phantom draft! Would be very happy with carltons draft if this is the case. It Would definitely boost the midfield stocks

well done, on the lions- love Ainsworth, Berry and Witherden but i can't see us taking Marshall, we currently have young key forwards in Schache, Hipwood, Walker, Close, Freeman and a very highly rated Connor Ballenden coming next year via the academy.

of the players you still had available at Marshalls selection would go for any of- Gallucci, Clarke, C. or B.Cox, Drew, Ridley, Cumming or Graham over Marshall.

well done, on the lions- love Ainsworth, Berry and Witherden but i can't see us taking Marshall, we currently have young key forwards in Schache, Hipwood, Walker, Close, Freeman and a very highly rated Connor Ballenden coming next year via the academy.

of the players you still had available at Marshalls selection would go for any of- Gallucci, Clarke, C. or B.Cox, Drew, Ridley, Cumming or Graham over Marshall.
I was 50/50 with Marshall or drew actually. Its an odd draft where Marshall is too good to get past pick 20 but probably will. Completely agree though

If Marshall goes top 20, you are taking him on a lot of 'maybe'. I hope Sydney avoid him.

Really? You'd know better but looking from the outside I'd say Scrimshaw is more of a need than Simpkim

Not really, bare in mind Nic Newman is coming into our best 22 next year as a Malceski replacement.

We need a Simpkin type as an elite runner who is very good pushing forward. We badly need speed.

Pick 1 - Hugh McCluggage - Essendon
The rolls Royce if the draft, top class goal kicking midfielder.
Around the mark: Andrew McGrath, Will Setterfield

Pick 2 - Andrew McGrath - GWS
The man everyone has been talking about, McGrath is a fantastic leader and very versatile player.
Around the mark: Ben Ainsworth, Hugh McCluggage

Pick 3 - Ben Ainsworth - Brisbane
The next Cyril Rioli, this kid has serious talent, will be fantastic crumbing off shache for years to come
Around the Mark: Hugh Mcluggage, Tim Taranto

Pick 4 - Tim Taranto - GCS
Picked up more attention towards the end of the year, classy midfielder that has sane attributes of McCluggage just not as good
Around the mark: Sam Petrevski- Seton, Will Brodie
Pick 5 - Jack Bowes - Gcs *Carlton bid*
Similar to GAblett in many ways, GCS won't be letting him go. Don't think Brisbane will want to start a bidding war between their acadamies and don't think Carlton would want to ruin the trade relationship with gas by bidding on setterfield

Pick 6 - Will Brodie - Carlton
Best contested mid in the draft, Carlton will be looking for another contested mid to help Cripps out
Around the mark: Sam Petrevski-Seton, Tim Taranto

Pick 7 - Sam Petrevski-Seton - Fremantle
Freo have said they'll go best available and SPS will be best available, plays like Harley Bennell
Around the Mark: Tim English, Will Brodie

Pick 8 - Griffin Logue - GCS
Described by some as a long term midfield prospect he's a ready made key defender that can slot right in
Around the Mark: Tim English, Jack Scrimshaw

Pick 9 - Jack Scrimshaw - Sydney
A replacement for McVeigh at Half back that will also allow Mills to go midfield more, also can be used for outside work
Around the mark: Jy Simpkin, Griffin Logue

Pick 10 - Tim English - GCS
English is hard to place because rucks don't typically go top 10 unless they are absolute standouts (Nic Natanuai) but I don't think Gold Coast would let a quality Ruck through. Either way he makes for a solid project player that has better around the ground work than their current rucks
Around the Mark: Jy Simpkin

Pick 11 - Will Setterfield - GWS *North Bid*
Complete package, if it weren't for acadamies he'd be going top 2

Pick 12 - Oliver Florent - North Melbourne
Quality midfielder that excels outside but also performs well as an inside. Around the mark: Daniel Venables, Jy Simpkin

Pick 13 - Sam Powell-Pepper - WCE
An inside bull that is everything WCE need, he's built to play round 1.
Around the mark: Jy Simpkin, Dylan Clarke

Pick 14 - Daniel Venables - Adelaide
Great player, seems more at home on the Forward flank at the moment but with a better fitness base he will become a midfielder
Around the Mark: Will Hayward, Harry Perryman

Pick 15 - Harry Perryman - GWS *Port bid*
A solid flanker that plays both ends of the ground, also rotates through the midfield but isn't as impactful

Pick 16 - Jy Simpkin - Port Adelaide
Was tipped for top 5 pre leg break, defintley think he could still go top 10 but with the others available think he's a likely mid-teens pick
Around the mark: Will Hayward, Jarrod Berry

Pick 17 - Jarrod Berry - Brisbane
Brilliant flanker like Perryman, something Brisbane really need
Around the mark: Zac Fisher, Harry Perryman

Pick 18 - Will Hayward - Port Adelaide
Solid Forward Flanker, hits targets well and moves up and down the ground well.
Around the Mark: Shai Bolton, Jarrod Berry

Pick 19 - Josh Rotham - Western Bulldogs
Bit of a bolter but looking at Bulldogs list they have no immediate needs, so I thought why not prepare for Marcus Adams departure with another Key Defender

Pick 20 - Shai Bolton - Sydney
Good forward pocket that can rotate through the middle

Pick 21 - Josh Battle - Essendon
May not be the best available if Marshall is still around but Battle is that perfect 3rd tall that essendon need more than another target man
Around the Mark: Todd Marshall, Alex Witherden

Pick 22 - Todd Marshall - Brisbane
To go along with the other talented young talks that Brisbane have, in 3 years could be looking at a spine of
Andrews> Gardiner> Hipwood> Scache> Marshall
Around the mark: Brennan Cox, Josh Battle

Pick 23 - Alex Witherden - Brisbane
Would have been top 10 if not for his leg break, rate him as the 2nd best back flanker behind McGrath when he's fit
Around the mark: Jordan Galluci, Dylan Clarke

Pick 24 - Jordan Galluci - St.Kilda
Strong inside mid with remarkable leadership skills
Around the mark: Alex Witerden, Dylan Clarke

Pick 25 - Patrick Kerr - Geelong
Geelong is screaming out for some help for Tom Hawkins down forward and that's exactly what they'll get, Kerr plays a lot like Cloke (more accurate)
Around the mark: Brennan Cox

Pick 26 - Dylan Clarke - Carlton
A solid inside mid that dominates around stoppages, fantastic clearance player
Around the Mark: Zac Fisher, Kobe Mitch

Pick 27 - Jack Graham - Western Bulldogs
Big wraps on this bloke, mature bodied midfielder that hits hard and fair, really strong inside midfielder
Aroundvthe mark: Kobe Mitch, Jonty Scharenberg

Pick 28 - Cedric Cox - Richmond
Good half back flanker, with the departure of Chris Yarran he can have the same impact (jokes) he'll be a project player but should turn out great
Around the mark: Kobe Mutch, Brennan Cox

Pick 29 - Harrison Macredie - GWS *Collingwood bid*
Slid down after a year where there was no major improvement, still a great player at 196cm

Pick 30 - Brennan Cox - Collingwood
Good key defender which is something we desperately need
Around the mark: Jack Maibaum, Jordan Ridley

Great read, very accurate assessment for the Baggers as close as it gets I reckon.Like all the selections and variables too.
Hope we call out SPS and Clarke for picks 5 &26 some good tonic for out midfield.
Are you going to do the remainder of the rounds?
Well done!

Good read, thanks for your work on this.
If you think Setterfield is a top 2 talent I'm surprised you don't have a club bidding on him far earlier.
Would love it if GWS don't match our bid on Perryman.

Great read, very accurate assessment for the Baggers as close as it gets I reckon.Like all the selections and variables too.
Hope we call out SPS and Clarke for picks 5 &26 some good tonic for out midfield.
Are you going to do the remainder of the rounds?
Well done!
Thanks heaps, I agree that SPS would be better for Carlton if they are confident they can get Clarke at 26 but I think realistically they will be going Brodie + Drew or the Declan bloke from Scorpians.
Not goi g to do the other rounds because my calculating is dreadful AMD I don't know who has what picks after bids

Good read, thanks for your work on this.
If you think Setterfield is a top 2 talent I'm surprised you don't have a club bidding on him far earlier.
Would love it if GWS don't match our bid on Perryman.
Thanks mate, honestly I rate Setterfield as the best player in the draft rightly or wrongly, but think most clubs with top 10 picks don't want to "devalue" them. If I were dodoro I'd be bidding on Setterfield at 1 because either way youre winning on it. Perryman is one of the best versatile players in the draft as well so no chance GWS don't match, I think they'll let Zach Sproule, Kobe Mutch and Ryan Graithwaite through though

Good work Langers is Life

Wouldn't mind if it turned out like that for the Blues.

Freo and Adelaide would be stoked to get quality like that at those picks, Venables going to a club with such a good development record would be frightening for the league.
Thanks mate, agree that Freo and Adelaide walk away with bargains but they're positioned in the draft perfectly for it, Freo taking the scraps of Top 5 and Adelaide taking scraps of Top 10. Don't be surprised if West Coast take Venables either, very enticing player to any club that rates their development coaches

Langers is Life great job, just on the dogs on the service it would seem that we dont need much, but we do lack key Forward depth and if Battle and Marshall are there at pick 18 we will pick one.

we have the luxury of the next 2-3 years to develop that Forward without any rush to get them playing AFL before they are ready.

either Cox luke Ryan or cumming would be a good fit at 26

I can't see us going for Brodie and then Clarke, very similar players. Who we pick up at 5 will determine the type of player we pick up at our next pick. SPS and clarke would be a better mix.