Leeds United Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Jaymin

BECKFORD IS LEEDS AND KNOWS HE IS
#January3RememberTheDate

I went to bed at 9 pm last night in order to get up for the Villa, and by golly, was it worth it.

Aside from Bamford's brilliance and our solid undermanned backline led by Luke Ayling, how good is Meslier ? The young Frenchman has a bright future in the game, hope we can hold onto him, as I know big Euro Clubs will come knocking at some stage, but at his age, his goal stopping ability and reading of the play at top flight level is brilliant. He helped set up Bam Bam's third goal.

He is a Gem that lad.

Posted some of these in the matchday thread, but a slightly more expanded version here :)

Stayed up until 4:30 to watch that and god damn it was worth it.

- Shackleton: excellent PL debut. Wore Barkley like a glove and he had barely any influence. Tidy with the ball and involved in the 3rd goal. Hopefully Struijk isn't too upset about the 20' subbing, just wasn't quite the right fit there.

- Harrison: (with some Alioski help) gave Marty Cash an absolute bath (who was admittedly hung out to dry by Trezugeut). Fantastic game, equally happy putting in crosses as cutting inside which significantly raises his threat level

- Alioski: I'm normally not a huge fan, and in the first half in particular a few of his passes were under-hit and cut out easily (pitch did look a bit slow though). Credit where it's due though, was rarely beaten defensively and worked really well with Harrison offensively.

- Ayling: love him, excellent captains game. Goal-line clearance (and staying in the game) was brilliant after he’d been beaten by Watkins

- Koch: big fan, and seems to have settled in really well now after a tough first game against 'Pool. Excellent signing and looking a value pickup

- Dallas: primary directive was surely containing Grealish, which he largely managed. Got away a couple of times, but ultimately pretty well held.

- Rodrigo: given midfield isn't his standard jam, offered that creative influence and quality on ball that Pablo has provided the past few seasons. Bet Bielsa loves his versatility.

- Costa: great game probably only dimmed by how much of a beating Harrison was putting in on the opposite flank

- Bamford: tale of two halves, fluffed two very gettable chances in the first and then scores a 19’ hattrick. Numbers 2+3 top draw. Kudos to him for proving the doubters (which included me) wrong. Everything about his game last year (and this year) was exactly what Bielsa would've wanted in defensive efforts, hold-up play and build-up play, and now he's added 6 goals in 6 games. Hatrick Bamford has a nice ring to it

- Meslier: two great saves, love his distribution both by hand and foot. Great composure for his age

- Raphinha: obviously didn’t see much, but that ball for Harrison at the end was the best pass of the game

- Klich: quietly putting together an excellent season. Perfect modern day box-to-box mid with just enough of an arseh*le streak in him to be annoying to play against

- Pablo: Villa lucky it was only his first game back, because he'd usually bury those chances and it was strange to see him mis-hit the ball that much. So glad he's fit again

- Bielsa: just been thinking that Bielsa-ball is an excellent fit for the current football meta. As a mate of mine said (a Utd fan, but one of the few good ones): "At last the world catches up wityh the voice of the prophet in the wilderness"

Quiet in here since Saturday night, I’ll assume we’re all still seething, I certainly am.

Disallowed goal aside, we’re missing Phillips big time. Klich is a wonderful b2b or even AM, but can be a little exposed deeper. Struijk has been thrown in at the deep end (and this isn’t a criticism of him) maybe a little earlier than he was ready for. Big step up from not really playing much in the championship to starting in the premier league. Hopefully after the break Llorente is fit and able to start - I think that’s his timeline

Think we’ll go back in for a keeper in January. Meslier is a fantastic prospect, but a whole season is a lot to ask from a 20 yr old keeper. Would love Henderson on loan from Utd 😐

Positives - Raphina looks verrrrrry good, and a class above both Costa and Harrison. Very smooth on the ball, and his passing looks excellent. Was not far from

Loving Bamfords energy this year - is playing with a real point to prove, and seems to be really invested in the teams spirit on game day. Definitely taking on a leadership role in the front half, and encouraging teammates, rather than sooking if something doesn’t go his way.

side note: sounds like Pablo pissed off Bielsa when subbed against Leicester, hence being dropped from the squad. Has apologised and you’d think is back in vs Arsenal

Yeah got doubts about Cooper as well. Think we’ll find Llorente is better option eventually, certainly better back up to Phillips at DM.

Roberts and maybe even Alioski (was good against Villa) are not up to it at this level.

Missed Rodrigo and Pablo and Raphinha is going to be a good get. Really shows we need more depth.

100% agree re: Alioski and Roberts, but then the whole squad was never going to be turned over in one summer, and they are only playing due to injuries

Also agree re: Cooper, and you wouldn’t think we spend the money on Koch and Llorente for one of them to sit on the bench all season, so it’s possible the club agrees too

Harrison’s worst game in some time

Llorente moved on to long term injury list 30+ days or until further notice! Big blow with Phillips still out

I love Kalvin Phillips. Bossed The Toffees around today. Great player. What a smash and grab win that was. #MOT

Yeah Phillips was very good. How about Raphinha, some quality touches, we’ve a got a ripper here

Haven't watched last night beyond the 3' Optus highlights and missed Arsenal, but his cameo appearance vs Palace he looked Classy. To borrow commentators parlance: "glides over the pitch" would be how i'd describe him, and so many of his touches look effortless / graceful.

Small sample size, but he looks an immense talent.

Love it how fans can pull out remarkable stats like that out of their ass.

The final 12 minutes at Elland Rd was a real hoot !

Bring on the Scum at the 'Theatre of Broken Dreams'

This is the match I have waited for, for several years now

Looking very good at the moment. I am looking forward to the Arsenal game as we definitely dropped two points against them last time.

Yeh even before Pepe was sent off we were in control.
Hopefully Phillips gets up for the game.
Raph is in some sort of form, 4 goals and 4 assists in the last 10 games, could’ve had a couple more too.

It's no coincidence that since he's played consistently we have conceded far less per game. He's been excellent and thoroughly deserved his goal.

tenor.gif

We knew this announcement was coming but it still hurts a lot.

Pablo is and forever will be one of my all favourite players.
His contributions to getting us back to the Top-flight should never be forgotten.