Leon Davis

pauly_moss

No trade was made for Leon heading out west so we have him for another year at least. We all agreed that he had to be dropped for the grand final but I for one think that he had major injury worries this year. Never looked right from the outset perhaps the summer off with a good preseaon under his belt may reignite him.

I for one surely hope so because I know we all love Leon in full flight. All Australian in 2009 so I'm hoping just a poor year thats all. Needs to get the body right because he did not look fit at all.

I reckon he'll be mentoring the kids in the VFL for most of next year, like Lockyer and O'Bree did this year.

Leon is a gun, and it's great that we have another year with him.
This year wasn't one that he'd be proud of though, and it wouldn't surprise me if he was carrying an injury that hindered his fitness. He looked a little pudgy and wasn't quite as creative or hungry for the pill when he was on the ground.
If it wasn't his fitness, he won't be getting many games in the seniors.

The strategy with Leon should be that he plays during the home & away rounds and then gets early holidays at the end of August, unless he is firing on all cylinders consistently before finals.

Personally I think his career is pretty much over unless he can get his fitness levels up, Davis is wasted as a small forward who chases and applies pressure, Dick does it better.

We are stuck with him, hopefully the lack of interest from other clubs despite being him being on the trading block will motivate him.

Phase him out slowly. I'd like to see him play 8-11 games next year, with Brad Dick playing the other weeks. It will help us manage Dick's body so he isn't screwed come finals time.

I have not been a huge fan of Leon but he still has an important role to play. Like OB and Lockyear this year he is a depth player at worst who will come in and do a job when we need him. At best he gets over his injury (no doubt he had one), gets switched on (having his best mate join the club should help) and we get a player who can have a real impact.

Well he was voted best trainer at the club for about 5 years running so let's hope his body is solid next year and he's the 2009 model

I just dont understand how a player call be such a variance on year before. I doubt he will have a mentor role he just doesnt seem that type seems very quite. I could be wrong though dont see many training sessions.

I think forward flank suits him best dicky as our deep pocket with maccaffer as the other

I think if the Medhurst/Lockyer/OB situation taught us anything this year, is that its now almost impossible to spend significant time in the VFL and then come in to the AFL to play 'a role' on a sporadic basis.

If that's what the envisage for Leon then his career has almost come to an end sadly. Hopefully he has a strong summer and jumps straight back in to the 21+ at his electric best.

Phase him out slowly. I'd like to see him play 8-11 games next year, with Brad Dick playing the other weeks. It will help us manage Dick's body so he isn't screwed come finals time.

This, I actually don't think that it is impossible to spend long stints in the VFL and play sporadic roles. I think Tarks did it well, Nathan Brown and Goldsack were in similar roles.

O'Bree the game and structures had passed. He was no longer the key inside man and that was the only thing he had going for him, we tried to play him on the HFF and he was never going to be succesful there. Tarks as I said above I thought was a passable role player. Medhurst may have struggled with the pace and structures a bit but I think it's unfair to rule it out completely based on one player.

I reckon he'll be mentoring the kids in the VFL for most of next year, like Lockyer and O'Bree did this year.

Yeah I think that's a fair guess in what he will do. He will retire gracefully at the end of the season

Just my opinion but if Leon doesn't turn it around like Ben Johnson did to find the love again and plays VFL due to form, I reckon he'll retire before the year is out. And I would support that.

I really do hope he turns it around. I don't wanna see him finishing his career in the 2's. :(

I think we are all guilty of having short term memories when it comes to footballers form. Leon was widely considered the most improved player in the comp last year, and undoubtedly had issues both with his fitness and mental application this season. He still managed to be an influential member of the best forward line going around, kicking around 25 goals and having the most tackles inside the forward 50. If he refreshes physically and mentally like i hope he will, we are likely to see a much improved effort. Krakouer, Dick and Davis will give alot of defences nightmares throughout the season.

I have a feeling he carried an injury that didn't finish him but would require surgery at the end of the year.
Agree, i would almost put money on it, nobody loses that much pace and agility in half a year without there being an underlying issue.
A 100% Leon next year will be like a new recruit next year and if he can get back to his 09 level its another string to the premiers bow.

you just have to look at him to know he wasn't in chape compard to last year.

He was rippling last year and at the recovery sessions he was sporting abs like a 300 cast member.

This year he was bordering on chubby and had no abs at all. Almost like Shannon Cox left his lifetime Maccas pass lying around the club and Leon found it