Steelers
The new season hasnt started yet and anyone would think its finished...

I am feeling good about the season and about the way our kids are coming along. CLEARLY alot of people aren't.

But there is know reason why we can't play well this year and make finals. Its all just speculation at the moment so why do that in a negative way.

Im not saying i expect the world but just some positive messages on OUR board.

The new season hasnt started yet and anyone would think its finished...

I am feeling good about the season and about the way our kids are coming along. CLEARLY alot of people aren't.

But there is know reason why we can't play well this year and make finals. Its all just speculation at the moment so why do that in a negative way.

Im not saying i expect the world but just some positive messages on OUR board.

A lot of the Tigers fans are realists, hence the frustrated mood.

I reckon a lot of people will stop holding back if there is a repeat of 2007. TW can't keep pulling to wool over people's eyes forever

i know, if we get to the point where we are 0-5 and in the 6th game we are 14 goals down at half time. We should all hold hands around the ground and look up to the gods and start speaking in tongues and chanting for the success god to send down the success thunderbolt onto us.
LIke WTF fool, i know there is a good spin to being positive, but if you have left the ground against the cats last year and the doggies the year before, and you had a smile on your face as you left the ground, you need to be certified.
Sorry to those that did have a smile, since it was comical and very hard not to laugh.
I mean how the **** can you just be positive? You need to actually see something that is not negative to begin to be positive. You have seen the same as you have seen in the NAB cup, and pretty much the same as you have seen in the other parccy matches. So when we go to the games and see "positive" stuff,that isnt the usual "potential", then we can begin to think somewhat positive.

FFS, now i know how all those fitzroy supporters felt. People like your type have only known failure, leave it to those that know what it feels like to have success, to tell you when its time to get positive. ;)

Tigers are in for a good one this year, the coach is under the pump, and they have got a lot of players back from injury so there is no excuse, no more charity games. they will surprise:thumbsu:

i know, if we get to the point where we are 0-5 and in the 6th game we are 14 goals down at half time. We should all hold hands around the ground and look up to the gods and start speaking in tongues and chanting for the success god to send down the success thunderbolt onto us.
LIke WTF fool, i know there is a good spin to being positive, but if you have left the ground against the cats last year and the doggies the year before, and you had a smile on your face as you left the ground, you need to be certified.
Sorry to those that did have a smile, since it was comical and very hard not to laugh.
I mean how the **** can you just be positive? You need to actually see something that is not negative to begin to be positive. You have seen the same as you have seen in the NAB cup, and pretty much the same as you have seen in the other parccy matches. So when we go to the games and see "positive" stuff,that isnt the usual "potential", then we can begin to think somewhat positive. ;)

Positives That I have seen.

Foley.... enough said.

Connors.... Has something about him, but needs to be dedicated to cash in on the rewards.

King.... Gutsy, tenacious and if every player played with with his heart we would have no worries, his efforts will hopefully rub off on the others.

Thursfield.... will be a 200 game defender.

Mcguane..... has showed enough to suggest that he could well be in Thursfields league but needs to continue to improve.

Edwards... see King, but add a bit more class.

Pattison.... if he continues to improve at the same rate as the last 2 season will became a very handy Follower + forward.

Tambling... has shown brilliance in same games and as he gains more experience will be a game breaker with added consistency. Still only 21.

Deliedo.... enough said. Still only 20

I could go on......

If you can not see the positives that are coming through at the moment then you may aswell switch off and get back on the wagon in a couple of years.

I for one, is looking forward to this season..... if only just to see these players continue to develop into great players for the Tigers. Wins are still not overly important.
I have watched the last 27 years with as much frustration as the next tiger supporter, but there is NO WAY in the world you negative Bastards on here are going to make the ride less enjoyable for me.

I cant wait..... 216 hours to go.....

Positives That I have seen.

Foley.... enough said.

Connors.... Has something about him, but needs to be dedicated to cash in on the rewards.

King.... Gutsy, tenacious and if every player played with with his heart we would have no worries, his efforts will hopefully rub off on the others.

Thursfield.... will be a 200 game defender.

Mcguane..... has showed enough to suggest that he could well be in Thursfields league but needs to continue to improve.

Edwards... see King, but add a bit more class.

Pattison.... if he continues to improve at the same rate as the last 2 season will became a very handy Follower + forward.

Tambling... has shown brilliance in same games and as he gains more experience will be a game breaker with added consistency. Still only 21.

Deliedo.... enough said. Still only 20

I could go on......

If you can not see the positives that are coming through at the moment then you may aswell switch off and get back on the wagon in a couple of years.

I for one, is looking forward to this season..... if only just to see these players continue to develop into great players for the Tigers. Wins are still not overly important.
I have watched the last 27 years with as much frustration as the next tiger supporter, but there is NO WAY in the world you negative Bastards on here are going to make the ride less enjoyable for me.

I cant wait..... 216 hours to go.....

thats cool man.

but you forget the negaitves that you still see.

Richo having the yips.
Hyde, Tivendale, Tuck, Raines as walk up starts..that is 4 from the 22, ie we are at least 2 down before the ball is even bounced.

Its all good to talk about what the positives are, like you have, dont have a problem with that, its the usual suspects that **** us up time and time again that keeps on keeping on. ;)

thats cool man.

but you forget the negaitves that you still see.

Richo having the yips.
Hyde, Tivendale, Tuck, Raines as walk up starts..that is 4 from the 22, ie we are at least 2 down before the ball is even bounced.

Its all good to talk about what the positives are, like you have, dont have a problem with that, its the usual suspects that **** us up time and time again that keeps on keeping on. ;)

Who do suggest we replace these guy's with???? at the moment we are rebuilding.... and we are playing guy's that will not be part of our side in 2 to 3 years time..... DO PEOPLE NOT REALISE WHY WE FINNISHED LAST???????

IT"S BECAUSE WE DONT HAVE THE CATTLE.

We have a lot of quality calves but they need time to develop. BE PATIENT.

WE ARE ON THE RIGHT TRACK.

Who do suggest we replace these guy's with???? at the moment we are rebuilding.... and we are playing guy's that will not be part of our side in 2 to 3 years time..... DO PEOPLE NOT REALISE WHY WE FINNISHED LAST???????

the only way to have the cattle is to replace those who arent the cattle fool. If we are rebuilding, HTF do you explain taking a mature age rookie, from the pool of available talent? What kind of rebuilding is taking a silvester as a rookie FFS? ;)

OK which player should have we taken Einstein? Silvester is a back-up, nothing else, HE WONT PLAY if we dont have serious injuries to Thursfield, Mcguane, Moore and Bowden.

...... so what was left from the available talent pool, that could slip straight into our side with the knowledge of our system??????

What's with all the barnyard bullshit :confused: I thought we were the Mighty Tigers not the mighty cows

fair point....... It takes time for our cubs to grow up to be man eating tigers....happy?:D

OK which player should have we taken Einstein? Silvester is a back-up, nothing else, HE WONT PLAY if we dont have injuries to Thursfield, Mcguane, Moore and Bowden.

...... so what was left from the available talent pool, that could slip straight into our side with the knowledge of our system??????

listen fool, dont get paid to scout the available talent. What i do know is that there is a hell of alot of players that were left out in the cold after the both drafts. And what did we do? we took the easy way out, insurance. Like how about putting the ****ing pressure on those who we now have insurance for? Maybe, just maybe someone would begin to play for their spot, rather than know that all they have to do is stay uninjured.

Knowledge of our system? man, you need a reality injection.
Andrew Raines is a prime example of knowledge of out system. He has an initimate knowledge of doing the wrong thing at the wrong time. Now when he gets the tap on the shoulder and told that there are no more freebies and he needs to start earning the spot with "non errors" then we can begin to talk turkey. I mean what are we hoping here for with him? That he will take risk after risk, **** up time after time and all of a sudden, the "luck" will come his way? Kind of thought that top players made their own luck dont you?

Like i said, most of the muppets here dont understand what it is to be ruthless, since we have been shitkickers ever since they began to understand footy. ;)

listen fool, dont get paid to scout the available talent. What i do know is that there is a hell of alot of players that were left out in the cold after the both drafts. And what did we do? we took the easy way out, insurance. Like how about putting the ****ing pressure on those who we now have insurance for? Maybe, just maybe someone would begin to play for their spot, rather than know that all they have to do is stay uninjured.

Knowledge of our system? man, you need a reality injection.
Andrew Raines is a prime example of knowledge of out system. He has an initimate knowledge of doing the wrong thing at the wrong time. Now when he gets the tap on the shoulder and told that there are no more freebies and he needs to start earning the spot with "non errors" then we can begin to talk turkey. ;)

...... gee came to think of it I should have bought that magic wand that I saw in the markets **** KOK when I was living in Hong Kong.... I could have solved all our skill errors with one swoop.
Bad Decision errors, skill errors, game plan breaking down, getting tackled from behind, missing goals from set shot 35 meters out directly in-front of goals...etc..etc....

Errors are usually a direct result of confidence. Experience increase's a players confidence, strength increases a players confidence.......

...... gee came to think of it I should have bought that magic wand that I saw in the markets **** KOK when I was living in Hong Kong.... I could have solved all our skill errors with one swoop.
Bad Decision errors, skill errors, game plan breaking down, getting tackled from behind, missing goals from set shot 35 meters out directly in-front of goals...etc..etc....

Errors are usually a direct result of confidence. Experience increase's a players confidence, strength increases a players confidence.......

non errors are a direct result of skill. ie having the nouse to think that right now i really cant follow what the coach has told me to do, because i know that what i deem as the best way forward will tell the coach that i know what i am doing.
That way the coach doesnt have to pick me week after week, because i did what he told me to do, even though a schoolboy playing in a game would have realised it was totally ridiculous. Then TW would have to think that gee, the kid had the skill to work it out himself, instead of following the blueprint to getting smashed once again. ;)

non errors are a direct result of skill. ie having the nouse to think that right now i really cant follow what the coach has told me to do, because i know that what i deem as the best way forward will tell the coach that i know what i am doing.
That way the coach doesn't have to pick me week after week, because i did what he told me to do, even though a schoolboy playing in a game would have realized it was totally ridiculous. ;)

So you are an expert on the high pressure football in-front of 50,000 people every week???? Mate pull the boots on.... WE NEED YOU.

People act a lot differently when they are under intense pressure, and AGAIN experience is a useful tool, funnily enough, that can be extremely helpful in combating the erratic behavior that we have witnessed from our youngsters.......

Personally I'm not yet convinced that Raines will make it as a Player, but gees I'm a fair bit a way from you when it comes to giving up on him.

Give the kids a chance. Some will make it, some wont...... But we need to give them time to find out SURELY.

So you are an expert on the high pressure football in-front of 50,000 people every week???? Mate pull the boots on.... WE NEED YOU.

People act a lot differently when they are under intense pressure, and AGAIN experience is a useful tool, funnily enough, that can be extremely helpful in combating the erratic behavior that we have witnessed from our youngsters.......

Personally I'm not yet convinced that Raines will make it as a Player, but gees I'm a fair bit a way from you when it comes to giving up on him.

Give the kids a chance. Some will make it, some wont...... But we need to give them time to find out SURELY.

All i will offer you is Thursfield. Belongs from day one, cops a knee and belongs even more from day one after his comeback.
You get the chance to pull on the boots in front of 50 thou, you make your move. Those that do, are made for it. The more you get of those that do, the less chance you have of building a team, that ****s it up like the pies do when their window is open. You only get one chance in that window, you dont need players that shat themselves when you were running last and had the "insurance" of having supporters like you, when you were rebuilding. If Raines doesnt turn it around 300% this year, he will go the way of another super rising star in Stephen Ryan. ;)

All i will offer you is Thursfield. Belongs from day one, cops a knee and belongs even more from day one after his comeback.
You get the chance to pull on the boots in front of 50 thou, you make your move. Those that do, are made for it. The more you get of those that do, the less chance you have of building a team, that ****s it up like the pies do when their window is open. You only get one chance in that window, you dont need players that shat themselves when you were running last and had the "insurance" of having supporters like you, when you were rebuilding. If Raines doesnt turn it around 300% this year, he will go the way of another super rising star in Stephen Ryan. ;)

I'll offer you Raines second season when he was runner up in the Rising Star!!!!!

It would not be out of the norm for thursfield to have a off season.... many young players do..... and I'm sure you'll be the first to be on his back like the great supporter you are is he does. :thumbsu: keep the positivity coming.... I'm sure it's rubbing off on the players.:thumbsu:

I'll offer you Raines second season when he was runner up in the Rising Star!!!!!

It would not be out of the norm for thursfield to have a off season.... many young players do..... and I'm sure you'll be the first to be on his back like the great supporter you are is he does. :thumbsu: keep the positivity coming....I'm sure it's rubbing off on the players.:thumbsu:

It wouldnt be, and Thurs makes sure that i dont jump on his back, by not being what we deem as "normal". That is what you dont get.
There are judgement errors, ie learning where you needed to be to maximise your effectiveness. Then you have schoolboy errors, ie not knowing what to do when you had not one, not two, but three lucky breaks, and decided i am going to chance my luck with a fourth.
You have NFI dude. Andrew Raines is talentless at this point in time, when it comes to taking the right option, whether it was first or second or third. He hasnt any raw talent that just makes him take the "right" option when it appears. He relies on a coaches orders, whether they are ****ed or not. If he had talent, he would be making his mark, by going against the coach's orders and giving it off when the time was right to do it. His coach would say nothing if the results were saying that he coached the player to doing what he did.
You talk about players of AFL level as if they were schoolkids learing the a.b,c's of footy.

And as for your rising star comment, you make me laugh. THe winner of that year was Pearce. If you can tell me that if not for the name, you wouldnt do a straight swap for him, then you are completeley lost in space. ;)

I wouldn't worry too much.

It's gonna be a log jam to get into the 8. If Kangas who were tipped to get the spoon last year and then finish top 4 then anyone can make the 8 at least. Even Lions were not supposed to be good last year but they were the in form team for about 6 rounds in the middle of the season and just missed the 8. People were picking the crows for spoon this year and are already havung second thoughts.

I'm excited about the future. For once our list is full of kids who are going to take us somewhere. This year the wins will be more frequent and the losses will be smaller. We are bridging the gap and in a year or two we will have cleaned out the remaining 6 or 7 players who shouldn't be there. Players such as Johnson, Raines, Oakleigh Nicholls, Silvester and Cartledge should be gone by then.