Life

Being lonely is something you have to do. Have to.

I realised today I see a mate probably once every three weeks and that's about it. I actually don't care a huge amount. Get the physical side of it from working and talking close to all day, but eh.

I think a lot of people are tying this is with disappointment, depression, or being disillusioned. Maybe it is but more than anything this thread is about life being a con – the world being designed to keep all of us here totally down.

Be in it today, live more of your life, da da da, da da da da da da, da da! :musicnotes:

Loved those ads when I was a little. In the original one he rings up all his mates to come around and watch some sport on TV whilst sinking some tinnies. They all have excuses because they are doing things, he was particularly stunned that Davo, DAVO, was going kite flying with the kids!
Sad thing is one day we will all get that feeling where no one wants to come over and drink with us while watching Geelong v Essendon on a Saturday night at Etihad.

In ways you either end up the one who dogs the boys, or you're the one left behind with nothing but a fat guts.

You either end up happy and with clearer, cleaner hobbies and habits or else you keep on keeping on with no girlfriend to give you the shits, no campaigner to tell you how to tie your laces at work...

I did it, best thing that ever happened to me. Went from having a shit time at 24 in Melbourne, to coming back ten years later in a really good place.

I'd only thought I'd go for a year.

Also, you have to do it before about 25.

Random question but why specifically before the 25 year bracket?

Nearing that age myself and just curious

Random question but why specifically before the 25 year bracket?

Nearing that age myself and just curious

You're a lot more open and energetic then. You don't generally have committments tying you down.

Kids don't have enough money or desire to do that stuff anymore. Think I know one girl who moved to London at about 22. Know about two guys very loosely who did a summer playing county cricket, but that's it. I'd imagine 15 years ago you'd know heaps of people. Half the sign of the times here but also the stupidly tight laws restricting ease in the UK. The campaigners colonised us, do the righty and let us live there.

Kids don't have enough money or desire to do that stuff anymore.

You gotta stop with this and realise your social circle is not indicative of the world. Look at the stats, more and more Australians are moving overseas than ever.

I didn't go to Europe until 2010 but in the 1990s and early 2000s it was more expensive than it is now. I'm sure Plugger35 can verify. He was there you know.

People seem to take for granted that the dollar buys in the 0.50-0.60+ GBP which has not always been the case. From the mid to late 90s to early 2000s getting above 0.40 was a good deal. Plus I bought a Qantas A380 flight from Melbourne to LA return and it was like $800 or something. That's new too. We booked flights in the late 80s to the UK when I was a kid and it was something like 2000 each then.

Half the reason Australians are seen as such dickheads overseas now is that it's cheaper and easier to travel so thickshits with Southern Cross tatts don't value it.

I remember my sister going over to the UK in maybe 98 or 99. Communication consisted of the odd email or a landline phone call that cost $1/minute or something.

These days I can share a high def photo of my passport, boarding pass and glass of Champagne accompanied with 'how's your Monday?' from an airport terminal on the other side of the globe with free WiFi.

I remember my sister going over to the UK in maybe 98 or 99. Communication consisted of the odd email or a landline phone call that cost $1/minute or something.

These days I can share a high def photo of my passport, boarding pass and glass of Champagne accompanied with 'how's your Monday?' from an airport terminal on the other side of the globe with free WiFi.

#fromwhereyoudratherbe

Haha, yeah, it was like that. I was a couple of years later. I remember going to corner stores and getting phone cards to call home. My Dad sent me a VHS recording of Ablett Jnr’s first game.

Umpiring coach on Sunday.

"You have a girlfriend yet? You have a boyfriend yet"

Me: "nope"

Him *shakes head in disappointment*

Does everyone need to have a wife, kids and mortgage, even at the expense of doing a day job they don't like?

Yes, and more importantly, they NEED to travel. It's the solution to everything.

Sent from mTalk

I'm intending to go overseas this year to get out of a rut once I have sorted out some financial issues and finish a certification I need to do.

I am enjoying my independence and have not found a partner compatible with my interests and ambitions.

And by the way I have heard about friends of friends going to Europe whilst they can't find career work in this country and have found it just as difficult overseas and are struggling.

So it is always important to think through a relocation properly.

John Major was still PM when I moved to GB, I reckon the place's has changed so much since then I'm not sure how much my experience would resemble that of someone who arrived in London today. Labour for one is much more competitive, just arriving and hoping you'll fall into a job of some sorts would be a far more risky proposition.

The amount of people who tried it were struggling to even do some shitty hostel swap-for-job role where you basically do admin every day and then sleep and maybe have three hours of your own time to actually explore London. Even pub work is difficult. Most people gave up after a month and went to Europe and spent their remaining 8 grand on travelling the continent.

I'd love to work in a pub, a classic one and not a filthy Wetherspoons (most UK pubs are ****ing trash these days), in a quiet little town somewhere and get the Megabus to concerts or whatever in the nearest big town but even that is probably difficult.

The amount of people who tried it were struggling to even do some shitty hostel swap-for-job role where you basically do admin every day and then sleep and maybe have three hours of your own time to actually explore London. Even pub work is difficult. Most people gave up after a month and went to Europe and spent their remaining 8 grand on travelling the continent.

I'd love to work in a pub, a classic one and not a filthy Wetherspoons (most UK pubs are ******* trash these days), in a quiet little town somewhere and get the Megabus to concerts or whatever in the nearest big town but even that is probably difficult.
It was more by good luck than good management that I ended up were I did, this was the first pub I worked at.
the-oak-saw-village-inn.jpg

Genuine village local and only an hour west of London. The owners were a couple of middle aged gay guys who adopted me as their wayward gay son and treated me far better than I deserved at times.