Life

So went through coles after work to pick up some supplies for dinner - beef noodles tonight. Went into liquorland cos fugg it why not.

Card gets declined. So awkward.

Just had to cop it, I work in retail so see it happen all the time but it’s a bit more embarrassing when it’s the bottle shop.

Oh well, get to come home, put on some music, fry up some noodles and enjoy a nice drink. Pay days around the corner and have just come off a lovely long weekend. I try not to put too much weight on footy results but I find when freo win it improves the weeks mood a fair bit.

Heading down south with the girlfriend in a couple weeks too.

I guess it’s the little things, having something to look forward to. Appreciating what you have.

I don’t know.

If you are into watching sport on tv there has never been a better time to be alive.

Turn off social media, crack a tin and watch the cricket world cup or French Open or Giro d'Italia or something. As a time killing exercise it beats attention seeking hashtags hands down.

I'm less into sport as I get older. The only sport I really watch anymore is AFL and my interest in that is declining. Over time I have lost interest in cricket, NRL and NFL. I also don't find the Olympics exciting like I did when I was younger. I watched just about every minute of the 1988 Olympics, barely anything of the 2016 Olympics. I really don't know what I'll do when I retire. I have no hobbies, except playing the piano and reading. Can't see myself doing that 16 hours a day though.

It's one reason I'm doing my PhD at my age. I've got no real interest in teaching at university level, though wouldn't necessarily turn it down if I was offered it. But it gives me an interest. And I might be able to write a few papers after I retire.

Just got Kayo and reckon that’s me sorted until retirement and beyond. Along with Netflix, don’t need to leave the house except for work.
lol Murdoch got him in the end.

I'll preface this by saying I'm not an economist but from all I have read, my current business experiences and continuing trends I feel like we could be heading for a dark few years in Australia. Jobs and wages have been stagnant for some time, our dollar is declining (whilst great for exports, most of the mining is overseas owned), real estate is really dropping and it looks like the RBA are going to keep reducing the cash rate. Which they can only really do another 5 times (can go into negative).

Maybe I'm a pessimist but I just can't see how the slide is going to stop anytime soon. I hope everyone is prepared financially for this if it happens, nothing scarier than thinking you could literally lose an entires life of work in a matter of days.

I'm less into sport as I get older. The only sport I really watch anymore is AFL and my interest in that is declining. Over time I have lost interest in cricket, NRL and NFL. I also don't find the Olympics exciting like I did when I was younger. I watched just about every minute of the 1988 Olympics, barely anything of the 2016 Olympics. I really don't know what I'll do when I retire. I have no hobbies, except playing the piano and reading. Can't see myself doing that 16 hours a day though.

I'm similar. I am really enjoying the NBA playoffs/finals and I watch WC games but I'm not that excited about a lot of the stuff that's on. Cricket World Cup has started and I've watched maybe an hour total across a few matches. Even when Australia played I wasn't that interested. I don't remember anything about the 2016 Olympics except the hotels weren't very good and they had a lot of trouble with anything water related (diving pool went green, river had all sorts of shit in it). Plus Australia sucks now so people lose interest on that basis.

I just like that it's there. I grew up 'following' the Premier League by watching an hour of highlights from Saturday on a Monday night. Now I can watch most leagues in Europe live in HD if I have the right platform. Stuff like the Wildcats, Glory, ING Cup cricket etc. you might see occasionally but now you can see all of it if that's your thing.

I'll preface this by saying I'm not an economist but from all I have read, my current business experiences and continuing trends I feel like we could be heading for a dark few years in Australia. Jobs and wages have been stagnant for some time, our dollar is declining (whilst great for exports, most of the mining is overseas owned), real estate is really dropping and it looks like the RBA are going to keep reducing the cash rate. Which they can only really do another 5 times (can go into negative).

Maybe I'm a pessimist but I just can't see how the slide is going to stop anytime soon. I hope everyone is prepared financially for this if it happens, nothing scarier than thinking you could literally lose an entires life of work in a matter of days.

People need to detach from real estate being a pillar of the economy. If you build a house then someone does the earthworks, someone pours a slab, someone lays bricks, someone does tiling, plumbing, roofing etc. It's a process that employs people. If you just buy an existing house then a slimey real estate agent makes a commission, a settlement agent who does all the actual work makes a small amount and that's that. There's no value added.

Real estate dropping is a good thing. A large scale collapse will have negative flow on effects but prices correcting to what people can actually afford is a positive thing. People should work to make money to have a standard of living, not work to make money to pay as much as they can on a mortgage so they can say their house is worth $1m.

I'm pretty similar, I used to be fanatical about the Broncos NRL (was a member) the old BRL ie. Brisbane Rugby League comp pre Broncos, the Aussie Cricket team and English soccer. Like you I also loved the Olympics particularly the athletics track events.

Late 90s I jumped on the Lions bandwagon and have never jumped off, not interested in the NRL, Cricket or Olympics anymore. I do have a passing interest in the EPL though, it's all about the AFL for me now.

I'm already retired and my 34 year marriage ended nearly 2 years ago now, I live by myself in a studio apartment, my typical day is taken up with early morning walks, Yoga class, Big Footy, reading and picking my 2 youngest grandchildren up from school and looking after them until my son and his wife get home from work around 4.30pm. Sometimes I go for a late afternoon run or walk as well.

I've been quite indifferent towards cricket got a few years now. Used to be a die hard up until about 19. First thing was when T20 was saturating the domestic comps and then the international calender. Then a lot of pitches for test cricket became roads (been addressed since). Then sandpaper gate happened.

Pardon my ignorance but can you expand on that? How would people lose all that money in a matter of days? Real estate?

I've been quite indifferent towards cricket got a few years now. Used to be a die hard up until about 19. First thing was when T20 was saturating the domestic comps and then the international calender. Then a lot of pitches for test cricket became roads (been addressed since). Then sandpaper gate happened.

Too many other options these days. People much rather chuck the NBA or NFL on these days or even play the NFL or NBA video games rather than watch cricket. Doesn't help the players are unlikeable too.

Pardon my ignorance but can you expand on that? How would people lose all that money in a matter of days? Real estate?

One way would be defaulting on a mortgage because you've lost your job and have no way to make repayments

I'm already retired and my 34 year marriage ended nearly 2 years ago now, I live by myself in a studio apartment, my typical day is taken up with early morning walks, Yoga class, Big Footy, reading and picking my 2 youngest grandchildren up from school and looking after them until my son and his wife get home from work around 4.30pm. Sometimes I go for a late afternoon run or walk as well.

Sounds pretty good to me!

Too many other options these days. People much rather chuck the NBA or NFL on these days or even play the NFL or NBA video games rather than watch cricket. Doesn't help the players are unlikeable too.

Cricket just hasn't adapted to modern times like other sports have.

Too many draws for test cricket has definitely been a factor in people losing interest and where as other sports have changed rules to make it better all they have done is reduced the game shorter to 20 overs each side to try and win new fans.

One way would be defaulting on a mortgage because you've lost your job and have no way to make repayments

Goldman Sachs likes this....Making profits by bankrupting clients since 1929.....And still getting bailed out by their criminal government mates for doing so.

Real estate dropping is a good thing. A large scale collapse will have negative flow on effects but prices correcting to what people can actually afford is a positive thing. People should work to make money to have a standard of living, not work to make money to pay as much as they can on a mortgage so they can say their house is worth $1m.

Not sure if I feel sorry for the people or not who have purchased over priced houses in the last 5 years.

As Gigantic said, would be mostly the people with their money tied up in real estate. Also, those who have been saving to buy a house. You could have been working away in a minimum wage job for 20 years, scraping by and trying to save up enough for a deposit on a house. Next thing, you lose your job and with the downturn there are no new jobs for "unskilled" workers (we are seeing this now). You continue being unemployed for another few years and use up all of your savings and more so by the time you get employed, pay back your debt etc you are 55 with a minimum amount of super and living from pay check to pay check until the day you drop.

The first sign of something serious will be when you see smaller/remote cities and towns that rely on a couple of big employers who start to lay people off. Also high domestic tourist spots like the Gold Coast will be a good gauge on things. This all sounds pessimistic but history is littered with examples (recent as well) were this has happened and I'm not sure why people think Australia will forever be exempt from this.