List Cleanup for 2017

I understand that Mundy has triggered the clause in his contract that sees him playing in 2018.

This season he averaged 21 possessions a game - his lowest average since 2010. He got to 30 possessions 3 times, and had 9 games where he got less than 20. His greatest weapon has always been his kicking but you can't kick it if you don't get it. He isn't quick and he's not a genuine forward. He's too slow to play as a genuine defender. To me it feels a bit like what happened with Micky B where we were trying to find a role for him.

Is he best 22 in 2018? If we have a full list I don't see a place for him and TBH he's a fair way down the pecking order in my view. Do we want him on the list if he's just playing for Peel?
While i agree with what you're saying there are about 15 other blokes that need to go before him.

His numbers are down because Ross isn't playing him in the middle. He's letting others learn to take that role over. The few times Mundy was left in the middle he was still very good. He has never relied on speed or acceleration to do well. He has footy smarts and that is far better than any athletic trait.

Reckon you're about a year too early with that call. He's on the way down, sure. But he often had an impact up forward and still showed us on occasion what he can do in the middle.

Next year I want to feel confident that anyone getting the ball will dispose of it to a team mate successfully and going forward. On that score alone there are plenty behind Mundy in 2018.

Could not agree more, perhaps not a full time midfielder now but happy to have him forward or back with occasional runs in the midfield. When he has the ball good things usually happen.

Mundy should be pretty effective next year if he spends time swinging back and forth between the forward and back half. Sadly he's past his best in the midfield - we need consistency and bigger tanks in there next season.

While i agree with what you're saying there are about 15 other blokes that need to go before him.

His numbers are down because Ross isn't playing him in the middle. He's letting others learn to take that role over. The few times Mundy was left in the middle he was still very good. He has never relied on speed or acceleration to do well. He has footy smarts and that is far better than any athletic trait.

Agreed, his foot skills, smarts and leadership should see him waaaayyy down the list of issues that need fixing. Would love to see him at HHF delivering it inside 50

I haven't listened to it myself yet - but you can listen to our list manager talk about us on RTTD here:

https://audioboom.com/posts/6313679-road-to-the-2017-draft-ep-20-brad-lloyd

About 40 minutes.

Summary

Player retention very important.
Year of transition. Need to get games into players.

Logue- great size, attitudes and athleticly.
Long term - Wing / defender. Covered a lot of bases.

Darcy - shed weight quickly, very competitive. Running is improving.

Ryan - caught up with him multiple times before draft. Good mark, good kick. Had a chat with Peter German before.

Tucker - getting games into him. Did not have a great draft year. Had a better year as bottom age player.

Weller - challenged him to take the game on and break lines. Starting to move more into midfield.

2016 rebuild. Realised we weren't winning and old. Put a list replenishment strategy in place. Not looking at older players.

A 4 year plan is in place.

Fyfe - touch Base with Dover every 2 or 3 days. Felt comfortable with progress.

Draft night - all planning done before. 2017 looks good. Best available early.

Pretty even top 7.

If that is true it could be a case that the club hasn't decided which list these players are going to be on. There's less incentive to upgrade rookies now given they can play round one regardless anyway but the club will want to bring in a certain amount of rookies. They may also clear space on the senior list by delisting/retiring/trading contracted players. These guys won't be in high demand and not committing either way leaves us a bit of flexibility.

FWIW I would've thought that 12 odd games from Grey and missing little games outside of injury would be enough for a senior list spot probably nine out of ten times. Uebergang probably looks in trouble whilst the other rookies if salim is on the money are imo probably rookie list material for next season. Wouldn't be against Deluca or Nyhuis sitting on the senior list though - can't be on the rookie list forever.

Wouldnt be fair to leave them on rookie list for another season? from a personal point of view should be upgraded or traded to where they can be given chances to play regular senior footy.

Is there some change to the structure of the rookie list next year? Grey and Deluca currently still on the rookie list, but I heard Hagdorn prattling on this morning about some different kind of status next year which allows rookie listed players to be able to get games without having to be elevated onto a main list to replace someone...or something like that.

I suppose if there is a change it would affect the overall make-up of the squad numbers.

Is there some change to the structure of the rookie list next year? Grey and Deluca currently still on the rookie list, but I heard Hagdorn prattling on this morning about some different kind of status next year which allows rookie listed players to be able to get games without having to be elevated onto a main list to replace someone...or something like that.

I suppose if there is a change it would affect the overall make-up of the squad numbers.

Correct. Elevations are no longer required.

List Cleanup for 2017