List Mgmt. List Management Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter 1990crow

Ryan hasn't been given a chance and as a late first round pick need to see what he has at some point, I would give him 1 year

I have it:

Dowling - trade

Jones - delist

Sholl - trade / delist

Welsh - keep on rookie list

Walker - retire

Butts - FA departs

Would shop ROB around too
Forgot Walker, but honestly, if he keeps going the way he's going, there's every chance he asks for another year.

But when he does retire, he should just slot straight into our Coaching Panel as our Forward Line coach and then we can finally get rid of Burns. Fog moves into the Walker role and Ludo comes in as the third key forward, he's the same height as Maley - so with some size could be the chop in ruck with time.

Ryan hasn't been given a chance and as a late first round pick need to see what he has at some point, I would give him 1 year

I have it:

Dowling - trade

Jones - delist

Sholl - trade / delist

Walker - retire

Butts - FA departs

Jones might get some interest from Tasmania I would think so might get something.

Does Dowling have trade value especially if he doesn't get more AFL exposure this season?

Are you sure we don't want to keep Butts at this point if possible given he had interest last year and didn't pursue it.

Either way I can't see us getting anything worthwhile draft collateral wise apart from possibly Butts?

Jones might get some interest from Tasmania I would think so might get something.

Does Dowling have trade value especially if he doesn't get more AFL exposure this season?

Are you sure we don't want to keep Butts at this point if possible given he had interest last year and didn't pursue it.

Either way I can't see us getting anything worthwhile draft collateral apart from possibly Butts?
Still a year between Jones' contract up this year and Tassie in the AFL in 2028, hence why I think he probably takes the delisting and goes and plays with them in the VFL.

Can't see any trade value for Dowling, late pick 10 games in 3 years....

Either way I can't see us getting anything worthwhile draft collateral apart from possibly Butts?
I believe he is set on going back to Tassie for family reasons, whether he plays or not I dont know.

I'd be keeping Jordy too.

I do wonder whether Berry might be on the trade table, he does have value currently and if we want to bring in a Bailey he'd be surplus.

I believe he is set on going back to Tassie for family reasons, whether he plays or not I dont know.

I do wonder whether Berry might be on the trade table, he does have value currently and if we want to bring in a Bailey he'd be surplus.
I can't agree with that! They are entirely different players, with different roles.

It's like saying that we should trade Berry now because Rankine can play mid.

I can't agree with that! They are entirely different players, with different roles.

It's like saying that we should trade Berry now because Rankine can play mid.
They are different of course, but the midfield takes on a new dynamic in the event Bailey joins us. I'm also making the big assumption Draper and Curtin slot in.

Berry would be right on the edge of the 23.

[td]

[/td]
[td]

[/td]​

I don’t know about that. Nicola is an Adelaide girl and they have 2 young children. 18 months and 3 months old. I imagine she would need her family close to her right now.

They might relocate to Tasmania one day, but I doubt that’s any time soon.

[td]

[/td]
[td]

[/td]​

I don’t know about that. Nicola is an Adelaide girl and they have 2 young children. 18 months and 3 months old. I imagine she would need her family close to her right now.

They might relocate to Tasmania one day, but I doubt that’s any time soon.
Beg to differ on that one, with some level of certainty.

Of course, I know the saying well. It can't hurt to express your opinion robustly, many others do.
It seems that there is general agreement on the value of players, but much disagreement on the importance of the long-term effects on the team of vastly overpaying an opportunistic free agent.

Any reasoned argument should now be directed to emotionless discussions on the latter.
I personally don't think "pay the guy anything, and hang the consequences" is a reasoned argument, but I'm happy to listen to one.
Successful teams don't need to pay as much to retain players, who will stick around for less to try to win the flag.

Bailey helps us get closer to a flag, and closer to bringing in other players who could help win us a flag.

So, by bringing in Bailey at the $ quoted, we might even reduce the overall amount we have to pay other players in 5 years' time compared to not bringing him in.

Add to that an ability to front end Bailey's contract, and we could well find ourselves in a better financial situation when Curtin and Filthy want their next contract.

But mostly, we have a pretty good squad of players looking to peak at a similar time, but probably don't quite have the cattle to win a flag when that happens. Drafting alone won't get us there, they won't be ready when everyone else is peaking.

A flag has to be the aim, so we need to bring in the Zac Bailey's of the AFL and this is the cost of doing so.

If that means we lose some gun players in a few years' time, I'd still take the opportunity to try to win a flag before that happens.

And if Bailey (plus others) don't get us there, Curtin-Filthy-Worrell etc weren't as good as we thought they were and probably won't cost us as much in the future as we now think.

Melbourne premiership onballer Tom Sparrow is set to leave a decision on his future until later in the year as he is monitored by both South Australian clubs.
Sparrow is an unrestricted free agent and understood to be firmly on the radar of Port Adelaide as the club looks to expand its midfield depth against the backdrop of Zak Butters’ possible departure.

The Crows also have renewed interest in the Adelaide Hills product after previously pursuing him and Harrison Petty as possible inclusions in the trade which sent Shane McAdam to Melbourne at the end of 2023.

Despite the clubs circling, it is understood Sparrow is happy living in Melbourne but will not entertain contract talks until the bye rounds as he tries to build on a strong start to his eighth season.

Thoughts on Blake Drury in mid season to take over Taylor’s position as a specialist small fwd?
I don’t watch heaps of sanfl but we need some more tackling pressure.

Melbourne premiership onballer Tom Sparrow is set to leave a decision on his future until later in the year as he is monitored by both South Australian clubs.
Sparrow is an unrestricted free agent and understood to be firmly on the radar of Port Adelaide as the club looks to expand its midfield depth against the backdrop of Zak Butters’ possible departure.

The Crows also have renewed interest in the Adelaide Hills product after previously pursuing him and Harrison Petty as possible inclusions in the trade which sent Shane McAdam to Melbourne at the end of 2023.

Despite the clubs circling, it is understood Sparrow is happy living in Melbourne but will not entertain contract talks until the bye rounds as he tries to build on a strong start to his eighth season.
Can’t imagine we need another b grader at best, Port addition that’s for Sure!

I have it:

Dowling - trade

Jones - delist

Sholl - trade / delist

Walker - retire

Butts - FA departs

If someone hasn't been good enough to earn a chance (or even be close to one), then they are an easy delist.

We aren't a charity afterall, nor do you need to see someone play football at the highest level to accurately judge their capabilities.

Thoughts on Blake Drury in mid season to take over Taylor’s position as a specialist small fwd?
I don’t watch heaps of sanfl but we need some more tackling pressure.

There will be a very smart club out there who takes Drury as an MSD/ this offseason. Dude has looked a class above the SANFL and then some this year, might just be a late bloomer.

Definitely worth exploring if your Adelaide, although it might be the wrong time with Ah Chee and the need to settle Draper somewhere for a year or two whilst his body gets right.

There will be a very smart club out there who takes Drury as an MSD/ this offseason. Dude has looked a class above the SANFL and then some this year, might just be a late bloomer.

Definitely worth exploring if your Adelaide, although it might be the wrong time with Ah Chee and the need to settle Draper somewhere for a year or two whilst his body gets right.
Too small

Too small

Plenty of players have and will continue to make a career at 177 cm of height.

Not like he's struggling to push 165 cm.

For context Chayce Jones could be argued to have had a better game. And he's terrible at AFL level.
If that was the metric, we wouldnt be picking Draper this week either.

Drury deserves another chance, like so many others have been given. Whether thats with us or someone else is worthy of discussion.

With regards to the MSD I'd be keeping a very close eye on Central Districts new recruit Josh Fahey, has played plenty of outstanding footy in the strongest League outside of the AFL in the VFL for the Giants but being behind two outstanding rebounding defenders Lachie Ash and Lachie Whitfield he never got the opportunities his talents desrrved. Has excellent speed and takes the game on with his aggressive run and carry and his bazooka left boot along with his take no prisoners tackling style and elite endurance. Centrals best against the Crows on the weekend on his SANFL debut.

Cal Twomeys write up on Josh Fahey the 2021 draft.

AFL Draft Phantom Form Guide: October​

Draft guru Cal Twomey reveals his October rankings of the 2021 draft pool, with four weeks left until the AFL Draft.
By Callum Twomey, AFL Media
icture: AFL Photos
26_Form-Guide-strips_October-2021_Josh-Fahey.jpg

Defender
186cm/76kg
11/11/03
GWS Academy

The left-footer was named the NAB AFL Academy's best player in its VFL clash against Geelong earlier this season after impressing out of defence with 23 disposals. Fahey is a take-them-on backman who likes to run and carry the ball out of defence and break the lines with his penetrating kicking. He also played three games with the Giants' VFL side this season and is tied to Greater Western Sydney as an Academy player. His 2km time trial – submitted via running app Strava due to his Draft Combine being unable to proceed – saw him come in second overall with a run of 5:59 minutes.