Sera

Fremantle Dockers
Well, thats it. 2003 is over. Time to have another look at the list. Tell us what you think.

Damien Adkins – Disappointing. Totally disappeared in away games. Needs to bulk up and win the hard ball. Next year will be telling.

Drew Banfield – Slow veteran. Not a bad year but his time is almost up. Taking the place of youngsters who will take us forward. Dead wood.

Michael Braun – Best year for quite some time. Was exposed at times for height ie overhead marking. Is 25, small and not quick but puts his body on the line.

Trent Carroll – Improved heaps this year but still NQR for AFL. Delist.

Callum Chambers – Quick mid-age receiver. Out of favour. Gone.

Daniel Chick – Good earlier in the year but average when carrying injuries. Thrives on challenges. Sets an example with work ethic and training.

Michael Collica – Vanilla defender that lacks run and height. Exposed for agility by small forwards like Johncock. Neither one thing nor the other. Hunter is now the preferred option.

Ben Cousins – Not his best year, but far from ordinary. Took a while to get going but was inspirational at times. Runs his heart out - sideways - needs to run the lines more often.

Dean Cox – Was average in first half of the year but warmed to the task when Gardiner went down. Still needs lots of gym work.

Andrew Embley – A revelation. Exposes opponents for speed or height. All Australian form for most of the year. But can he back up again?

Chad Fletcher – Very, very good for most of the year. Good inside and gets lots of possessions. Struggled for form after coming back from injury.

Michael Gardiner – All Australian ruckman (or should be). Has put the troubles of the previous year behind him and was a vital key to our mid season dominance. Arguably our most valuable player.

Travis Gaspar – Looked really promising early in the year, which ended up as just another season ruined by injury.

Darren Glass – Not a champion, or an all-Australian-type defender, but has improved and will become a valuable defender with more experience and confidence.

Kasey Green – His first full season and was serviceable. In and out of the team a bit, but played most games. Still needs to be more physical.

Ashley Hansen – Didn’t play a game.

David Haynes – Some people rate him but I’m not one of them. Even when he was playing well, he kicked most of his goals late in the game when the sting had gone out of it. Average mark and skills and would have some trade value.

Jeremy Humm – Only played a few games but still NQR for AFL. Needs more experience at AFL level if he is going to make it.

Adam Hunter – Good utility, was dropped at one stage but has good height, agility and not a bad mark. Played on some big names this year. A part of our future.

Glen Jakovich – Reinvented himself as a CHF. His best was very good but his worst was very ordinary. Struggled for consistency. Should consider retirement but will probably play on.

Paul Johnson – Played just the one game before breaking his leg in the WAFL.

Rowan Jones – Strong overhead for his size. Had a good season with a couple of BOGs. Needs lots of kicking practice in the offseason.

Chris Judd – Professional on-baller and future champion, if he isn't already. Fantastic first half before going off the boil a little and struggled with tagging and injuries. Brisbane game was a highlight. A vital part of our future.

Daniel Kerr – One of our best inside players. Struggled mid-season but came home strongly. A vital part of our future.

Quinten Lynch – Didn’t play a game. May seek opportunities elsewhere.

Philip Matera – Lots of goals but loses his cool sometimes and leads the AFL in 50m-penalties against. Needs to be more disciplined.

Andrew McDougall – Finally showed us what we have all been waiting for. Our future Full Forward. Expect a big year from him next year.

Ashley McIntosh – Disappointing to see him finish his career struggling against opponents who couldn’t have held a flame to him at the height of his powers.

Chad Morrison – Continues to struggle to get fit and play well. Can he still play at this level? On lots of money, may be traded.

Kane Munro – Skillful but lacks a physical presence. 4 years on the list and still hasn’t done much. Must be skating on thin ice.

Phil Read – Was once a very good player. Now just an average, small, middle-age footballer who can get under the skin of opponents.

Ashley Sampi – Very impressive at times and showed why he was taken so high in the draft. Temperament remains a question mark.

Mark Seaby – Didn’t play a game.

Adam Selwood – Only 2 games but I’m impressed with what I see. A young Chad Morrison.

David Sierakowski - Bye.

Brent Staker – 195cm rookie who surprised us all. Looks sharp and skillful and is great at picking up the ball of the ground. A young Mitchell White.

Troy Wilson – Bye Troy, thanks for the memories. You will be missed :(

David Wirrpunda – No preseason ruined any hope of him playing up the ground. A fantastic season that faded badly towards the end. Please don't go :(

Josh Wooden – Tagger and 2nd string backup player. One of those players who you always question at the end of the year. Is his time finally up?

Cousins
Gardiner
Embley
Chick
Judd
Wirrapunda
Kerr
Fletcher - Elite players 1-8

Matera
McDougall - Mid level elite - 9-10

Everyone else is in the third level 16-22 type players.ie Passengers. All up for TRADE

Players have to step up.

A LOT OF GUYS THAT FALL INTO THE MIDDLE RANGE, CAN'T DELIST OR TRADE THEM ALL, HOPE THE COACHING STAFF OVERHAUL OUR SPINE , NEEDS IT

Might do something more comprehensive later.

Damien Adkins – Quick, wonderful kick, very disappointing this year. Beef up.

Drew Banfield – Agree with Sera. Still an okay player who gets by on his footy smarts, but the clock is ticking. Can't find a spot in the midfield, too slow to tag, regularly on the receiving end of rapings from small forwards.

Michael Braun – Has heart, works his arse off. Not a blue ribbon midfielder, but worth a spot on the interchange. Tradeable, though.

Trent Carroll – Maybe one last chance, given our dearth of defenders. Could do an Embley, but I'm not holding my breath. Not AFL standard

Callum Chambers – Has ability, wonderful finisher. Worsfold appears to hate his guts.

Daniel Chick – Leadership personified. Not a star, but a handy player when fit.

Michael Collica – Never recovered from his extended stint in the WAFL. Its a fine line between being a midsized versatile defender and too small and not quick enough. Needs to nail his spot in the side next year, or he'll be gone.

Ben Cousins – Has grown as a captain, despite some injury niggles this year. The best is yet to come, methinks.

Dean Cox – Promise, needs to beef up. Not a top level ruckman just yet, but might become one.

Andrew Embley – Faultless this year. Pretty much the most even, consistent player on our list this year. If he stays focused, and puts in the hard work again this off season, 2004 could be an enormous year.

Chad Fletcher – Outstanding year, great form, hope for a repeat next year.

Michael Gardiner – Our most valuable player. Absolute superstar, please please pleast stay fit.

Travis Gaspar – Promise, and lots and lots of injures. We've missed him badly since early on in the year- unless he can stay fit next year, the clock begins to tick.

Darren Glass – Has sold me this past month. Turned the corner as a player about halfway through this year, and is well on his way to becoming a reliable full back. Needs to barricade himself in the weights room, however.

Kasey Green – Average year- hasn't cemented his place in the team, but is still a chance.

Ashley Hansen – We need a key forward, he is a key forward. Time to see what he can do.

David Haynes – Took a huge step forward this year. A bit Scotty Cummingsish in physique, so he needs to work on his fitness and agility. Not the answer to our full forward woes, however- decent third tall forward option.

Jeremy Humm – Disappointing year. Courage, great in the wet, but hasn't earnt his spot yes.

Adam Hunter – Concur with Sera. Great year, wonderful promise. Too skinny to be a full time key defender, another member of the 'go to the weights room and don't come out' brigade.

Glen Jakovich – Jako, please retire. Has been okay this year, but if he's go now, he'll have capped off his wonderful career with a solid last season. If he plays next year, he'll become another MicK Martyn. As long as we're playing Jako, we're holding back youngsters.

Paul Johnson – Promising young tall, a bit cumbersome, and got stage fright on his first chance at AFL level.

Rowan Jones – Reinvented himself as a forward. Smart, strong, and a good mark- Must must must must must must MUST learn to kick.

Chris Judd – As good as was expected. Needs to learn to deal with taggers, and needs to work on the defensive part of his game.

Daniel Kerr – Came good as the year went on. May never crack the Voss/Buckley/Hird/Cousins category, but would be about on top of the next level of elite players.

Quinten Lynch – Was impressive last year, don't know what the hell he's done to deserve his treatment this year.

Philip Matera – The best small forward in the business, but like any small forward, is best when he's the icing on the cake rather than the main target.

Andrew McDougall – Came good as the year went on. A worthy full time forward, and one of the biggest reasons why Jako shouldn't play on.

Ashley McIntosh – Should have played his last game against Melbourne a fortnight ago. Stayed a bit too long, sad to see a champ finish his career as a sub-standard player. Jako, take note.

Chad Morrison – Disappointing come back season. Needs to cement his place next year.

Kane Munro – A season away from delisting. Weights Room.

Phil Read – Disappointing year. Was getting undeserved games towards the end of the year, and didn't really take his chances. Another player who should be on notice next year.

Ashley Sampi – Champagne footballer, flawless skills and frightening athleticism. Needs to work hard this off season, because he deserves a place in our engine room.

Mark Seaby – Lots of promise, still hasn't broken into the team. Has to find a way past Cox/Gardiner.

Adam Selwood – Got stage fright in the finals, but I have high hopes for him. Is big enough to be the tagger we need- has a future.

David Sierakowski - Got a few games towards the end of the year, and didn't embarass himself. But his time is up.

Brent Staker – 195cm rookie who didn't surprise me at all. Thought he was great from the firs time i saw him touch a footy at training. Has an enormous future, the sooner he beefs up, the sooner he'll become a player.

Troy Wilson – Was a useful player for a while, but was always one poor season away from delisting. He had that season this year, so long.

David Wirrpunda – Still as good as ever, but still searching for a year unblemished by injuries.

Josh Wooden – Got chances early in the year, didn't take them. Really not that good a tagger, not good enough to break into our A1 midfield. Another guy who needs a good year to keep his place next season.

well i had just about finished an extremely long review, had 2 players to go until i accidently hit 2 buttons at once i didnt mean to (and dont know which ones yet:P) and the window closed so im afraid the review is gone and i cant be stuffed doing it again. Is along the lines of the above.

Damien Adkins –Incredibly quick, incredibly skillfull, incredibly dissapointing this year. showed against Brisbane what he can do, and many times showed ghow to go missing. Has a future, but needs some bulk...

Drew Banfield – As others mentioned. Tick, tick, tick. Still ok for certain matchups, but is now struggling to be best 22.

Michael Braun – Proved me wrong in the last two months, as I had him as trade bait. An excellent wingman, and a promising sign for next year was his late season form (even through tough times)

Trent Carroll – May have to stay around with Milli going. Not in an ideal world

Callum Chambers – What did he do?

Daniel Chick – At times dissapointing, as he tends to go missing a bit. Great leader when on song.

Michael Collica – He was a good player in a crappy team, and I like him, but I don't know where his future is in this team....

Ben Cousins – The captain. anyone who watched today saw a an inspirational leader. he's tagged each week and will still win the B+F this year (again).

Dean Cox – IMO is not good enough - tough call I know, but is probably worth more to others than us. He got flogged today by a quality ruckman.

Andrew Embley – Could win a Brownlow. Last year I salivated about the chances of getting (a Brisbane style) Headland, I reckon Embley has delivered that player to us this year.

Chad Fletcher – Outstanding year, great form, hope for a repeat next year. (This was Mead's post - I agree)

Michael Gardiner – The best ruckman in the AFL. Also a handy forward. Probably now in the top 6-8 players in the game.

Travis Gaspar – Our future. If this guy continues his form line (and beats the injuries) he will be the new Jako, wherever he plays.

Darren Glass – I'm now sold. He's our best key defender. Still can't make a decision with the footy but we'll work on that.

Kasey Green – One of my favourites. Has been around for a few years and has probably shown that he is good enough. I think we missed him a bit today as he at least provides some pace off half back. Out of contract so let's hope the club sorts that out soon.

Ashley Hansen – Gone

David Haynes – IMO is only a flanker. His hands vary from excellent to ****house, depending on confidence. worth sticking with, just gotta find the spot.

Jeremy Humm – Sorry, but don't see enough in him. Tough at the footy, but that's not always enough.

Adam Hunter – He's gonna be great, just gotta work out where. Too slim for a KPP ATM, but I suspect that's his future. As Mead said, weights room!!!!

Glen Jakovich – Great player, but time has passed him by. As much as I hate to say it (because I'd love to see an Eagle pass 300) I think he's finished.

Paul Johnson – Has talent, and will continue to develop in the WAFL.

Rowan Jones – Geez he'd be a great player if he could kick the footy. He's easily one of our best ball winners and is a great mark. Only 22 as well, so maybe the kick will come....

Chris Judd – No entry required.

Daniel Kerr – His last few weeks have shown he is as tough as talented. A very bright future.

Quinten Lynch – Has obviously ****ed someone off. There is no other explanation. Should have been playing by about round 18 this year.

Philip Matera – Needs to learn he is not the target. Has played well tis year, but at times this has been at the detriment of his teammates.

Andrew McDougall – A star. Our next FF. I really rate this bloke. Him and Gaspar are the future.

Ashley McIntosh – Thanks for the years Milli. In retrospect playing on this year was probably a mistake, but you are without a doubt one of our proud club's finest.

Chad Morrison – Has not had the impact we would have hoped, and by all reports is seriously overpaid.

Kane Munro – Don't rate him - and I doubt he'll get too many games next year

Phil Read – Played ok at times, terribly at others. Adds a mongrel spirit we need, but needs to get more footy and dispose much better n the run!

Ashley Sampi – Endless talent, looks lazy at times. I hope he'll be as good as Lewie, but that's a tough act to follow.

Mark Seaby – Potential plus, and adds lots of back up to our ruck division. May win the Sandover which may put pressure on Cox.

Adam Selwood – Young, talented, needs weights. Looks the goods but there's a ton of guys out there at the same level. will probably show more next year.

David Sierakowski - Injury has robbed this bloke, and I like hime. but he's gone.

Brent Staker – Could be anything. I hope he doesn't bulk up too much because I'd love to have a 195cm HFF who moves like he does. With Doogs and Gaspar could be a scary forward line for years.

Troy Wilson – Did his job. Gone

David Wirrpunda – Plays brilliantly, but needs to be more consistent for a guy who reportedly earns not much less than Cousins.

Josh Wooden – Has talent, and speed, and skills. And yet for some reason it quite often doesn't come together for him. Maybe because he's from Canberra.....

pretty good larrikin, but im just wondering have you actually seen hansen play? he wasnt given an opportunity this year but thats not because he isnt good enough. He at least deserves one more year to see what he is like at AFL level IMO.

Nucleus of team:

Cousins
Gardiner
Judd
Kerr
Wirrpunda
Matera
McDougall
Glass
Cox
Embley

Glass is the only one tradeable here - and that would be for another KPP. Wirra only if he wanted out.

Possible Trade:
Fletcher (for Hay/Jacobs etc)
Read
Braun
Jones
Adkins
Collica
Haynes
Hunter
Morrison
Munro

Fletcher might just be at his peak value. I'd be happy to sacrifice him for a quality KPP. I think he is mentally a bit soft. Seems to go missing if things are going right for him. If we want a quality player, we have to give up a quality player.

Delist/Retire:
Siera
Wilson
McIntosh

Lesser role:
Banfield (He's been okay this year, but I'd prefer Humm for future's sake)
Jakovich (prefer to give some youngsters some quality game time)

Damien Adkins-- A trade that failed- Delist
Drew Banfield-- Move to backline worked but too slow-Retain
Michael Braun--Showed his true potential this year-Retain
Trent Carroll--Lumbering non-aerialist-Delist
Callum Chambers--Move to defence-Retain
Daniel Chick--When injury free will amaze-Retain
Michael Collica--Not enough versatility-Delist
Ben Cousins-- Electric-Retain
Dean Cox--Needs to be able to be used on the ground rather than off of the bench-Trade
Andrew Embley--Potential plus-Retain
Chad Fletcher--Peaking-Retain
Michael Gardiner--Will win the brownlow next year-Retain
Travis Gaspar--Future CHB/CHF- Retain
Darren Glass--Full Back sewn up- Retain
Kasey Green--Been on the list as long as Doogs Cox and Kerr-Trade/Retain
Ashley Hansen--Future CHF/CHB-Retain
David Haynes-- Not a Full Forward not a Backman-Trade
Jeremy Humm--See Green-Retain
Adam Hunter--Third tall option down forward or up front-Retain
Glen Jakovich--Retire a champion not a chump-Retire
Paul Johnson--Will develop into something great-Retain
Rowan Jones--Great hands and endurance, will only get better-Retain
Chris Judd--Future Legend-Retain
Daniel Kerr--Can only improve-Retain
Quinten Lynch--See Hansen/Gaspar
Philip Matera--Put a big man in the square and watch him go-Retain
Peter Matera--Should have retired earlier to give a youngster a shot-Retired
Andrew McDougall--Full Forward sewn up-Retain
Ashley McIntosh--Retired 1 season to late
Chad Morrison--Injury free may be another Chick-Retain
Kane Munro--Drafted 1999 had enough time to bulk up-Delist
Phil Read--Needs to take a lesson from Libba-Retain
Ashley Sampi--Consistency will see him star-Retain
Mark Seaby--The next Gardiner-Retain
Adam Selwood--Another pre-season should show if he will cut it-Retain
David Sierakowski--If younger would have developed wonderfully-Delist
Brent Staker--Will be a great asset when developed-Retain
Troy Wilson--Too one dimensional-Delist
David Wirrpunda--Will injury rob us of seeing his full potential-Retain/Trade
Josh Wooden--Out of favour but should be Retained-Retain/Trade

Rookies
Mark Nicoski--showed that he has the skill to take the next step-Promote
Zac Beeck--Has done some good things this year but being 21 and 4 seasons on the rookie list says it all-Delist
Clancy Rudeforth--Shown some promise but is it enough. The same size as Read and Adkins but would need to work on his defensive game-Retain
Aaron Edwardes--Played mainly in the reserves this year. Kicked 4 goals in the 1st Reserves Semi but is only 184cms-another year on the rookie list perhaps-Retain

Retire/d
Jakovich
Peter Matera
Ashley McIntosh
David Sierakowski
Troy Wilson

Delist
Adkins
Carroll
Collica
Munro

Trade
Cox
Green
Haynes
Wirrpunda
Wooden

Promote
Nicoski
Rudeforth

Leaves us with 7 Senior and 3 Rookie spots available

Honestly, I've read the biggest amount of cr@p on this post.

Jako retire? Are you serious?

The main thread from today's game has been are lack of a target at CHF, no one preseting to take a mark / make a contest.

And whom to you assume would do that if we had a fully fit list?

McDougall? Possibly, could, but with 12 games (ish) under his belt, he is NOT going to be the key CHF next year. And seems to play better closer to goals.

Staker? At CHF next season, after seven games? Come on, how many contested marks has he taken? The boy has a lot of potential, and I agree with the Mitchell Whiteness, but White himself was not a true CHF, he was more crafty and skillful, then a powerful marking lead.

Gaspar? It a perfect world, when he is fit, and we can name our best team, he'd be my CHB anyway.

Who else is there?

Haynes? he's a flanker.

Gardiner? he could do it, but he is the best ruck in the league.

Lynch? I'd like to think so, but he doesn't have the experience.

You just can't rock up in this league and be this great CHF who solves all the attacking problems (especially ours). There is no quick fix. We're out there to win games next season, we will be a legitimate contender, but not with a 12 game rookie at CHF. They'll be on the flank.

Let's argue that next week we did go to Brisbane .... Leppitsch comes out at CHB, maybe White or someone that build on the flank ... are you really going to run with Staker at CHF with Leppitsch on him? I'm not saying that in the future he won't be able to do it, but he needs at least 40 games under his belt.

The upside of Jako is still great, he can still take a strong mark, he knows where to lead, he is a true onfield leader and inspiration. I actually like the forward lines of ...

HF: Sampi Jakovich Staker
F: Matera McDougall Haynes / Jones.

has the right amount of balance, height, experience and pace.

And remember, in this list coup that we have going at the moment, bringing in this youth policy / we can't have old farts taking up a youngsters position.

our olds -

Banfield
Jakovich
McIntosh
Sierakowski
Wilson
Pe.Matera

out of that list, i'd only want one of those guys at the club next season.

You do actually need some veterans at a club you know? This whole youth policy has gone completely overboard. We are not going to end up like Carlton. We have an extremely well balanced list.

And for f@ck's sake, if our coaches can't tell whether Hanson has the ability to play without giving him a game, they should not be in the positions they are in. There is a reason why these guys are not in the team, it's because they are not ready ... and even Lynch, who is ready, consider this, we were a chance to win the premiershp this year, not just be a number, so you PLAY TO WIN, which means picking the best team available. Having two players over thirty does not mean the end of the world.

and this cr@p that Roo should have retired earlier? What the f@ck? When he was fit, and on the ground, he still blitzed right to the last game, and given the lack of injury, I'm sure he could still done it this season.

Delist Collica? Are you insane? he has a terrible pre-season. Jesus, when Wirra has a bad year - "he had a terrible pre-season, just wait till next year", but lets get this straight. When we were REAL crap aka as the Judge years. Collica could hold his head high, and we owe him more than what people in this post are giving him. he makes an excellent opition for those middle sized forwards. We do need an extra quality KP defender, his name could be Travis Gaspar, but if he can't get fit then we need to trade, pure and simple.

We desperately need Chick to be injury free, as he is the balls of our team, without a doubt, and unfortunately, this was not his year.

IMhumbleO - GONE

Milli and Roo - well d'uh.
Banfield - good players just exploit him badly.
Carroll - ****e players exploit him badly, the sealer was Rocca in the wet.
Munro - too long for no return.

on the edge -

Lynch - well, I think he can play, but I'm not on the board.

Morrison and Read survive because they deserve the chance to show that they can come back from their knees. Next year decides both their futures.

Adkins - has shown some things, more than Munro, but needs to improve all aspects of game, especially going the other way.

Chambers - too much of a defensive liability.

Humm - still really young, one more year though to see whether he has the skill, we all know he has the minerals.

Hanson - given his WAFL form, he deserves a chance to improve further.

Wooden - can't command a regular game at his age ..

rant well and truly over

thegur

Thanks thegur, you just saved me from having to write exactly what you did. Couldnt have put it any better myself. Only thing I dont agree with is your Banfield comments. I still think he has role in our side.

Oh and Re: Sera with your comments on Seirakowski. I think you are showing a lot of disrespect to a guy who is heart personified. So he isnt in our best 22 anymore and from a winning point of view or a business point of view, he should probably be delisted. But the harsh comments about him are unjustified. He played IMO quite well for us this season and I just loved the way he gives 100% every second he is out there, Seira has more heart and balls than most AFL footballers so a little respect to an honest hardworking no nonsense footballer would be nice.

Originally posted by jod23
Oh and Re: Sera with your comments on Seirakowski. I think you are showing a lot of disrespect to a guy who is heart personified. So he isnt in our best 22 anymore and from a winning point of view or a business point of view, he should probably be delisted.

Your probably right, I posted it straight after the game where he had a shocker. But for all that, he is an overpaid chump that shouldn't have been recruited in the first place. Still, what I said pales into comparison with things said [here] about Greg Harding when he retired.

While I can understand all the emotion because we care so much and it's very disappointing, now is not the time to panic.

One of the key points is that if you want to trade for good players, you have to give up quality in return. We can't expect to unload our not-so-good players on to other teams and get the sort of quality defender or forward that we need.

Experience is also valuable to any side, so I can see Jako & Drew staying on - I don't think either has reached their use-by date yet. This year we will lose Milli, Siera & Big Troy already and big bodied experienced AFL players do not grow on trees.

We need a strong big defender (Hay/Jacobs type) and a marking forward. We may be able to grow our own and hopefully our coaching staff have a plan to do so. For those who haven't seen him, Aaron Edwards can certainly mark overhead in the forward 50. The two players I would trade because I believe they have more value to other teams than us are Cox and Haynes.

Re Cox: Absolutely not tradeable in my view.

1. Having 2 quality ruckmen is an advantage
2. Need a back up for Gardiner
3. We lack quality KPPs. I'd prefer to develop people like McDougall as a CHF/FF.

At this stage I don't even think he should be considered as tradeable.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Re Cox: Absolutely not tradeable in my view.

1. Having 2 quality ruckmen is an advantage
2. Need a back up for Gardiner
3. We lack quality KPPs. I'd prefer to develop people like McDougall as a CHF/FF.

At this stage I don't even think he should be considered as tradeable.

So speaks our resident 'expert' who would trade Fletcher :rolleyes:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The reality is that we need a top class ruckman, and we have Gardy, and a reasonable backup. Of course Cox is very serviceable in the ruck and very mobile, particularly filling in a hole in defence. But he may well want to be a No1 ruckman at another club. And we have two exceptional young talents in Seaby and Beeck. How do we develop these two if we don't let Cox go?

On aa different note...I was surprised to read that Staker played his younger days as a FB and has put his hand up for Milli's position.

so we can basically agree on;

McIntosh
Matera
Sierakowski
Wilson
Munro
Carroll

That's a lot for one off season. Quite a bit of experience there.

Something inside me says that we won't get rid of Carroll though, just have that funny feeling :mad: Unless we can organise to trade for about two tall defenders.

On the subject though of who is tradeable, and who's franchise, there is a very fine line. I'm with you Frodo, Fletcher is gold, but if were offered the right deal, he is tradeable, everyone has a price.

What is interesting, is that Carlton have been maintaining, that they will rebuild, partly, by picking up players who they think are being under used at their current clubs, and they think will be of use to them .... I can think of quite a few at the Eagles. Lynch would be a handy acquisition for them, in fact, Lynch would go alright for us!

But having said all that, I think we are on the right track, and with the addition/progression of someone to the other KP defender spot, next year looks alright.

Where was this Staker FB talk?

Roll on trade time!

thegur

Originally posted by Frodo
So speaks our resident 'expert' who would trade Fletcher :rolleyes:
My first choice would be to trade pick#12 for a Hay or Jacobs. Failing that, we would have to offer something pretty good. I don't have a problem letting Fletcher go if the right deal comes along.

We all wish it was as easy as keeping all our good players and then palming off a Morrison/Braun/Read for a Hay, but that is being unrealistic.

PS get over it. You can come and stalk me all you like, but it doesn't change the fact that you have been posting crap for the last 3 years.

Originally posted by eagleskickass
pretty good larrikin, but im just wondering have you actually seen hansen play? he wasnt given an opportunity this year but thats not because he isnt good enough. He at least deserves one more year to see what he is like at AFL level IMO.
When I said gone I'm not saying he doesn't have ability, but if he didn't get a agme in the last few weeks with our spare parts forward line I doubt he is ever going to.

Originally posted by Juddyzthebest
Id be very upset if we lost Fletcher and Wirra....esp. Fletch very good midfielder
This is all well and good, but sometimes good players have to be sacrificed. Cousins, Gardiner and Judd are probably the only untouchables. Everyone else has a price. Fletcher's would be very high at the moment.

if we wanna get Hay, we're almost certainly gonna have to lose Fletcher*. If we didn't I'd jump over the moon.

We all have the rose coloured glasses on, and would love to see Hawthorn trade Hay to get a middle of the road guy like Braun, Chambers or Morrison, but to get quality to you have to trade quality.

Are we prepared to lose Fletcher for Hay????

I think it's something you have to look at seriously and work out what each player gives to the team........I think you'll find it would be most beneficial for us, as I can't see the loss of Fletcher hurting our midfield which is stacked up for talent, and with very good back up. Whilst the addition of Hay down back would majorly sure up our defences to at least a reliable degree.......

Not neccesarilly saying I'd go with the trade, but would be very inclined to think strongly about it.

*If the Hawks and Eagles talked, I'd say the Hawks would put down these guys as the guys the wanted for Hay: Fletcher, Kerr, Cox, Wirrpunda or Embley.

From that group, we'd be most likely to reply with offering Fletcher IMO.