Logic for 2008 improvement.

Evandale Eagles
At the beginning of 2007, I was positive that the spoon was ours.Called it on bigfooty, at the pub and in the living room at home much to the disgust of my richmond family which is several generations long.

When comparing our list to the other 15 clubs it was clear that every other list was in a position to win more games then us. The young talent we had was still a year or two away from grabbing the game by the balls, and of the older tier there were those that couldn't get on the park, and those that simply weren't good enough (see 2007 delistings).

Some suggested this was a great opportunity for the youngsters to prepare and fast track their development. In the bigger picture i agree, but I think the youngsters will play much better confident footy with a few more experienced heads in the team to a)help them walk taller and b) bring them down a peg or two when getting ahead of themselves and making them earn the jumper.

I'll stick the neck out and cop well deserved criticism if Richmond finish below 10th this year. This year will be one of the more drastic years you'll see in development, similar to the Hawks in 2007. The most noticeable difference will be the injection of players in the team that can actually hit a target. There will be a few "foley 07" stories and Foley himself will only get better. After this year we will only keep getting better.

consider this list of players that can consistently hit a target and be considered above averge in the foot skill department:

Deledio
Brown
Cotchin
Mcmahon
Tambling
Jackson
King (most under rated kick in the team, one of few that can hit a target running full tilt)
Schulz
Casserley
Newman
Thursfield
Connors
Morton

We havnt had a list of quality ball users like this for a decade or two, I know they're not exceptional by any means but this season we're alot closer to what the level of AFL standard should be.

Easy to be positive now and i concede I sound like many a February Tiger supporter, but at least it actually makes sense this season and we're not trying to justify the place of players that really shouldn't be there......(except maybe Kelvin Moore but at 50k a year I'll give the ginger ninja another go.)

I have hope this year, maybe im delusional but I'm entitled to be.

Would everyone agree with this

Players who should significantly increase their output (through improvement/return from injury or rookies):

Brown, Casserley, Collins, Connors, Cotchin, Coughlan, Edwards, Graham, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, McGuane, McMahon, Meyer, Morton, Oakley-Nicholls, Polo, Raines, Rance, Riewoldt, Simmonds, Tambling

Players who should hold or improve/worsen only minimally from last year (ie no difference to team):

Bowden, Deledio, Foley, Gourdis, Howat, King, Newman, Pattison, Pettifer, Polak, Putt, Thursfield, Tuck

Players who will go backwards this year on last year:

Johnson, Moore, Richardson (likely age will creep up but fingers crossed!), Schulz, Tivendale, White

Players we lost who actually made a difference last year:
nil

Exciting times on paper...doesnt even include the 3 new rookies who add alot of depth when compared to clingan.

I think the important thing is the "players we have lost" as the Bestial one points out - NIL.

At the end of 06 we lost Andy Kellaway, Mark Chaffey, and effectively Darren Gaspar (also Hall and Noble) which was the experience in our defence which subsequently leaked all through '07.

The defence is now more experienced from a full season together plus McMahon coming in, and the rest of the team (at the moment) is only stronger for the addition of Simmonds, Brown and Coughlan, plus the emergence/development of heaps of others.

I don't even see why anyone needs to go backwards - Johnson really should improve, there's plenty of room to, and Richo will benefit greatly from Browny being in the team and fit.

How much of a move we make on the ladder is up in the air, but I agree with the Rooster that there is plenty of reason for logical optimism (on paper).

I'm with you Rooster . I new we were going to go back wards last year but the spoon was a result of playing the entire year with out a ruckman. I thought we'd finish 10 - 14.

This year genuinely is going to be a vast year of improvement and I am confident of a 6-10 finish.

If we had first use of the ball last year in every game we would of nudged out another 3 to 5 wins with our kids so it is in my belief that with out our ruck troubles a true indication of where we were would be around the 12th or 13th spot.

Now how hard is for a team that finishes in 12th or 13th to play semi's the following year. We are a great chance.

Last year was the best thing that happened to us. Gasper retiring was a godsend as well. Andy Kellaway was my favourite player and I even look at that tuff call as a right one.

Ray Hall being injured all year an absolute godsend
Trent Knobel , poo , absolute godsend
Patrick Bowden being injured and losing form , an absolute god send.

Alot of experienced players , handy footballers, injured players and old blokes that needed to move on where moved on and it was done by forces of nature and alot of playing catch up from our Football department.

It showed in the last 5 rounds what young blokes can do a natural gifted footballers once they settle in to a team enviroment and know they are first graders that are going to get a run week in week out unless they dip their heads in a contest.

Last year was the most interesting year I've had watching the tigers and Roosters prediction although a bit hard happened and the skill level and speed he goes on to talk about really will be the talk of every one when Richmond wins games some would think we are not supposed to win but i think we should win.

Top 8 this year I say with a huge mass of Tigers fans coming out of the wood work wearing Collins 08 shirts and jumpers cheering the boys on to a great year.

Bwahahahaha... l love the one-eyed supporter. Never deviates in their quest to overlook whats happening around them. Some of you need to get your hand of it... go on, stop touching yourself ;).

Yes, we will improve. God help us if we dont... we won 3 games last year and finished last. How could we not improve???

Our "kids" are a year older and will benefit from the another seasons experience... but what have they experienced to date? They've experienced getting hammered by every other team, they experienced gracing the field with a bunch of "leaders" that fail to perform and they've experienced other youngsters probably advance a little quicker than them. :(

Not really the ideal environment to get yourself up for.

Yes, the list has so much more depth. And yes, apart from the Moore's, , Schulz, Meyer's and co... there doesnt seem to be an obvious wait to cull certain components of the list. But, when you look at the reality... we start from 16th. :cool:

There is still an enormous amount of question marks - enormous! I want to add another category... the list of players that we're really hopeful they can become superstardom, but could easily not reach their expected potential:

- Deledio, Tambling, Polo

How many of these could become one-season wonders?

- Edwards, King, Pattison, JON, Raines, Reiwoldt

The blind love category? Honestly just aint gonna make it!

- Jackson, Hyde, Moore, Schulz

Those that (could) have reached their potential?

- Pettifer, Newman, McMahon, Tuck, Johnson,

Yes we will improve and the direction of the club could not better. We have stability, we have strong list of youth and we have a reasonably good coach. But lets not get ahead of ourselves here. Would love to join the "love-in" and participate in the tug-fest, but honestly fella's as they say... you're only as good as your last game. ;)

Ps. Rooster, can you please predict next years interest rates for me. Planning on buying another property and just want to know whether this is the right time to buy. You obviously have such nostridamis foresight. Bet you got on the NY Giants to win it in the last minute... what was it paying? :D

Bwahahahaha... l love the one-eyed supporter. Never deviates in their quest to overlook whats happening around them. Some of you need to get your hand of it... go on, stop touching yourself ;).

Yes, we will improve. God help us if we dont... we won 3 games last year and finished last. How could we not improve???

Our "kids" are a year older and will benefit from the another seasons experience... but what have they experienced to date? They've experienced getting hammered by every other team, they experienced gracing the field with a bunch of "leaders" that fail to perform and they've experienced other youngsters probably advance a little quicker than them. :(

Not really the ideal environment to get yourself up for.

Yes, the list has so much more depth. And yes, apart from the Moore's, , Schulz, Meyer's and co... there doesnt seem to be an obvious wait to cull certain components of the list. But, when you look at the reality... we start from 16th. :cool:

There is still an enormous amount of question marks - enormous! I want to add another category... the list of players that we're really hopeful they can become superstardom, but could easily not reach their expected potential:

- Deledio, Tambling, Polo

How many of these could become one-season wonders?

- Edwards, King, Pattison, JON, Raines, Reiwoldt

The blind love category? Honestly just aint gonna make it!

- Jackson, Hyde, Moore, Schulz

Those that (could) have reached their potential?

- Pettifer, Newman, McMahon, Tuck, Johnson,

Yes we will improve and the direction of the club could not better. We have stability, we have strong list of youth and we have a reasonably good coach. But lets not get ahead of ourselves here. Would love to join the "love-in" and participate in the tug-fest, but honestly fella's as they say... you're only as good as your last game. ;)

Ps. Rooster, can you please predict next years interest rates for me. Planning on buying another property and just want to know whether this is the right time to buy. You obviously have such nostridamis foresight. Bet you got on the NY Giants to win it in the last minute... what was it paying? :D

Wally you've just agreed with everything we've said!!!!! Get involved mate this is the only time of the year we are aloud to tug ourselves,remember I was born post 1980...I don't know what success feels like, the only thing i have to get excited about is a couple of semi finals when we played above ourselves. I can understand being pessimistic about the world of football when champions like Brad Boyd and co never went on to achieve the success and fame they clearly deserved but shift on Wally! get excited! you need a blood transfusion....not enough of the yellow and black stuff;);)

A realist mate... too much Yellow & Black stuff has you looking like RECORDS. Mate, you just said yourself, you havent success... well, dont put the cart before the horse and you wont get so bent up about the underachievements.

Ps. aint agreed with anything. Said that the future looks good, but don expect anything rapid like your suggesting for 2008. How could we not improve... we're last!

Good on you Rooster a postive attidue I can see a opening soon and we will get there we have recruited well over the last 3 years and a early couple off wins and our guns back fully fit WILL make the differents.

A realist mate... too much Yellow & Black stuff has you looking like RECORDS. Mate, you just said yourself, you havent success... well, dont put the cart before the horse and you wont get so bent up about the underachievements.

Ps. aint agreed with anything. Said that the future looks good, but don expect anything rapid like your suggesting for 2008. How could we not improve... we're last!

we could come last again:D:D surely a top 10 prediction is on the brink of being a realist! I know it's sad.....but i genuinely see us going alright! really was coming together toward the end of 07'. We weren't playing an unsportsman like brand either as we now have the cattle to pull off some...dare i say it....attractive footy. Fast running skillful stuff that we've only been able to be green eyed about for the last 27 years.

when do you return? sneaky rumour doing the rounds the great Robbie Powell upon returning from the big smoke, is going to slip into a pocket playing alongside myself and RECORDS....?

Big huge and dirty rumour!

Am finalising our plans at the moment, but there is a massive chance that Robbie will be back by Oaks Day! ;)

ps. I fancy my chance having a cheeky run around again. Snag a quiet bag from the pocket. If fat-guts Harry can get a gig, then Robbie will be odds on for a B&F.

Big huge and dirty rumour!

Am finalising our plans at the moment, but there is a massive chance that Robbie will be back by Oaks Day! ;)

ps. I fancy my chance having a cheeky run around again. Snag a quiet bag from the pocket. If fat-guts Harry can get a gig, then Robbie will be odds on for a B&F.

glad to hear it mate, would be rude to do another oaks without ya...although i did appreciate the pongless cubicles last year....didn't have as much "six week old salmon" about em.

be great to have ya down we definitely need the height:D, Harry is training the house down,he is being groomed as our stevie baker,wreaked havoc on the league b&f winner in a final against prahran last year..... 31 years old going on 22 they reckon.

glad to hear it mate, would be rude to do another oaks without ya...although i did appreciate the pongless cubicles last year....didn't have as much "six week old salmon" about em.

be great to have ya down we definitely need the height:D, Harry is training the house down,he is being groomed as our stevie baker,wreaked havoc on the league b&f winner in a final against prahran last year..... 31 years old going on 22 they reckon.

Can smell the stench of pong from here... ahh the good old days of get snagging a stray in the cubicle under the members. The amount of times l've been escourted out of there after ponging some lovely-jubbly would be close to double-figures. Have their knickers to prove it. :p

Harry the tagger... :D Gold. Obviously his skills havent improved. :D

Hey you 2 ****s, leave me out of your girlfight.

More your Aka type of tagger too Wally, knows when to play tight but also knows when to wreak havoc going back the other way;)

Get on the Tiges for the finals every one. This is not a love in , it is fact.

Hit the tab , ring your bookies , put cartons of beer on it with your mates. September is going to be pay day. Do it before round 1 or your odds will drop fast. Nows the time to clean up. You've all been warned.

Old Spice The Proud Sponsor of Andy Collins Season 2008

Hey you 2 ****s, leave me out of your girlfight.

More your Aka type of tagger too Wally, knows when to play tight but also knows when to wreak havoc going back the other way;)

Ahhh love it.... wreak havoc going back the other way is code for you lost your man because you;re too old to keep up, the runner has called you for a spell and as you're running off, you find the play following you desertedly out on a wing.

Cheap possessions Harry, cheap possessions! :p

Individual players aside, one thing I think many are perhaps overlooking is the fact we finished the season full of running despite having so many kids and vets in our 22.

Most seasons in the last decade we've been dead on our feet by August, just going through the motions. This year we undoubtedly lost games because of our lack of match hardened players, but we also finished fitter and stronger than we started, which is a first.

A very fit side with a core of prime age players who move the ball quickly will play finals and be hard to beat. We're not far off being there and I think '08 will leave us in no doubt.

Individual players aside, one thing I think many are perhaps overlooking is the fact we finished the season full of running despite having so many kids and vets in our 22.

Most seasons in the last decade we've been dead on our feet by August, just going through the motions. This year we undoubtedly lost games because of our lack of match hardened players, but we also finished fitter and stronger than we started, which is a first.

A very fit side with a core of prime age players who move the ball quickly will play finals and be hard to beat. We're not far off being there and I think '08 will leave us in no doubt.
Love your work Rayzor - no need for me to add to that! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Would everyone agree with this

Players who should significantly increase their output (through improvement/return from injury or rookies):

Brown, Casserley, Collins, Connors, Cotchin, Coughlan, Edwards, Graham, Hughes, Hyde, Jackson, McGuane, McMahon, Meyer, Morton, Oakley-Nicholls, Polo, Raines, Rance, Riewoldt, Simmonds, Tambling

Players who should hold or improve/worsen only minimally from last year (ie no difference to team):

Bowden, Deledio, Foley, Gourdis, Howat, King, Newman, Pattison, Pettifer, Polak, Putt, Thursfield, Tuck

Players who will go backwards this year on last year:

Johnson, Moore, Richardson (likely age will creep up but fingers crossed!), Schulz, Tivendale, White

Players we lost who actually made a difference last year:
nil

Exciting times on paper...doesnt even include the 3 new rookies who add alot of depth when compared to clingan.

id reasonably expect Lids, Polak, Kingy , thursty and Newman to all improve on their 2007 output...No reason why not

Tigers will not be able to improve while the tanned one is senior coach.

He needs to be axed asap

I think this year is a clearing out year.

JON white moore shultz meyer... Believe thats their last chance. SSHow nothing they are out. Show something they maybe out,

If we are to make finals which i doubt those players are the ones hoo have to step up.

I think this year is a clearing out year.

JON white moore shultz meyer... Believe thats their last chance. SSHow nothing they are out. Show something they maybe out,

If we are to make finals which i doubt those players are the ones hoo have to step up.

On that logic, last year was a 'clearing out year' for Geelong. ;)

Every club, every year, clears out a few players.