Lyon is a joke

luke ball14

At least we played attractive football when GT was coach this is pathetic!

This is not football this is the most pathetic display of football i have ever seen I HATER ROSS LYON!
'

This is not football this is the most pathetic display of football i have ever seen I HATER ROSS LYON!
'

and you loved him last week?

takle your fickle,pathetic excuse for a SUPPORTER over to the Collingwood board you drop kick.

Oh Grow up ...

How many were out injured tonight. We are missing about 10 starting players straight away. Thats half a team out ....

'

Change your user name you a disgrace to our captain .:mad:
And as others have said go and support another club because you arent welcome at the saints:mad:

and you loved him last week?

takle your fickle,pathetic excuse for a SUPPORTER over to the Collingwood board you drop kick.

I Think you will find they are winning mate...he'd be better off over at Richmond.

:thumbsd:

Just dropping in here, to give you my 2 cents.

Luke Ball14, are you aware that Roos Lyon has only been coaching your club for 8 rounds (excluding preseason)? Jeeze, you can't expect the Saints to adapt to a new game plan and style over night. Your players even admitted that they need more time to get used to it. Let alone losing 10 of your players!

Just dropping in here, to give you my 2 cents.

Luke Ball14, are you aware that Roos Lyon has only been coaching your club for 8 rounds (excluding preseason)? Jeeze, you can't expect the Saints to adapt to a new game plan and style over night. Your players even admitted that they need more time to get used to it. Let alone losing 10 of your players!

Sure it might take time to adapt but why should the players have to adapt to the coach. Surely its the job of the coach to adapt his tactics to the players at his disposal. ie. Dont play ultra defensive with Riewoldt Gehrig Koschitzke up forward. Dont play alot of ballups with your no 3 ruckmen playing

Hell if the team won't adapt to the coachs style of play, the why on the earth would you bother getting anther coach? Beause you want to win a flag and the previous coach failed to provided that!

Whilst the coach has a little adapting to do, it will be the team that has the most changing to do if the coach wish's for that to happen. As the team has been placed into a routine through out pre-seasons and the afl season.

Know back to the subject of this thread, i for one did not enjoy watching the hawks v's saints game. All though i am greatful for the win! You can not expect a senior coach of 8 preseason games to produce a miricle, i seriously doubt the saints will win the flag for two reasons this year.

1. You have a new coach, with new team plays.
2. You have a few majour senior players missing for long periods of time.

The saints will no doubt be in the eight, your three debutants where terriffic tonight. Keeping them in the senior team for a bit this season, then next season once the team and coach has adapted and you have added depth i believe you will threating for the premiership cup.

Just dont be two hard on your new coach, after only 8 afl games. barely had time to do much at all!

By the way, we had two of the most unexperinced coachs in the league, clarkos game plan is improving and were yet to see lyons. I reckon next year you will see and understand lyons game plan more. Chin up all is not lost for your lot "the sainters"!

And you blokes used to try and say you had a better team than us. :rolleyes: Thomas got the best out of your side.

When will people understand that this is a Sainters board, and although positive comments like the ones posted by Miss_Hawk_Fan are very welcome, other posts like this last disgrace should be deleted or never be written in the first place?

Duh...

And you blokes used to try and say you had a better team than us. :rolleyes: Thomas got the best out of your side.

Let's not get ahead of ourselfes, especially the cats! You are doing well, but have done nothing yet.

I am so sick of hearing injuries as an excuse, especially above as a reason to accept GT's results. He had injuriea as well so lets cut them out now. Ou players seem to be injury prone. The last four years tell us one of two things:
1. Our players are more susceptible to injuries than the average. Result, et used to us having injuries and stop using it as an excuse.
2. Our training programme is shot and the lack of squats, etc, is affecting us. Result, it will not change until next year.

Either way, RL can not be blamed, heart must be called into question. While I like that GT has fostered a club attitude that the team is bigger than the player and, as a result, players take less cash, what are the players playing for? Today was not a game won through skill but by hard work and toil. Perhaps it will come, but it is a kick fair and square into the nuts of all life time saints supporters. If we had of just lost, fine. If it had of been through outsomes beyond our cojtrol, fine. If it had of been that we just did not have the skill, fine.

But we do have the skill. OUr list is still good and we are better than the hawks (skill wise). There were no Fremantle type umpiring decisions, we have our standard injuries so there are no excuses left.

I am sick of excuses, and yes it is only round eight or whatever. The players must stand up and be accountable for this one. Hearts on sleeves please and play for the jumper. Buddy's box? that is crap, it is not the opposition that need to be beaten for us to win, it is ourselves.

injuries?
new coaching excuses?
umpires?
new and improved opposition game plans of the day?
******** all the excuses.

Time to be accountable for our own short comings and results. Get on with it and start looking within. Only then can we really expect to affect a match and win. Even after last week, I would still prefer to be Sydney than us, and that hurts.

I think the ultimate postion for a club to be in is to achieve as much as they can with their list. That is why the Doggys are so loved in the public, they achieve what they can reasonably expect. Saints, take notice, we do not expect the world, just that you play every week like it is on the line.

I am Sauce_head and this is my unappologetic rant.

I know injuries shouldn't be an excuse....but Sainters, you guys would have beaten us if you'd had those ten players that were missing. You practically played a 'B' team and we struggled to beat you until the fourth quarter when we stopped making stupid basic mistakes. I think Ross Lyon should be judged over a season, not a handful of games. Good luck for the rest of the season! :thumbsu:

Let's not get ahead of ourselfes, especially the cats! You are doing well, but have done nothing yet.

I am so sick of hearing injuries as an excuse, especially above as a reason to accept GT's results. He had injuriea as well so lets cut them out now. Ou players seem to be injury prone. The last four years tell us one of two things:
1. Our players are more susceptible to injuries than the average. Result, et used to us having injuries and stop using it as an excuse.
2. Our training programme is shot and the lack of squats, etc, is affecting us. Result, it will not change until next year.

Either way, RL can not be blamed, heart must be called into question. While I like that GT has fostered a club attitude that the team is bigger than the player and, as a result, players take less cash, what are the players playing for? Today was not a game won through skill but by hard work and toil. Perhaps it will come, but it is a kick fair and square into the nuts of all life time saints supporters. If we had of just lost, fine. If it had of been through outsomes beyond our cojtrol, fine. If it had of been that we just did not have the skill, fine.

But we do have the skill. OUr list is still good and we are better than the hawks (skill wise). There were no Fremantle type umpiring decisions, we have our standard injuries so there are no excuses left.

I am sick of excuses, and yes it is only round eight or whatever. The players must stand up and be accountable for this one. Hearts on sleeves please and play for the jumper. Buddy's box? that is crap, it is not the opposition that need to be beaten for us to win, it is ourselves.

injuries?
new coaching excuses?
umpires?
new and improved opposition game plans of the day?
******** all the excuses.

Time to be accountable for our own short comings and results. Get on with it and start looking within. Only then can we really expect to affect a match and win. Even after last week, I would still prefer to be Sydney than us, and that hurts.

I think the ultimate postion for a club to be in is to achieve as much as they can with their list. That is why the Doggys are so loved in the public, they achieve what they can reasonably expect. Saints, take notice, we do not expect the world, just that you play every week like it is on the line.

I am Sauce_head and this is my unappologetic rant.

What was our excuse for our fantastic win last week? The vultures are back...

Why do you think they bought him in ?

Obviously the powers that be let the previous coach go because that game plan was not working. They have bough Lyon in with this game plan in mind.

It's pretty obvious when you think about it.

Why do you think they bought him in ?

Obviously the powers that be let the previous coach go because that game plan was not working. They have bough Lyon in with this game plan in mind.

It's pretty obvious when you think about it.

They got rid of the last coach for off-field reasons: he refused to allow them to put a proper football department around him.

True...

But

We knew what we were getting with Lyon, we knew the brand of football he would play. Its no secret.

Change your user name you a disgrace to our captain .:mad:
And as others have said go and support another club because you arent welcome at the saints:mad:

Damn Straight. I'm not too sure if any one agrees with me, when it comes to my own team i dont give a $h!t how attractive their style of footy is as long as the are winning who cares, just like if your team is wining by 15 goals you don't go "slow down and let the other team get back so its a good spectacle". Can't everyone just accept the fact that it works sometimes, so flooding and slow play will keep happening for many many years to come.

on another note;

I was thinking last night the only way i think Thommo's dismissal will really hurt us is when it comes to re-signing certain players, personally i think Kosi will be first to go (have no idea why i think this just a gut feeling). All i am saying ( a little idealistic maybe) is that Thomoo was a people person and not a football coach, he bought self belief and respect which is essential but not the whole package in my eyes it would have been great to keep him behind the scenes but working very closely with the head coach and team and maybe then we could of had the best of both worlds.

I think results over the past three years say that we do have a better side than the Cats, even with all the injuries we've had.

Two wins down at Geelong against teams travelling from Perth doesnt really make you a gun side - although, that is kind of what we expect from Geelong fans when they win two in a row.

Just in case you've forgotten, didnt your fans turn on coach and club only two weeks ago after losing to the Kangaroos ?

:rolleyes:

Fair enough, we are sick of using injuries as an excuse. However, when you start a new style under a new regime, you would work on the top 26 players to get them understanding it ready for the season, get it working as well as possible then start integrating the rest into the game plan as time goes on. When you lose 10-12 of those players, the basis of your game plan is out the window. It's unfortunate, and we seem to have been jinxed for the past 5 or 6 years. However, you CANNOT blame Ross Lyon for things he cannot control. As a general rule we have played pretty good footy this year, just lacked consistency. But to get consistency we need to have consistency in the 22 blokes on the park.

Bottom line: we need to look very hard at our fitness department, and you can be sure that it is already happening.

We are thereabouts, and if we can get some names back on the park consistently, we will challenge every team in the comp.

Ross Lyon will end up being a great coach for us.

His appointment was the first (and I'm sure we've set the benchmark now - so not the last) senior coaching appontment made where a true "process" was used to comprehensively test applicants and determine the most ideal.

I've made my opinion clear earlier, that the team would probably be playing better football now if Grant Thomas had remained as senior coach. This is because of the work that the players and coach had done together. They had an understanding of what was expected of them and a familiarity of how to carry it out.

RL has the best interests of the club at heart. He has the confidence of the players. He doesn't have the history. The familiarity.

The players will learn the game plan, to play their individual role in it, but this game plan involves some features of gameplay that are just not natural to the Saints. Not yet. GT had them playing the free flowing, take risks and trust in your skill / talent move the ball quickly to the key forwards and score type of game. It is an attractive style of play.

RL wants us to capitalise on our offensive flair and skill, whilst playing a much more accountable style - yes you know it - the possession game.

The possession game relies on maintaining possession for most of the match. While we have the ball, the opponents do not - hence they can't score and we can. The possession game relies on gaining possession at the stoppages (to be most effective), and to move the ball forward in a low risk manner and maintaining the possession until a leading forward can take possession in a scoring position. Accuracy at goal is important. Winning centre clearances is important. Winning boundary throw ins and field bounces is important.

The requirements are:

a dominant ruckman / ruckmen
a midfield capable of gaining possession or shutting down the opponents should they get it
a genuine backline is sacrificed so that high possession accurate kicking players can generate much of the offensive play
the wing / half forward players need to be patient while forward movements generate various matches / mismatches until someone is found in space within the goal scoring zone
these same flankers / wingers have to flood back to help out in defence but be disciplined enough to not crowd up the forward line when we are the aggressors

The game calls for accurate kicking and enormous stamina.

Against Hawthorn - the reason the gameplan didn't work was that their gameplan was designed around our style, designed to thwart it. Our gameplan may well have been superior in most instances, but we did lack the personnel to maintain the level of running required, to carry the gameplan out. Also we definitely miss the kicking skill of Goddard.

I was very impressed with the game of Leigh Fisher. His adaptation to the spare man in defence role was phenomenal. His kicking wasn't perfect (but we have been spoiled by the luxury of having BJ) and his work rate was also phenomenal. He tired in the second half, and we had no real answer to their superior fitness and run in the second half of the third quarter onwards.

The inclusion of kids like Howard, Armitage, and Sweeney didn't help. We may have been able to carry one, but not all three. Even so, there were some positives to be seen with these guys. Sweeney did some nice things, but it was Armitage who impressed me most. Looking forward to seeing him full time in our squad.

Not sure if he's a joke but we won't make the 8, Hawthorn are an average side improving a fair bit and not top opposition

Ross's game plan is fine, 1 if you have the players to play it ( We have too many big players and not enough pace) and 2 if you have a plan B. I have thought a couple times this year we could have switched to a more aggressive 'power' football somewhere in the matches.